Mobile phone coverage on the road.

Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:13
ThreadID: 47323 Views:5440 Replies:4 FollowUps:23
Real life experience re the diff between Telstra and Optus.
We have just returned from a 2 week trip Brisbane to Darwin.
Went via Longreach, Mt Isa, Camooweal, Katherine etc.
My wife and I had Optus mobiles, and even paid for optus dial-up Internet while on the road. My Sister has Telstra Next G (on an LG mobile).

Result - Optus coverage about 2% of the time - Capital cities mainly.
Telstra coverage - about 98% of the time - only lost it (for a short while) about 100 klms outside Camoweal. VERY IMPRESSED!! No special antenna - just the bare mobile.
Out west Qld is wide open areas with nothing horizon to horizon.
Even in these locations, with nothing but sky and dust, the Telstra got coverage.
They must have rammed the transmitters up the @** of some stray cattle,or tied them round the necks of the eagles, as there was NO sight of any tower or other man made structure.

At the Elsey NP, my sister opened the Laptop, put the phone beside it, and connected to the NET. (Bluetooth). Now the nearest 'town' was Mataranka - which has a servo, a pub - hardly the size needed for profitable infrastructure.
Next town is Katherine - 100 klms away.
I am not a supporter of Telstra (with their Mexican management), but if you want coverage out west - at the moment - it is a hands down misere win for them.
........................Keith (and I have a 2 yr Optus contract for Cable and home phone).

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:46

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:46
Keith,

There is a NextG option for you to consider mate.
You can buy a pre-paid NextG phone from Telstra which is relatively low priced.

Yes, unfortunately Telstra still "has the wood" on their opposition.
NextG appears to be superior to the 3G solution offered by the other carriers.

AnswerID: 250338

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:21

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:21
I'm hanging out for a while yet, since CDMA doesn't close till early next year.
The only pre-paids Telstra are offering at the moment are the first-release model phones, some with fault issues.
Those on more expensive plans get the latest models.
Gerry
FollowupID: 511522

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:51

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:51
Is this due to the better coverage of Next G over GSM? The reason I ask is that Telstra is nagging me to change the CDMA to Next G but I have been a bit slow, given that my use of the mobile only justifies a plan of about $20/month, with the occasional month of $60. Many are like me, make few calls and even fewer messages and don't need all of the extra features on mobiles. So maybe the extra insurance of better coverage is worth it alone.

EV700
AnswerID: 250341

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:27
NextG has better coverage in outlaying areas, than GSM.

Its similar to a comparison between CDMA and GSM. CDMA is being replaced by NextG. You will need to change over to NextG by early next year. The original date was February, but I am led to believe Telstra is trying to bring this date forward.

You might like to consider a NextG pre-paid phone to start with. I think the lowest monthly pre-paid NextG account is $23.

The chances are, NextG may be good enough to completely replace your GSM phone, but only you can determine that by trial and error.

Nokia are due to release their NextG compatible phone sometime this month I hope, (model 6120) and I am waiting with baited breath to snap one up. I will be able to use this phone with my existing car kit.

One problem that will remain with NextG phones is that all of them have built-in cameras and that is no good for people like me who work in high security areas, where cameras are not allowed.

So I will have to maintain both a GSM phone (no camera) for general use and the NextG phone for country travel, in place of the current CDMA phone.

FollowupID: 511507

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:31

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:31
Hi EV700
As Sandman says, CDMA has better coverage in outlying areas. GSM technology is limited to an absolute 35km limit, regardless of the signal propagation conditions.
The other issue (and I have an Optus GSM prepaid as well as a Telstra CDMA, so I've borne this out) is that Optus only seems to have base stations in larger towns. Once you leave those areas, it's zilch coverage. Even Telstra's GSM has better coverage than Optus in the country (I used to have a Telstra GSM as well).
Gerry
FollowupID: 511530

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:00

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:00
To the Sand Man and Gerry

Thanks for taking the tiem to set me straight. Appreciated.

