Camper trailer tips.

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:58
ThreadID: 47705 Views:7586 Replies:11 FollowUps:10

Im thinking about buying a camper trailer but i have never used one before so i have a couple of questions.

Do you guys have problems finding enough space at parks to park, find a place to set up.....reversing etc ?

What about uneven ground ?
Im assuming there isn't always flat even ground to camp on.

Any tips/ things i should look out for in features on a trailer ?

I will be attending the Cairns show next week so i can have a good look at the Cape York range but keeping to a budget i will hope to find one second hand.

Personally im quite happy sleeping in the back of the Cruiser but the missus & future kids have to be though of.

Any info will be helpful.

Kev.

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:03

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:03
Yo Kev,

Give us you phone number and we can arrange a visit and have a squizz at my trailer here in Cairns.

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 252362

Follow Up By: Kev. (Cairns) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:14

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:14
Hi mate, my old neighbor had a new one he payed $30k for & was great.
I won't be able to afford that much unfortunately so just like to hear from those who have done the long trips & have some info on the traveling side of things etc

FollowupID: 513430

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:22

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:22
Paid $11k for mine and it has everything you need. It was new by the way so the offer still stands. Full heavy duty off road as well..

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 252368

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:50

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:50
There is a second hand Cape York on the campertrailers.org website.
AnswerID: 252379

Follow Up By: Kev. (Cairns) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:23

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:23
Thanks for that but i still don't know what features i want/ need yet so im still at the homework stage.

I should have an idea after the Cairns show.
FollowupID: 513440

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:36

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:36
Kev ,,
as Crazy Dog said ,, give us a way to contact you and we will give you a few options you might be after !!

Neil ..

AnswerID: 252386

Follow Up By: Kev. (Cairns) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:46

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 16:46
Hi Neil,

I had a good look at the trailers at the show on the weekend, some good ones there.

Are you or C dog on any other forums that have private messaging as i don't like displaying my email address on public view.

Just tried to PM you but only available to members.

Kev.
FollowupID: 515111

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:27

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:27
G'day Kev ,,
I only use this one , look at some others , send me an e-mail on nmstrawb at bigpond dot com ,, replacing the obvious with @ and a . ,, that will get here and we will work from there ,, all the best ,, Neil ..

FollowupID: 515153

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:08

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:08
Kev to try to answer some of your questions:
Never had trouble finding a place to set up. We generally steer clear of caravan parks, preferring to bush camp or stay in National Parks etc. When in a CP, we easily fit on a site with plenty of room for vehicle etc.

Reversing, not a problem once you are used to your trailer. The longer the drawer bar, the easier to reverse.

Ours is a hard floor CT. Uneven ground is not a big problem. We carry a small spirit level and some wood chocks to drive one wheel onto for side ways uneven ground. For front to back uneven ground, just adjust the legs on the floor when you tip it over to suit.
Up in the Kimberley, we even camped on a granite rock platform. Great to have a granite kitchen floor out under the stars. A soft floor camper is not as good (IMO) on uneven ground.

Tips? First thing to decide is what you plan to use the trailer for. If you are planning on doing 'off road' or 'rough road' travel, strength, suspension, dust proofing, water carrying capacity, 12 Volt set up, wheels and tyres to match tow vehicle, etc are important. If you have kids, space is important. If planning to lots of overnight stops while travelling, set up time for a quick stop is important. Get the drift.

You might have a think about how you will use the camper and seek some more advise before heading to the show. When we went to our first camping show when looking for a CT, we walked in with an 'open mind' but came out with heads spinning. Once we sat down and worked out what we would do with the trailer, then developed a list of 'must have and like to have' items and features, it became much easier.

The Cape York range is very good. It was on our final short list, but we ended up going for an Odyssey from Australian Off Road Campers.

