QLD voted best state to live in!

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:44
ThreadID: 47210 Views:3071 Replies:13 FollowUps:28
Weellll, not really ,it only won by one vote, and that was mine.
What i would like know is what state do the people on this forum think
is the best to live in...I called QLD home about 30 years ago and will
never leave,found the people up here mostly easygoing and layback,
fishing is good and camping areas are everywhere.
Downside is the heat in summer(bloody hot!!)
comments welcome..................................

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:55

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:55
Home is where the heart is
AnswerID: 249699

Follow Up By: tvl - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:00

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:00
thats very true willem,it just seems to me the further north u travell the
better it gets,,//
FollowupID: 510708

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:54

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:54
Good call, Willem.

And bugger those imaginary lines on the ground; it doesn't matter what state it is, it's the nature of the geographical location that is appealing.
FollowupID: 510720

Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:10

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:10
Here Here .....well mines in QLD...but my old body rests elsewere
...........Bundy
FollowupID: 510731

Reply By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:04

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:04
Been in Qld for about 15 years, but still have blue running through my veins.
Try living in the far north in summer!!! it takes a long while to adapt.
AnswerID: 249702

Follow Up By: tvl - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:11

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:11
would u live south again Richo?Its way to nice up here IMHO......
FollowupID: 510710

Follow Up By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:55

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:55
I'd definitely go back down to the sunshine coast
FollowupID: 510721

Reply By: Member - John D (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:08

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:08
Lived in Victoria all my life & have no regrets, but I must admit that I could easily live in the NT.

AnswerID: 249703

Follow Up By: Harry - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:04
Yer haven't lived in Vic. all your life ---- yet :>))
FollowupID: 510768

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:38

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:38
Poor Bastard
FollowupID: 510820

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:36

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:36
Left metropolitan Mossman FNQ back in 1971 to do a stint in the Navy...now even after 32 years in uniform and a further 4 as a civvie working for Navy...I would move back to Mossman tomorrow. Unfortunately I can't convince the Missus - too hot for her in the summer. We will, however, be spending May to Sep up that way most years once we retire (3 years and counting).
AnswerID: 249704

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:39

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:39
Nah!!, NSW is the one, over taxed, over priced, over stressed, overpopulated,

To hot, to cold, Just Love it. Will never move. Funny thing is those who venture out to find the greener grass, seem to return within 5yrs.

AnswerID: 249707

Follow Up By: tvl - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:47
Read ""sensis report ""today and seen 100 people are moving to townsville
every week,
FollowupID: 510717

Follow Up By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:57

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:57
and 79 to Cairns
FollowupID: 510723

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:32

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:32
Cairns sux
I spent 6 days in Cairns over a 4 week span and all of them were wet and misty. The locals kept saying that you can see Green Island on a clear day. Yeah well that clear day only comes once a year. Even the folk on the Skytrain tell lies, when you arrive at the bottom station a woman comes out and squeegees the window and then a blinding light comes on to simulate sun and a picture is taken showing the occupants of the cable car in brilliant sun shine even when you have come down the mountain in cyclonic wind and rain. Bullshyte. Now Cooktown, that I could like when the wind stops blowing my wig off. Queensland "Rain one day and cyclonic wind and tropical rain the next" Its too hot and steamy to even attempt using a rain coat.

Im with you Axle, NSW you can go skiing 5 hours south of Sydney or be at a warm beach just 5 hours north or outback just 5 hours west, or just go to Bondi and the whole world comes to you.
Colin
FollowupID: 510751

Follow Up By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:50

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:50
Now do I detect a bit of bitterness, because you struck an out of season low!!!!
FollowupID: 510835

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:42

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:42
Been here since 1973,went back to NSW after 5 yrs came back in 79.Qld been good to me so i'm staying put at the moment.
Done 4wk trip to Tassie at Xmas last & i could easily move down the but on to the West coast for the Remoteness,like all of it though.
Go Queenslaner wed week.Lol :)
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 249708

Follow Up By: tvl - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:49

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:49
CANETOADS ROCK//ay bob!!
FollowupID: 510719

