The Truckies that give the rest a bad name

Submitted: Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 00:24
ThreadID: 50255 Views:4559 Replies:16 FollowUps:43
I spent three nights at Woody Head near Iluka from Sunday of the Long Weekend 'til Wednesday with my 6yo boy and had a great time.

In the four hours spent travelling on the Pacific Highway there and back I didn't see any police. What I did see, considering it was a long weekend and school hols, was plenty of roadworks lol

On the way back home on Wednesday, just before Woodburn, all traffic was diverted inland via Lismore which was unimpressive as I had to be home in time for work.

It was after Lismore that the first truck incident occured; he was on a side road to the right, about to turn right in the direction I was heading. The road was single lane each way, 80km zone. He looked at me coming down the road then pulled out. I reckon it was less than fifty metres. When I saw him look at me I assumed he wouldn't pull out. Next thing I know I'm hard on the anchors thinking "There's no way I'll pull up in time". Funny how time seems to slow down. I'm just getting closer and closer, then the tyres scream, then we stop. One foot short of the truck not even halfway through his turn.

I was impressed with my standard 80 series pulling up so quick and straight, even though loaded up.
BFG ATs get a thumbs up for braking ability.
Not impressed that the truck driver turned left not far up the road; must of had a deadline to meet lol

Not long after that on an uphill section with an overtaking lane I found myself side-by-side with a truck that decided to veer right in to my lane to avoid an overhanging tree (I presume; trying to give him some sort of excuse here!) forcing me across double lines to avoid him. Luckily there was nothing coming the other way. He must have known I was there because I hadn't just pulled out from behind to race around him (it was a hill and I drive a standard 80 diesel);I was in the right lane for a fair while before coming up beside him.

These two incidents had happened on a detour from the quickest route home up the highway. What was the reason for the detour? An accident involving two TRUCKS which had blocked the Highway in both directions for TWO DAYS due to salvage efforts.

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 06:11

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 06:11
They are a strange breed arnt they.

AnswerID: 265105

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:02

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:02
I have a feel good truckie story....

A couple of months ago, Al and I were on our way home on the ring road in Melbourne. We were headed toward the airport. There were two trucks in the traffic, they were chatting to each other on CB and we were listening in. The banter between them was very entertaining. They needed to move into the middle lane as did we and we were behind them so Al flashed the one in front to indicate he could move over, and he signalled his mate. They both started to move over, then, a red sedan to our left passed us and then began to move in front of us. I shut my eyes and let out an expletive. The truckie saw him just in time and put on the brakes and stopped...he stopped over two lanes - stopping two lanes of traffic, his mate in front asking him what was going on. The first truckie then got out of his cab and went around to the car, Al and I were thinking a bit of biffo was about to happen....then he got back in his cab and spoke to his mate and said "I didn't see him, would have scared the bleep e out of him, I had to apologise." Al then got on the CB and explained what had happened...I turned to Al and said it's a pity not everyone has a CB to hear the genuine concern in the truck drivers voice. The driver of the sedan was very lucky that he wasn't hurt the truck was clearly signalling and he cut into his lane after passing us...

Lyn
AnswerID: 265109

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:38
Hard to see when a truck is indicating, they only have about 15 indicator lights on each side!!!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 527020

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:13

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:13
WRONG if your suggestting the flasher light and i think you are to my account they only have 4 if it's a B-DOUBLE, 2 on the A trailer and 2 on B trailer,i might be wrong but 15 souds like your looking at a road train LOL . cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 527126

Reply By: Zodarp - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:03

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:03
We also have been the victim of these so called professional drivers. Last fortnight, whilst returning home from a 10 day holiday towing the jayco eagle not far from Clybucca, we encountered what I would describe as our potential killer. Nearing the end of an overtaking lane a single double B, with linfox emblazoned on the side, caused us to take evasive action when he overtook at the last minute. My intention to merge was clearly indicated and to be completed at the extreme end of the overtaking lane. However he decided to overtake the exact time I was merging. This action forced us of the road and onto the shoulder. We were travelling at the posted speed limit of 100Klms per hour and if there was no shoulder we would not be here today. If I had any indication this was about to occur I would have pulled over long before and let him ahead. As I cover about 50,000 klms per year with my work it is not uncommon to see this display of superior driving. My wife was astonished and made the comment "how do they allow these killers on the road". To top off the experience the truck driver decided to pull up at the shell service station in Kempsey and presumably go to the toilet. This possibly explains his driving behaviour. Perhaps this driver is poorly educated/trained or the substances he has taken causes his poor performance. Perhaps the company he works for has selected badly. I now treat all truck drivers as potential killers and give them plenty of space in the hope that I will survive another trip on the Pacific Hwy.

