That old Chestnut - Tyres!!

Submitted: Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:38
ThreadID: 50271 Views:4571 Replies:14 FollowUps:43
Just got back from trip across Simpson West - East via Mt Dare, Dalhousie, Birdsville Innaminka etc. Two vehicles 04 Patrol with Eldorado AT's and 07 Navara with new Cooper ATR's. Was talked into the Eldorado's by Cooper dealer, whom stated they were every bit as good as Coopers. Well blew 2 rear tyres between Mt Dare and Dalhousie, got to be the roughest road in OZ. Whilst the Cooper sufferred heavy chipping. Pressures were monitored constantly and drove reasonable speed due to conditions. On arriving at Innaminka, Tyre dealer sold me 2 new Hercules Terra Tracs and said either them or Toyos are the only tyres tough enough for Gibber and corrugated roads. Said she had a 5 tonne truck full of Coopers with less than 10,000ks ready to be sent back to the Recycling centre. Anyone else had a similar experience with these tyres??

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:56

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:56
I think its pretty well accepted now that Cooper are just a hack average tyre David.

AnswerID: 265184

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:29

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:29
After my woeful experiences with Cooper Tires in the Outback, I decided to try Firestone RMTs, I can assure you that they handle the gibber with ease, & about $100 per corner less.
FollowupID: 527097

Reply By: vuduguru - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:02

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:02
70k on Cooper AT's and expecting another 20-30, no giibers. Hearing good things about ProComps though.
AnswerID: 265195

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:03

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:03
Oh and for reference original grantreks 30K's 3 punctures!
FollowupID: 527101

Reply By: Anthony (Vic) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:05

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:05
Hi David M,

Do you have any info on which types of Cooper tyres were the problem.

I would be interested to here id either the ST-C or STT Coopers suffered chipping as the ST and ATR Coopers.

I'm thinking that the slicia compound Coopers might handle the chipping a bit (maybe a lot) better than the ST and ATR Coopers.

I'm not trying to invite comment from pro or anti Cooper tyre people. I've used both myself nad have my own view on that.

Chhers Anthony
AnswerID: 265196

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:14

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:14
I don't know anyone who's bought a second set of Coopers.

For comparison, I've taken a few groups across that part of the Simpson desert - up to 12 vehicles in the group, and probably about 30 vehicles in total. I can only recall one puncture - that was a Kuhmo on a Kia Sportage. We let our pressures down, and take it easy.
AnswerID: 265199

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:40

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:40
YES! you do so three.

My good self sir, just put a brand new set of STT's on the troppy which is the second full set of Coopers that have been on it.

First set were removed because they didn't have 'rim protectors' and I fell foul of a rock under the rim lip/edge.

They were also 235's and I wanted to go to 265's so I removed them and they now grace my CT. They have been up the Oodnadatta track to Mt Dare, then down to Dalhousie at red hot speed and pressure on around 35psi front and 46psi rear.

Then down the Cordillo Downs Road at a 100kph, same pressures.

All around the Outback Challenge areas same same again, with NOT one PUNCTURE or any other trouble that is touted on this forum re pressures and other 'pajero' oriented stuff.

Also NO CHIPPING , I'll repeat that NO CHIPPING.

The only issues were the aforementioned rock in behind the rim at 3kph whilst entering a little creek bed,which was an instant flat and a lump of steel on a dirt road that ran a huge hole through the tread and out the side wall.

Then Because STT's hadn't been released and Coopers didn't have a suitable tyre with a rim protector, I change to another brand on which I sliced the side walls of three tyres.

I tried the 'pajero' tyre pressure thing and still sliced them. I tried going slower and still sliced them.

Then to top things off I ran one off the rim going to the Pyrennees recce trip a month or so ago and chopped the sidewall to smithereens.

That did it - at $300 a pop the side wall issue was costing too much - but they had the best rim protector of any tyre that I looked at. (LOL)

Now I have the STT's on and all is well again.

I luv them.

Guess what - yep! pressures are back at 36psi Front and 46psi rear and all is well.

