Jackaroo - Petrol or Diesel

Submitted: Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 14:54
ThreadID: 49910 Views:12708 Replies:14 FollowUps:10
My partner and I want to join my brother on a trip around Oz next year. Problem - tight on cash.
We are thinking of buying a Holden Jackaroo - we want something kind of an inbetweeny and comfortable. We don't need some kick-arse truck as we'll probably keep our 4x4ing relatively 'soft'.
We're restricted to max $15000 for our car and after looking around for a while now i've noticed the bang-for-your-buck is far better for the petrol version; we'd get a much younger car with far less kms in much better condition. Yet lots of people are hell bent on diesel (no matter the brand of car), even saying that you can't get petrol while travelling?!.
I'm really in two minds about it. You guys are 'experts' so I thought i'd ask your opinion. Would love your feedback.
Ta
Ren

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:02

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:02
There is one in the trader for $15 500, it is a diesel which would offer better fuel economy IMO, and it is reasonably set up for touring

ExplorOz Trader

AnswerID: 263318

Reply By: Ren05g - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:23

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:23
Hi Kev,
Thanks for your reply.
We did see that ad and have asked for pics to check it out.
But today I saw a 2002 model Equip petrol with <90000kms and immaculate. It was one of a few similar petrol cars and seemingly by far more attractive than 170000kms even given the set up? Hence my dilema
R
AnswerID: 263321

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:41

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:41
Hi R,
I own a 98 3.5 Jack and love it. Heaps of power 158kw, reasonable fuel economy 11.4l/100 touring. BUT stay away from Jacks 3lt diesels , unless you have a line of credit a mile long. For everyone that loves their diesel Jack their are three disaster stories. This motor was 10 years ahead of its time and would have been brilliant if they had got it sorted first.
Australian 4wd forum has a good Jack section weith masses of info on Jacks.
The 3.5 are extremely reliable and long lived if serviced and as you say their are heaps of low mileage ones arround. My 98 only had 109000ks on it when I pickede it up a few monthes ago.
My only issue with Jacks are the seats are not as supportive as Pajs
Goodluck Pete
FollowupID: 525055

Reply By:- Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:27

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:27
I am indeed hugely diesel biased (no meter the brand of car). Diesels have far better fuel economy, torque characteristic and generally more reliable and run longer. This is why they hold value better. However here is a catch - diesels much more expensive in service. They require more frequent oil and filter change; not-so-cheap injector and fuel pump service and so on.
Bottom line - if you mechanically minded and have tendency to do everything by yourself, then only diesel. Otherwise if you going to service your car by someone your life would be easier with petrol. Particularly with "soft-oriented" 4WD-ing and moderate mileage per year.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 263322

Reply By: Philip A - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:32

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:32
Remember that the 3.1 diesel is known to be troublesome with incredibly expensive injectors.
My son recently bought a 160K 3.5 Jackaroo for 8.5K needing new tyres and CV joints.
Good car but uses 20l/100 around town. BUT you can buy a lot of fuel for 7K difference between petrol and diesel.
Just make sure to look at the CVs. Its easy to see the boots by crouching under the front bumper.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 263323

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:45
WHAT????

The 3.1 4JG2 engine is BULLETPROOF!!! just a tad rarer than the 2.8 TD 4BD1 only in the MID years of the Jackaroo. Heavier on fuel but the torque eats the 2.8 for breakfast and runs alot quieter, due to it being indirect injection and not direct like the 2.8.

If you are thinking the very last model of TD in the Jackaroo then thats a 3.0TD and a 4JX1 and it is totally fuel injected using the caterpillar HEUI injection system. Incredibly powerful for its size, fantastic emissions and great economy. Unfortunately most servicing centres had no idea how to look after the engine, using incorrect oils and not changing both oil filters etc. Yes this did create a seemingly unreliable engine and led to some catastrophic failures similar to the ZD30 motor in the Nissan. Too good for its time and was lost when the Jackaroo was phased out anyway.

