Submitted: Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 12:43
ThreadID: 47969 Views:2779 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
It was only a matter of time

Dob a truckie

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:07

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:07
Sooooooooooooo,as a truck operator..and i stress the word operator....is it time i started a website to encourage and encite anger against every other road user out there ????
I dont think so. There are all sorts of people driving all sorts of machinery on our roads, most of whom know what they are doing but unfortunately, there is a minority that dont.!
There has been gradual shift in the way people operate any sort of machine on our roads and it has all been downhill. Sure there are still a lot of people who do the right thing, who know we need more room and space to manuveour on our roads. But the number is increasing for those who dont care, that all they want to do is get home two seconds quicker.
It is way past the due date that all people realized that when you make a stupid move in front of a truck- racing to get in front at a single lane point for example-
you are placing your life squarely in the hands of a complete stranger whom you hope is not as stupid as you are.
Death is irreversable and for people to put themselves in such a situation is not the fault of the truckie, but themselves.
Yes, there are idiots in trucks, there are also idiots in cars-vans-motorbikes-even 4wd's. But there must be an understanding that a truck does not maneuver like anything else on the road.
Take care, be aware and drive safe, so that we can all get home to our families.
For the minority out there,,,,take your blinkers off your head, we all have to share the roads. Wake up, be aware of your surroundings and stop doing stupid things behind the wheel of whatever you drive just so you can get home before everyone else..

meow.

rick
AnswerID: 253832

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:11

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:11
Agree 100% Rick.
FollowupID: 514899

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:26

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:26
yeah, we don't have "dob in a Volvo driver" do we......
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 514902

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:07

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:07
Yeh I''ll dob you in ya Monrel......lol

what you been up to lately

FollowupID: 514911

Follow Up By: Brian T (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:55

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:55
I,m kinda of the opinion that people who seem so desperate to get themselves run over etc really don't belong on our roads. That and the fact that Darwin would thoroughly approve of the thinning of the ranks of morons.
FollowupID: 514920

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:17

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:17
Just another web site for people to have a bit of a Cry, Man these day's people have a sook about anything and everything that takes place on the road.

Funny thing is all the people who complain probably think the sun shines out there arse and they are the worlds safest driver.

You were tail gated you know what, get over it.
AnswerID: 253833

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:22

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:22
This should rattle a few cages.

In my, fairly broad, experience Australian truck drivers are amongst the most skilled and capable truck drivers in the Western World whereas Australian car drivers are amongst the least skilled and capable car drivers in the Western World.

A generalisation, of course, but then these things always are.

AnswerID: 253834

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:59

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:59
Spot on Mike.....you'll get argument from me.

I've long been an advocate of more driver training and testing before anybody should get a licence.

I also believe it would be beneficial to INSIST that everybody MUST hold a motorcycle riders licence for 12 months minimum before they get a car licence. Why? Because as a bloke who initially rode a motor bike (couldn't afford a car), I learnt so much about skids and about reading road conditions (ie: oil or ice on the road etc) and learnt about picking escape routes (in the event of a car pulling out in front of you on the highway etc).

I consider myself a reasonable driver these days, but I certainly wouldn't (in hindsight) have thought so 35 years or so ago........I was invincible, even on a motor bike (in my own mind). I'm just lucky I came through it without either killing myself or somebody else.
FollowupID: 514976

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:24

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 13:24
Al

What about the car drivers I have to extract out of my rectum each day?

I've had far more truckies offering help, courtesy and advice on the road than any of these Left Wing Chardonnay Crunchers....!

About time we started to support truckies and stop knocking the crap out of them.

Kim
AnswerID: 253835

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:20

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:20
Kim,

LOL I'm like everyone else. Met my fair share of dud truckies/motorcyclists/bicyclists/cabbies/bus drivers/cops/ambos/firies/pedestrians and probably more than my fair share of car drivers.

Thank God that the overwhelming majority of the above are fine and do the right thing on the road.
FollowupID: 514912

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:37

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 14:37
Ahh there is not enough love in the room!!

After last week where on Tuesday the F3 was blocked due to an accident and then on Wednesday where there was a fatality on the Pennant Hills Rd where all north bound traffic was directed down the Lane Cove Rd and onto the Pacific Hwy where a delivery van was broken down in the middle lane. Kaos!!

The old road is impassable due to a collapse at Somersby, which leaves the F3 as the only road north out of Sydney. There are some very convoluted routes you could take to circumvent the F3 though it would take a great deal of time and deliver you many klms from where the F3 finishes.

During both events as I had a great deal of time to reflect on the situation and in a roundabout way there are similarities to the comments on this thread.

Australia has grown at an amazing rate over the last 20 years. The dormitory towns which feed Sydney generally have one main road as a feeder to Sydney. These towns have little in the way of public transport which forces people into cars and onto the feeders.

Freight has little option other than to use the roads as the antiquated rail system cannot deliver the same service as the trucking industry does.

Expand this to take in the eastern seaboard states and the same issues I deal with every day are extrapolated up and down the coast. More traffic, little in the way of improvement of any infrastructure. Dual lanes for the Pacific Hwy are just a stop gap measure with the way the east coast is developing and where it will be in the next 20 - 50 years.

Consideration has to be given to planning and budgeting now for the future. Both political parties should develop and support for the long term, an innovative, independent infrastructure planning service. Consideration should be given to solutions which are unique to Australia, vast distances etc. Aviation logistic centres, high speed rail freight systems integrated with trucking. ie: Develop rail carriages and truck trailers to compliment each other there by cutting out double handling. Mass transport systems to allow people access to work whilst maintaining a decent lifestyle.