Regards Zodarp
AnswerID: 265111

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:38
Here is a real Karma comes and gets you story....

Met a couple in Mackay who had a similar experence while towing their caravan. Their rig was actually run off the road. But it gets better. Seems the caravanner owned both the truck and the company.

When they got home they found who was driving and sacked him on the spot.

I have no time for them and no amount of "but we're not all bad" stories is going to change that. I see too many examples of their selfish and dangerous driving both with and without my van.

I too have expereinced the bully truck scenario or the 2 or 3 rigs all trying to squeeze past at once depite my ability to maintain the posted limit with a caravan.

Now I'm more defensive and tend to merge earlier than I have to for safety sake. I'll let them past when I'm good and ready and no one is in danger of being run off the road.

The safety of myself and my family comes before the foolish pursuit of a truckie's schedule. If it !@#$ess them off then too bad.

You only have to listen to channel 40 on the Gateway Aeterial here in Brisbane to see how fed up motorists are with selfish truckies.

Lets us more rail.
FollowupID: 527010

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:07

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:07
I agree with your statements on the Gateway CB40 talk, though i don't believe some motorists aren't to blame either. :-)

The other week i was stuck in a long queue on the gateway after a major accident and was listening to all the banter on CB40. Several truck drivers were abusing the hell out of everyone with one bloke stating something along the lines of " another **** car accident ruining our run, **** cars shouldn't be on the road"....low and behold it was the accident involving the semi running into the barrier truck. He went quite after someone pointed this out to him. :-)

All road users, whether car, truck, bicycles, motorbikes, taxis etc have rogue operators......always has been, always will be.

FollowupID: 527022

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:08

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:08
Wizad1,
May I suggest that you adjust your attitude towards heavy vehicles, as the attitude you have now will certainly incurr the wrath of even the most patient of truckies, and trust me, the end outcome of any driving situation created by your attitude will NOT be in your favour and is most likely putting you and your family in even more danger !
As for the "many examples of their selfish and dangerous driving both with and without my van" that you have come accross, the average professional driver will not only have seen, but also avoided, double that what you have seen in your lifetime in one week.
Instead of "merging early" how about backing off and letting the trucks and cars behind you past before the end of the 3 laner, seeing as they have caught up to you for a reason.
You are after all on holiday or not on a time schedule I presume ?

Pezza

FollowupID: 527035

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:38
Pezza , 3 points you make and all of them are for want of a better word are illegal , your 1st is that a truck has more right to the road and that one may incur a truckies revenge by you the smaller vehicle obeying the law , your 2nd is slowing down when merging and the 3rd is that someone on "holiday' has to give way to someone on a schedule , perhaps if the trucking industry set realistic schedules the roads would bea safer place ??
FollowupID: 527038

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:51

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:51
I'll choose to ignore your poorly thought suggestions.

I think over 30 years of incient acnt free driving experience including trucks and towing a van around most of this country give some credentials that you have no right to question.

I suppose my driving attitude was the reason an oncoming semi crossed onto our side of the road to commece a passing manoeuver before the passing lane had started running us off the road!

I would suggest you don't tow avan and can't possibly appreciate the frustration and constant level of alertness the driver must have when dealing with these sorts of situations.

I do the right thing for semis and other drivers when it is safe to do so. But when I can anticipate a problem before it happens then I will take the appropraite action to prevent it.

Not unlike the selfish and dangerous behaviour of motorcyclist on hinterland roads.
FollowupID: 527044

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:07

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:07
I really don't care how many "incient acnt free " years you've allegedly had, with people like you it's more of a question of how many have you caused that you are completely oblivious of ?
Reading all you have written it seems that in your opinion you are the only person on the road that isn't selfish, dangerous and foolish.
As you obviously know it all, I'll exit stage left from our conversation as I have no time for people like you, and let you continue on in your own little world of self imposed perfection.