Second hand is a good option, but the good CTs retain their value very well. We initially tried for second hand, but after a couple of months of looking decided we might as well pay the extra $5 or $6k (thats all there was to save for a good second hand) and buy new and spec the tailer for our needs. Had to wait at least 6 monts to take delivery though, which is also common for the better models (hence the value retention).

AnswerID: 252390

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:11

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:11
Hi Norm,

Not a bad idea with the wooden chocks for sideways leveling.

I must be a little bit naughty though:-))

I find an easy way is to "lower" the ground on the high side a bit with the shovel, if necessary.
There again, the places where I camp are not your average "manicured" camping grounds and the small divot is easily filled in when leaving camp.

FollowupID: 513536

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:46

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:46
Sand Man, I carry lots of 'little bits of wood'. The main ones are two pieces about 300mm long cut from a treated pine plank of 200x50. These are used as jack plates, ramp to drive trailer wheel onto, block for under legs of camper floor, a solid block when I have to hit something with a hammer and whatever else comes to mind at the time.
Also carry two pieces of 100x100 treated pine about 150 long and cut at 45degree angle. They are used as wheel chocks for trailer. Finally about 10 pieces of 12mm ply cut into 100x100 squares. Also used to pack under camper floor legs when slope is too much for the leg adjustment.

All painted fire engine red so we don't leave them behind.

I sometimes dig a wheel in as well, but with a slide out kitchen, this can sometimes make the kitchen too low. My first option is to lift one side, up to 100mm (2 pieces @50mm). Much easier than digging in rocky ground! Have been known to lift one side and lower the other.

Being prepared like this opens up lots more camp spots when bush camping. How often have you seen a terrific creek to camp beside, but no level ground in the good shady areas.
Like you manicured camp grounds are not our usual preference.
FollowupID: 513542

Reply By: GerryP - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:51

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:51
Hi Kev,
I have a Challenge offroad, which is a 7 x 4 trailer and 10 ft tent off the side. There's generally not a problem finding a space to camp, but it does need to be relatively level without too many rocks etc. There is probably an advantage with a solid floor type off the back as rough terrain is not so critical, but that's all part of the personal choice you need to make. We prefer the extra tent space with the tent off the side, even though it is sometimes more difficult to find a large enough clear, level spot. Having said that, we have always found somewhere eventually to set up.
You also have plenty of choices with kitchens - swing out vs slide out for example - once again, personal choice as to which suits your circumstances best.
I suggest you insist on a good size water tank and try and ensure that the tailgate and any other openings and boxes have really good dust seals - some of the cheaper trailers have no dust seals at all and believe me, you will regret not having them!
If possible, try and get wheels that match your car, or are at least interchangeable so that your spares will fit both the trailer or car - saves taking extra spare wheels. With regard to suspension, I personally prefer a simple solid axle system rather than some of the fancy independant setups, although there are some good systems around. If it has coils, then make sure it has good shockers as well and make sure that the suspension travel is not simply limited by the shockers - it should have limiting straps or chains. I have seen springs fall out when shockers break! If it has leaf springs, then shockers are not as critical, providing it has good rebound springs fitted. I have no shockers on mine and have had no problems, even over the roughest of corrugations.
I would avoid anything with a huge amount of stuff on a really long drawbar, such as fridges, jerry cans and boxes etc unless it can be demonstrated that the ball weight is not excessive when fully loaded. Ideally, the ball weight should be about 10% of the overall trailer weight. My preference is a good size box on the drawbar to house the battery and other gear, but have the jerry's and even the gas bottle, along the side of the trailer - others may well disagree - once again, personal preference. Remember though, excessively long drawbars will reduce your ramp over angle on sand dunes and creek crossings. Spare wheels are also often mounted on the drawbar, which is really convenient compared to underslung.
If you can get one with a battery setup for lighting etc., it makes it really convenient for lighting and running other appliances.
Also, be a bit choosy with the canvas as some of the cheaper trailers use some fairly ordinary stuff. There is no substitute for a good quality, heavy canvas tent, especially when you find yourself in the middle of a downpour. Australian canvas seems to be really good in terms of durability and weather protection. The other thing you may want to look for is whether the floor vinyl extends up the sides of the tent for a few inches. This keeps the water out of the tent during severe weather.
Have a good look around as there are some good second hand bargains around. Buying used can save you heaps, leaving you more money to spend on fuel and other camping gear.
Good luck - I hope you find exactly what you want.
Gerry
AnswerID: 252404

