What does your plates say about you???
Submitted: Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:08
PradOz
I was wondering how clever some of you guys and girls are and who may be the cleverest. I have been trying to come up with an idea for the number plates for my 2000 prado and keep getting pipped at the post by someone else.
What are some of the clever plates you have on your 4WDs?
Mine is boring, the Mrs initials, and from before we even married. They have to go on her car so I can have my own.
So whats yours? Must be some real clever ones out there, so if you feel like sharing it with the rest of us, let us know......
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:23
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:23
I used to have a 80series T/D, then still the current model, Showed some mates not long after I got it and they said she's a FLASH1, so thats what I got!
Not a real lot of imagination, still, quite a few "got it" when they saw it.
Shane
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:29
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:29
I have 4 cars they are TV rego (Tour Vehicle) so 3 have # but
mine has XPLORE.
I wanted TOPEND XPLORE TOURS
KAKADU but topend and
kakadu were gone including kakado I'm thinking about KAK.ADU.
I will eventually have XPLOR1/2/3 etc.
I saw one once had me for ages YY4U
I saw one on a Manaro GAMEOVR the another on a new GT it had NEWGAME.
In the NT they are only $150 you can have them on a Car truck TV OMNI bus Taxi trailer bike.
Cheers Steve
Follow Up By: PradOz - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:51
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:51
Some good ones
In the NT its a once of payment isnt it? Here it costs each year
Follow Up By: Member - Gomax (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:37
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:37
That wasn't YY2U ? lol
Follow Up By: Mamba No 1 - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:32
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:32
YYUR
YYUB
ICURYY 4 Me
hehehe
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:27
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 02:27
Mine is 3, or 2 or7 something and .....does it matter?
We sat out the front tonight!!!
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:15
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:15
Completely out in the open or under cover :))))
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 06:25
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 06:25
I have had black and white plates since 1972. In NSW the plates were black and yellow.
My initials and 3 numbers.
Back in those days you paid $15 selected the 2 letters that you wanted and they gave you the next plate in numerical order.
It was not possible to get the numbers that you wanted unless you knew someone in the RTA.
Later my wife got black and white plates, her initials and 4 numbers. She was able to select the number's so she has her birthday. 6261. Now I have no excuse for forgetting her birthday.
Vic Widman who owns a 4WD tour company has on his vehicle
"4WD2R" = 4WD Tour
Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:07
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:07
I wanted HZJ75 damn it . Someone already has it .
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:52
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 07:52
I walked into vic roads a couple of years ago to register a vehicle and TUF series plates were the next in line , so i asked for TUF080 for my 80 series and pre ordered TUF 100 which are now on my current vehicle
Reply By: Wisebyname - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:08
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:08
PLA.DOZ
PLA.DOH
PRADOZ! ;)
A?W15E 4 ME
Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:36
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 08:36
seen a few good one in the servo over the years....some are ideas...
IRI78D ( iritated)
TIZ51K ( tiz sick) - was my brothers - had it on order and never went on car.....
PRD00O
FKR001 - bucky would have thought of this one....think dirty...
LUV172 (love it 2)
NTF45t (not fast)
the typical nowra plates are....vts58u or something very similar...mix68u...vl50l (VL 5 lt)...
DIR71Y (dirty 1)
Laura
Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:22
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:22
gooday TOYOU 2
Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:39
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:39
What does my plates say about me?
It says I pay enough for registration as it is without paying extra for the plates.
Plates are a legal requirement not a life requirement.
Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:14
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:14
Yep my thoughts too
Reply By: Kevndeb - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:42
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:42
There are heaps running around
Perth at the moment, due to strong boom times, some I have seen Spoken4, Staffys ( she breeds staffy dogs ), Yes Pink ( on a pink car), My Possum, Gertie ( on a Getz) and the one that took my hubby fancy...Twouble, on a commodore V8 Ute, we named my son's mudlark sailing boat Twouble
One of payment and the plates are yours to keep no what every car you want.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:35
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:35
4MYEGO
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:44
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:44
A friends sister had that on her BMW
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:48
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:48
I saw it in
Sydney about 25years ago. Stuck in my mind. It may have been on a Rolls back then.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:40
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 12:40
In WA you can have up to nine digits, including spaces, on the plastic plates. I think they cost about $300, one off.