EV700
FollowupID: 511559

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:18
Keith
Bloody good report if ever there was one, good on ya . I got sick of trying to explain to others about not needing an external antenna etc , but always some damn excuse comes forth as to why one must have the antenna , I use the wireless Next G internet as well , I don't really see the need to have the phone service say between Camooweal and Barkly Hs , surely it can wait until one gets there .But the excuses will say , what IF there's an accident, what IF i get bogged, what IF i breakdown , to much reliance on what IFs instead of what IS,

Doug

AnswerID: 250349

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:40

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:40
Doug,

Gee your "full on" sometimes mate.
In your circumstances and use, you may have determined you don't need an external aerial, but the use of one has to improve reception in marginal areas.

My experience with the CDMA phone has proven that an external aerial improves reception. I can see the signal strength increase as soon as I put the phone in the vehicle cradle and as NextG uses the same frequency as CDMA, I can't see this changing.

In my case the cost of including an external aerial connection will be the cost of the cradle to suit the new phone. I already have the rest of the equipment in use with the GSM and CDMA phones and I know that a better aerial works.

I will confirm this (or otherwise) when I have the NextG handset.

FollowupID: 511511

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:25

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:25
Doug,
Wouldn't the external antenna help secure the next g broadband while you are on the road???
like, you do need that don't you.........
ha ha
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 511524

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:31

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:31
Nick

NO......NO.......NO

FollowupID: 511528

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:39

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:39
Hi doug,
If your phone works fine in all areas which you use it in, then there's obviously no need to get an external antenna.
But an external gain antenna will always work better than the inbuilt antenna on the phone. So if your reception is marginal, then an external antenna is the go. Users' choice.
Gerry
FollowupID: 511532

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:02

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:02
Gerry
You just can't grasp it can you, In one line you say there's obviously no need to get an external antenna. In the next line you say (an external gain antenna will always work better than the inbuilt antenna ) but why would I need an external antenna when I get a service that is quite satisfactory from the inbuilt, Tell me this , If I had an antenna outside the car , [and this is taken from my experience in the Mt Isa area using CDMA ] how much further am I going to get service at the point where the inbuilt loses service to the point where an External loses service, In the Ranges East of Mt Isa before the service was upgraded to give service near Fountain Springs I lost service using an External 2klm past the Lake Julius turn off , regained again for 300m on top of a hill before nearing the Leichhardt River East, On the same section of road using the inbuilt antenna I would lose service about 10klm out , the difference is another 11klm , how long does it take to do 11klm , was the expense worth it for 11klm , I say NO, using Next G here in WA I find I have service in most areas, why should I fork out over a $100 + for an antenna that will give me an extra 12 minutes of service after I depart a major town ie as the likes of Meekatharra, After you leave that town heading toward Newman your going to lose service anyhow , no matter how good the antenna is . Like I said before forget the IFs and look at the IS .

Doug

FollowupID: 511536

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:17

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:17
Doug, I think you've answered your own question; you get further distance with an external antenna. It's up to you then if you consider the cost of the external antenna worth it.
QED
FollowupID: 511542

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:37

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:37
Gerry
No I hav'nt answered my own question, thats a silly statement , The whole point I am trying get through is that in my opinion it not worth the cost, to gain 12 minutes , and actually I wouldn't spend a $100 plus to get an extra 40klm , what the hell do we have a message bank for ,

FollowupID: 511547

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 22:50

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 22:50
If you have alook at Telstra's CDMA or NextG coverage maps you can see quite clearly how much extra coverage you will get with an external antenna.

You can then decide if you need this extra coverage.
FollowupID: 511595

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 22:52

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 22:52
how long would it take to walk the 11km to get back into phone range?

