Top 5 pubs on OZ.

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:05
ThreadID: 49713 Views:3520 Replies:22 FollowUps:17
Following the theme of the best 5 places in OZ - where are the best 5 pubs?

Reply By: furph - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:35

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:35
If you want a selection of best pulled and thirst quenching beers, bar staff who will make you immediately at ease and welcomed, a clientel who will want to have a yarn, spin a yarn, and help out with local info. (we have great fossicking and fishing spots), then the:
RAILWAY TAVERN GLEN INNES NSW. is the spot.
No, I have no other affiliation than being a regular!
cheers (hic).... furph
AnswerID: 262319

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:43

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:43
In no particular order.

Blinman Pub
Tilpa Pub
William Creek
Milparanka
Wirrula Hotel
AnswerID: 262322

Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:03

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:03
1. Young and Jackson's
2. The Wheeler's Hill

Raffle the rest
AnswerID: 262326

Reply By: Diver1 - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:15

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:15
Back in the day when i would do a pub run every night (with Wed night off...) I would have said....
"Roscos"
"the Tav"
"The Bridge"
"Posties"
"Exservos"

Bu these days 2 that would have to be on a big list would be:
"Bottom Pub" being Number 1
"Top Pub" being number 100.....yes that right even the swing chair, the canoe on the roof and the saddles at the bar and all the other stuff they've thrown in there for atmosphere doesnt even make it good.....its all those terrorists that ruin the nice sundee arvo drink!!

Laura
AnswerID: 262330

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 01:31

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 01:31
Can you remove you rig photo? if that you ass thats bad.... :-((
FollowupID: 523844

Reply By: Ferret - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:41

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:41
Daly waters has gotta be in it
AnswerID: 262335

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:43

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:43
Weengallon

Great pub

AnswerID: 262337

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:48

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:48
Tattersalls - Winton Qld
Birdsville Qld
Daly Waters NT
Toodyay Tavern, WA
Barossa Brauhaus Hotel, Angaston,S.A

AnswerID: 262339

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:55

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:55
Hey Doug,
Im with you on the Toody. Couple of years ago our darts team in Northam popped over there to give those blokes a hammerin'.
They really put it on for us, icy cold beers, good tucker, great music and a skimpy to die for.

Got maggoted, lost the match and fell in love all in one night. hehehe...

Found out later it was a ploy to distract us from the game.

Cheers mate.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 523856

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:59

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:59
Lionel
See.... your easily led astray and lost the game

FollowupID: 523857

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:59

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 21:59
The Walcha Road Pub used to be good when I lived in the northern tablelands.
Gellibrand pub had some character when I visited one night.
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 262341

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 23:29

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 23:29
Thanks Nick,
You've taken me back, plum forgotten about the Walcha Rd Pub.

I bloody ripper that one!

FollowupID: 523831

Follow Up By: furph - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 14:57

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 14:57
For whatever reason the Walcha Rd. pub was consumed by fire some couple of years ago.
Unlike the phoenix, it has not yet risen from the ashes.
furph.
FollowupID: 523955

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 18:44

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 18:44
Thanks furph for the update,

That's a little disappointing!

FollowupID: 524012

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 22:25

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 22:25
Good call.

1: The Beach front Hotel Nightcliff Darwin, ( The old Cage Bar for a Sunday Session.

2: The Vic Hotel

3: Daily Waters Pub.

4: The old Green room at the old Darwin Hotel, since been demolished Rsoles.

5: Sweethearts Bar at the Darwin Casino.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 262348

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:04

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:04
Hahahahah....I have a blurred vison of them all....going back all the way to The Hot and Cold in Mitchell Street in the late 60's.

Thee days I never even go into a pub.

When they ban smoking in them I might go back

FollowupID: 523833

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 08:05

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 08:05
Willem I thought it was baned in all pubs and clubs and all public areas.

