Any news on next year's National Gathering?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:26
ThreadID: 49072 Views:4031 Replies:18 FollowUps:63
Hi Folks,

I know we have only just settled back into the swing of things after this years very successful ExplorOz National Gathering at Warraweena, and maybe I am being too premature, but has anyone heard talk of another similar get together next year?

If so where and when, as I would love to be able to attend the next one if the timing is right.

Thanks for any info.
Trevor.

Reply By: Olcoolone- Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:38

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:38
Yeah appently after the toilet paper incident regarding drivers licences and several other thing it had been decided by the gods that no Queenslander will be allowed........this will proberly lead to other states being banned in the future.

I heard some thing about a press release coming out soon about the above.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 259127

Follow Up By: Trevoooorrrr Ribit- Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 11:53

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 11:53
"Yeah apparently after the toilet paper incident regarding drivers licences and several other thing it had been decided by the gods that no Queenslander will be allowed........this will probably lead to other states being banned in the future."

Sounds to me that a few are a bit peeved they did not take advantage of the cheap automated licence renewal system at Warraweena and now have to pay full price. The S.A government goes out of its way to try and do the best for their statesmen and this is the appreciation shown, no wonder there is so much disharmony and bad vibes abound in that state.

Just a short note for those of you that have been talking to my good self over the past month I will not rest until my work here is done.(namely the return of the KINGS flag).

So I guess I will talk those concerned SOON.

SIR RIBIT ALOT
FollowupID: 520831

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:00
Sir Ribit Alot,

I think Richard is peeved at the fact he failed the simple liscence test and was not issued his paper liscence in this automated booth. I would not have liked to be the first guy shaking his hand after that experience LOL!!!!

Trevor.
FollowupID: 520845

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:42

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:42
Mmmmmm....... Everyone was talking about the free S.A drivers licences, when I got there there were only empty cartons of XXXX beer so I just thought that they ran out of S.A ones and only had the QLD ones left.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 520927

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:42

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:42
Due to the extra long drive having being endured by some travellers.........i suggest a location like the Northern suburbs of Adelaide.
AnswerID: 259128

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:56

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:56
Hey Brew, you could alway ask those people down the hill from you if we could have it there....it is Commonwealth land and we have rights too to use it.

Poeple with tents can camp on the lawn and people with camper trailers can camp on the runway.......flat ground.

We can even go back to your place and use the toilet and shower, Macca's isn't far away either.(would you like fries with that)

And the last thing, you haven't seen our whistle have you?

Regards Richard and Lyn (AKA "the dash nail lady")

FollowupID: 520561

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:58

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:58
Brew, that's just being plain selfish!!!!

It needs to be held away from a capital city; somewhere like the beautiful Yorke Peninsula in SA.;-))

One things for sure: if it's gunna be in Queersland, we won't be able to attend as my truck wouldn't pass the stringent Qld. Dept of Motor Transport (or whatever they call it) requirements.........it doesn't have any rust in it and doesn't have a cane toad on the bonnet nor a maroon flag to hang on the roof rack!!!

FollowupID: 520562

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:05

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:05
Nope. !MPG:25!
FollowupID: 520564

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:37

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:37
CRUEL
FollowupID: 520576

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:30

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:30
Good one Roachie, but the chev would make it up and back in the blink of an eye.
We discourage national gatherings up here, (thanks Joh), as it more often results in mexicans overstaying their visas and putting extra pressure on our infrastructure :)
FollowupID: 520603

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:19

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:19
As far from you 'Toad Cootas' as one can get and notified by strict word of mouth excluding anyone east of the NT/Qld Border and Nth of the NSW/Qld border.

That toilet incident, (signs not the flag) has left a lot of Crow eater punters in a highly distressed state to the point where they have been diagnosed with PMT .

I thought it was supposed to be PTSD however I was rightfully corrected.

apparently some new lurgi called Poor Mans Toyota disorder.

