Do you belive the 4x4 magazines

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:42
ThreadID: 49331 Views:6014 Replies:22 FollowUps:19
Just finished reading the current copy of 4x4 Austrailia mag (Oct 2007) and Australian 4x4 Monthly Annual about the ute of the year contests it both these mags.

Are they biased or what or who didn't pay then there dues.

Over the last 5 months they have both had differant articals and tests regarding Navara, Rodeo, Hilux, Triton and the BT50 / Ranger duo.

Each time a differant vehicle is better then the rest and they canrubbish the other ones.

In the 4x4 Australia mag the winning order was
8) Ssangyong Actyon Sports
7) Mazda BT-50
6) Ford Ranger
5) Mitsubishi Triton
4) Mahindra Pik-Up
3) Toyota Hilux SR-5
2 Holden Rodeo LX
1) Nissan Nivara ST-X

In the Australian 4WD Monthly the winning order was
6) Nissan Navara ST-X
5) Holden Rodeo LX
4) Mitsubishi Triton
3) Toyota Hilux SR-5
2) Ford Ranger
1) Mazda BT-50

So how can vehicles win in one mag and come last in the other.

Or is it a simple fact that non of then know what they are talking about.

And what is the best 4x4 ute.

Regards Richard

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:58

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:58
Richard in reply to your question "Is it a simple fact that none of them know what they are talking about?" The answer is obvious - NO!! They are there to sell magazines nothing more, nothing less. Never let the facts get in the way of a good story. They are journalists after all. They are not engineers or tradies or people who drive utes for a living. Most importantly - THEY DONT PAY FOR WHAT THEY DRIVE. As a result they dont suffer the consequences of paying for a lemon. As long as we all understand that, they do a good job entertaining us.
AnswerID: 260371

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:58

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:58
Methinks the main criteria with these magazines is the Advertisers who pay for their space and therefore get a good scribe. There doesn't appear to be any specific series of test criteria applied consistently when evaluating a vehicle's performance and value for money.

As for the best 4x4 ute: It's the one you've got of course.

Take the latest Mitsy Triton for instance. As far as owners are concerned, they are modern, stylish designs that appease one's eye.

To other people, they are the ugliest, most impractical looking utility vehicle to be turned out in aeons.

Me, I gave up buying and reading these mags quite some time ago.

AnswerID: 260372

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:31

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:31
Thanks for that Sand Man, I thought I was the only one that thought they are ugly.

Pete
FollowupID: 521813

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:05
Nahh - I thought they were ugly as well, along with the new Hilux and it's poxy under size wheels.

Karl
FollowupID: 521858

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:21

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:21
When they brought the3 new rodeo out a few years ago, I thought they were ugly but the trition and hilux have made it look handsome in comparsion.
I have given up buying 4x4 mags, as I dont believe anything journos have to say, much better info here.
FollowupID: 521870

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:06

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:06
Hi Richard

I liked pages 26/27 - story about two near identical 80 series.

On page 27 line 2 mag says "Both run same 285 BFG Mud Terrains"

Next to this is photo in which one has Cooper ST and other has BFG AT.

AnswerID: 260376

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:17

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:17
The only mag I buy these days is overlander.

AnswerID: 260377

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:35

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:35
you really think they are any better? or your choice of best of a shti bunch?
FollowupID: 521889

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 06:51

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 06:51
truckster I think they are the best of the bunch just not as much crap as the rest.

all the best
FollowupID: 522052

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:39

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:39
I cannot believe this - you guys rubbishing the rags .

They drive me crazy too , but every month , I by at least two of them . I keep thinking that there will be something good each time .

The eternal optimist .

AnswerID: 260382

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:44

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:44
Willie,

You are now a prospector. Am I correct??

By this statrement alone,",,,,,,,,,,I keep thinking that there will be something good each time .,,,,,,,,,,,,," is shows that you have the most important of all qualities to be a prospector - that of optimism!!

Well done, but yer dreamin' again,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 521780

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:52

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:52
Don't worry Willie, I'm one of those people too that you said in your post.

Every month I get excited when a new mag arrives.........There is nothing wrong with keeping the dream alive is there.

When I was younger I us to rubbish my friends about buying the TRUTH NEW PAPER....now it sems Im no better then they were.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 521781

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:58

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 21:58
Richard,

Quote at end of your post: "And what is the best 4x4 ute. "

Answer: Nissan Patrol Dual Cab with 6.5 Chev V8 Diesel....

ahahahahaha
AnswerID: 260385

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 22:32

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 22:32
So Roachie when are you going to upgrade the Navara?