FollowupID: 527104

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:59

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:59
Lucky,

With the reduction in weight with the now smaller water tank and the inclusion of the gas tank the Droopy should be floating over the terrain LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 527107

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:01

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:01
Why would you do 100kmh on Cordillo Downs Road?
FollowupID: 527109

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:15

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:15
Skaker - two reasons:

Because it is a Land cruiser and because I can.

Just as an aside, the Troopy is made and setup to go bush and that is what it does. I do not spare it one bit and fix up what I have broken after I return home. Again - because I can.

Kev:

Oh! yeah mate, it will be 'floating' on the next trip LOL
FollowupID: 527111

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:26
Shouldn't you respect Station tracks?
FollowupID: 527149

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:51

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:51
Yep! Shaker you are dead right and I do respect STATION Tracks, however the Cordillo Downs Road is a made Road and usually well maintained, it is NOT a Staion road/track per se.

Also The 100kph only applies when the conditions suit. eg there are some corners on this road believe it not that you can't take at 100kph.

Also, even though drought conditions prevail, it does rain on this road which necessitates a whole different approach to how you drive it, not to mention the odd dust storm that lowers visibility and warrants a slow calm approach and maybe even stopping if necessary.

So you see, there is a whole range of factors involved in driving off of the bitumen on dirt roads which I take into account on the given day that I drive whatever dirt road that I happen to be on.

FollowupID: 527156

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:58

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:58
It's bad enough doing it ..... bragging about it & trying to defend it, only makes it worse.
FollowupID: 527158

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:36

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:36
Just for that, its 110kph next time
FollowupID: 527162

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:45

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:45
Hey Shakes!

Tell us about your experiences with Cooper Tyres which would be relevant to this tread, believe it not.

FollowupID: 527164

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 11:14

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 11:14
Hey....while everyone is OT..
Is Lucy a bloke???
FollowupID: 527203

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 13:18

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 13:18
OK, I have made my Cooper experience public here before.
I purchased 5 new Cooper ST Light Truck construction tyres, after a couple of trips to the High Country I noticed cracking around the edge lugs & chipping, this was dismissed as minor by the reseller.
In the Outback on gibber tracks, the tyres chipped very badly & on my return I was again told that it was inconsequential.
After a little more running I decided to check for wear & was horrified to find that they were over half worn after only about 21,000 kms.
I arranged a meeting with the Victorian Sales Manager for the Cooper distributors & he agreed that the tyres had performed less than satisfactorily, even though I had complied with alignments & rotations etc. He offered to allow me 50% off a new set of tyres which I was very happy about as he also said it could be any tyre that I chose.
I said, OK I will go in order new tyres now, to which he replied, you said you are doing another Outback trip next year, as your old tyres are worth nothing to me, why don't you wear them out & get your new tyres just before your trip. Understandably, I was in total agreement.

A month or so later, I was in the High Country travelling alongside a river on reasonably level ground, I came to a chipped up rocky section & stopped to assess the track, moved forward quite slowly as I had the camper trailer on the back & after crossing the rocky section accelerated away & heard a noise, thinking I may have picked up a stick, I stopped to look. By the time I got out of the car I had 2 destroyed tyres. No problem I thought, I will order my new tyres now as I am going to the Simpson next month anyway.

This is where it gets ugly!
When I returned, I went to order the tyres & I was told no way, as they had been damaged. Even after contacting the sales manager & reminding him that my tyres "were of no value to him" at the time of our meeting, he steadfastly refused to honour his word & after a lot 'negotiating' I managed to get 30% off 2 tyres.

The remaining 3 tyres were put on to my camper trailer, & lasted only another few thousand kms, making a total of 32,000kms.

I will not deal further with liars & cheats.

Vowing never to spend that sort of money on tyres again, I have since used Firestone Firehawk RMTs in exactly the same circumstances, highway, Outback & High Country & have never had the slightest problem or regret & have saved around $100 per corner.

FollowupID: 527215

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 15:53

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 15:53
Well! I am impressed Shakes.

You have convinced me, and just for that I will reduce my speed to 90kph.

I suppose there is such a thing as a 'bad tyre day'
FollowupID: 527225

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:03

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:03
Lucky,

I think you may have to revise your last statement. I think your last trip was with a fat overloaded Droopy :))

Now you should be able to maintain your 100kph due to lighter load and gas injection.