Pezza
FollowupID: 527167

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:38

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:38
Axel,
I am in no way implying that anybody has more right to be on the road than anybody else, I am also not saying that any vindicative action by a truckie towards another motorist after he has been bleep off by said motorists foolish actions usually caused by lack of knowkedge or arrogance ( see Wizzard1 for example of the latter ) is the right thing, what I am saying is that regardless of legal or not it WILL happen.
I was also not suggesting he slow down whilst merging, what I was saying is that when he gets to an overtaking lane and has half a km of traffic behind him that he has been holding up for the past half an hr, that he slows down in the left lane and lets as much traffic, including trucks, past him, instead of speeding up to the speed limit because we feel safe on the nice wide double lane thereby preventing most trucks, which are speed limited, from being able to get past him within the overtaking lane distance, only to slow down again within 50 mtrs of hitting the single lane or at the first bend in the road. Once he is half to three quarters of the way along the overtaking lane, then speed up again to merge back in safely, trucks manage to do this manouvre all the time for other trucks behind them that are slightly faster, it's not rocket science.
I am also not suggesting your 3rd point at all, what I am suggesting is that he display some common courtousy towards other road users of which he is holding up.
Perhaps if caravaners learnt to handle the combination they are driving and do the spees limit then the roads would be a safer place :-)))

Pezza
FollowupID: 527172

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:37

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:37
You probably unknowingly had your right turn indicator on so he thought you were turning, and the accident you mentioned was probably caused by a car/4x4 driver, maybe overtaking on a double line....I see that all the time, You need to train yourself to identify black spots and potential hazards , train yourself to be always on the ready , always be prepared to GIVE WAY even if you have right of way, and remember if you ever have the misfortune to be in a serious accident it will more than likely be a truckie that pulls you from the burning wreck or sinking car because the car driver that caused your accident will be gone ,

Doug

AnswerID: 265112

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:16

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:16
You assume an awfull lot in your statement 'you probably unknowingly had you right turn indicator on' and of course the statement of the year that ' probably a 4x4/ car mayby overtaking on a double line ' ,,,,,, who needs Harold Scrubby when we have Doug + dusty !!!!
FollowupID: 527003

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:25

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:25
Axel
It amazes me why you always go through someones answer with a magnifying glass to a whole lot of nit picking , I stand by what I say and see , your stupid childish remarks or anyone else's for that fact makes no difference to my opinions

##

FollowupID: 527006

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:38
So you stand by what you say and see ? so YOU were there were you ? No ?? so you assumed that Bware was in the wrong , and that no truckdriver is ever at fault , yeah right , tell that to the traffic controllers widow whos husband was killed by the semi doing 90 in a 40klm work zone.
FollowupID: 527011

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:03

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:03
Im with Axel on this one... when you assume...
FollowupID: 527015

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:25

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:25
Hi Doug,
These type of threads come up every now and then and I don't waste too much time defending the actions of others, not knowing what actually happened.
There is ALWAYS 2 sides of the story, who played what part is always subjective and there is no doubt there are clowns out there, just like with 4WD!
Shane
FollowupID: 527023

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:55

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:55
Shane
Your so right ,
I have more to do than argue with someone like Axle who was probably the culprit that caused the accident in the first place ....T.I.C

Axle
Take a firm grip of your self son and do a 180deg backflip

FollowupID: 527060

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:20

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:20
Doug the only one that needs to do a 180 backflip in this discussion is yourself once again , forever assuming and doing the dummy spit when shown to be wrong in your assumption.
FollowupID: 527063

Reply By: japmel - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:26

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:26
I get fairly Bleeped off at all this Truckie bashing,,Do none of you consider how many times you have had a Car do the same thing you are accusing the Truckies of.

I bet you all have more near misses with Cars than you do with Trucks.

And how many of you are that perfect you haven't been the cause of an accident or near miss yourselves.