FollowupID: 521787

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 22:01
Don't get sucked in by the magazines as they are dictated to by the market and advertising dollars. At the end of the day some of those vehicles above wouldn't make a round trip around Australia without falling apart.!

The good vehicles will always be the good ones and we know which ones are being bought and which ones comeback from the outback time and time again.!

Do your own drive tests and listen to these forums, then read the Magazines for the pictures and fun..!

Remember, the best vehicle is the one that best suits you and your budget..! After that it has to be the Hilux and the Navara..!

He He..!
AnswerID: 260387

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:01

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:01
Spot on, Terrafirma. I met up with a nice couple and we travelled halfway around Oz with them last year, and their new Navara finally fell apart at Kinunurra with a busted chassis (among other things). Sure, it was fixed under warrantly, but who wants to carry on knowing your chassis is busted.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 521820

Follow Up By: furph - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:09

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:09
Jack.
Do you have any idea what caused the chassis failure in the Navara?
We have been thinking about one for (amongst other things) towing our medium weight van into fairly rough "breakaway" country (w.Qld.)
Thanks furph
FollowupID: 521823

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:28
Terrafirma is quite right. I only get 4WD Monthly these days.....and mainly cos they keep offering me renewal offers which seem to be too good to be true.
However, I have long-ago realised that they will "back" whatever product that they receive for good prices (like "FREE"). Typical case was a few years ago Wayne NSW (Member on this forum) reported he had to go up to the High Country with a number of other "experts" as they were being supplied with free Cooper STTs to test. Those freebies were also supplied to 4WD Monthly and for the next several issues, the only tyres those blokes talked about was.......wait for it........you'll never guess........Cooper STT.

Sometime later, Roothy (who I quite like and have a bit of time for), was singing the praises of Mickey Thompson FCIIs etc etc.

As long as you keep all this in mind, there is usually some "gem" lurking inside each issue. EG: I drooled over the short story they did a few months ago about Marks Adaptors new Portal Axles for Patrols......$16K!!! OUCH!!!!

I also enjoy reading the stories of other blokes' rigs; can usually get some ideas of how they set things up and that I can maybe adapt to my own rig.
FollowupID: 521826

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:33

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:33
Hi furph:

Difficult to pinpoint exactly. He was towing a Tambo (soft floor) trailer. We met at Lancelin and all was well then. We "strayed" off the bitumen fairly regularly along the way, and had one memorable sojourn into Eagle Falls which was steep and rough. General thoughts were that this is where the problems started. But he also said the trip we took up to Cape Leveque was rough, although I personally found when we were both on the Gibb River Road it was a bit harder going. I drive an 80 series landcruiser.

He noticed that his bull bar kept rattling and found the brackets had broken, and on further investigation found a crack in the chassis. They got it sorted in Kununurra, but it went again further into his trip. We had parted company at that stage, but kept in touch. He sold the Navara when he got back to Melbourne and bought a Patrol.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 521888

Reply By: blown4by - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 22:25

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 22:25
I agree. The comparisons I have been interested in generally have been most unreliable and contradictory from one issue to another even when the same "journo's" contribute to the story. One example I recall was about the GU 4 Patrol where it was stated the rear view mirrors were too small. When I measured the Cruiser, Pajero and Land Rover they were all on a par. Then they went on to say there is hardly enough room for second battery when in fact on the left side you can install an N70Z with room to spare. Also they said the fuel filter was hard to access when it is on the right to the rear of the battery and is looking at you. Another issue stated the ZD30 was becoming dated when at the time it was 5 years old and no mention of the TD42 which had been around since the year do until 2007. One magazine went in to great detail to do a comparison on QH driving lamps even being so "scientific" as to ensure the applied voltage was the same for each test. The winner uses this article vigorously to promote it's products. What they failed to conveniently overlook was the minor detail that all pairs of lamps tested were in the combination of one pencil beam and one spread beam except the winning combination which used two pencil beams. There is a code for these magazines print and it is called C-R-A-P.
AnswerID: 260393

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:05

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:05
I had a real laugh when 4WDrive monthly did the big spot light comparison. In the intro, they said all lights were one spot and one spread, but when it came time to test the new Cibie Oscar "SC" they used two spread beam!!!

Is that an unfair dissadvantage or what? And I suspect they slipped that one in because the couldn't handle anything other than lightforce winning!

The other mag said the new Cibie were the best halogen light they had seen.

