Desert trip Logistics

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:24
ThreadID: 48619 Views:2653 Replies:10 FollowUps:21
Evening all, getting in early with my trip prep for a 2 wk desert trip next year. I've got a V6 Terracan, and I know some of you will say stay at home, it's the wrong vehicle, etc etc; we TC owners are used to that sort of thing.

I've been told that there will be a maximum of 850Km between fuel stops (will allow 900Km). Will allow worst case scenario of 4Km/L (25L/100K's) having a V6 am I being over cautious consumption wise? Worst consumption I've had so far is 5-6Km/L
Carry 75L in the main and 110L in the Aux tank (reckon I could squeeze an extra 10L up the spouts).
At this stage I'm considering having 70L in cans on the roof + a 2nd spare (All up weight 101Kg). Bloody spare weighs 41Kg (oh me aching back).

Will be 2 male adults travelling expect that we will be, say 12 days off the beaten track. So far I've allowed 7L per person per day for 14 days (200L). Reckon I can squeeze that much in the back and still have room for all our clobber.

Am I being too conservative? I know you can never be too over cautious.

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:35

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:35
70 + 41 = 111kg - That's a lot of weight on the roof to bounce over 4WD country?
AnswerID: 256851

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:50

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 19:50
Woops that should of been 60Kg's of fuel. Yer I know Mike, my rack is rated to 100Kg. Last year on our trip up North It was loaded to the hilt but I only put fuel in the jerry's when I thought I might need the extra fuel. Fortunately the car handles the weight very well. But will need to be extra cautious with the driving this time as I'll have the rag tyres on and they are quite a bit skinnier.

FollowupID: 517949

Reply By: AndrewX - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:37

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:37
First of all to get useful advice you need to tell us where you are going Duncan. Desert doesn't tell us enough. There are many deserts. Whatever the desert is I wouldn't take fuel or a spare wheel on my roof. If you are crossing the Simpson Desert then your 25l/100 may well apply on the eastern half where the dunes are tall. You may also have trouble with the high and heavy load on top of your vehicle. I carried my spare in the vehicle on such a trip. No need for me to carry extra fuel as I have a TD Prado. You'll find the consumption of a petrol engine will jump quite dramatically when the going gets tough.
AnswerID: 256859

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:59

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:59
Gt Victoria Desert in late June

FollowupID: 517963

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:42

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:42
Bit difficult to contribute as you didn't mention what sort of desert ie where. There's a lot of difference in consumption depending on the exact terrain, and if its a good or hard season for travelling. This year in the Simpson, for example , was relatively easy compared to other seasons.
Bogs, live sand blows etc will adversly impact consumption.
Too much weight will adversly impact suspension components on any vehicle.
AnswerID: 256861

Reply By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:47

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 20:47
Hi Duncan,
That's a lot of weight on the roof, what doe's the vehicle manufacture recommend for max load on the roof, this will also include the weight of the roof rack. If you are towing a TC you might be able to strap the spare wheel to the top of it, that would lighten the load on the roof and your back !
AnswerID: 256864

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:01

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 21:01
Not towing and will be travelling at crawling pace. Car has handled the GRR, Cp Laveque Rd, and Kalamubaru/Mitchell Rds fully loaded without a hint of problems. I'm very mindfull of roof weight.

FollowupID: 517965

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:03

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:03
Hi Dunk

Have a look at our Trek Fuel section

http://www.exploroz.com/TrekNotes/TrekFuel.asp?TrekID=2

when you get back you can add your Fuel consumption figures as well.

cheers Kerry
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 256880

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 01:02

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 01:02
Will check it out, thanks for reminding me.

FollowupID: 518006

Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 08:37

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 08:37
Hi Kerry
With respect, the trekfuel data needs work in places. Check out Anne Beadell Hwy for 4 cyl diesel (Grey Nomad) - obvious error. Also, if you look at Googs Track, you just have to question the relevance of any figure (and there are a number) for a trip over 500km. Those trips simply do not relate to fuel use on Googs Track. I think these issues have diluted the relevance of this data.

Another change I think is relevant, is date of trip. I just put in my / friend's details for WAA trip we did in April (apologies, forgot about it up to now) but date is date of entry and not date of trip. However, our trip was done in very hot/dry conditions and sand was very soft and difficult (something the likes of Willem has spoken about) when fuel use is higher. Regards JD
FollowupID: 518014

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:31

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:31
Hi JD

We do appreciate all constructive feedback, and thanks for yours.
I will look into having Grey Nomads error removed.

The trek fuel data however, is only a guide.

It is simply readers helping other readers compare fuel needs for these remote areas via the interactive facility set up for that purpose.

The more submissions made, the better the picture of the fuel needs for these areas for different vehicle types. (Thanks for submitting yours)
In the absence of any other data to date, it is the best guide available for the huge variety of vehicles, fuel types and cylinder configurations travelling these remote areas. (From fuel stop to fuel stop at least).

Like all free info it needs be used with discernment and in conjunction with official travel guides.

