Brass Monkeys

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:49
ThreadID: 47214 Views:2800 Replies:12 FollowUps:32
It's 8.30pm and the temp has just dropped to 12C.

Now I realise in the south that's considered a warmish daytime temp at this time of year. (I'm about to head to Melbourne for a week)
Up here (Mission Beach just south of Cairns) its cold, real cold.

Most homes do not have any kind of heating. You cannot buy any kind of heater in the shops today. All jumpers and wooly things are sold out. Things are crook!

There has been something of an exodus of people from the caravan parks locally as people who are just not prepared for the cold conditions find it just too hard.
I imagine the motels are doing OK as a result.

I suspect the caravanners with the Webastos are making many new friends tonight.

It's dropped another 1degree while I was writing this.
What next...... frost?

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:57

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:57
What happened to all the Global Warming Bulls**t I keep hearing about from the Pollies, and greenies

AnswerID: 249726

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:32

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:32
Hello Doug - Based on my interpretation of the issue I think "Global Warming" refers to overall average temps of Earth….its has not been founded on one post by one person referring to an experience of a relatively cold day/night in Mission Beach. Even if it weren’t true (i.e. your interpretation of Global Warming being BS) expect climate to change for better or worse (or stay the same) where ever you live, in your life time or after you have passed on (as we all do). Believe it or not it’s happened before many thousands of times and, difficult as it is to accept, it will happen again – with or without our intervention (a different argument).

FollowupID: 510753

Follow Up By: kimprado - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:06

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:06
Doug

Cold weather is part of Global warming, as is flooding. Read the newspapers tomorrow morning and some fella will regail you with the facts (whilst completing his grant application).

The Great Barrier Reef is going to be destroyed for the tenth time in four decades.

We're not going through a drought, it's Global Warming.

Under no circumstances should we refer to the 1895-1903, 1911-1916 and, devastating drought of 1939 -1945. Not to mention the others since then.

But we'll ignore the facts because it's convenient. Don't even talk to me about the Southern oscillation.

Accept the fact Doug, your going to drown or be fried!

Kim
FollowupID: 510770

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:55

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:55
Kim - confusing post - cold weather, flooding and drought are actually all part of any weather pattern and will continue to be so whatever the case may be. The issue of global warming (best referred to as climate change so that people don’t think its going to get hotter where ever they live) is to do with the location and frequency of the weather patterns you mention (and others) so just quoting some past drought periods doesn’t really mean anything (it rained here last year as well – so what! LOL). As I mentioned climate will change (sooner or later) irrespective of human intervention. Time frame is issue - generally regarded that climate is changing a tad faster than "normal" though I don’t think Doug, you or I have too much to worry about (on a personnel level) so go for it – some more LOL.

FollowupID: 510783

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 23:37
kimprado & The Explorer
You probably don't realise tha amount of research and reading I do about the past and what has happened and will happen again, and one of my favorites is the scenario of not if but when , these 2 sites far out weigh any worries about global warming when it occurs again , somewhere I had a link showing all the many cold/warm periods the earth has been through, I think Ive read enough to know that microscopic humans have very little effect on climate ,
http://www.guardian.co.uk/Archive/Article/0,4273,4391088,00.html#top
Site Link

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/impacts.htm

FollowupID: 510789

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:53

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:53
Hey Doug, how would I know the amount of research and reading you do?– Is there a link on your website:) My previous comments were based solely on your statement that suggested climate change was BS (you didn’t mention if it was natural or caused by humans).

The cataclysmic events you quote are without a doubt more significant than any effect humans have had in the brief time we’ve had a bash at it. Our continuing efforts to alter the earths vegetation structure and the composition of the atmosphere may however contribute to/alter/accelerate climate change. Cant imagine we have/will have no effect, ever.

I find it strange that people suggest we have no effect at all, which is impression I get from previous posts. Keep in mind it is a global issue - others suggesting drought is pretty normal for Australia is fine, however (for example) melting ice at Artic, Antartic and other polar regions is probalbly worth a bit more consideration when forming views.

FollowupID: 510801

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:19

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:19
"Don't even talk to me about the Southern oscillation"

I would'nt want to embarrass you Kim. It's a very private matter :))))))))
FollowupID: 510803

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:58

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:58
what is it
have i got one?
FollowupID: 510823

Follow Up By: kimprado - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 10:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 10:35
No 1

It's a secret.

Kim
FollowupID: 510843

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 10:41

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 10:41
Oh no its not!