FollowupID: 521795

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:36

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:36
"Do you believe the 4x4 magazines"????

ROTFLMAO now thats funny.
They aren't worth wiping your ar$e with.

Pure crap with results motivated purely by advertising dollars.

I remember a year or two ago one of them declaring the then new Disco 3 four wheel drive of the year and when I said on this forum that it was obviously biased by the advertising taken out by Landrover someone replied that there was no adverts for the Disco 3 in the mag and it could not possibly be the case.
Well they were right I guess, the add was not in the mag but actually the full back cover and remained for the next 3 issues to my knowledge.

AnswerID: 260402

Follow Up By: Smudger - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:31

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:31
I was told that the following year their testing was done up at Cape York and the Disco 3's airbag s--t itself and had to be left behinf becuase they couldn't drive it out.
FollowupID: 521875

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:43

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:43
I love my mags and can't get enough but you do need to read between the lines and use the info to help you make up your own mind rathet than have blind faith in what is being stated/claimed. If for example all of us who reply to this thread were lined up to try say 6 different rigs, I would find it hard to believe we would all agree on the pecking order. A lot depends on what you see as the most important attributes in a rig. How the test is cionducted and for how long also has a massive effect on conclusions. For example, it is easy to see why the navara finsihed where it did on the 4wdmonthly test as it was lucky to even get to the finished line due to a smashed transfer case. That doesn't mean its no good, but if your requirements are for a lot of off road work on rocky trails, you'd certainly want to consider it. In both cases, not all the testers agreed unanimously on the winner either, using a point system to decide the winner (just like the brownlow lol).

Of course, this is just my opinion. Gotta go get the latest roverlander.
AnswerID: 260403

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 04:57

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 04:57
Which manufacturer spends the most money on advertising?

Have a look at what others are driving where you will go. You won't see too many Mazdas out bush.

Nearly wrecked the radiator and aircon cooler bottoming out in a Mazda Bravo. I hope they have fixed that problem, they have to live up to "Ute of the Year" status now.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 260412

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:37

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:37
I had a subscription to 4x4 Monthly which I let lapse. I only bought it at the show for the free stauns and the best part was the adds.

But there are lots of good uses for them:

Joining 2 snatch straps
Fire Lighters
Emergency loo paper
Propping up the corner of the stove stand or camp table on uneven ground
Padding between the nested small and big bedouries
Insulation under your camping matress etc etc

Pete

AnswerID: 260417

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:47

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:47
Glossy pages are actually no good for wiping your ar$e.
They also have very Sharp edges to the pages and I would imagine a paper cut in the region of use would be somewhat undesirable?? :-)

FollowupID: 521815

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:10

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:10
Ouch John , your making my eyes water .
Willie .
FollowupID: 521882

Reply By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:25

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:25
In one of those reviews they said the worst points about the Hilux was a small back window( I had to go out to my garage and look to have a look cause in the 10k I have driven it I hadn`t even noticed) and the centre rear seat belt is only a lap belt.

I also like how the nav and bt50 swap places for last must be a real love hate thing

Cya
Stu
AnswerID: 260425

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:34

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:34
I currently get the 4x4monthly and do enjoy some of the reads, but I never take notice of best 4x4, ute of the car etc etc as its to subjective and to me narrow fields of reference.

I do like the "how to" articles and I do read the tests on say the spot lights, fridges etc. These articles at least give you an idea what's about and in the end it's up to you to decide where you put your $$$.

Same as setting up dual batteries, making an awning and how people have set up their respective rigs.

As someone said hereabouts you do need to read between the lines.

I will say I get a bit tired reading about Nissan and Toyota's all the time (not looking at starting a debate) but it was nice to read about a Rodeo for a change mainly because I got one :).

I'll still read them for awhile yet.

AnswerID: 260427

Reply By: montana - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:22

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:22
it would be interesting to get joe blogs of the street with no experience with a 4wd to drive them all and see what they pick.they all have good and bad,the mihindra has valve caps on they tyres ,thats good,a ssanyong has the right amount of wheel nuts to studs,thats good to.when i got my current 4wd i let my wife check them and pick .i already had mine picked out being a toyota mechanic,lucky she picked the same,yes we got a navara,at least i can drive it without knowing all the things that can go wrong . its been off road a fair bit,i must be doing it wrong,i havnt caused anything but minor damage yet.
AnswerID: 260437

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:37

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:37
I get a little annoyed because they claim to be helping the consumer choose the most useful goods with the best value.