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:47
Yep,tvl,& they can play League footy tooooooooooooooooo.Lol
FollowupID: 510747

Follow Up By: aka - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:14
ya dont call league football they throw it
FollowupID: 510830

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:24

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:24
Aka,what ever you call it,it's in a league of it's own.Lol
FollowupID: 510939

Follow Up By: aka - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:13

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:13
and thanks for that
FollowupID: 511099

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:54

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:54
And you don't have stupid Daylight saving, GWN TV in run a Poll for the country section of the wheat belt last night, 89% voted NO
Now I see where the Clowns are going for 6 months, bloody idiots.

Doug

AnswerID: 249710

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:15

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:15
Born and bred in Cairns , anywhere south of the Barron river is to far south for me , been up and down the east coast of Qld with trucks ,, can't stand the big smokes of Sydney and Melbourne ,, but can't wait to see the rest of our country ,, guess the state doesn't matter ,, its Australia ,, the best country !!

AnswerID: 249717

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:34

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:34
Cairns Sux LOL
see my follow up above in Axle's post
FollowupID: 510754

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:56

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:56
Geeeeees ,, thats a bit harsh ,,, but yes , as a city we don't go in there unless we have too , between all the trouble makers and strife that goes with all cities , and the prices we have because of the so called tourist ind ,, we live on the Nth side and can see where you are coming from ,, but you need to get out and about to see the best parts ,, pity we didn't notice you were coming this way ,, maybe another time !!

All the best ,, Neil ..

FollowupID: 510764

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:58

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:58
Ha , just found and read your post ,,,, you should be here as of today ,, purrrrfect !!

FollowupID: 510765

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:47
Hi tvl

As a born and bred Queenslander for 46 yrs and since being in S.A. for almost 2 years this state runs a pretty close second to Qld.
I do hope to make my way back to Qld with Muddy one day. So if things that I have no control over sees me stay here in S.A. for the rest of my life then I will truly will have found my stay here just as nice as my previous life in Qld.

As for Willem's advice, he hit it right on the head.........home truly is where the heart is, regardless of where you think you might want to be.

Cya
AnswerID: 249741

Reply By: BennyGU - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:37

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:37
Just confirming what everyones always known, why would anyone want to live anywhere else?

A few gripes though:
I just wanna put a big sign up on the borders, go home - no vacancies. Where I live at Shorncliffe on Brisbanes northern bayside almost every property is of the 46 perches minimum to a max of almost an acre. With all the southern money coming up the number of grand big blocks being split up is disgusting. Having sold the family two-bedroom unit down south for a half million and then coming up here with that they buy a half hectare almost on the waterfront, split the block, move in a second house then sell both for a tidy profit leaving the locals to put up with the unwanted new arrivals. The council is hardly helping by 'tourist-fying' the place so on the weekends almost all of the cliff top is impassable to locals. Sure they dont pay the rates here......

There are over 100 boats at the ramp each weekend with most people coming from the southern suburbs to launch into moreton bay to destroy the local fishing grounds. This ramp was built by the local fishing club over 60 years ago and I helped maintain it as part of the club till the BCC took it over in 1997. Last WEDNESDAY (does anyone work anymore???) I had to wait almost 25 minutes for the back log of idiots to finish launching and recovering, the scary thing is that this is a 4-lane ramp, the amount of traffic is disgraceful.

I am simply fed up with being a prisioner in my own suburb on weekends. Not that old Shorny has the prestige of places such as Noosa but one thing we do have in common is the mutual hatred of tourists, and with good reason. The first candidate to put a bloody great sign on the roads in saying "Local Traffic only beyond this point" would be elected in a landslide.

Feel so much better for getting that off my chest, hope everyone else out there is ahving a good day :)

Ben
AnswerID: 249791

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:56

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:56
gee-I hope you dont do any travelling!