Anyway you guys from the North Eastern sector of Australia have been likened to the Equine Flu raging at the moment and are restricted to your slice of 'paradise'

So stop asking.
AnswerID: 259139

Follow Up By: Trevoooorrrr Ribit- Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 12:11

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 12:11
Listen here you Victorian version of a Keystone Cop when I am finished my work in S.A I might just hop over there an pull that porta potty out from under you, but that would get the EPA onto me as there would be nothing to catch the copious amounts of crap that continuously flow from you.

Maybe if you joined a different 4WD club it would help calm that built up anger you tend to thrust on anyone outside of that sad little circle of acquaintance's you so often gather with.....ROFLMAO

So Mr Lucy you to are in my sites......

SIR RIBIT ALOT
FollowupID: 520833

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:38

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:38
Trevor

The first National Gathering organised by Baz (Redback) took place in Birdsville in 2005. So it started in Queensland. There wasn't one in 2006 but SA ofcourse held the 2007 one.

So I would suggest that someone in NSW,ACT, VIC, WA or NT must come up with the next one.

AnswerID: 259146

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:53
gee, 2 posts in the time I wrote mine....

I sort of quoted you too....
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 520580

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:08

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:08
Yeah what he said.

FollowupID: 520584

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:30

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:30
If the drought continues, An old disused dairy near Timboon could be a spot for the get together.
FollowupID: 520589

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 12:28

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 12:28
Des, It'd have to be in Winter then, Just to give some challenge to the 4wding around here.
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 520651

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 13:51

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 13:51
Nick, All you need is a big pile of firewood and a tractor to pull them out of the mud holes and it would be a good get-together.
Competitions in mud sinking would then be the go I'd reckon.
FollowupID: 520659

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:44

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:44
You'd think the site owner could come up with a WA one?

Maybe at Giles?

You never know

RK
AnswerID: 259147

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:50

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:50
Willem posted a response to a similar post a while back, it went something like "it'll be when and where you organise for it to be"

I did hear murmers about one on the wa border somwhere.
Maybe the flagnapper will do one in the high country in April or you put one together near birdsville.
I'd do one in the otways but in july the mud would be a bit deep...
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 259149

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:01

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:01
Kennedy Ranges or Mt Augustus in WA. Plenty to see and do with nice places leading in and out.

AnswerID: 259152

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:27

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:27
Yes but a long way for the eastern's to come
FollowupID: 520588

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:20

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:20
True but the same can be said for us in the West travelling East. Hell it takes us 2 days just to get to the border. At least those inthe East can get a rel nice holiday whilst coming here.

FollowupID: 520600

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 00:42

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 00:42
Yes I know :-D
FollowupID: 520607

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 09:53

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 09:53
Duncan, it took us 3 days to get to the gathering, so no excuses really, if the eastern states are willing to drive for 2, 3, or even 4 days to get there can't see why you guys can't.

The first National gathering that i orginised took us 4 days to get too, the gathering at Warraweena for the WA guys would have been 3 days just like the eastern states.

FollowupID: 520635

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 16:43

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 16:43
Don't forget someone made it down from Townsville to Warraweena this year.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 520695

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 18:59

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 18:59
Well you did use it .I will send the account each month LOL

you do look at rest in your new pool
FollowupID: 520709

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:26

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:26
Of course if you're looking for an excuse to meet then the National Four Wheel Drive gathering is being held at Mitta Mitta over Easter 21st to 24th March 2008. No doubt many ExOz members will be there kicking tyres & comparing fridges ;-)
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 259159

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:36

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:36
Hi Trevor

Is your little infectious import been conversing with you in secret by letting you know that the heat is on and it's trying but finding it very hard to find it's way home to you?
So are you looking to get another gathering going soon so you can pick it up on or just over the border somewhere by hoping it might be able to stow away on the bullbar, side step or or tailgate of a southern 4WD heading to Sunny Queensland for the next gathering?

Cya
AnswerID: 259161

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:38

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:38
Yeah something like that Mrs Doe. Had so much fun at Warraweena I was just hoping to get back with you all and do it again!!!