Now that should stir the nest LOL

Kev

BTW I have BFG AT's on the Triton, Cooper ST's on the Cruiser and Hankooks on the X Trail.

FollowupID: 527227

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:28

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:28
Kevvy!

Your going to get me into trouble, you are.

I have a set of Hankook muddies that go on the JEEP for High Country, mud stuff. (Noisy things) and will have to Re shoe the JEEP with Town Tyres soon. Most probably Cooper ATR's or a BFG equivalent.

My old Datsun Bluebird Stn Wagon has Hankooks and they have been a fantastic town/bitumen tyre

The TROOPY is on a brand new set of STT's which haven't missed a beat yet.

And

No! I am not going to infuriate the 'Scroobyites' any further (LOL)

Its Mike or Doug's turn as I have taken the 'heat' off of them for a day or two. (ROFLMAO)

See you at the Pyrenees

FollowupID: 527230

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:44

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:44
OK,

I revise my last statement maybe you'll get 110kph out of the Droopy instead. At least it won't be the mundain speed of a turtle.
With your theory it lends itself to the the fact that you get a longer life due to the tyres not touching the ground as often as they would if you were going slower ;))

Kev

FollowupID: 527232

Follow Up By: simple - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:05

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:05
100kmh on the cordillo road, yeah its a good speed and you wouldn't wanna go much faster, but have you ever heard how fast outback station staff drive... at least 100kmh most of them
FollowupID: 527242

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:55

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:55
Lucy ..... You asked me a simple question, to which I gave you an honest answer ..... so why the smartarse comment??
FollowupID: 527255

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:51

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:51
Shaker.

I said three things.

(1) You impressed me - (a) that you bothered to answer and (b) that your answer was good one.

(2) You convinced me that you had a bad experience with Cooper Tyres and to reward you for being and honest cove and concerned about me driving the Cordillo Downs road at 100kph, I would lower my speed next time to 90Kph.

(3) That there is such a thing a 'bad tyre day' - now that means any one can have a bad experience with tyres of any type.

However in view of your follow up comment - all bets are off and its back to 'business as usual'.

Just can't please some people.

FollowupID: 527278

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:31

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:31
David,

As far as I know there is not a tyre on the market today, that is available to the public, that will not get a puncture or chip on gibber roads.

From what you say here the ATR Coopers suffered chipping, what you don't say is at what pressure the tyres where at and at what speed and weight the vehicles were.

The ATR's are a road tyre that are designed to be used on a sealed road. The ST, ST'C or STT would've been a better choice.

The road from Mt Dare to Dalhousie is not the roughest road in Australia, there are far worse.

I have heard a lot from locals about tyres that are no good in the bush and the tyre pressure that we run. Well I have not seen too many locals with vehicles packed for a 2/3 week out back trip. Most of the time the vehicles are just about empty, no wounder they run such low tyre pressure and the tyres they have would be very ordinary on busy city roads.

This will stir up some people but getting a blow out or chipped tyres are part of outback driving. There are ways to reduce the risk but it will happen. Getting two blow outs is very unlucky but not unheard of.

AnswerID: 265200

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:46

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 18:46
My Troopy weighs in at 3.5t fully loaded and I have belted that sucker up and down the Cordillo Downs road, Oodnadatta Track, Mt Dare to Dalhousie and the Birdsvlille track at 100kph where possible on Cooper ST's at 35psi front and 46psi rear and never a puncture or chipping.

I firmly believe that you only lower the pressures when on sand such as the Simpson and the beach of course.

FollowupID: 527105

Follow Up By: furph - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:58

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:58
I would sure like to know in advance when that "lucy" is on a particular road so that I can make sure I am on another.
On those roads, at those speeds, in a Landcruiser, those tyres, mate , you a buffoon.
furph.
FollowupID: 527116

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:03

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:03
Hey Lucy,

How come you say you were doing 100 kph on the Mt Dare - Dalhousie road when there are very clear 40 kph signs on that road !
FollowupID: 527122

Follow Up By: Ken - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:10

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:10
Back to back Idiot of the Day award I reckon. One for "belting" down the road, one for skiting about it.