On the other hand they advertise Hiclowns and other fuel saver gadgets that are known not to work,at least by any thinking person and backed up by motoring organisations.

Im waiting for some clown to jump up and say his fuel saver gives him 8.675% better fuel economy and he can feel an extra 6.8879% power:rolleyes:
AnswerID: 260438

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:12

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:12
Now let's see
One puts the Ford ahead of the Mazda, the other reverses this. That can't be right - the Ford incarnations of Mazda vehicles are always inferior because Ford always uses cheaper parts like shockers to cut costs.

One puts the Mahindra ahead of 4 other vehicles - that's got to be the joke of the century. For a start, it has no airbags. The SSanyong leaves the Mahindra for dead, even in looks, and that's saying something! But you could argue that the Mahindra looks better than the Triton.......

That should be proof enough of the rubbish they write.

I have been amused for years by such articles, both for 4WD and cars - the best time to get the real facts is just after the model is updated, when they write such things as "the new model AUII has bigger brakes, which addresses the problem that the AU couldn't stop", after the AU review a year earlier stated "this car has fantastic brakes"

It's best to buy the one you like. Just don't get to like the Mahindra.....
AnswerID: 260448

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:43

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:43
The Magazines should take the vehicles around Australia and report truthfully on reliability issues, dust absorbsion, rattles, perhaps even compression testing before and after , oil useage, all things mechanical, then report that and leave the driving tests to someone else. I don't think I have ever seen this done but isn't this what everyone would like..? Otherwise you buy the vehicle based on what these guys say about it's driving habits and then after 2 years ownership or 4 years you are welcomed to the world of mechanical and design issues , reliability issues etc that were never reported to begin width.

AnswerID: 260453

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:55

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:55
About 25 years ago when I first started buying 4wd mags they did report on a lot of these issues, but they have lost their way since and I rarely buy them anymore.
FollowupID: 521881

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:31

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:31
yea wel I still buy them coz it gives me something to read on camp but fair dinkum one moere GRR or Cape and i will scream
Lets face it the averadge serios 4wder is after a sub 25k rig cos you simply cannot take a 4by off road without scratching the crap out of it so how about more testing on 5-10 year old rigs like genuine 4wders would be buying
FollowupID: 521887

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:05
I agree Davoe, allthought I am still parenoid about getting scratches on my 8 year old Jack. So I take Sals Paj lol
FollowupID: 521915

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:33

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:33
I asked the same thing 3yrs ago on their spotlight testing - which was exactly the same as you've done

one maggo had brand 1 in #1 and brand 2 last, also 3 page spread of ads and you could win a set
other maggo had different brand 2 #1 and brand 1 last , also 3 page spread of ads and you could win a set

Havent bought a maggo in 3odd years. rather burn the money.
AnswerID: 260464

Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:39

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:39
I have never seen a subjective review in any of them. If that is why you are buying them you may as well save you money and buy a new toy for the 4by. They don't even make good fire starters. The wife insists on buying them though. Very quick for me to read as I skip all product reviews. I suppose doing your own research is still the best way to go. As for the vehicles just buy the one you like to drive best. If it doesn't hack the pace sell it and try the next best one. Eventually you will end up with the one a lot of the farmers/tradesman use. How-tos are usually pretty good though.

AnswerID: 260486

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 16:55

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 16:55
Mate, you obviously haven't figured it out yet. A Journalist will only tell you what he wants to and what he's paid to, not what you want or need to know. Get it!
AnswerID: 260519

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 19:11

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 19:11
Gaday Richard. Back to your question which is the best ute? Taking looks out of the equation I've been comparing the big 3 & would put Triton # 1, Navara # 2 & Hilux # 3. (& I drive a Toyota)
I based this on usable power, ability to tow a load, price, offroad ability, features & driver comfort.
The current Triton has upraded to coil front end & leaf over axle giving reasonable clearance & angles. Although on paper it's not the most powerfull it does have excellent torque at lower revs combined with a gearbox that makes it the best diesel for towing.
Most rear seat space, nice dash layout & an electric locking limited slip diff good both offroad & on. Add in the generous warrenty & the cheaper than most price it's pretty well featured.
Haven't looked at the others closely so couldn't comment.
As for the mags take little notice & go drive them for yourself. Often it's what they dont say about a car that is important. For example the new V8 cruiser wagon is one of the poorest cars Toyota has released yet barely a negative comment has been printed.
Cheers Craig...................
AnswerID: 260552