AnswerID: 265120

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:42

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 08:42
John,

Read the post heading "The Truckies that give the rest a bad name" before getting so defensive. The only ones who think truckies are perfect are truckies :))))

FollowupID: 527014

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:43

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:43
Sheesh, I deliberately worded the topic so as to not have an inflamed thread lol
FollowupID: 527069

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:46

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:46
LOL we're not used to subtlety here Bware. Just let it all hang out and be done with it :))))

FollowupID: 527070

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:42

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:42
I fell like a snowflake lol
FollowupID: 527267

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:39

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:39
I meant 'feel', but 'fell' works too lol
FollowupID: 527277

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:05

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:05
I was in my wife's laser today, and a KILLER 4WD came up behind me and. . . . . . Oh sorry wrong forum!
AnswerID: 265140

Reply By: Member - Mark L (WA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:44

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:44
All drivers are potential killers/idiots, not a select few.
AnswerID: 265149

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:32

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:32
True statement. Some seem to be more aware of it than others though....
FollowupID: 527065

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:51

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:51
Unfortunately the world is not full of perfect, considerate drivers, There are idiots in trucks as there are in cars, the difference is that the one's in cars outnumber the one's in trucks by 10 to 1.
Although there is no excuse for pulling out in front of people as in bware's case, a lot of you must remember that as non truck drivers you have no idea of the handling dynamics of a vehicle weighing between 40 and 70 tonne or the driving techniques required when you are driving one of these vehicles at this weight that is also speed limited amongst non speed limited vehicles.

A lot of the "bullying" manouvres you mention here and in many other places are only considered "bullying manouvres" by people who only consider themselves in the situation and not the other vehicle, whether it be a "big bad 4WD" seen out of the windscreen of a corolla/deawoo or a truck from the windscreen of said 4WD. A lot of these manouvres are also out of sheer frustration of having to share the road day in day out with thousands of incondiderate, thoughtless and selfish car and caravan drivers who only notice a truck/4WD when it does the wrong thing.

If any of you ever want to see how smoothly and trouble free a hwy can be travelled at, then do a trip from Sydney to Brisbane or vice versa between the hours of 7pm and 7am when 90% of the traffic is trucks.

In saying all the above there is no denying that the quality of proffessional driver is going downhill, mainly due to the extreme shortage of professional drivers in this country caused by the crap rates and conditions of the industry created by a combination of low cartage rates and greedy companies.
The rates and conditions offered by the mining industry has also lured many a good professional driver away from the public roads leaving those positions to be filled with less experienced, younger "cowboys" who haven't had the benafit of being taught the patience and skill required for the job over time by the old timers.
The "need it yesterday" nature of our bussiness and retail world, of which you, the general public ,are a big part of, also doesn't help when it comes to the "pushing" of drivers which in some cases eventually leads to the aggressive driving behaviour displayed on our highways.
Please don't take all of the above as an excuse for the behaviour of some, I reitterate, 'some', truck drivers, but more of an explanation to hopefully increase the knowledge of some non proffessional drivers of an industry often seen as an 'alien' industry.

Pezza

AnswerID: 265151

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:20

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:20
"If any of you ever want to see how smoothly and trouble free a hwy can be travelled at, then do a trip from Sydney to Brisbane or vice versa between the hours of 7pm and 7am when 90% of the traffic is trucks."

I have. It was a nightmare! Trucks travelling at 100k over double lines around blind corners, running me off the road as I nicely got off into the slow lane, etc etc etc.
In fact I pulled off the road and slept till daylight, when those who DON'T own the roads, drive it.
FollowupID: 527053

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:30

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:30
Footy,

Would'nt happen to have been the Cunningham Hwy from Warwick to Ipswich by any chance ?

FollowupID: 527055

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:38
No, Pacific. I'll never travel at night on that hwy again.
It reminds me of "Seseme St" (Syd/Melb, Hume) 10 years ago. Sheer madness !
However, having said that, I am in awe at the driving and sharing the road abilities and skills of the majority of long haul truckies, especially in the West.
FollowupID: 527056

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:52

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:52
Footy,

Agree in regards to most truck drivers. They're generally the ones we don't notice i.e. the majority.

Some of our truck driving Members/Visitors should get down off their high horses and smell the roses once in a while. To infer that ALL truckies are PERFECT and it is only car drivers that cause problems on the roads is absolutely ridiculous.