Duck for cover!!
FollowupID: 511597

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 09:58

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 09:58
Is that 11km walk -

- with or without an injury ?
- with or without a heart condition ?
- through floodwaters ?
FollowupID: 511632

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:34

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:34
And more to the point, How warm will your beers get after an 11km walk, phone conversation, and 11km return walk!!! And how many do you recomend I should take. And whats better, cans or stubbies!!!!!
Or should I have stayed with the esky and sent the Mrs.???
FollowupID: 511676

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:54

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:54
Hi Doug - I have waited until my post is 'old' - the saga about the lack of phone coverage did have an unfortunate impact.
My Sister/Bro in law continued on the Bitumen from Barkley Homestead. We took the Tableland Highway then Savannah Way via Cape Crawford to Lorella Springs; Town River, Rope bar etc, but our van rolled on a corner, of very corrugated gravel, with bull dust in a large rut/pot hole. Total loss - and no phone coverage. Tregg hitch worked as designed, and car not damaged.
A passing Station owner saved the day, and now we are in the middle of sorting it out.
We have some insurance, so that will help.
First time in 20 years on outback driving, with a camper or van in tow.....Keith
FollowupID: 511724

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:48
Were all full of it mate and that includes you, what the hell do you think I was using before I went Next G, the Jam tins with the length of string , I just sit around in one place and use a mobile, I get the chance to try things out all over the country and when I tell myself myself I don't need an external antenna then I mean it , now if everyone else wants an antenna then for christ sake go and bloody get one , I have not banned you from the pleasure , I couldn't Rats Ar$e , all I do is say my piece like you do, if you don't like don't read it , simple,

AnswerID: 250355

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:09

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:09
Mate,

I don't want to get into an argument with you and agree that "freedom of choice" is good for all.

However, the difference with many of your replies Doug is somewhat on the aggressive side and you can lose credibility if you reply in that context, regardless how sound your points may be.

I read your replies with interest Doug, but sometimes mate, they need dipped in cold water first.

FollowupID: 511518

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:18

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:18
Sandman
The man who hides behind a Nick. Feelin's mutual about reading replies, I too like yours , I am me , I don't pretend to be what I'm not, I take an intense interest in what I use and stand by it, I have been ripped off to mant times from buying crap that won't go the distance, and I also know only too well that when I retire I too will not be able to afford all the good gear I use today, But I will not buy Chinese , or I won't buy at all.
Oh and your answer to main question was a good one ,

See ya

FollowupID: 511521

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:46

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:46
I have been camped in the sand hills for a week and can only get Next G signal with an aerial. No aerial, No signal, No Broadband
End of argument
FollowupID: 511549

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:57

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:57
You mean you can't do without all the goodies when you go camping , whats the world coming too , When I head for the sand hills I like to leave it all behind .

1 I will have a cup of coffee in the morning and read my PAPER newspaper like I used to, before the Web.

2 I will eat breakfast with a knife and fork and not with one hand typing.

3 I will get dressed before noon.

4 I will make an attempt to clean the house, wash clothes, and plan dinner before even thinking of the Web.

5 I will sit down and write a letter to those unfortunate few friends and family that are Web-deprived.

6 I will call someone on the phone who I cannot contact via the Web.

7 I will read a book... if I still remember how.

8 I will listen to those around me about their needs and stop telling them to turn the TV down so I can hear the music on the Web.

9 I will not be tempted during TV commercials to check for email.

10 I will try and get out of the house at least once a week, if it is necessary or not.

11 I will remember that my bank is not forgiving if I forget to balance my checkbook because I was too busy on the Web.

12 Last, but not least, I will remember that I must go to bed sometime... and the Web will always be there tomorrow!

FollowupID: 511555

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 23:49

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 23:49
Is the difference between the 2 the same as using a walkie talkie with the quarter wave antenna and using a walkie talkie using an external 4 or 6db gain antenna, what will get out further. As far as i know the external antenna uses 3 or more db gain which in theory boots more power out.

Maybe I'm not thinking straight, I've just have a few drinks :-) hic up
FollowupID: 511610

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:46

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:46
The difference between no antenna and a 7db antenna is huge. Where I am camped now 2 bars signal without antenna, 5 bars signal with antenna.
FollowupID: 511706

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 23:37

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 23:37
5 bars can turn into no bars very quick,
Now then I'm totally sick of this stupid discussion, been out on a Veratile Tractor all day and again tomorrow,

Doug

FollowupID: 511776