big smoke cloud on cold start

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:42
ThreadID: 47750 Views:3351 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Evening all,
Advice again please
My 2.8 GU has over the last 2 weeks or so developed this problem of on a cold start, blowing a massive cloud of not black and not blue, but more like a dark grey smoke. Smells like diesel but is not totally black smoke. Chugs for about 4 seconds and then is right as rain.Plus it starts almost straight away so no excessive cranking, No oil level dropping, no coolant levels dropping, no mixing of the above. The oil and filter was about 6500kms old, so I replaced them yesterday with quality Penrite oil and Ryco filter hoping that that may have solved the problem, I had a theory that the oil being old was maybe seeping past rings or something, but motor is not short on power and runs fine after the start so compression seems fine.
Any ideas guys

Cheers Stefan

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:46

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:46
turbo bearings/seals could be seeping oil into the air intake. This gives the type of things you are seeing. Scrape some soot from the exhaust with a knife, if this theory is right I think small black chunks should fall out.
AnswerID: 252605

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:49

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:49
where to scrape from, back of the exhaust or up near the turbo?

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513661

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:59

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:59
out the actual end of the exhaust at the rear of the car. the build up should be half a mil thick - I suppose it varies quite a bit from car to car tho. Also it wont normally be in large chunks just small black brittle pieces.
AnswerID: 252612

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:09

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:09
Thanks for the help, just gave it a scrape and all I got was a fine black powder

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513669

Reply By: madfisher - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:01

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:01
Hi Stefan,
could be worth checking your glow plugs as well, its been b@@dy cold the last few mornings. Is the car outside?
AnswerID: 252614

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:06

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:06
yeah it lives outside, ice all over it in the mornings lately. Also happens when I start it when leaving work, parked for about 10 hours, but its still been quite cool lately.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513667

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:12
I think it has a dud glow plug as well.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 513671

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:19

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:19
ok guys, being my first diesel vehicle, I am still learning about these things!! ;) Checking the glow plugs, is it a remove and inspect? or a check with a multimeter?

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513677

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:36

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:36
Stefan,
Connect up the glow plug to the battery out side the engine, if it's working after about three seconds the end should glow orange. As soon as you see the end turning orange disconnect the glow plug it's fine. Watch when doing this the glow plug gets very hot very quickly.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 513695

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 09:13

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 09:13
Yep, check all glow plugs first - I have the same prob at the moment with my diesel (even up here it gets down to a cool 10 deg), due to 1 out of my 4 glow plugs buggered. They can be checked without removing them with a multimeter - not sure exactly how, had mine checked at diesel mech.

FollowupID: 513721

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:23

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:23
Either a duff glow plug or a leaky injector. I had a leaky injector on my Rocky that used to cause the exact same problem. Would start fine, but idle rough (like a miss) and produce HEAPS of smoke for about 30 seconds. I changed the glow plugs thinking that was the problem but it didn't solve it, so I ran injector cleaner through it for a couple of tanks and it cleared it up, but after a few more months it came back. Because I was going to trade the vehicle I just kept putting injector cleaner in it and it kept the problem away till I sold it.

FollowupID: 513751

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:31

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:31
After running for an hour with the new oil+have run some injector cleaner as well it it has inproved heaps, will see how it goes.

And will check glow plugs as described as well thanks guys

cheers stefan
FollowupID: 513792

Reply By: keepingitreal - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:11

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:11
Hey Stefan, I think it could be because the mornings have been pretty darn cold as of late. My ol' '98 100 series 1hz cruiser has been doingthe same thing every morning lately.I wouldn't worry too much just yet!
regards Keepingitreal (NSW)
AnswerID: 252616

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:14

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:14
I agree with not worring as the old girl runs like a tropper once started, just a bit embarrasing when you smoke out front yard or car park at work!! ;)

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513672

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:46

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:46
as a rule of thumb, black smoke is usually fuel related, blue is oil, white is combustion temps too low.
AnswerID: 252635

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 08:11

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 08:11
As others have said, sounds like cold combustion temps, which you would expect at this time of year. Are you using any throttle when you turn it over?
I find keeping the foot off the throttle when turning over helps too, then increase the idle gently with the throttle. I jump from car to car and in this cold weather, a pump and bit of throttle is normal on the carby petrol cars.
Now we have cold weather (down to 5 in western Brisbane this morning), getting a little puff of white/grey too. I try and start the engine when I first hop in, then do up the seat belt and find my driving glasses while it warms up a little before taking off.
AnswerID: 252665

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:19

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:19
In Sydney the last few mornings it has been a case of starting the car, turn the heater up, turn the window demister on and wait for about 5 mins so the ice has defrosted before you can see where your going. I bucket of water tirck over the windscreen didn't even work this morning as it froze before the wipers could work LOL

FollowupID: 513749

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy- Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 13:52

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 13:52
Kev try living out at Portland. I drove for an hour to katoomba with the heater flat stick and when I got there only the front screen and half of the front door windows were clear of ice in the d/c hilux.
Check out the forcast if you think it is cold now...