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Ni%C3%B1o

FollowupID: 510848

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:36

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:36
what does all that mean explorer
FollowupID: 510859

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:40

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:40
Dont know, didnt read it

FollowupID: 510860

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:02

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:02
i couldnt understand it...lol
FollowupID: 510864

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:17

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:17
Hi Chris,don't we just love up here in the smart sunny state & what a state were in toooo.lol. Bloody cold here too 30 odd ks sth of brissy.First time that i can remember being in qld that i have worked all day with a thermal t shirt & track top & pants, that is on roofs in the sunshine, just got to love it .Lol
AnswerID: 249733

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:10

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:10
Hi Bob.
Not much better down south in Tweed Heads!!.
Good experience for our trip to the corner country on sat.
Regards.
Vince
FollowupID: 510772

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:11

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:11
Zuk,
Mate, cannot understand that you are wearing thermals?????? I am in Sydney and still wearing tshirts but admittly going to work until 8am with a beanie....... I hate the cold and I really have not felt the cold yet this year.
So far have had to scrape ice of the windscreen twice wearing a pair of shorts...... Have a few pairs of thermals but are not required.
I used to live in the Whitsundays for a while and also cairns...... Never did I need more than a pair of trackies or jumper....... Infact the Jumper I was issued for work in Cairns 15yrs ago I am wearing right now with only a tshirt.
I have been in -28 and all was good.
The far north can get a little cool compared to what your used to but it will only be for a couple of days and then you will be saying hahahahahaha it is 28 degrees here whilst we are shivering still with 8 degrees.
FollowupID: 510796

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:22

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:22
Enjoy your trip out there Vince,iwon't envy you as we were between Birdsville & Innaminka this time last year, stopped offthe side of the road overnight in the middle of both places no one in sight for god knows how many k's, got up next morning ready to set off to Innaminka ,bloody flat tyre 7am wind howling through all i had on was shorts & it was about -3deg with the wind factor maybe more but could not find the goolies for a while after i thawed out.:) Lol
Cheers Bob.

Extfilm, i am getting to old now to be pig headed & not be warm & comfortable,i can still remember as a 16 year old travelling to work on the trains in bleep ney jumpers,duffle coat,flannelette shirt, singlet, shorts, long warm duds, get to the job site light a big fire warm up for about an hout till the ice melted so we could do some work. Give me the warmer days any time.:)
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 510937

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:30

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:30
Yes well your right, that would be great if it was 12 down here in the south,
Many caravaners would have a small blow heater burried in the cupboard i bet,
And do you know why they call it brass monkey weather?

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 249735

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:38

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:38
It freezes it of 'em :-)

I know how they feel too. (the monkey that is)
FollowupID: 510756

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:34

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:34
Yes, I do know why it is call "brass monkey" weather.

For everybody who doesn't know, in the days of sailing ships, there was kept a ready to use supply of cannon balls next to the cannon. As cannon balls are usually round, they needed to be kept on some sort of implement to stop them rolling all over the deck. This implement was called a "monkey". Steel could not be used, as the salt air would cause them to rust together, preventing use (I suppose they wouldn't roll about the deck then either).
The monkey ended up being constructed out of brass, with indentations for the cannon balls to sit in, so a stack of cannon balls could be made. Brass shrinks and expands readily with temperature changes, so in the colder latitudes, the brass would shrink to the extent that the cannon balls would no longer sit in the indentations on the monkey and roll about on the deck, thereby creating the saying "freeze the balls of a brass monkey".

And you all thought that it was something rude.:))
FollowupID: 510778

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:35

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:35
And it is still cold in Cairns, feather doona on tonight.
FollowupID: 510779

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:47
Thanks Stu, I knew someone who could type faster than me would spit it out, for those who didnt know ahahah

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 510780

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:47

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:47
I'll consider myself enlighted :-)
FollowupID: 510810

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:54

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:54
As an ex navy guy I have always been dubious about that brass monkey explanation. The idea of a pyramid of shot sitting on deck with just the bottom layer held in by dimples in a brass plate just doesn't seem feasible seeing the effort we had to take to make sure stuff did not go wandering around in rough weather. So off to google and this is what I found:

"One theory, of sufficient popularity as to be an example of so-called folk etymology, is that a brass monkey is a brass tray used in naval ships during the Napoleonic Wars, for the storage of cannonballs, piled up in a pyramid. The theory goes that the tray, would contract in cold weather, causing the balls to fall off. This theory is discredited by the US. Department of the Navy and the etymologist Michael Quinion and the OED's AskOxford web site for five main reasons:

1. The Oxford English Dictionary does not record the term "monkey" or "brass monkey" being used in this way.
2. The purported method of storage of cannonballs ("round shot") is simply false. Shot was not stored on deck continuously on the off-chance that the ship might go into battle. Indeed, decks were kept as clear as possible.
3. Furthermore, such a method of storage would result in shot rolling around on deck and causing a hazard in high seas. Shot was stored on the gun or spar decks, in shot racks — longitudinal wooden planks with holes bored into them, known as shot garlands in the Royal Navy, into which round shot were inserted for ready use by the gun crew.
4. Shot was not left exposed to the elements where it could rust. Such rust could lead to the ball not flying true. Indeed, gunners would attempt to remove as many imperfections as possible from the surfaces of balls.
5. The physics do not stand up to scrutiny. All of the balls would contract equally, and the contraction of both balls and plate over the range of temperatures involved would not be particularly large. The effect claimed possibly could be reproduced under laboratory conditions with objects engineered to a high precision for this purpose, but it is unlikely it would ever have occurred in real life aboard a warship. "

See also this site or wikipedia for more info.