We need leaders with great fore sight to allow Australia to develop with intelligent co-ordinated systems which will lead the world with logistics.

My road, he said, she said will only polarise society which does no one any good.

AnswerID: 253850

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 15:16

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 15:16
Blue one,

That is why you will never be a politician or in a position to make the aforesaid changes. You have a brain and you use it. You are automatically excluded.

FollowupID: 514915

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:38

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:38
The problem with that Blue one is that you can't achieve it in 4 years.

Don't want to start something that the next government will get credit for now do we?

FollowupID: 514918

Follow Up By: blue one - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:42

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:42
That would be the reason for an independent body to manage the process. The Government only has to support the process.

FollowupID: 514919

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:57

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 16:57
LOL now you're talking bi-partisan thinking, for the good of the country. Dream on :))))
FollowupID: 514922

Follow Up By: blue one - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:15

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:15
I like to dream.

FollowupID: 514956

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:40

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 17:40
I'll be the devils advocate, I don't really have much of a problem with it. I would prefer it was a "dob in a tailgater" full stop without targetting any specific group.
We've all been tailgated at some time or other and it is dangerous regardless of who is behind who. I've had some bike riders tailgate me and I know who'll come off 2nd best if something happened in a situation like that.
We as 4x4ers need to be aware our actions if we tailgate we will frighten the driver of a smaller car in front and as a group we will all be judged similarly.
With truck drivers tailgating it's a whole new ball game though as it takes intimidation to a new level. If a car tailgates me I know in all likelihood I will survive in the case of an accident with a truck there's a very good chance I won't.
Thankfully with age comes some sort of empathy with fellow road users I know when I was young I wasn't so respectful and it's something I'm glad I grew out of.
I don't tailgate at all, it doesn't worry me if I get there a little later so long as I get there.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 253871

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:17

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:17
I am with you Andrew, include the WANKER light user too though please, especially the high intensity tail light user :-(
FollowupID: 514958

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:48

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 19:48
Don't leave out the mobile phone user/driver.....
Those wanker light users are supposed to cop a $75 fine in NSW according to some signs i read but it is all a matter of policing it and i find it won't happen, i have seen this several times when going in to nightshift. a car with wanker lights blazing passes an officer in a highway patrol vehicle and nothing, not a warning flash or a pull over driver nada zip.....
another non-policed law of the road includes fining those who smoke in a car with children on board.....yeh riiight that's gonna happen.

The thing i find is that the only time these things will be enforced is if i try to do it.
FollowupID: 514972

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:14

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:14
Dumb question, but I am not about to say "sorry"!!!
Whats a wanker Light
FollowupID: 515013

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:18

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:18
I have noticed over the years when their is a road accident the truckies are the ones who will pull up and help, most cars owners have a gawk and keep going
FollowupID: 515017

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:59

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 22:59
Big Mike, in Europe they have lights that are meant for foggy conditions, when it is foggy here we are entitled to use them. On Holdens drivers have them set high enough to be blinding oncoming drivers in fine conditions. When they are used in fine conditions it is a wank to use them. They are Wanker lights, common on Subies too and Fords.

I have noticed that drivers of some of the Korean cars like Hyundais use them too and have their high intensity tail lights on too, probably not knowing how to turn them off! Highly illegal but they still do it. I have seen a Beemer or two as well doing it. They are pretty disturbing to cars following and look like a brake light is permanently on.

As Wayne says above, they need to be the focus of police when used improperly, and that is frequently....
FollowupID: 515028

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 00:14

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 00:14
Thanks John,
I know the Bl....y things now. Those silly hyundi high intensity lights.
SWMBO's new Pug has "fog lights". Wonderful looking white lights set low down in front bumper. Just more light to reflect off the fog I reckon.
FollowupID: 515034

Reply By: Col88 - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:11

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 20:11
I'm not out to bash truckies, but when someone does something stupid in a 40T truck, they tend to draw more attention than someone in a Barina.

Just as I expect a cabbie to be a good driver because that is what he does for a living, so should a truck driver be good at it.

I think time constraints and traffic has got to the point where if that truck driver doesn't pull out straight in front of you, he will never get out.

Now, I'm sure I will be jumped on by everyone, but the prevalence of bad driving by trucks is growing. I am on the road every day and it amazes me. But, they aren't alone. Cars do it too. That doesn't mean you will let it slide when he kills your wife or kids.

I have plenty of time for courtesy towards trucks, everyone for that matter, but when someone looks straight at you and pulls right out or does something unsafe, they shouldn't be on the road and I suspect everyone has had this happen to them.
AnswerID: 253917

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 21:12
Thanks for putting the site link on here,yes it is a bit of truck bashing,at least it gives the truck driving fraternity an opportunity to also have input and the ability to communicate with other road users.
It is set up specifically for northern NSW but the everybody who use a any road will have a sense of what this site is all about.
I've got to go to bed now,5 am start, of to Bundaberg(EX Bris)in the morn

Shane
AnswerID: 253932

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:54

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 09:54
There are many morons on the roads, trucks, cars,and bikes but I reckon the truck driver should be a little more tollerant as they are supposed to be 'professional road users'. Driving up and down the hume, I don't always see this.

Leroy
AnswerID: 253980