Take care,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 520925

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:42

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:42
Hi Trevor

Hehehehehehe.......it wasn't those cold nights, generous nips of medicinal needs and that wonderful warm fire that had you hooked?
I'm sure if anyone is ever in S.A. it goes without saying there is a standing invitation to join us at any campfire. The more the merrier!!!
The YP4WD club will socialise with anyone.......lol......hey Lucy!!!

Cya
FollowupID: 520973

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:47

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:47
Will you galoots stop it! (LOL)

Since Warraweena:

I have been bagged for the Toad on the UHF - which I wasn't

I have been slagged for making the Toad calls, even to the point of Detective setting 'Toad Phone' traps for with the farm pig swiller as his right hand henchman and ending up with more Toad splattered on his face than on the Cairns Highway.

Suffered allegations of fraternising with those that where pink laced thongs and indulge in fetishes.

Constantly threatened with dire consequences if a certain flag does not re-appear, when I had nothing to do with its disappearance.

I really don't think I could endure another national gathering or the fallout from one.

Ooops nearly forgot:

Having my privates discussed and described on this family oriented forum as anything from dried flowers to de-hydrated fruit.

I need a holiday.

FollowupID: 520981

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:42

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:42
What about Lambert's center of Australia, then everyone would be on a level playing field.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 259162

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 01:32

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 01:32
Steve,

There are five centres of Australia according to Geoscience Australia

Centres of Australia page and they are all in the Northern Territory.

FollowupID: 520609

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 23:14

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 23:14
But there is only one Lambert's center approx 30 ks from Finke Mission.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 520789

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:28

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:28
you have suggested it why dont you arrange it?
AnswerID: 259172

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 09:04

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 09:04
Sounds like the makings of a plan to me!!
FollowupID: 520627

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 10:11

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 10:11
Someone has to put their hand up other wise it won't happen just like 2006, and it has to be at a venue that is central for all states and in a period that all have a chance to go (ie) school holidays or as close too as possible.

As i said in an above post, the WA guys have no excuses if it's within 3 or 4 days, if the eastern states can travel that far, so can YOU.

AnswerID: 259200

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 10:13

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 10:13
Marree is nice and central!!!
FollowupID: 520640

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 13:53

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 13:53
Or the William creek Pub.
FollowupID: 520660

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 13:54

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 13:54
Did i see you just put your hand up?
FollowupID: 520661

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 14:23

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 14:23
Mt Dare so we can have a 12 month memorial for Ian.

Just a thought.

FollowupID: 520663

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 15:25

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 15:25
Thats a good thought Kev
FollowupID: 520682

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 15:30

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 15:30
It may appeal to some as Ian was a very well know identity on this forum and well missed by all and sundry.
Seeing as though his death came at a time close to the 2007 one, it would seem fitting IMO that we have it (the 2008) one over that period.

Kev

FollowupID: 520685

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 16:07

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 16:07
not a bad idea at all Kev. Will be there in a few weeks if people want the idea discussed in person.
FollowupID: 520690

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 16:25

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 16:25
I think it would only be right if we asked his family and the Mt Dare community, so I reckon discuss it with them and see what they think.

FollowupID: 520693

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 19:37

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 19:37
Baz, I'm not disputing what you're saying about the travel distance we've all got problems there, but it seems that everything is Eastern States based. It would be nice to have something on my doorstep (so to speak) for a change.

Something over the Easter Long weekend would help?

FollowupID: 520715

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 20:17

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 20:17
Hey Bushfix, will you keep us posted as to what they say. I think this gathering has got legs as it is close to Lamberts centre and therefore the same for everyone, and it will be great fun getting there.
big mike
FollowupID: 520728

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:06

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:06
Kev M, I agree it should be done in person.

Big Mike, I do believe Andrew (Vivid Adventures) perhaps should be given the opportunity to speak with Pat (Ian's widow) or Dave and Mel before me, as he knows them personally and may be there before me. I will send him an email alerting him to this post.

Lambert's centre may not be big enough for us all but I would suggest (with permissions needed of course) that if Mt Dare was not a possibility then perhaps Old Andado. There are no caretakers there until I don't know when so perhaps a working bee could be carried out by the EO mob. Anyway, early days and many more folk to contribute ideas.

cheers.
FollowupID: 520744

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:21
Now we're talking, good ideas in these responses. If this, as a plan gets going, I would love to be able to help in any way. Although without any knowledge on this neck of the woods I may just be dead weight???? A willing hand anyway.

