Tag along tours

Submitted: Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 16:47
ThreadID: 48669 Views:3547 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Gday all,

cape york, kakadu/arnhem and the kimberly are four places we plan to do extended touring of when we set out around oz next year. we are thinking because we (4wd, wife, two kids and me) will be travelling solo and not familiar with any of these areas that a tag along tour would be our best option. has anyone done these tours before?. i know these tours can be expensive but i guess this is the price inexperienced travellers, who want to see this great land have to pay for staying alive. And one could not possibly do a lap around without visiting these places could they?can anyone recommend any good tour companies? we are looking at two to three week tours of them all. is this long enough in each area?. thanks, your help will at least put this part of the trip in the almost organised basket.

cheers dave

Reply By: Steve63 - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:29

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:29
Hi Dave,
It depends what you are after as to who you would travel with. They offer very different levels of support. Some just show you the way, others are fully catered. Don't expect most of them to teach you to drive properly. I have only heard of one operator who had a mandatory sand driving course included (pre Simpson desert crossing) it was included in the price and was apparently excellent. Tag alongs sound good but they tend to come with quite a bit of baggage. I have only ever been on one (and definitely the last) and we lasted 4 days before we said "stuff this" and went our own way. (Nothing to do with the tour operator just some of the others in the group). We usually travel alone so had no issue with driving the rest of the CSR by ourselves. If you can drive your vehicle (properly!), recover it, have some form of comms (sat phone or HF) and are going in peak season you could do these areas by yourself. The Telegraph Track and GRR are very busy at the peak times of the year. I was originally concerned about Cape York but it was not beyond our capability at the time. If you do decide to go it alone make sure you are prepared and have done your homework. If you are worried about the driving do a good course that covers the type of driving and recovery you may need. Even if you go the tag along I would still do the course. It does not pay to be reliant on someone you don't really know.

AnswerID: 257096

Follow Up By: dave_c - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:04

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:04
steve,

great reply. because we have only done the caravan park thing and only in victoria, we figured that going into these areas alone would be beyond us. we ars really keen to do these areas as we see them as must do's hence the tag along idea. having never done this type of travelling before we are not sure how to prepare and do all the homework for such areas. the driving course is a must do. also, im only presuming though, that having someone there you dont know is better than no one if trouble strikes?. your words are food for thought though. it would be great to find an experienced traveller to these areas who is more than happy and patient enough to take us through. we are still four to five months from leaving vic so alot more to study up on.

thanks steve

dave

FollowupID: 518232

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:48
Dave,
You have a bit to do before you head off. GRR has plenty of stopping places with varing degrees of facilities so in many ways not much different to what you are currently doing. If you are going a bit more remote you need to be self sufficent to a degree as you may need to stop by the side of the track. If you are early there may be a lot of water around and you need to allow for that. You need to remember that it was everyones first time once. Don't let that phase you. Ron and Viv Moon do guides for the Kimberley and Cape York. They are good books and they have definitely been doing the travelling for a long while. When we started we were given some really good advice.

1) Know as much as possible about where you are going. Read a bit then ask specific questions here and of anyone else you can find. Don't ask salesman if you need things as you will always need them!

2) Never ever have a must arrive destination if it can be avoided. If the going gets slow you drive too long or too fast. You then break things, possibly yourself and family. We stop at the first likely place after 330. This rule is rarely broken and we always regret it when we do.

3) Aim to be ready 2-3 months before leaving. Then take the family on a test trip. If in Vic the border track would be good (I assume you are ok on sand). You can then camp where there are no facilities and find out how it goes. It is only one night so it wont upset anyone too much if it doesn't work out. You then have an opertunity to correct stuff before you actually leave. If you want to hear complaints just be on a strech of 5 days wit no facilities and something simple is wrong.

As for assistance. Make sure you know what to do. The number of stuffed recoveries I have seen is pretty worring. As for other help. If you have a serious issue it is unlikely that the tour leader on a tag along will be able to fix it or have the correct spares if required. If you stuff a bearing why would he be carring one to suit your vehicle? In some ways the safety thing is very over rated. They may be able to tow you or help in some way but then agin they may not. Make sure your car is in top condition, newish tyres etc. You need to have a bit of cash spare if you need to get rescued even if you are on a tag along.

FollowupID: 518242

Follow Up By: dave_c - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 19:03

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 19:03
steve,

this is really sound advice. yes we do have alot to do and i hope the trip is as good as the organising. the fear factor is present but i think this is normal.

thanks for the indepth replies. to go to this much trouble for a family you dont know is incredible.

cheers dave
FollowupID: 518247

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:43

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:43
Hey Dave.