Dont lead the poor guy astray...if he found a early to late 90's Jack with either the 2.8 or 3.1 TD motors he would be in a fantastic position for touring at good economy and reliability near anything else on the road.

FollowupID: 524898

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:17

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:17
Your dead right there Matt and you know I have two of them.
Maybe this guy should look for an MU or Wizard, oh and mine are not for sale. Have had a good look at the 4JX1 and think they could be as bad as the 3.0TD Patrol motor, a shame cause Isuzu normally build a good motor, but the fuel injection was developed by Caterpillar. ok my 2 cents worth.
Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 525047

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:48

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:48
Guys I was looking at a beautiful one owner low milage 3.1 Jack, decided to price the injectors and got quoted $1000.00ea. Now maybe this chap got confused but it put me off it
FollowupID: 525059

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 18:57

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 18:57
Pete I had my 3.1 injectors done by United Fuel Injection here in Perth. Cleaned Crack tested and NEW nozzles and it cost about $500ish 12 months ago.

There is nothing special about the 3.1 motor that would make it more expensive than any other traditional indirect injection motor on the market. So if someone tells you different they are just trying to cash in on a lack of knowledge.

FollowupID: 525228

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 21:13

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 21:13
thanks Matt, I should have got a 2nd opinion, but I do love my 3.5, very impressive vehicle
FollowupID: 525251

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 21:13

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 21:13
thanks Matt, I should have got a 2nd opinion, but I do love my 3.5, very impressive vehicle
FollowupID: 525252

Follow Up By: Philip A - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 21:26
Its probably obvious, but not being a Jackeroo owner I mixed up the 3.0 and 3.1.
Its the 3.0 that I have heard is troublesome.
The guy is after a pretty new Jack.
I like em, after having one of the first off the boat in 1981 and an 89. took my 89 down the Long Angle Gully track, and down the powerlines to the river before it was closed, much to everyone's amazement.
regards Philip A
FollowupID: 525258

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:37
Hi Ren,
I am on my second Jack, first did 340,000ks was a 3.2 lt petrol only sold it as I wanted to upgrade.
I went for a 2001 jack 3.5 lt petrol. got it with 100,000ks on it and have put another 50k on it . (touch wood) I have had no problem with it at all. I have just done 7400ks from Perth to SA and through the flinders and Gammon ranges towing a CT no problems (16lt/100k). I have been out with Toyo's Nissans Pajeros and I can well and trully get where the others go.
Deisels are a different matter in my opinion, we have had a couple in the club and both have had troubles. My next vehicle will be diesel but not a Jack.
AnswerID: 263329

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:40

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:40
Hi Ren, In my humble opinion you wont regret buying a Jack.
I did so a year ago, 2000 model, 85K,Auto for $14k. It is big,the V6 is strong,
& you wont be embarrassed with its 4WD ability either. We did
13K outback trip towing a C/t with 4 adults on board & it was
faultless. Averaged 15L/100k driven gently. If you hoof it you will
pay at the pump. I would have preferred a diesel but the Jacks had a few issues & werent available at that money unless with high
kilometrs on them. At todays diesel cost over ULP you wont see
much difference in running costs if a light foot is used. It is as big
inside as a Cruiser & we found it comfortable, even on roads
such as Tanami & Mereenie. It let a bit of dust in but less than a
Prado on a previous trip. You should find a good one under 100k
for that sort of money...go for it.......oldbaz.

AnswerID: 263342

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 19:57

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 19:57
Now listen here Ren,

The Jackaroo is a "kick Arse Truck" that will do almost anything you throw at it.

No 4WD in its standard form will be a "Mountain Climber" from scratch. (Well, not unless its a Hummer)

The Jackaroo is a very capable vehicle mate.
The diesel is without a doubt more economical to run week to week, but you need to trade this off with a need for shorter and more expensive service intervals.