"Because I can.." What a goose !! What about everyone else on the road.
Ken
FollowupID: 527124

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:12

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:12
Wayne,

The Oodnadatta and Birdsville roads are as smooth as bowling greens with hardly a ripple on them.

The track from Dalhousie to Purnie Bore is a real shaker - worse then anything I have ever experienced for an actual road. Add the Tanamai on top of the Bungles corrugations and you still don't come close at the moment.
FollowupID: 527125

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:35

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:35
Lucy is just a stupid school kid with nothing better to do than stir up the 4wders!
FollowupID: 527132

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:03

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:03
And you thought the Nissan mafia had it in for you. LMFAO.

Lucy may be many things but he aint no stupid school kid, or a goose or a buffoon or even an idiot award winner. He knows his stuff. Now i'm not a cooper fan myself but guys unless it's TIC don't berate the man. Give him heaps for driving a Yota instead. :)
FollowupID: 527144

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:23

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:23
Boys! Boys! Boys! - forget to take your pills today or just just failed English at school.

This thread is about tyres, in fact to be more particular: Cooper Tyres.

You can waste you time and effort venting your frustrations on me all day any day if you like, however thats just 'another day in the office ' for me and you are 'kindergarden venters' compared to what I have to deal with there.

So give us your thoughts and experience on Cooper tyres so we can 'value add' to this thread.

AND

The other MEMBER contributors to this thread who have been out there on Coopers ,have answerd all your questions about the roads that I nominated (super highways of the desert)

FollowupID: 527159

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:30

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:30
I did 40,000 km in a Nissan Navara towing a tambo camper trailer last year and running 265/16 Coopper ST's. Googs, Anne Beadell, throughout the west, Kimberley, Canning, Gunbarrel, gulf etc, etc. A bit of chipping but not one puncture. I followed that up with 17,000 this year in a very heavily loaded patrol running 285/16 Cooper ST's - Flinders Ranges and Gammons, birdsville, Simpson, mulga park road, David Carnegie, Gunbarrel, Canning, Rudall River and again, not one puncture. Very little chipping. I ran low pressures, high pressures and did a fair bit of time crossing areas with little or no track. Matter of choice. (I did three BFG A/T's on a previous trip so tried the Coopers). I'm happy.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 265204

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:43

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:43
Very well put Mick and thats exactly my point, tyres are made to 'wear and tear' and if there is no 'road damage to the tyres it just means you have been driving to and from the local shop on the bitumen.

I have had BFG'S as well as the Coopers, however the BFG'S developed sidewall splits (Myriads of them both inside and outside walls) which were later attributed to a particular batch of tyres. I treated them exactly the same as the Coopers and never had a puncture on the same roads as I nominated.

If the Coopers weren't available I would return to the BFG'S as the next choice.

I have had other tyres with truly abominable results.

Have a good one.

FollowupID: 527163

Reply By: Himble - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:41

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:41
'Lucy' said "I firmly believe that you only lower the pressures when on sand such as the Simpson and the beach of course."

I'm generally in accord with this strategy. However, I don't "belt" down roads, preferring instead to take a more conservative approach. I've done several thou of gnarly roads/tracks In WA (think gibber bigtime!!) with the pressures "up" ...to date without mishap.

BTW, for those that may be wondering, Eldorado "tires" are made in the Cooper Tire & Rubber factory, but I suspect to the current owner's specs.

Himble
AnswerID: 265206

Follow Up By: Himble - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:43

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 19:43
I should mention I run BFG A/Ts.

Himble
FollowupID: 527114

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:52

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 23:52
Well, Well, thank you Himble re the pressure thing.

I was born in Southern Cross and lived in the Marvel Loch area for most of my early years and started driving vehicles when I was 8yrs , cause I had to (and wanted to).

All the roads were crappy dirt roads, paddocks, bush and such like which drove 2WD vehicles on cause we had nothing else in those days.

Always thought was the norm in those days until I found out other people drove on bitumen and wouldn't go off same if the terrible 'dirt road' was wet or corrugated.

So my use of the terms 'Belting', 'flogging' etc are figures cof speech - however I do do 100kph and even more on some occassions on dirt roads.

