A stupid question for you

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:16
ThreadID: 48915 Views:2597 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
Ok I am confused ...... Just bougjht a vehicle with 16" wheels and have a camper trailer with 15" Sunraysia's x 3.

I need 3 x 16" sunnies obviously so what is the best way to get the 16" and get rid of the 15" sunnies?

Do I sell the 15" x 3 and use that to get the 16" or do I advertise to swap or what?

Help help....

Told ya it was a stupid question ....

Grrr!!!

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:24

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:24
Yes its a stupid question.....lol

Do what you have to do the easiest way to get from one to the other.

AnswerID: 258329

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:34

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:34
And what is the overall size of wheel /tire on the new toy compared to the overall wheel/tire on the camper ?? any much more than an inch or 2 as in say 28in on camper now and 31s on vehicle and you may find that you will need some canvas mods done when you go the same 16s on the c/t.
AnswerID: 258337

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:41

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:41
would you need any assitance cleaning your nose ?
good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 258345

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 20:38
gp,
you amaze me.So insightful.
Welcome back.

Jeff H.
FollowupID: 519635

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:48

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:48
With all this spare time you've got these days ,, go for a drive round all the wrecking yards till you find one with a Tojo the same as yours with wheels the same ,, buy 3 of them ,, or more if you want extra spares , put them on your trailer ( with tyres on them of course ) , then sell the Sunraysia's ,, how hard is that ,, could even let ya fingers do the walking ,, might be easier ,,,,,, have fun , see ya ,,

Neil ..

AnswerID: 258349

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:55

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:55
This is of course hoping the stud pattern on the camper is the same as the Tojo !!

FollowupID: 519625

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 01:34

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 01:34
And how much money do you think your going to get for 3 lousy used wheels, might as well give them to the bloke at the wrecking yard, would be cheaper than putting adds in the paper

FollowupID: 519689

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 11:50

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 11:50
Got $150 for the 3 which is 2/3 of what I am getting the 16's for with rubber.... So they were notsolousyDoug&D

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 519742

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:41

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:41
Bit harsh Doug ,, in Crazy's words ,, A stupid question for you ,, I just sugested what i'd do ,, thats up to Lance how much he gives them away for ,, a bit is better that none if you are the one who wants to change them in the first place ,, what would you suggest in this case !!

Could always store them in the shed in case he ever sells the camper i guess !!

Neil ..

FollowupID: 519820

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:49

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 19:49
You could put 15s on the vehicle with 31x10.5R15 tyres...
Just a thought.
AnswerID: 258350

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:53

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:53
Yo Signman,

How did the Cape trip go?

Lookin' forward to your report.

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 519667

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:15

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:15
I have the same as you, hilux was 15x31x10, camper the same, now prado 16 camper still 15, have two spares for camper, one mounted to the trailer the other for the roof rack (if needed), the prado one on the back door the other on the roof rack (if needed). Sunrasia rims 15x7 $40 each new from bob jane. Spare on trailer new, one on spare 2nd hand (good tread). Prado one on rear door near new, the one on spare rim second hand (good tread). If you change the rims on the vehicle 5 new tyres $$$, or three new tryes if you change the ones on the camper. Alot of wasted money unless your tyres are stuffed and you need new ones anyway. I dont see any issues having smaller wheels on the camper unless your looking for more ground clearance or want all wheels the same so your not carrying extra weight n spares. But if doing long distance off road touring I would be taking two spares anyway for both. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 258376

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:51

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 21:51
Ok thanx guy's = Sorta thort I'd get some of those replies = At least while yer larfin at me you be leaving tuthers alone....

To go around the wreckers in Cairns bit has bin done...to no avail but the Bob Jane bit has not so my stupid question and some of the stupid answers has given me an idea which I will pursue 2morra...

Seenotsodumafterorl...

Can't even get a battery carrier in Cairns - Had to buy one thru the trader on this site from Sydney eh but... Thanx Andrew - lookin' out fer it in the next cuppla daze.....

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 258386

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 22:35

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 22:35
Crazy,
I hope you don't log off before you pay homage to
_gpp_rtd (aka gp). Money as well, thank you.

Will be up your way in maybe 10 days or so. Care to mm contact detail to me? (And NO mate, I emphatically do Not want anything . Just be nice to meet, and exhibit the Fai' Kobb.)
[Bugger, maybe it was another weird animal that was interested in the Superior Model? Oh well].
Cheers eh.
Jeff.
FollowupID: 519673

Reply By: snow - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 15:05
Hmm, I threw 4 x 16 inch sunraysias with tyres away when I fitted the alloys as I couldn't be bothered having them in the way while trying to flog them off...buggger!
AnswerID: 258445

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:59

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 19:59
Hi ya Snow, maaaaaaate never throw things away, ebay ebay ebay, there is always some one out there who will buy your stuff wether its crap or not. Sold my old leaf springs off the lux which were starting to sag to a bloke in Gosford. Told him they had sagged was totally truthfull to him even took pics of old springs still in vehicle and new ones installed to show the hight difference. You would be surprised what people buy. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 519814

Reply By: snow - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 07:34

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 07:34
Gday Stephen M,

Yeah mate being someone who rarely throwsanything away I initially thought I'd be able to unload them but had recently relocated and dumped a hell of a lot of good "stuff". I had a long ranger tank for a Hilux that I couldn't get rid of, tried advertising it everywhere it too ended up at the tip...
AnswerID: 258547