My plates are on the picture just below. I thought of putting MY PAYOUT on a new car once but figured it would attract a coin down the side.
There are some clever ones running around WA.
Hey Doug T, why dont you sift thru your collection and put a few on this post?
Reply By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 13:13
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 13:13
They say a lot
Mine , I can't remember the number , but they the small size.
This means they can't be read from as far away as the big ones.
Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 14:53
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 14:53
Here's a few more.
RIP 05 - SS Commodore
RR8ted - SS Commodore (R Rated)
TTTTTT - Lanes in a swimming pool (swimming coach.)
1MRBR - One more beer.
BARRA 32 -His biggest barra
BURGLA - Has some luck at golf
PROGUN - Yes Sir.
MYSWAG - Camper Trailer
SHMOKIN - S Commodore
TOY4WD - Toy 4WD
IWLW84U I will wait for you.
NOANGL - No Angel
Reply By: Member - Brian A (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:44
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:44
Best one on a Jaguar car was MEOW. Another similar one had PURR.
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 17:17
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 17:17
Saw a Range rover with EIEIO, must have been a farmer!
Reply By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 17:34
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 17:34
E0ZMBR ExplorOZ Member
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 18:48
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 18:48
My old turbo E30 BMW had BMWE30 and another BMW I had was FSTFWD .
I think best the challenge was to make one up from normal sets of numbers and letters so that you only had to pay a one-off in NSW . But now they have changed the rules , so you even have to pay a yearly fee for that .
If I knew your name or nickname I would have a go at making up something for you .
What about DSPRADO
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: PradOz - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 20:30
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 20:30
Hey Willie
DSPRADO is tooooooo many lettttters for NSW. Thanks anyway.
I was trying to to think of something with a 4WD theme but most are taken or dont suit.
Thanks MICK <---- That would be my name you were asking about ... Cheers :)
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:51
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:51
tooooooo many ........ seniors moment !
PRADOG
DIGIDO
MIK4WD
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:52
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:52
PRADOG
DIGIDO
MIK4WD
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:52
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 21:52
PRADOG
DIGIDO
MIK4WD
Willie
Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 20:11
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 20:11
The most interesting plate that I have spotted was on a BMW driven by a very attractive lady, it simply said -KEPT.
eerfree
Reply By: CraigB - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 20:18
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 20:18
At the time Holden were running the slogan "I just want one" I secured the plates "IVE GOT 1" for my HSV Club Sport.
Reply By: Wayne - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 23:05
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 23:05
Seen this one twice now and love it!!
on the back of a VERY sleek new Porsche
"MRTOSSA2U"
I nearly ran off the road laughing. Beats my BEACHBUMS number plate hands down
Reply By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 07:16
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 07:16
Saw a hot blond in a red 3 series BMW convertable.
3M.TA3
Didnt get it till I over took her and looked in the rear view mirror.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:31
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:31
You've never been the same since...I bet
I like that.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 08:03
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 08:03
I've got personalised plates on my vehicle... mind you I had to change my name to SJU 472 :)
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 08:36
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 08:36
LOL love it
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 13:31
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 13:31
Very funny
From ZIN 447
Reply By: ferris - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:32
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:32
I once saw a Mitsubishi Starion with RUNVS.
Somebody scratched NO into his duco.
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:03
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:03
I'm not into the ego thing. Why would you want to personalise your our number plate? Who are you trying to impress?
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:39
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:39
I'm glad it was you that said it and not me LOL.
I can understand it from a business point of view, but I'm so proud of who I am that I need my initials and birth year on my vehicle? Why don't they get t-shirts made up? LOL
Then there are the plates that take a bit of time to figure out (if at all). Sorry people, if it isn't immediately obvious, other drivers just look at your plates and think WTF?..... If it is your own private little meaning, why do you have it on your car?
I guess with some of the examples above like 4MYEGO, atleast the wankers are honest about themselves ;-))))
Follow Up By: Camoco - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:39
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:39
I've had mine since 1988.
My memory would never allow me to remember this normally nor would it allow me to remember the plate based on the frequency I used to change them. I've had more than 50 vehicles and I can only remember the one number.
