Alice Springs to Oodnadatta via Old Ghan Line

Submitted: Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:20
ThreadID: 49659 Views:10732 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
We're currently at Alice Springs and will soon be heading slowly down to Adelaide. We'd like to go to Oodnadatta via Chamber's Pillar and Finke and are wondering about the road (track?) conditions. We will be towing a Kimberley Kamper. Has anyone followed the Old Ghan Line recently? What parts do you need to bypass and will we get through with the camper trailer?

Thanks in advance for any replies,

Russ.

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:27

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:27
We did it with a camper trailer no problems at all. The track can get quite corrugated & keep an eye out for railway spikes.
Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed it.
AnswerID: 262079

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:31

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:31
Thanks Shaker,

were there many parts where the railway easement was not passable and detours required?

Russ
FollowupID: 523564

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:26

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:26
No, from memory there was only spot where we had to deviate a little, was a bit awkward too, because some bogan had pinched the burgundy & gold heritage track sign.
FollowupID: 523596

Reply By: Scoof - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:32

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:32
Hi did this same trip a couple years ago and can't imagine the track getting any better,bloody rough but take it easy you should be right.We also towed a camper just take it slow heaps of corrugations.

Happy travels

SCOOF
AnswerID: 262080

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:40

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:40
Thanks Scoof

Russ
FollowupID: 523568

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:47

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:47
I came from the south in May and found the track very corrugated in places but otherwise fine, no detours except for crossing large culverts/creeks where the railway bridges have been removed.
No probs with camper going thru as I would rate this track as easy,just beware of discarded rail line spikes,Have a look at my rigpics and you'll see what I mean

Shane
AnswerID: 262083

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:55

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:55
Cheers Shane,

Yep them spikes are deadly. I had to drive parts of the old line from Mullewa to Mt Magnet in WA when I was working on a gas pipeline near there. There were heaps of old spikes around and they make a very big hole in a tyre.

Russ.
FollowupID: 523574

Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:56

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:56
We drove down the Old Ghan line about a month ago. It can be corragated with bits of old sleeper occassionally. There are a lot of railway spikes all over the place. The diversions are well travelled and you should have no problems. You rarely need to move off of the track. Most diversions are where there used to be bridges. We didn't have a camper but I wouldn't think it would be a big problem. There is an old access track along side the old track. This is a completely different kettle of fish. It is undulating so you need to travel slowly and often has patches of soft sand and some steep dunes. There are a quite few spots that looked like good camp spots along the way. We travelled the whole thing with no flats but others I have spoken to have had 4 or 5 punctures so be prepared.

Be aware that many roads marked on the map around Maryvale Station are actually private station tracks. If you go from Alice to Chambers Pillar then to the Ghan Track you need to back track from Maryvale station towards Alice a few kms to get on the Ghan track. There is a sign before Maryvale when travelling from Alice referring to the Historic Old Ghan Railway 4wd route or something similar.

As always drive to the conditions and you should be right. We drove along it in a day but as I said there looked to be plenty of good camp spots. If I remember correctly Finke is also a dry town.

AnswerID: 262086

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:02
You must be reading my mind Steve. Just before you replied Sue asked if I had metioned campsites in my post. I hadn't and I was about to ask, but you've just answered the question. Thanks.

We're getting quite used to dry towns now. It's part of the way of life here in the Centre.

Russ.
FollowupID: 523575

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:05

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:05
You will have heaps to choose from. If you have time go out to Old Andaddo.Well worth a visit and nowhere as crowded as Dalhousie.

Have a good trip.

FollowupID: 523576

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:31

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:31
Idont know the track very well South of Finke, but North of Finke you wont have any trouble.
You really shouldnt be on the track between Alice and Maryvale turn off (Rodinga Siding) as its private property, bloody rough and dangerous because its more like a motorbike track than a road. (The un written law on the track between Alice and Deep Well is, you can travel South before lunch and North after lunch)
After Rodinga the service road follows right next to the track all the way to Finke. Some sections of this the track is better than the road and some sections the opposite. You will find your self getting sick of the corrugations and going down on to the road and then getting sick of the woops and going back up to the track. Either way you shouldnt have any dramas. If you go to Chambers Pillar, their is a track that goes from Maryvale across to Bundooma (South of Rodinga) which saves you back tracking from Maryvale to Rodinga on your way back. If you want to go that way, go into Maryvale and ask the locals to point you in the right direction.