Kakadu Arnhemland and the Kimberly are Basic 4wding, I have never been to the cape as yet so I don't know the difficulty.

There are no tag along tours in Kakadu or Arnhemland as this is not allowed, I do believe a member of this forum has a cape tag along tour, Unless you require an informative tour I can't see why you need a tag along, as Fritz in his Britz navigate these areas easily, I am sure with common sense you could also.

Most of these areas have a day tour to icon areas, You could perhaps take one or two and see how it is done, then you could try it your self in other similar areas.

Hope this helps .

Steve.
AnswerID: 257147

Follow Up By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:43

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:43
steve,

thanks for the advice. the fact that this area is totally unknown and have no idea what to expect, the fear sneaks in. thats mostly because i will have my family with me. hence the idea of the tag along. i just thought with others around it would not be so daunting??

cheers dave
FollowupID: 518398

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:51

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:51
Dave,

Firstly, good on ya for having a go and asking questions here well in advance. Steve provided very sound information. I personally wouldn't go on a tour either, they can be very frustrating and you're limited if you want to stay somewhere longer or leave somewhere early.

If you do your research, 4-6 months is about what you need, then a great trip is very satisfying. I've begun plans for our first trip to Vic though the highlands and onto Tassie.

A pre-trip or several is vital if your testing new equipment and experiences. Read plenty of books on the areas you're travelling in, study maps and talk to people who have gone. This forum is great for information.

You'll have a great time.
Alex
AnswerID: 257148

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:57

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 22:57
Also, 2-3 weeks is really pushing it to travel around the cape or Kimberly from Vic. If you could double your numbers you wouldn't regret it.
FollowupID: 518294

Follow Up By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:17

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:17
alex,

thanks for more good info. the two to three weeks was just a guess at the time needed at each of these places. we have not put a time limit on our trip around oz so we can spend more time at these places if wanted to.

we hope to have a great time. we figured that if this trip takes two years, so be it. i will have about 25 years of work left in me to pay for it all and more importantly the kids will learn so much and will have great memories for ever.

cheers dave
FollowupID: 518406

Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 08:28

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 08:28
Lots of good replies so far, just would like to add that it is a good idea to write out a rough itinerary as it is easy to push too hard on a long trip and find yourself heading home when you could have spent another week at the opposite side of the country. BTDT!!
We also found with kids especially for the first few days that it is best to limit travelling distances to around the 500k on the bitumen. Much less if on the dirt or rough tracks.
I'd suggest that 6 weeks minimum from the southeast corner to the kimberley or top end. Even with this timeframe you will spend half the time on "transport" stages.
If you are in the area then most places 2-3 weeks would be a minimum, much longer is possible too ;-))
We also tend to camp by 3.30 - 4, you can end up camping in some poor spots when pushing to get to a specific place, rarely worth the effort and leads to lack of concentration and resultant vehicle or personal damage in an extreme.
AnswerID: 257165

Follow Up By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:36

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:36
traveller2,

the itinerary is something im really not sure how to do. a 1 or 2 month trip would be far more easier i am guessing. 12 to 24 months is a long time and not even sure where to start as far as destinations and time spent at each. another reason for the tag along. at least we would have to be in certain places at certain times.???. as you can see, we have long way to go before we pull out of the driveway.

thanks
dave
FollowupID: 518414

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:08

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:08
I didn't realise that you were on a 1 or 2 year odessey, but the itinerary thing will still be a good idea so as to make the most of time in each place and also be in each section of the country at the right time.
No good being up the top end in the wet (although having visited in the dry several times over the years we want to go back in the wet) and no good being in the centre in midsummer.
Might have to travel in a figure eight rather than go round so you spend the winters in the north and the summers down south.
FollowupID: 518529

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:28

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:28
Hi Dave

There have been some good responses to your question and I would echo the comments made by Steve.

Our experience was that when we purchased our 4WD we did a couple of courses and a couple of tag-a-long tours. The first tag-a-long was to the Victorian High Country and the second to the Simpson Desert/Red Centre and these were with Great Divide Tours. I would thoroughly recommend Vic Widman and his professional team to anyone.

Since these trips we have explored a great deal of Australia by ourselves, including solo Simpson crossings and we plan to do the southern section of the Canning Stock Route next year by ourselves. The tag-a-longs gave us the confidence to progress further, venturing out on our own and from that perspective I found it useful. The drawback is that you don’t get to decide who you travel with. Although we didn’t experience any problems with fellow travellers I guess this could occur. The other issue is that they need to work to a time schedule, understandably, and this may work for some and not for others. There isn’t a lot of scope to ‘sit back and enjoy’ due to the distances usually covered. This could become an issue when travelling with younger kids.