FollowupID: 527165

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 11:31

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 11:31
Whats this 100kph thing!
I dont know the stretch of road your talking about but why does every one have a trouble with someone driving at 100kph?
Surely if your comfortable with that speed and can do so safely there is nothing wrong with it. Shhiitt, we used to do a lot more than that on dirt roads.
FollowupID: 527502

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 01:23

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 01:23
Thank you Oh Hairy one.

A bunch of forum 'scrooby-ites' forgot to take their pills and found it down right outrageous that anyone should mention that they do 100kph on dirt roads.

I also used (apparently) emotive, inflamatory and downright enraging terminology to describe how the 100kph was carried out. (LOL)

This 'brigade' now have Willem primarily and Gramps and Kev (M) in their sights now due to a thread Willem put up last night.

Bit like sex on TV, they watch it to the bitter end just so their enragement levels hit the ' whinge bell'.

FollowupID: 527634

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 06:19

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 06:19
All high speed travel was done under controlled conditions, that is the drivers in question were in control. If they weren't then they would not be here to tell everyone about it. Simple really

FollowupID: 527637

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:21

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:21
When I was running on Cooper STT's I also bought a set of Eldorado ZTR for the trailer. I encountered 13 stakes in the tyres in a 260km cross country trek of which 5 were in the Eldorados. Admittedly I bought the Eldorados at cost price so they were a cheap tyre in comparison with others. The sidewalls however are paper thin, just like the Coopers(made in the same factories) and I have suffered leaking tyres over the past couple of years. Today I have had 2 x 265/75/16 tubes fitted to two of the Eldorado tyres as I use these tyres around town and on bitumen trips(the Coopers I swapped for a slab of VB and have drunk the proceeds since then...best swap I ever did!!!).

My offroad and offtrack tyres now are 12ply rating 7.50x16 MRF crossplies on splits.

The road between Dalhousie and Mt Dare is a pussy compared to the AB or the Talawana Track where a million corrugations and wayward stakes await you. Nevertheless, Cooper Tyres are good for bitumen, sand and some gravel roads and for medium offroad applications. Eldorados are basically a bitumen tyre. There are many variables such as weight, tyre pressures and driving skills which compound to the good or bad useability of these tyres.

All in all an expensive lesson in tyres has been.

AnswerID: 265216

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:06

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:06
I saw the Coppers on their new home Willem. Doing a fine job on the trailer. :)
FollowupID: 527145

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:04

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:04
Hello Willem

Seems as though I have outraged some visitors here (LOL) about things other than what this thread was/is about - Cooper Tyres.

Out of all the tyres I have used - BFG'S and Coopers are now most probably the only two I would use in future, other than a set of Jungle Trekker II is I was going to do a heap of continuous Desert travelling.

Coopers are my first preference and yes they do wear and yes the do get a bit of road damage, however I expect that from the treatment I give them and the terrain I travel over, especially those 'rock piles' north of Broken Hill.

From memory you gave those Coopers of yours a really good work out through the Western Deserts, didn't you.

Tyres are the wear & tear factor between the vehicle and the road when its all said and done, and when you have 2- 3.5 t spread over 4 of them being heated, chilled and pressured and de-flated, with continual flexing and distortion - they have to wear and 'disintergrate' as they are designed to do.

Anyway, see you at the Pyrenees where I want to discuss those MRF's with you.

FollowupID: 527166

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 08:11

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 08:11
G'day Lucy

I will have to find some dirt roads to get to the Pyrenees as the MRF's don't like the bitumine.

Yes, you do have a slight tendency to 'upset' some visitors....LOL but in general it is TTP

FollowupID: 527184

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:24

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:24
Hi there,

You said you checked the pressures regularly but out of curiosity what pressures were you running? Also what load were you carrying? Do you know what weight was on each axle? Did you match the front and rear footprint?
AnswerID: 265218

Reply By: Chris VK2UW - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:28

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:28
I think he must have stolen it and was trying to get away from the Police
100klm on a 40klm track.
Go Bro
AnswerID: 265220

Follow Up By: Chris VK2UW - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:30

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 20:30
Where you get that truck from Bro? she's a flash one.
FollowupID: 527130

Follow Up By: Chris VK2UW - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:42

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:42
Livin next door to Alan
FollowupID: 527151

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 08:19

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 08:19

There is no mention of 100kmh on a 40kmh track. So what are you on about???
FollowupID: 527185

Follow Up By: Chris VK2UW - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 09:33

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 09:33
Willem,
you need to save up and get some glasses.
In the mean time have a look through the bottom of your beer glass, that might help.