FollowupID: 527059

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:27

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:27
Agree Gramps. There's good and bad in both camps, but I guess few car drivers can use their size to intimidate other road users :))
FollowupID: 527064

Follow Up By: rodeonut - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:38
well said pezza, as a truck driver myself i couldnt agree more. and i am the first to admit that their are plenty of cowboy truckies out their that think they own the road but the majority are not. Most caravaners i come across i have no problem with its just the select few who dont understand what it takes to manouvere, brake acellerate etc when you you are trying to bring up to speed and maintain 100k's in a fully loaded b doulble at 62.5t so when u look in ur mirror and see the truck "tailgateing" you have a look a your speedo, maybe your only doing 95 and thjats the reason the truck has caught up to you so instead of speeding up when there is overtaking lanes how bout just back off a little and let the trucks pass safely
FollowupID: 527098

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:50

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:50
Me thinks that nobody taught some drivers, both car and truck, that a speed limit is exactly that, a LIMIT. It is not the MINIMUM speed that you must do.
FollowupID: 527099

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 15:55

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 15:55
I wonder how many vehicle drivers (4wd, car or heavy vehicle) driving more than 200000km a year could honestly say they have seen more accidents/incidents caused by heavy vehicle operators compared to car drivers????

Remember if you don't drive more than 200000 km a year then you are not on the road anywhere near as much as most heavy vehicle operators and then your odds and assumptions are only miniscule compared to the average truck driver.

Caravan towing 4wd'r that respects those showing respect.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 527226

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:09

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:09
The last stats I saw showed a disproportionate number of trucks involved in accidents per type of vehicle on the road. In fact I think there have been Parliamentary enquiries into just this, with various recommendations.
How many car drivers have a time limit for a particular route backed by financial sanctions, or a pay by load to earn a $ ?
These are only two things in an industry that is notorious for its poor treatment of drivers.
The majority of truck drivers are Ok but it only takes one to get mad at you in a car, and you remember them.
Put a number of these cowboys together on the Pacific at night and BOY do you remember them.
FollowupID: 527228

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:53

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:53
LOL keep stirring the pot Footy. These truckies have got very thin skins.

FollowupID: 527253

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:06

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:06
So have I when there's a 40 ton truck about a metre from my rear at 100K/h !
FollowupID: 527257

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:16

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:16
Owwwwww c'mon footy, if I remember right you drive a 1HZ 80 and if I am right this could only do 100kph, downhill with a tailwind (TIC) so is it any wonder the trucks were right up your clacker o/night on the Pacific LOL!!!!
FollowupID: 527258

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:24

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:24
Trevor, the 1Hz does considerably more when the end of the overtaking lane is coming up and I'm in the slow lane with 20 trucks passing me ! Actually had to brake to let em all in and then nearly got clobbered by one who was coming up a bit slower.
FollowupID: 527261

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:01

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:01
Hey Footy, common sense tells most people that if they want upset the apple cart by walking instead of running in amongst a herd of stampeding buffulo they're gonna get trampled.

Pezza
FollowupID: 527364

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:06

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:06
Pezza, that's true. I didn't see the sign stateing "Trucks only after dark," musta missed that one.
FollowupID: 527366

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 16:12

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 16:12
Pezza,
How do you know it's 10 to 1 - another ill-informed assumption provided by a forumite who thinks he knows best?
FollowupID: 527379

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:57

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:57
Get over yourself arseho..... Uhh arse end, I don't know it's 10-1, it was a guess, it's probably closer to 20-1 Hahaha.
And I'm not ill informed ! I get my facts straight by reading this forum every day LOL.

Pezza
FollowupID: 527420

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:17

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:17
Hi Bware,
I had a similar thing happen when a B Double pulled out from the side of the road when I was doing about 100 towing a caravan, forcing me to brake hard down to 40. Later the same truck smothered me at the end of an overtaking lane. I spoke to him sharply on the CB. His reply was that I was just another stupid f***ing caravan driver. It is this attitude from truck drivers even if a minority which needs to be stamped out.
AnswerID: 265169

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:38

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 13:38
Hi Mike,

Funnily enough, I had reason to be yarning with a truckie last night who went on and on about people deserving to be tail-gated and run off the road etc. He has been driving trucks for 40 years so I guess he would be considered a professional.
FollowupID: 527068

Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 15:33

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 15:33
I'm just your average 4WD driving, caravan towing, motorbike riding and occasional truck driving Aussie and like every other person that drives any sort of vehicle I make mistakes. The problem as I see it is that there is not enough common sense or patience shown by today's drivers (of any vehicle) and we just need to slow down and give each other a break.

No one group of vehicle driver is any better than the other, I was nearly cleaned up by a sheila on a horse a few weeks ago.