Follow Up By: Kev. (Cairns) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:58

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:58
Hey great info on the suspension there mate, will keep that in mind along with dust seals etc.

FollowupID: 513637

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 21:04

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 21:04
Ours is a Campomatic hard floor/swing over type - just spent 10 weeks out of Adelaide across QLD - slept in it every night - level ground, like all trailer based options is ideal - you can get by on a bit of uneven ground, but lifting planks and wheel scrapes are usually the go - sleeping is better level. Hard floors (usually more $) are better suited to 2 people because of reduced space - with kids, a soft floor usually has more internal area - a Trakshak for example has heaps - others less so. Both hard floors and softies can be extended with annexes etc, but if you need quick setup and don't mind reduced spaces, hardfloors are great.
AnswerID: 252414

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:34

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:34
You will find they all have their drawbacks, one thing that hasn't been mentioned is that soft floor also generally have more usable storage space.
AnswerID: 252431

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:35

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:35
We have had a TrakShak for over 10 years now and love it. We paid $12,500.00 all those years ago. It was considered expensive then and probably was but it works out at $1250 per year now and will be less if I sell it because I will deduct what I get for it from the purchase price and devide the result by 10.

All the things you are concerned about you will soon get used to and not even think about.

Uneven ground, finding space to park set it up reversing is just stuff you learn to deal with. When you were learning to drive and the instructor said "Do a reverse park behind that car" you were worried, now you just do it, dont you? Same with the trailer.

I have never had a problem I couldn't overcome one way or another. In fact the boggest problem you will have with the trailer is finding somewhere to park it either at McDonalds or in those country towns like Wellington and Broken Hill where the majority of parking in the main street is angle parking.

These days they all tow well and they and most are well built. Find one that gives the accomodation you need, and is a set up system you are comfortable with. For me the crucher on buying a camper trailer was the time it saved when making and breaking camp. Once I found one offering the sleeping capacity I needed with a quick set up I was sold.

Buy the one you want to camp in, not the one you want to pay for.

AnswerID: 252432

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:26

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:26
G day Duncs
I do agree with you on all your comments,, especially at Broken Hill.

My challenge was to take the Trak Shak thru the tiny drive thru, at Wonthaggi K.F.C order, and just follow that little bit of concrete they call a road
With a bit of strategic manouvering we did it

And wow if looks could kill ,,,and not once mounted the kerd ,, Bonus

The things big kids do !
FollowupID: 513505

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:31

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:31
Never had a problem parking in Broken Hill with the trailer, just have to walk a bit further.
FollowupID: 513551

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:11

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:11
I agree Shaker, neither have I. That is my point. Towing/using a camper trailer is just something you get used to.

It brings advantages and problems. For me most of the problems have been minor ones that are easily overcome.

FollowupID: 513575

Reply By: Kev. (Cairns) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:55

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:55
Thanks everyone, some good info for things to look for.

As for the reversing bit my question may sound like im a novice driver but not so, been driving 4wd's since i was 8 years old & am quite good at revering trailers of all sizes. Just wondering about access to camp sites etc, as said shouldn't be a problem.

Ive never used a camper trailer but looks like this may change.

AnswerID: 252573

Reply By: kiwicol - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:42

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:42
the only place you will have problems with a CT is in National Parks which have fenced of camping areas which have those coppers logs telling you where you can camp, you will soon learn to move on and find a more comfortable spot for your family.Col
AnswerID: 252604