1988 also was the year of Expo in Bris and 200 years since white landing. (as noted on the plate 1788-1988) It shows an Aussie symbolised map in green and gold. Plus my age is part of the entire plate based on the year and the selected numbers. I do forget my age many times and if I wasn't married I'd have no way to tell otherwise (constantly reminded :)).
Why do I have personalised plates? At least it's the only answer I can give the nice policeman without thinking about and the attendants at the hotels when booking in and the servo's if you have a fuel card. How many times have you had to go out and check? And I am not even a senior yet.
It's not all about ego!!!!
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:48
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:48
Gee Camoco, I never thought about it like that. But in the case of 'easy to remember', wouldn't it be cheaper to write it down on a piece of paper and keep it in your wallet?
Follow Up By: Camoco - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:25
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:25
Now where did I put my wallet???
I paid $200 odd back in '88. That's nearly 20 years years at $10 odd a year and never needing to remember .......... what was it??
It also helps identify the car in large car parks too. I once had a white commodore wagon. You can imagine the angst when I went to commercial conventions up here in QLD.
Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 14:41
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 14:41
I think my wife's N373H is too subtle for most people.
Follow Up By: Camoco - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:30
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:30
I hope it doesn't get to be viewed correctly too often.
(from the perspective of being run over or from rollover)
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:23
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:23
I'm told it's rather difficult to roll an RX8. I've told her I got her those plates'cos she does her best work on her back.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:29
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:29
That's a funny number plate for someone called Mildred?
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:44
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:44
That's a funny comment from someone called "Mike".
Reply By: Member - Bob K (WA) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:50
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:50
I had a sports shop/trout
fishing guide business in NZ a few years ago, and with 6 rivers in the local area, that's the plate I got (or at least, that's the one my daughter won for me on a radio competition)
6RIVRS
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:44
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:44
mine says A S S H A T
no explaination.
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:03
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:03
It does not. I've seen yours.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:53
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:53
tried to get SUX2BU but it went the week I was lookin at it :(
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:58
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:58
>It does not. I've seen yours.
Yeeesss... I heard about that weekend.... :)
Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:43
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:43
I've got vic plate TOYTRK if anyone wants it for their Toyota.
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:00
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:00
You're not thinking of upgrading to a Real Truck are you?
Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:44
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:44
Crikey you're sharp today but you never know, the kids did like those hummers we were looking at last week but would that be an upgrade...hmmmm
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:50
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:50
Ya silly ol bugga.
Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:11
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:11
Get off the road and stop holding the traffic up ya silly ol goot.
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:20
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:20
whoooooooooo
Deja vu
What's Chaucer got to do with the cost of fish in China anyway?
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:21
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:21
. . . or Crazy John? May he rest in peace.
Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:29
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:29
I think you need a holiday in
Peterborough :)
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:29
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:29
I can only think of one thing better than that.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:56
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:56
That doesn't involve "you know who" on her back again does it? :)
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:03
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:03
Get your mind out of the gutter Harding.
I was thinking the only thing better than a holiday in
Peterborough would be TWO holidays in
Peterborough.
Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:09
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:09
I had a MGC GT back in N.Z. I ordered the plate no. GT3000. Cost $1.00 to change the plates over (1972). A MGC is a 3litre six my name is Graham Taylor , hence my Exploroz sign off name and the car I drove then was a GT. I wonder where it is now . A Timaru person finished up with it in approx 1985. This was the last I had knowledge of it. Back in NZ. I saw a plate ` WAS HIS `on a Merceedes pagoda roof sports car, what ever the model was can`t remember. Was driven by a ( no prizes for guessing)
A blonde. Regards G.T.
Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:37
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:37
The alternative to customised plates and the ongoing expense is to do a customised wheel cover. I could getr the plates I wanted so do the wheel cover thing.
I've had Brad from Outback Signs (EO Member) do a couple..one off fee, good quality.
Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:38
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:38
The alternative to customised plates and the ongoing expense is to do a customised wheel cover. I couldn't get the plates I wanted so I got the wheel cover done.
I had Brad from Outback Signs (EO Member) do a couple..one off fee, good quality.
Follow Up By: PradOz - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:54
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:54
Gee thanx Landy
I was just getting on top of the number plate question and now I need to start another one on what to put on a customised wheel cover :)
Good idea though .
Thanx Mick
(any ideas.....)
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:05
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:05
hmm 2000 prado
how about
HELPME