Charlie.
AnswerID: 265179

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:52

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:52
Totally agree. Patience and courtesy on our roads cost very little, and they have a ripple effect. Try it :)
FollowupID: 527100

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:48

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:48
My two bob's worth, i have had 1 or 2 bad experiences but apart from that it think the truck drivers do a good job.
of all the people on this link how many have driven one those big rigs? not to many i think! I see idiots all the time cutting in front of trucks with no PERSPECTIVE of what they have just done!
I talk to them on the UHF while driving so we both know who's doing what.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 265208

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:35

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:35
WOW !. Truckie bashing eh?. I lurve these threads...:)
As a few of you know i drive a truck for a living. Its my job, i do it every day, good weather and bad, crap roads and good one's, moronic drivers and angelic ones as well.
I dont care what you drive/ride, there are good and bad throughout society that get behind the controls of a vehicle, they are the problem on our roads today simply because they were never shown how to actually drive a vehicle.....they were shown how to steer it and that all,,,get from a to b as quickly as possible and stuff everybody else on the roads.
If you hate trucks so much, fine,,,,we'll stay at home for a week or two....(this is said very T I C ),,,,or better yet, take a day of from work yourself and find a truck passenger seat to sit in,,,,i reckon you may get a rude awakening as to how dangerous the roads really are,from ALL drivers,not just trucks.
Time i think for everyone to take a chill pill, or in my case, a kit kat,,,and maybe leave for work 5 minutes earlier in the morning, and on your drive,,,be a bit more courtious to other road user's

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 265228

Reply By: Member - Tim - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:29

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:29
It funny how these threads run isn't it? I am teaching my 16 year old daughter to drive at the moment and one of the things that has come up for discussion a few times is how trucks and 4wds and cars exist together on the road. The one thing that I have tried to get through to her is that it is better to be alive than right and if you have a choice between the two then choose alive every time. Trucks are bigger than my 4wd and it is bigger than a car and the rules of physics will win every time so just keep a good look out and stay alive. I also teach her that you have to drive as if everyone else on the road is an idiot and you can't predict what they will do so take precautions.

It's kept me alive so far though there have been a couple of close calls with both trucks and cars.

Tim.
AnswerID: 265323

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:30

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:30
Good points, Tim.

I agree whole-heartedly and I drive defensively, assuming everyone else is indicating incorrectly or not paying attention. But where do you draw the line? Do you stop your car when driving at 100km/p/h down the highway when approaching a side road 'just in case' a vehicle doesn't see you and decides to pull out? Do you steer as far to the left of the road as possible whenever you pass an oncoming vehicle incase they are on their mobile phone and may drift on to your side of the road? In these situations you have to have faith in the other driver.

I reckon by your reply that your daughter will turn out to be an excellent driver :-)))
FollowupID: 527265

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:55

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:55
To be honest i am more concerned about the cowboys in cars and yes 4WD's loaded up for there holidays on there first day on the road. The adrenalin seems to be pumping at that time and there is no fear factor.
AnswerID: 265327

Reply By: wannabee - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 08:58

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 08:58
as a truck driver myself i am biting my tongue here .all i have to say is if your on holidays -what's ya bloody hurry anyway.
seems you want to squeeze in that extra bit -some how thinking you got the most from the short time you may have had to travel this great country.
i find so many cars /caravans/and yes trucks also that will pull out in front ,not having the patience to wait and i find now that i do it and think to myself -payback.do onto others as they do onto you -then piss off b4 the cops arrive.
my problem is that i have the company name plastered all over the side and back off my vehicle making me a easy target for the dob in to cops or my company .if the cars etc. were to have this my phone bill would be astronomical and i would probably give up driving as wouldn't be able to pay that bill.
AnswerID: 269834

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 09:41

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 09:41
If you admit to doing it with that 'payback' attitude, how many other drivers in general are doing it? It is a symptom of our selfish, intolerant, inconsiderate society. The problem in regards to trucks is that the potential for carnage when they go pear-shaped is far worse . All the more reason that truckies need to be on their guard at all times as professional drivers. What they have to put up with from others is part of their job; if they can't deal with that and instead develop an attitude they shouldn't be driving.
FollowupID: 532737

Reply By: wannabee - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 17:00

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 17:00
do you notice that in nsw especially on long weekends that there are a lot of 4wd accidents involving multiple deaths and injuries.i cant see how anyone can just single out trucks as the one that is the major cause here.
AnswerID: 269888