The 3.5 litre V6 Auto which I own returns around the 18l/100klms when towing the Camper, but will take me anywhere I choose to go and is definitely not sluggish. Storage capacity is also quite good.

I haven't been anywhere where the lack of petrol is an issue.
If everything else is in your favour, "go for it".

AnswerID: 263360

Reply By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 23:48

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 23:48
Hi Ren
I have had 4 jack's now, three diesels and one petrol, the petrol is very thirsty with a average of 470k's to a tank around town, I did also use mine off road ALOT the motors on the diesel's are very strong and if serviced properly will give next to no problems, I have found the "weak" spot in the jack is in the transmission whether it be auto or manual and the only two time I was towed over 10 years was due to the pressure plate collapsing on the manual and the auto did a bearing in the gearbox which resulted in a rebuild (I had spent some time in mud just prior to this and had the box stripped and cleaned, this may or may not have been a catalyst), I would still recommend the diesel auto over the rest, get a good one treat her right and you will be happy, try to avoid anything that looks like it has seen off road work, you just never know what they did with it before! I have recently traded to a Prado mainly due to the fact I wanted a V6 which wasn't quite so thirsty.
AnswerID: 263390

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 12:11

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 12:11
hmmm, yes mud- more than just useful for the skin!! LOLOL

Hope things are going well Chris in the deep dark south? How are those banjo plucking and whittling lessons going?
FollowupID: 524992

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 01:45

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 01:45
Hi Ren, are you in Vic?
AnswerID: 263397

Follow Up By: Ren05g - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 13:06

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 13:06
Hi Gerhard,
We're in Syd.
R
FollowupID: 525188

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:09

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:09
I've owned a 2002 T/D jack Equipe since new and though I do agree with remarks about "Holden technicians' not having a clue I am very pleased with mine. I have only recently discovered that Auto pro have non genuine Oil Filters for $18 as opposed to the $96 a dealer will ask if you let them service it.
I was kind of amazed at the depreciation, my Equipe was about $60000 new and now is about $16000 as a trade in....
One thing to bear in mind is that any that have survived the numerous recalls should be good vehicles. The 4xJ1 engine is still used by Isuzu in their trucks, it's only Holden that seems to have probs with that engine.
AnswerID: 263447

Reply By: jackablue - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 08:49

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 08:49
I have a 98 3.5 v6 and has served me well. Went to the cape in 05 the long way, via Flinders ranges, skytrek, Oodnadatta track, Ulru, Kings canyon, Mereenie loop, palm valley, Chambers pillar, lawn hill, bloomfield track.

Off to Tassie in January08 very reliable and capable truck.
AnswerID: 263535

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 11:37

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 11:37
How about a petrol on gas?

A guy at work has one and loves it. He has an 80L gas tank under the floor and a 75L petrol tank which will get him close to 1000km before both are empty. It is also only around $40 to fill on gas.

as mentioned earlier http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?showforum=10 has quite a bit of info.
AnswerID: 263581

Reply By: Ren05g - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 13:09

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 13:09
Wow! Thanks everyone for your feedback. I haven't been on for a couple of days and this morning there's heaps of helpful replies. Keep em coming :-)

Although i'm not sure how much closer we are to making a choice, I think we are definitely shying away from the Diesel.

Ren
AnswerID: 263591

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 22:45

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 22:45
If you are after something about that size, have you had a look at a Terrano II?

They were a genuine Nissan import, not a grey import, are about the same size as a jack and get along quite well. The motor is a low tech diesel with electronic management added on, so are quite reliable. I have had mine for nearly 7 years now with no major problems.
I found one on Ebay tonight that is worth a look. Low K's and lots of extras and I reckon you could talk him down a few $$.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Nissan-Terrano-II-RX-2-7L-Turbo-Diesel-4X4_W0QQitemZ160155307693QQihZ006QQcategoryZ135951QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
AnswerID: 263665