The expression is actually as crude as it sounds!

Pete
FollowupID: 510812

Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:41

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:41
G'day Pete,

you say this theory is discredited by the US. Department of the Navy........what about the US Dept of Pirates !!!!

I like the theory suppoted by Stu050 Much betterer.....LOL
FollowupID: 510894

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:35
Yes but - Myth Busted!

There was never such a thing as a brass monkey on a sailing or any other kind of ship, but it is still a nice story to convince SWMBO that you ar ento just the crude person she always thought you were.

The orginal expression in the 19th century was "freeze the tail off a brass monkey" and they also had "hot enough to singe the hair off a brass monkey" which is of more use most of the time up north.

Pete
FollowupID: 510923

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:51

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:51
They seem to come in for a fair bit of punishment, where was the RSPCA when they were needed?
FollowupID: 510926

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:31

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:31
Hi Guys

Being an ex Queenslander (only for as long as I have to be) all I can say is..........wow it must be quite cold for you big tough guys to be mentioning it!!!
I can remember when out of the whole Winter it would only be cold for a few days then lovely for a week or two, repeat that on and off a few times until the end of Winter.
Hope the warm sunny weather isn't too far away.

Cya
AnswerID: 249737

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:42

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:42
It will be 14 in Jabiru tonight BRRRRRRR.

Steve.
AnswerID: 249739

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:50

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:50
I hear ya Troppo , I hear ya !!

Neil !!

AnswerID: 249742

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 21:59
aaahhh...Mission Beach...

God's own country just there - such a beautiful place

I could cope with 12deg if I lived there
AnswerID: 249744

Reply By: madfisher - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:06

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:06
Give a thought to the people of Orange nsw where the minimum was 2 aqnd it rose to 3. It was a balmy 8 today. We are getting the best rain in years though Wyangala Dam rose 1m in 24 hours
Cheers pete
AnswerID: 249746

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:47
Nothing wrong with the cold...... You can always put some more clothes on but when it's 36 degrees & 95% humidity you can't peel your skin off to cool down :-)
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 249761

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:24

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:24
Agree with you Craig. Much easier to get warm than it is to get cool. Besides, it's the perfect excuse for a campfire :)))
FollowupID: 510804

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:57

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:57
I agree Crackles and Gramps. Sounds idylli to me :))))
FollowupID: 510813

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:59

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:59
I've heard that argument Craig, although it's not one I subscribe to. I'd rather be too hot. I moved out of Melbourne because the cold got to me!!!
Cold beer is much nicer when it's hot than when it's cold.

I have to agree though with the campfire thing. One of the best camps I ever remember was at a little salt lake near Rocket Lake in the Big Dessert NP south of Mildura on the Queens Birthday weekend.

We were expecting - 5 so we had a large fire trench with a roaring mallee root fire. (lit it about 3pm) By 8pm it was beeeeeeeautyfull. Ended up sitting around talking until 3am.

Makes me feel warm just thinking about it.
FollowupID: 510814

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 06:42

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 06:42
I heard last week that Toowoomba got down to -9 degrees, now thats cold for QLD

Kev

AnswerID: 249780

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:37

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:37
I think you'll find that was including the wind chill factor. (those several days of very strong winds ).

Still cold for Toowoomba in any case.

FollowupID: 510806

Follow Up By: Camoco - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 13:53

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 13:53
Apparently it ended up being -16 with wind chill. All up it got up to a max of 5 being the coldest max for Toowoomba in history. It certainly wasn't the coldest minimum day here (-1.5) but we haven't felt the cold like it is now for such an extended period for ages. And yes the wind was big. Like a blast freezer outlet. Still, it was colder at Stanthorpe (as usual).

So much so that I haven't worn a coat (as I like the cold) while in Toowoomba since 1984 (when it snowed) until last week. I have now bought a new one but I don't think it'll get too much use. Although I could be wrong.
We had sleet yesterday with driving wind while I was standing on top of a silo. That got a bit cold especially as the coat was in the car. I had trouble getting my hands working to get back down.

Gotta love the weather. Winter is for rugging up and summer is for stripping off. Too much of either sends you silly. Woudn't trade it for quids (although I have thought about Tassie)

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 510883

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:09

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:09
Oh, how i miss Toowoomba...not. Best move, weather wise, we made moving to North Queensland. (though we have ended up in Brisbane lately).

Nothing like working at Oakey in winter handling Galvanised pipe......froze the old fingers off a couple of times.

FollowupID: 510884

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:50

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:50
I have the blue prints on building Noah's Ark :-)
AnswerID: 249809

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:53

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:53
It;s not woodpecker proof
FollowupID: 510836

Reply By: live4theweekends - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:02

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:02
Hey at 12 degrees down here in Tassie we're almost ready to bring out the boardies and a t-shirt! :-)
AnswerID: 249821

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:24

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:24
You're a tougher breed down there.
I stayed in Stanley in July once. Swore I'd never do that again, with the wind chill it was real cold. 12C would have been a treat.
FollowupID: 510891