I think the key to any successful trip lies in the planning with particular attention to what you will do in certain circumstances. Paramount to us has been our health and safety and so we have placed a lot of focus on this in our planning. Things like communications, first aid etc. Secondly, ensure the vehicle is well prepared and equipped and always drive to the conditions. Pay particular attention to the suspension as it seems to be a major cause of failure, although we are often surprised by this as a well prepared vehicle and sensible driving technique (yep - slow it down) should mean you won’t experience suspension problems.

Slow down when in remote areas, not just when driving, but when undertaking everyday chores. Many accidents occur when people are in a rush; when in remote areas medical attention might be hours, if not days away and consequently you need to do everything possible to avoid any mishap.

We have found by practising these basic things that our trips have always been successful and an enhjoyable experience for all of us.

Good luck on your travels.
AnswerID: 257177

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:34

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:34
Hey Dave

Just to add on first aid, If you or your wife doesn't have one yet, a senior first aid course is a great idea, not that hard to get and not to expensive.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 518316

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:41

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 09:41
And carry six wide crepe bandages for snake bite - seriously.
FollowupID: 518318

Follow Up By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:39

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:39
landy,

you have done things the way we thought we might, re courses, tag alongs then solo efforts.

more great advice too.

thanks dave
FollowupID: 518416

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 13:24

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 13:24
G'day Dave
Spend a few $, join the Toyota LandCruiser Club down there and do their driver training courses (you and the missus). Best $ you'll ever spend and after graduating I'm confident that you'll be confident enough to tackle the trips on your own. Then you can have fun at your own pace and have the cash you would have spent on a tour operator available for scenic flights, etc.
Do heaps of research, rough out an itinerary and above all else have fun.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 257200

Follow Up By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:43

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:43
moose,

good idea. i just told my wife of this idea. she was a tad hestitant. a bit of convincing and she will be up to it. this may just turn out to be the hardest part of the planning. lol.

thanks
dave
FollowupID: 518417

Reply By: Member - Tim - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:07

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:07
Hi Dave,

Like Landy we started with a tag along and then progressed to doing our own thing. We went to the Cape with Duncans and had a great time. Some tag alongs you have to cater for yourself but Duncans did the catering for us and it was very good food. There was a little bit of minor friction between participants but really it wasn't a problem, not to us anyway as we take a fairly laid back attitude with us. Duncans also ran training courses which was very useful to us since I had mostly only driven sand and my wife had not driven offroad much at all.

Since then we have been out to the centre with some friends and up to the Gulf and Lawn Hill by ourselves. There are some places where I think it would be better to have at least another vehicle with you unless you are very well set up and able to do your own repairs and such like. For instance if you take the old road up the Cape (and most do) it is easy enough to drown the vehicle in some of the creek crossings and it would be nice to know that someone will be there to pull you out. It's also nice sometimes to have someone to talk to about what you have done that day, sit around a camp fire and yarn.

If you do some training and then a tag along to start with and see what you think you are capable of I don't think you will go wrong. If you do decide to go by yourselves make sure that you have the right communications equipment to call for help if you need to and the ability to repair the basics.

Above all, have fun, it's a fantastic and beautiful country we live in.

Tim.
AnswerID: 257235

Follow Up By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:50

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:50
tim,

the drowning car etc etc are the very things that make me nervous. i was feeling ok up till now.lol. im sure the courses will gear us up properly.

dave
FollowupID: 518420

Reply By: dave_c - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:54

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:54
gday all,

from my understanding of all this, we would be better to start from the west and do the cape last? what do you all think?

cheers dave
AnswerID: 257247

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:53

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:53
Hi Dave

I've often toyed with the idea of doing an extended trip (1 year) although I've concluded that in some ways it would be better to base yourself at home and do 2/3 month trips, honing in on specific areas, before returning home to recharge.

This way it breaks it up, gives you the chance to return to family and friends, and provides the opportunity to fine tune being in the right places at the right time of the year.

The epic journey always sounds appealing, but don't forget that a year on the road is a long time and whilst many people do it indefinitely there is always a risk that such a long journey becomes a tad monotonous, especially with children. A bit like the old adage that too much of a good thing……

Good luck anyway and I’m interested to hear how you go.
FollowupID: 518546