Cheers guys,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 520751

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:26
I am sure there would be a few of us heading west from Birdsville
FollowupID: 520756

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 08:28
I'm in on those ideas subject to my calendar fitting... I'd suspect Dave and Mel would not mind, after all it is their business, and Ian and Pat are almost family to them. I'm there at the end of September, or can give them a ring sometime if the idea has general acceptance.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 520811

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 08:49

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 08:49
Andrew,

Just do it I reckon,

That way everyone has nearly 10 months to plan for it.

FollowupID: 520816

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 14:34

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 14:34
Why not have two, one in the West...one in the East....split by a couple of months in case some want to do both.

my two cents worth for today.

Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 259225

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 18:27

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 18:27
Just make sure it is on around september, I started a new job this week and will have to wait the one year before I can take annual leave.!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 259257

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 18:58

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 18:58
You are next on the DO NOT invite list after King Toad and his mates, plus you had to be at Warraweena to be eligible for an invite as well according to the 'raven munching' fraternity.

Also if I ever manage to track that mother of a flag down you dudes in the north are in for it. (LOL)
FollowupID: 520707

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 20:23

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 20:23
Had noticed a distinct lack of input from the well respected forum users from the crow eating county, Lucy, Roachie and co. Now they are stricking people from the great state from the invitation list :)
Maybe they are worried if its too accesable by qld'ers, they might get outnumbered by us toads.
FollowupID: 520730

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:14

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:14
Well that confirms it Jo......January next year it is.......ONLY JOKING!!!.....seriously...ONLY JOKING ROFL!!

Cheers mate,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 520749

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:19

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:19
Oh Lucy, if we aren't there next year, your trip would be completely boring and no fun at all!

Besides which, due to circumstances of having to pull the pin on this years gathering, next year will well and truly be a blast from us Queenslanders with us and Trevor there!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 520888

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:36

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:36
Ms Jo

Its a done deal and we can show each other our 'drivers licences' as long as you go first. (LOL)

And I hereby appoint you 'Toad Keeper' for the event with the responsibilty of keeping those suckers under control.

Matter of fact , seeing how close you are to them all I'll ensure you are all reserved camping spots alongside each other so that they don't escape your evil eye.

FollowupID: 520979

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:45

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:45
I will take on the title of Toad Keeper.
I must protect my King!

Camping spots along side each other would be great, cause that way we can all converse without other ears listening as to what our next attack will be.
But knowing a battle may loom, Our guard shall always be up to a possible spy in the camp, especially if a messenger tells us we have a big wooden horse wishing to enter the Queensland site!

Jo
FollowupID: 521019

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 20:46

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 20:46
Trevor

I think MT Dare is an excellent idea and a memorial to the Late Ian Stabler will be a fitting tribute to his enthusiasm for thje Outback. Mt Dare has good facilities and conveniences and is a jumping off pont to many places to visit in Central Australia, whereas the Lambert Centre has no facilities.

This does give South Australia an unfair advantage in hosting National Gatherings.

Will someone put their hand up and organise this???

AnswerID: 259285

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:16

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:16
it's gaining ground Willem, I have made a follow up above.....I will help out as much as I can....you know, busy Father of four and UNION OFFICIAL :) of a much loved telco.
FollowupID: 520750

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:32

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:32
I am happy to help out in organising. Better become a member first though :)
How many flags can you rustle up before then Trevoiur?
FollowupID: 520759

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:56

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:56
I wouldn't mind assisting but I don't know that area very well and the way it looks there's a few of us that want to make it happen, but all are lacking knowledge of the area.

We could temporally move the border and class Mt Dare as either the NT or Gods Country :))

FollowupID: 520767

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 07:43

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 07:43
I have spoken with David last night, and there may already be plans underway to have the EO National Gathering at another undisclosed venue???