As is the case with some of the other useful and innovative features on this site - it is a work in progress.

Kerry W
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

FollowupID: 518096

Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:26

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:26
thanks Kerry
FollowupID: 518108

Reply By: AndrewX - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:18

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:18
I am advised that you should carry fuel for 1,000km and then add a 20% margin. Therefore you should be carrying about 55l more than you plan. Also I know you get this message a lot but you really are planning it in far from the ideal vehicle. You are used to that sort of thing because there are a lot of experienced people out there whohave had to rescue people in unsuitable, overloaded vehicles. To your credit you are planning to travel very slowly but have you taken into account that having to crawl at "snails pace" for such a long distance will take a very long time and make for a very boring trip? If you try to rearrange your packing so that you have the light stuff up top and the heavy stuff down low you'll be much safer and quicker. I'm really quite concerned that I'm having to tell a person who is planning a long trip in a remote area to pack heavy stuff low and light stuff high. In fact I'm changing my advice. Put your trip on hold until you have done a course on off road driving and camping. Get a few books on the subject and read them. Buy an EPERB and a Sat phone. Find an experienced off roader to travel with you. Remove your roof rack if you are still tempted tp put a WHEEL #$%#@@## and fuel #@#@# up there!!!
AnswerID: 256883

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:21

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:21
Sorry - that was crawling pace not snails pace .... still very slow though ....
FollowupID: 517995

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:26

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:26
Yep your right Andrew, have an EPIRB, and Sat phone and will be in convoy with at least 3 very experienced desert travellers. Most of the trip is exploring hence the slow pace and on unmade tracks.
Before I go I guarantee that the car will be packed and repacked about 3 or 4 times and rationalising each time. If I can get the 2nd spare inside that is the preferred option. To date I know of at least 3 or 4 Terracans that have done the Simpson and beyond + 3 having done the Cape the hard way and all experienced no problems.

FollowupID: 517996

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:54

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 23:54
Done the course done the driving, but never been into this sort of desert. Ask the question whether I have, not assume I haven't.
Only a fool thinks they know everything.

That is the value of this Forum there is a wealth of experience within it's mebership and readership.

FollowupID: 518000

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 00:46

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 00:46
Hi Duncan,
I may have missed it but I didn't see if you were in a Manual or an Auto Jerrycan, (LOL just a joke mate I actually don't mind the Terries), this would of course in sand show a difference to fuel burn. With the Vic desert you are not going to experience anywhere near the sandhill country of the Simpson. My guess would be you will be burning about 22ltrs per 100 at worse so you already have that safety margin covered, and lets be honest here. I am assuming if the very worse scenerio happens and you run out of go-juice, it will be probably withing 80k's of your refuel and one of the other vehiclescan go and fill a couple of your cans. As you say you don't have the optimum vehicle for the trip, but neither did Tom Cruise or Len Beadell. Just take it easy and use up your fuel from the roof rack as soon as possible, every time you know you have burnt over 20ltrs stop and empty one of the cans into your bottom tanks.
FollowupID: 518002

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 01:00

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 01:00
Evening Blaze, it's an auto. That was my intention. Under normal conditions fully loaded and with 50% rough gravel road driving I can get about 1100Km out of the tanks. Also prior to leaving the car will be fully serviced by a specialist 4wd mechanic also the vehicle will be scrutinised by an expert in that field to ensure that it is up to scratch before we leave. At this stage just trying to cover my bases and plan ahead.

The trip leader suggest that 20L extra would be more than enough, but I want to be doubly sure and work on worst case scenarios.

FollowupID: 518005

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 07:35

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 07:35
AndrewX, But who teaches the teachers ? Just take note of what you sometimes see on this forum and in the 4wd mags !! Need I say more :))

To add to your comments about weight up high a friend of mine had cracks in the 'A' pillar on his 80 and he IS a careful and experienced 'easy does it' person. We think it may have been caused by the roofrack being too rigid and not allowing the vehicle to twist and flex. Excessive weight up high must be one of the most basic but ignored issues with 4wd vehicles on country roads. Almost as bad as not deflating tyres enough.
FollowupID: 518011

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 11:55

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 11:55
Fully agree with you Kiwi Kia, I always check the roof for any signs of distortion and the same with the frames. Also check for any cracking in the roof rack mounting slides. One saving grace, (if you can call it that), is that petrol is approx 750g per Litre compared with water being 1Kg per L.

As I said in my opening thread, am I being too conservative with my fuel estimates? I know it's my car so I should have the best idea on that score, but others in a 3.6L V6 may have done a similar trip in the same vicinity.

I think some others on the trip will be in a similar predicament as their storage space is going to be taken up with kids.

FollowupID: 518031

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 12:57

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 12:57
Duncan

Duncan

I think you will find that your main and aux tank capacity will be fine for the trip you describe (185L).

Most desert travel is very slow which decreases fuel consumption. Having said that, a margin needs to be considered for some of the tougher section you may encounter.