Have fun
Hairy
AnswerID: 262094

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:21

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:21
I did that track from Maryvale to Bundooma a couple of weeks ago. No signs at the settlement at Maryvale to indicate which was the right track so we just stuck to the well used one which was the right one. Some other people that where at Chambers Pillar the night before and left before us went to the store at Maryvale and were told that the track to Bundoona was on private property so they went back towards Alice a few km and joined the old Ghan track. The track we took from Maryvale direct to Bundoona has no notices saying that you should not use it. A couple of very short patches of soft sand and the you follow two wheel ruts but it it is smooth and easy. Saw several wild donkeys. The old Ghan track has the usual back country corrugations but no worse then anywhere else. You will see a lot of old signs left from an off-road desert race several months ago.
FollowupID: 523805

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:08

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:08
Gday Kiwi Kia,
Your right, the tracks arent marked, because they're tracks and all land that isnt a National Park is basically private property.
That is why I suggested to ask a local ( blackfella ) for directions 1. so you know which track to take and 2. so if someone asks you what your doing out there you can say you were told to take this track by someone in Maryvale.
Nice short cut and all an inocent mistake????
Besides no one cares if you just cut through quickly and leave nothing behind.

FollowupID: 523892

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:07

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:07
Others have commented on the track re recent times - would like to recommend Charlotte Waters, Abminga, Eringa after Finke as you go south - more interesting country than the Mt Dare /Dalhousie run in my view. Eringa was the first station that Sir Sidney Kidman took up - start of his cattle empire - interpretive signage is there beside the homestead ruins and waterhole.
Some of the roads are very stony, but if you take it easy and soften the tyre pressures, it can be trouble free run.
AnswerID: 262099

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:07

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:07

Thanks for mentioning Eringa, Darian - I was about to do that.

The waterhole there in '03/'04 (when we were living in Alice) was a most welcome oasis in a very dry land - absolutely glorious.

We did a loop south from Alice to Cadney Roadhouse, east across the Painted Desert (highly recommended) to Oodnadatta, then up the track to Finke via Eringa waterhole. We then returned to the Stuart Hwy at Kulgera and had the only puncture of the trip(rock fracture) on the "good" gravel road, just a few kms before Kulgera!

We like where we've been since (especially Tassie!) and where we are now but , Gees, I miss the Centre country...
FollowupID: 523608

Reply By: Diver1 - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:37

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:37
Like most would say ( I havent read the replys so far....) it can be very corrigated at the best of times - especially after mt dare. It
was the worse part of our trip (might I say that it was last year).

Ood track is / was like a highway - bloody beautiful to drive on - its wide, smooth (compared to what we had been on) .

Towing - you'll be right - just take 'er easy!!

Have a good'n'

Laura
AnswerID: 262163

Reply By: mechpete - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 00:35

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 00:35
russ and sue ,
just come back from that trip last weekend ,
you will tow ya camper trailer ok ,its a bit rough and corrugated in places and theres a bit of sand but easily travelled .
Watch out for the sleeper spikes in the sand on both the road and the graded edges .
enjoy ya trip .
mechpete.
AnswerID: 262172

Reply By: curious - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 04:45

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 04:45
Just travelled the track from Oodnadatta through Finke to Alice about a week ago. Alice to Rodinga was very good; the grader was working on long stretches so it was like a freeway after the corrugated sections. Rodinga siding to Finke is very corrugated, the worst in my 6500 kms trip but as others have said, if you reduce tyre pressures and speed, then you'll be fine. Finke through to Hamilton HS was excellent, take it slow from Charlotte Waters to Eringa - road was quite ok, just washaways that were no problem at 30-50 kph. Bit rough with corrugations between Hamilton and Oodnadatta but no problems. You'll be fine with your camper trailer.

Eringa is a lovely place to camp beside the waterhole. Wish I'd camped there instead of Oodnadatta which I found was a dilapidated untidy town. Abminga siding is worth a look. It was here that Dr Madigan decamped from the train and set off across the Simpson. Have a great trip. It's fascinating country

AnswerID: 262183

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 16:10

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 16:10
Thanks everyone who took the trouble to reply. We are convinced that we will follow this route after reading the comments. Thanks also to those who recommended places to look at on the way.

We're off next Thursday.

Russ.
AnswerID: 262266

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 13:31

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 13:31
A couple of weeks ago we dropped in to Stuart's Well Roadhouse on our way down from Alice to Rainbow Valley. If you have not been there I recomend it to meet their pet dingo. The owner is a nice bloke who will get 'Dinky' to sing while anyone plays (!) the piano, kids will love it. You can shoot across to the Ghan road just a few k's down the road.

As someone else has already mentioned Painted Desert is also a good place to visit and take a walk.
FollowupID: 523927

Reply By: Nancie & Bill - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:02

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:02
Hope you had a great trip. We are about to do the trip in reverse in about three weeks. Make sure you call into Mt Dare and say hello, we were there last year for a couple of months and loved it.
AnswerID: 262886