All the best Eric
FollowupID: 523858

Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:00

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:00
not in the NT thank god.
FollowupID: 523890

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:39

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 10:39
Im with Handy!!!!
FollowupID: 523898

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 17:33

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 17:33
It will come sooner or later
FollowupID: 523997

Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 23:03

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 23:03
The Queens Hotel, Geraldton. (Demolished)
The Club Hotel, Mullewa. (Closed)
The Hampton Arms Inn, Greenough.
The Bootenal Tavern.
The Gascoyne Junction Pub.

I obviously just did not put in enough effort at the first two.
AnswerID: 262352

Reply By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:01

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:01
The Middleton
Western Star, Windorah
Blue Heeler, Kynuna
AnswerID: 262364

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:08

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:08
We were enjoying a beer in the Blue Heeler at the exact time that Neil Armstrong stepped off on to the surface of the Moon.

The radio was blaring in the bar and there were some horses hitched outside.

Ahhh memories

FollowupID: 523834

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:23

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 00:23
Age shall not weary them, as those who are older have a greater list of memories.

FollowupID: 523837

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 02:09

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 02:09
-The exchange cnr hannan st and boulder roer Kal- where else can you get semi naked service any tiome day or night
- Broadarrow - pub in the middle of nowhere you can get a broady burger and write your name on the wall
-ora BANDA - less than a handfull of pubs have such a remote location ------ And the partys are a real BLAST
-Condingup - unique blend of farmers and travelling party goers up from duke of orleans - last beer before hitting the SEcoast
- Bulla Bulling tavern- guy behind the bar was born there unbelievable historian to this once populated pump station now deserted gost town
AnswerID: 262375

Reply By: Member - BIGMARK (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 05:57

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 05:57
Heartbreak Hotel at Cape Crawford,NT.You can camp out the back.
Prairie Hotel on Flinders Hwy near Hughenden,QLD.Tom and Andrea are great hosts.
Tattersalls Hotel,Winton.Great crumbed brains.

AnswerID: 262379

Reply By: sjp - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 06:32

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 06:32
-the lions den -and in the old days tennant creek ,never made it to the bar couldnt get past the rubbish outside -so it must have been good!!
AnswerID: 262380

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:14

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:14
The Royal Mail at Hungerford
AnswerID: 262383

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 08:41

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 08:41
Have to agree there Landy and the best burger I have ever had was there as well . Easter this year.

Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 523867

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:51

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:51
I'll be passing through in a bout a week, and probably spend a couple of days at Currawinya before heading up to the Cooper Creek for a week or so...yippee
FollowupID: 524174

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:13

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:13
Have a good one Landy, do not know when i will get back out that way soon I hope.

Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 524184

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:14

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 07:14
The Royal Mail at Hungerford
AnswerID: 262384

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:06

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:06
Birdsville
William Creek
Mount Dare
Dargo
Lyndhurst (SA)
AnswerID: 262430

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:14

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:14
Any outback pub in sunny qld, especially Nindgully & Hungerford.
AnswerID: 262431

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:20

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:20
Whim creek
AnswerID: 262432

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:29

Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 11:29
best or windyest?
FollowupID: 523908

Reply By: Member - Ben E (NT) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 00:16

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 00:16
Not in any contentious order (and how could I only pick 5?!) but heres a few:

Daley Waters N.T.
Blue Heeler, Kynuna QLD
Prarie Hotel, QLD
Shipwrights Arms or the Hope and Anchor, both Hobart, TAS
Lord Nelson, The Rocks, NSW
Red Lion Tavern, Glencoe, NSW
Club Hotel, Glen Innes, NSW
The Norfolk, Fremantle, WA

Mmm...beer
AnswerID: 262589

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:48

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:48
Not come across too many bad ones, but at the same time I do not want to open up a can of worms here.

Any Pub is great, provided they are family orientated, and serve good beer.

And that particularly boils down to the Owners, and the patrons,, because if they do their job right, then you have a winning combination..

AnswerID: 262684

Reply By: Member - Richard K (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 17:50
Bushranger Hotel - Collector NSW
Bridge Hotel - Jingellic NSW (free camping!)
Portsea Hotel - Portsea Vic
Angler's Rest - Brooklyn NSW
Settlers Arms - St Albans NSW
AnswerID: 263005