Weight is the enemy of desert travel, and not given the attention it deserves. Overloading places a lot of strain on the car and reduces it's ability.

Be safe, but don't over do it.

Kim
AnswerID: 256928

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 14:02

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 14:02
Thanks Kim, fuel is starting to be the lesser of the logistical problems.Water I think will be the killer of space and weight.
Have thought about getting a jerrycan holder that piggy-backs onto my spare wheel on the rear carrier (for water).

FollowupID: 518046

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 18:33

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 18:33
Interesting thread Dunc with alot of people who know nothing of Terracans questioning their ability. Having succesfully driven a Subaru into places I was told they couldn't go I feel your pain ;-)
Kept light & driven steady your car should do the trip well.
Although not ideal carrying weight on the roof, it is rarely an issue with thousands doing it successfully. Obviously the fuel on the rack is used first so in reality the heavy weight is only carried up there for a couple of days at most. As for the 2nd spare you could just carry the carcass saving an extra 10kg. With only 2 in the car you also have the option of removing the rear seats (40kg less) & storing heavy gear low & forward. We did the Madigan last year this way & despite carrying 300 litres of fuel & 150 litres of water & all the usual gear we were able to remove the roof rack & save more weight.
200 litres of water is a huge amount for only 2 people for that time of year. It doubt it would be that hot to require that amount. 5 litres each per day would be suficient even allowing for a few bucket showers. You haven't mentioned your route but no doubt there will be some options to pick up non drinking water along the way for cleaning, in which case even less may be required.
It's not a matter of how much you can squeeze in the car rather you should carry only that what you really need. You can be over cautious as by carrying too much water, fuel & spares you overload the car increasing the chance of a breakdown.
Sorry I can't help with estimated fuel usage other than in general a petrol car on remote trips can often use double that of usual highway milage depending on terrain. More for cross country driving.
Cheers Craig..............
HZJ105 Vic
AnswerID: 256952

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:03

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:03
Hi Craig thanks for the above. When I travel I have the rear seats completely removed. I'm now thinking of taking only 30L of fuel.

If it was just the wife and I we wouldn't need as much water. Travelling with a mate who isn't quite as camping savy as you'd like. On a trip into the Goldfields over Easter being 4 days in the scrub we went through about 60L of water. Did have a shower though and used maybe 10L between the 2 of us.

Was working on 12 days away from scheme water and 5L per person per day plus 2 or 3 showers each during this time. That would be a conservative 160L. Could get away with about 150L I suppose.

Booze is another matter. Fortunately my mate doesn't drink alcohol at all. LOL. So I've got to find room for at least 1 slab and a dozen bottles of red. Will drink cask wine if forced to or drinking somebody elses. LOL

FollowupID: 518086

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:18

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:18
Oh yes forgot to add, you're quite true many people do not know the capabilities of a Terracan. Their biggest downside is their ground clearance and storage capacity (volume).

Mind you a V6 Terracan has a GVM of 2850kg and kerb weight of 2030kg, which if I have this right gives my Terracan a payload of 820kg's as stock.

However, I've removed the 3rd row + main back seats but added a 2" lift and suspension upgrade with Polyairs, long range tank, spare wheel carrier, custom built _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, duel battery, cargo barrier, and a custom made behind seat shelving, storage system, and roof rack.

So I reckon give or take I'd still have a legal payload of 750Kg or so which is a damn sight better than the figures that the most common touring vehicles get.

Some comparative figures I've pinched from elsewhere (A recent Sydney newspaper article I believe):

Disco TDV6 798kg
VX Prado 730kg
100 Series 710kg
Pathfinder ST-S 670kg
Grand Cherokee 581kg
Patrol ST-S 570kg
V6 Terracan 820Kg

FollowupID: 518090

Reply By: Col88 - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:58

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 20:58
G'day Duncan,

Mate, you obviously aren't off on your first trip, you're asking for advice and doing all you can to be cautious and ensure a successful trip. Good on you.

I also get sick of hearing that if you don't drive the latest, greatest Toyissan that you won't get anywhere. Stupidity is the greatest danger out there, not the vehicle.

Take all the precautions, build in some leeway and have a great trip!
AnswerID: 256971

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:32

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:32
Thanks Col appreciate the comments.

FollowupID: 518124

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:26
Hey Duncan,

Sounds like a good trip have fun.

I've seen your Terracan off road, so I don't think you'll have any probs there.

Sorry I can't help with the fuel usage figures!!

Ross.
AnswerID: 256976

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:33

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:33
G'day Ross, you guys still doing the weekend away at the 4wd Comp next month?

FollowupID: 518125

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 21:15

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 21:15
Hey there Duncan,

No can do unfortunately, we'll be close to the middle of the Simpson by that stage, so we'll miss out again. Looking forward to the trip though so no complaints from us...

Ross.
FollowupID: 518280

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 23:46

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 23:46
Lucky buggers, enjoy your trip. Hopefully see you when you get back.

FollowupID: 518297