Its probably the same way the blackfellas feel about honkys crossing the outback thru traditional lands!
FollowupID: 510928

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:37

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:37
Maybe you should move, it's great down south here and getting better every year :)
FollowupID: 510943

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:24

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:24
Am currently working in canberra for a month (home in 3 days!) , spent six weeks on the Mornington Peninsula late last year, 4 weeks in Darwin in June and 3 months in Woolongong middle of last year and I'll take Brissie any day (please!!!!!!!)

To fish064,
I do my fair share of travelling but will I block someone elses boat ramp for half an hour due to my sheer incompetance at launching my boat......NO
Will I double park on a squeasy two lane cliff top terrace.....NO
Will I leave any where I stop better than I found it.....YES
This is the practice that does not happens in my once quiet secluded little piece of bayside paradise every single weekend. Shorncliffe used to be a fishing/railway town at the end of the branch line from Brizzie and now due to outside (non-local) forces it is being developed into a tourist strip. This is all at the behest of the residents who want nothing more than a freeze on the splitting of the large land blocks that exist in the suburb and to leave the foreshore undeveloped to preserve the way of life that we have. Redcliffe, less than 10km away, is a tourist strip so all we want is a redirection of the tourists away from us to where they are properely catered for in Redcliffe.

Hope you can see my side of it :)

Ben

FollowupID: 511018

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 22:59

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 22:59
for sure I can see your side of it, its a problem everywhere I think. But I try to see everyones side, and if the authoritys arent funding the infrastructure required then that is probably the only way it'll be resolved.
Obviously if only people in beachside suburbs with ramps could own boats, well it would open all sorts of stupid rules.
You could only go to the footy if there was a stadium in your suburb.
You could only take the kids to Dreamworld if you lived on the GC.
You were only allowed to use the airport if there was one in your suburb.

They all cause unwelcome congestion.

But I wish you the best of luck to get it sorted, as I also live in a beachside location, albeit directly opposite you!
FollowupID: 511047

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:41

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:41
Hey Benny

Tell me where you live? so a next time I do a lap of Oz I won't spend my tourist dollar there.

With a place as sh1tty as that why would you live there?

Steve.
FollowupID: 511104

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:54

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:54
wash your mouth out with soap steve
FollowupID: 511141

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 00:03

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 00:03
I live in Shorncliffe becase I have for my entire life, no reason to leave my heritage behind. My family has had four generations in the fishing industry so our history is there. There used to be about 2000 people in the suburb in 1999, there is now 4500 due the splittitng of the original housing blocks from 2000 onwards. If you have seen what I have I have a decent bet that you would eb in exactly the same frame of mind.

To steve, I live in Shorncliffe, Brisbane, 4017, QLD, Australia. You're welcome anytime if you respect comon courtesy, just dont stay and bugger up the place.

Fish064, wouldn't be ol Moreton Is, would it!, lucky bugger if ti is.

Ben
FollowupID: 511247

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 00:38

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 00:38
No cobba, EVEN BETTA!
the sun sets over the water where I am!
WA-Where its At!
FollowupID: 511249

Reply By: montana - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:12

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:12
i grew up in a small town in qld that is now darwin in the 40s,lived in townsville,cairns and been in nsw for over 10 years.willam is spot on where the heart is -mines still up there.
AnswerID: 249799

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:13

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:13
I guess its only fair to compare the states youve lived in
- For me it SA and WA
now it depends on what meausure you put. Is it
- nice places to travel
- job oportunities
- affordability
- services
etc etc etc

Well for meI used to enjoy the Eyre Penninsula of WA but the rest the only thing taking me back there is family. As a young person with only personal skills I found there was no chance of getting ahead in SA and I bless the day I packed everything into a $2000 dollar camper van and got out
- My freinds werent so lucky
AnswerID: 249857

Follow Up By: Member - peter C (WA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:57

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:57
you ok Davoe? Eyre Penninsula of WA ??

not much input from over in the west tho - guess we don't need to justify it
FollowupID: 510915

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:48

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:48
I was born in Sydney spent 10 years in Hazelbrook (Blue Mnt), then 32 years in Darwin.

I moved to Jabiru last year, I'm about to lease a block of land in Jabiru and put a house on it, the lease will be 99 years and I can't see myself moving I now feel at home.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 249996