Member - Kiwi Kia posted:
Hey Lucy,

How come you say you were doing 100 kph on the Mt Dare - Dalhousie road when there are very clear 40 kph signs on that road !
FollowupID: 527195

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:17

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:17
Where did Lucy say that he was doing that speed on the Mt Dare Road. He said he was doing that speed on the Cordillo Downs Road. Kiwi Kia got it wrong and you followed down that same path. Obviously both of you assume that the Cordillo Downs Road and the Mt Dare Road is one and the same. Yer all full of piss.......
FollowupID: 527259

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 21:05
My mate had the Eldorado AT's on his Patrol for 2 weeks before he swapped em for BFG AT's, said the Eldorado tyres vibrated badly at anything above 60, had them rebalanced 2times to no avail.

Asked me what my Coopers we like as he herd they were made in the same factory.

I am on my second set of Coopers and will probably go back for a 3ed set.
AnswerID: 265223

Reply By: obee - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:14

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 22:14
You know all this stuff is anecdotal evidence however well meaning it is intended. We all have our own stories and a few borrowed ones and we begin to believe its the same for everyone. We really need a proper control test over millions of kilometres done by those blokes and gals in white laborotory coats.

It will never happen but. Meantime I pays my money and takes my chances. I only lost one tyre on the last trip (gibb river road) and lucky for me it was the cheapest I could find. Hankook. I started to blame the tyre at first but I got over it.

Owen
AnswerID: 265236

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:20

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 00:20
Nice thoughts Owen, however no white coated laboratory galoot can reproduce the conditions you encounter when you decide for whatever reason to go off road where there is no road, track and possible where no vehicle has been previously, such as the 'rock piles' on the stations north of Broken Hill.

Where minding your own business, crawling along trying to find an old Stage Coach track, you suddenly get a rock through the side wall which in reality kills the tyre, however you get 5-6 plugs to seal it and use it as spare (only in dire emergency).

Whilst you are attending to the said tyre, the on board tyre monitoring system starts going off its head with the other rear tyre deflating - stake through sidewall. Extract same and one plug sealed that nicely.

The tread blocks were perfect, not a sign of damage/chipping.

All those tyres were brand new and on their first off road outing, with 1,000kms out of the one with the rock through the sidewall.

$300 thank you.

Also the different weights of vehicles and the tyre pressures used with these weights has a big effect on tyre wear and tear.

Have a Good week end.

FollowupID: 527168

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:15

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:15
Forumites

It has been pointed out to me, and quite rightly so, that I have been very remiss in using emotive, enraging and inflammatory descriptive terminology in this thread, which has caused some visiting 'Scroobyites' to come unglued.

I therefore apologise profusely to these punters and promise to never ever use such provocative words again.

From now on it will be more like this - whilst sedately driving along the Cordillo Downs Road at 100kph I remembered how similar it was to cruising up & down the Birdsville Track at a similar rate of progress. These outback highways of course aren't a patch on the Old Oodnadatta road which is just like a Sunday Doddle where a 100kph seems like 30kph.

For the purposes of this thread I recall quite clearly that a tyre inspection at the termination of traversing the aforementioned Highways, revealed virtually nil signs of wear and tear on the vehicles Cooper Tyres and there were NO instances of deflation of the said tyres caused by punctures.

The tyre pressures were set at an adequate level to ensure that the sidewalls were as vertical as possible and in so doing assisting in the prevention of foreign body egress and keeping the tyre temperatures in the cool range.

All in all I am just jolly well pleased with my Cooper Tyres.

So lets get back to the subject of Cooper Tyres and hear from those of you who wish talk about anything else but the subject of this thread.

David M and Shaker excused of course because they have elucidated their experiences with same very clearly.

AnswerID: 265303

Reply By: Member -Signman - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:40

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:40
Stick with the Hercules !!!
AnswerID: 265318