Home | About Us | Contacts | Help | Feedback |

SEARCH
Global | Australia | NSW | Vic. | Qld | WA | SA | Tas. | ACT | NT | Ant. |

Weather & Warnings | Hydrology | Climate | Numerical Prediction | About Services | Learn About Meteorology | Registered User Services |

See Glossary to find out what the weather terms mean.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IDN10061
Australian Government Bureau of Meteorology
New South Wales
SOUTH EAST DISTRICTS FORECAST
Issued at 5:15am on Monday the 16th of July 2007

For the period through to Thursday
IDN1006101
ILLAWARRA
Warning summary

Forecast for Monday
Early frost areas and fog patches inland, then a fine, mostly sunny day. Light
to moderate west to southwest winds becoming variable along the coast this
afternoon.
Wollongong : Fine. Mostly sunny. Max: 16
Nowra : Fine. Mostly sunny. Max: 15
Bowral : Early frost then mostly sunny. Max: 9
Forecast for Tuesday
Fine. Partly cloudy. Strengthening northwest winds.
Wollongong : Fine. Partly cloudy. Min: 4 Max: 16
Forecast for Wednesday
Very cold southwest winds. Mainly fine.
Wollongong : Very cold winds, mainly fine. Min: 6 Max: 13
Forecast for Thursday
Scattered showers. South to southwest winds.
Wollongong : Few showers. Min: 5 Max: 13

IDN1006102
SOUTH COAST
Warning summary

Forecast for Monday
Early frost areas and fog patches inland, then a fine, mostly sunny day. Light
to moderate west to southwest winds becoming variable in the afternoon.

Batemans Bay : Fine. Mostly sunny. Max: 16
Bega : Early frost then mostly sunny. Max: 15
Merimbula: Fine. Mostly sunny. Max: 15

Forecast for Tuesday
Fine day. Late isolated showers developing in the west. Strengthening northwest
winds.
Batemans Bay : Fine. Partly cloudy. Min: 3 Max: 16

Forecast for Wednesday
Very cold southwest winds. Mainly fine in the north tending to a few snow
showers in the southwest.
Batemans Bay : Very cold winds, mainly fine. Min: 3 Max: 13

Forecast for Thursday
Scattered showers. South to southwest winds.
Batemans Bay : Few showers. Min: 4 Max: 12

IDN1006103
CENTRAL TABLELANDS

Warning summary

Forecast for Monday
Morning fog and frost areas then fine and partly cloudy. Light to moderate west
to southwest winds.
Orange : Morning fog/frost then fine. Max: 5
Mudgee : Early frost then fine. Max: 11
Bathurst : Early frost/fog then fine. Max: 9
Katoomba : Early frost then mostly sunny. Max: 8
Lithgow: Early frost/fog then mostly sunny. Max: 8
Springwood:Early frost then mostly sunny. Max: 13

Forecast for Tuesday
Fine day. Late isolated showers developing in the south and falling as snow
about higher ground overnight. Strengthening northwest winds.
Orange : Overnight snow. Min: -2 Max: 5
Katoomba : Overnight snow. Min: -2 Max: 8

Forecast for Wednesday
A few showers/snow, with snow to low levels, more likely in the south and west.
Very cold southwest winds.
Orange : Snow, very cold winds. Min: -2 Max: 2
Katoomba : Possible snow, very cold winds. Min: -1 Max: 3

Forecast for Thursday
Isolated showers falling as snow on higher ground. South to southwest winds.
Orange : Chance shower/snow. Min: -2 Max: 5
Katoomba : Chance shower. Min: -1 Max: 5

IDN1006104
SOUTHERN TABLELANDS
Refer to the Snowy Mountains Forecast [ALPS] for areas above 1200 m
Warning summary

Forecast for Monday
Morning fog and frost areas then fine and mostly sunny. Light to moderate
westerly winds.
Goulburn : Morning fog/frost then fine. Max: 9
Cooma : Morning frost then fine. Max: 8

Forecast for Tuesday
Fine apart from isolated showers developing later, and falling as snow above
higher ground. Strengthening northwest winds.

Goulburn : Late showers developing. Min: -1 Max: 9

Forecast for Wednesday
A few showers/snow, with snow to low levels, more likely in the west. Very cold
southwest winds.

Goulburn : Chance snow, very cold winds. Min: -1 Max: 4

Forecast for Thursday
Isolated showers falling as snow on higher ground. South to southwest winds.

Goulburn : Chance shower. Min: -1 Max: 6

Home | About Us | Learn about Meteorology | Contacts | Search | Help | Feedback
Weather and Warnings | Climate | Hydrology | Numerical Prediction | About Services | Registered Users | SILO

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

© Copyright Commonwealth of Australia 2007, Bureau of Meteorology (ABN 92 637 533 532)
Please note the Copyright Notice and Disclaimer statements relating to the use of the information on this site and our site Privacy and Accessibility statements. Users of these web pages are deemed to have read and accepted the conditions described in the Copyright, Disclaimer, and Privacy statements. Please also note the Acknowledgement notice relating to the use of information on this site. No unsolicited commercial email.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 513766

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 14:42

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 14:42
OK I agree it's bloody cold everywhere and getting worse LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 513777

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:36

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:36
G'day oldplodder, nah I keep the foot of and do as you describe already, but as mentioned in a other follow up, some injector cleaner has helped heaps so maybe it is/was a leaky injector. but will still check glow plugs

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513794

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 10:06

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 10:06
Grey-ish smoke on start up is mostly unburnt diesel(black smoke is half burnt deisel)and is cuased by cold combustion temps inside cylinder pots .once its started it quickly warms ups and the smoke stops .
I think your glow plugs might not be fully upto scratch or the not getting full voltage,either way its NOT oil related

Shane
AnswerID: 252679

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:38

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:38
Thanks Shane, some injector cleaner has helped, but will check glow plugs asap
thanks for the help mate

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 513796