That's not to say a Mt Dare gathering cannot happen, just that it may not be the National Gathering. Would still make for a fitting tribute to a well known and liked member of this forum.

Thanks for all the replies
Trevor.
FollowupID: 520806

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 08:03

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 08:03
The earlier the venue and dates are known the better.

FollowupID: 520808

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 09:57

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 09:57
Have to agree Gramps .............. I need heaps of notice not only to get the time but SAVE my $$$$.

In saying that it take time to sort a location out and then someone to put the hand up to organise. I'm in the same boat as Trevor and some others would help but don't know the area at all as never been there.

FollowupID: 520824

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 15:16

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 15:16
Hi Willem,
I will put my hand up to organise it but will liase with Trevor, Steve and David to make sure it doesn't clash with anything.
I might need some pointers from you and I will run with it.
FollowupID: 520851

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:04

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:04
No worries Mike

Check with Trevor, check with David and go from there.

Find a suitable place and pick up the phone.

I had an advantage this year as I know the area, the people and the tracks so it was relatively easy to organise.

FollowupID: 520882

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:14

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:14
Hey Big Fella,

I help out where I can, being a semi-cripple and all LOL

FollowupID: 520885

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:46

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:46
Mike,

My email is not displayed to non members and you can't MM me so I'll give you my email now.

dieseldrifter at bigpond.com

The staff at EO may already be onto a "national gathering" but that is not to say the Mt Dare idea can't get off the ground.

Talk to you soon by email.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 520929

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:00

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:00
Mt Dare would be reasonably central and those in WA can get there in 3-4 days via the GCR depending on how heavy your foot is

FollowupID: 520936

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:48

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:48
Hey Duncan, Thats a day and half for Wayne - o, providing the road is clear of range rovers LOL
FollowupID: 520956

Reply By: Big Mike - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:50

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:50
Trevor, thanks for that. I have joined as a member, just waiting for my number to come through so I can log on as a member
AnswerID: 259456

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:33

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:33
So whats that for us Trevor 6 or 7 days to get there ....... 2 good days to Birdsville, 4 days across the simpson and one day allowed to fix the Nissen up along the way LOL.

Sounds like another 3-4 week trip for me in the planning.

AnswerID: 259832

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 10:21

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 10:21
Emjoy the gloating while you can, but I seem to remember being under your truck as much as mine on our last trip.

Might need a few more bbq"s to get this trip organised lol!!!!

Cheers Trevor
FollowupID: 521275

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 21:20

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 21:20
I will ...... LOL My memory is quite good being under my truck often is not one of them. I guess I have to take one of Roachie's phases here "Show me the photo's)

Now of course I'm sure I have in my collection of photo's evidence (proof) of someone under the bonnet of the mighty nissen.

Yes agree about the BBQ

FollowupID: 521441

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 23:04

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 23:04
May I be so bold to suggest that the location be moved approx 60-70k to the south East at Dalhousie.

(1) Those warm springs would be a nice diversion to swim in.

(2) There are Laundry and shower facilities as well as Toilet facilities.

(3) Short distance to Mt Dare for any celebratory functions.

(4) Jumping off point for those heading home either Nth. Sth, East or West.

(5) Telstra Sat Phone box for those that need such things.

Ms Lucy
AnswerID: 260016

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 23:13

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 23:13
Hey Lucy

You just wanna see Rocahie in his hot little pink thong frolicking in the warm water............lol.......or maybe is it rehydrate that floral arrangement?

Cya
FollowupID: 521465

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 00:36

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 00:36
Apparently since he was 'outed' he has gone up market and got himself one of those fluro yellow 'Borat' thongs.

Sir Bonz-a-lot was so impressed he has ordered one as well and thinks they should be the Pink Nissan Mafia's new uniform.

I couldn't agree more.

And will you please stop the references to floral arrangements as I am starting to feel de-meaned, de-graded, cyber stripped, humiliated, etc etc etc and will need therapy sessions if it continues. Also makes me feel worthless, useless, dysfunctional - just like everything a good Nissan owner/driver feels like 24/7. (ROFLMAO)

FollowupID: 521476