4WD forum / Explorer Oz site.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:59
ThreadID: 50911 Views:43176 Replies:19 FollowUps:86
Is this a 4WD / Explorer Oz site or a site set up just to abuse others?

Some have over the top shots at members and take responses the wrong way.

You might be able to express yourself in ways that others don't see it.

Give them a chance and Chill out for awhile, as they might see it in another light.

Everyone has a right and a mind of their own, and a right to have a say even if right or wrong.

Why abuse others for what you think, let them have a say.

Do we want this site to head the same way that some of the other 4WD links have.

They talk about Road Rage, how about Forum Rage?.

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:13

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:13
ummm - there is moderation of this site, so if something is out of order tell the moderators and owners.

While you're there sign up too...
AnswerID: 268475

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:53

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:53
Amen

I second that

FollowupID: 531071

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:49

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:49
Hear, hear.

I wonder if he is complaining about the overtly political line he took on the loss of one of our troops? He really need to draw our attention to the posts he is talking about. There are all sorts of people in here we know that have been here long term. It doesn't matter much if we agree with them or not, we may still have a beer at the end of a good days driving. But then if he drives a GXL 80 Series, well ....... LOL
FollowupID: 531086

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:58

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:58
JohnR, see here you go already, it has nothing to do with that at all.
I am talking in general.

If you go through the posts, they nearly all end up with someone just like you.
FollowupID: 531092

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:09

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:09
Show us what you are talking about mate, otherwise we will continue to have a lend of you.
FollowupID: 531096

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:10

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:10
"go through the posts"... what is poor JohnR supposed to do? Read them all? If it is a real problem report it to the moderators.

You are digging yourself a bigger and bigger whole.

You have made JohnR's post personal that was not at all personal and you don't have a funny bone, go see a doctor. If anything John's post was pretty conciliatory.

Everyone who has been anywhere near this site would know that the Nissan crew snipe at the Tojos and vice versa - nothing personal. Just a Nissan thing.

Let me make a recommendation:
1. start from scratch with a new name that is a little more inventive (and leaves the baggage behind)
2. sign up for membership if you want to really support the site
3. take a deep breath and if you don't like a post, don't read on - jsut forget it, and if it's too much pain, you don't have to come here, you know!

See you out on the road
Andrew.
FollowupID: 531097

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:36

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:36
Andrew from Vivid Adventures,
haven't you heard the phrase,
"Try before you buy"

I did before I got married and know doubt like a lot of others, and things haven't changed.

Probably a lot of others have done No3. and with your comments probably will in the future.
FollowupID: 531112

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:06

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:06
Probably.
FollowupID: 531123

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 19:22

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 19:22

I thought you made some pretty good points and saw nothing wrong with your comments.

If someone does not like your comments they shouldn't come to the site.

Part of the Australian culture for as long as I have known is to stir each other. For that purpose we have had:

Holden Vs Ford
Toyota Vs Nissan
Aussie Rules Vs Rugby
South Australia Vs Victoria

And the list goes on and we have all had a lot of fun.

That type of stirring occurs on this site. I recently saw "Queensland"referred to as "Queersland" and I thought it was very clever. I told a couple of queenslanders who had a good laugh.

I hope those who become members or visit the site have an appropriate sense of humour.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 531340

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:08

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:08
Thanks Tjilpi.

Perhaps 96 was trolling, or p1ssed, or having a slow day, or just plain slow - I don't know, but I sure as hell don't care ;-)

Andrew.
FollowupID: 531347

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:24

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:24
My My,

Had a bad day have we? I've been a member of this EO group for nearly 12 months and yes, at times, words are said that can be taken a number of ways. However in all the times I have viewed the forum I don't think I've ever seen any "abuse" - particularly amongst members. Yes, the friends on this group certainly take the p%$#s out of each other but the Moderator has not seen any harm and has therefore not intervened.

And whilst I don't know any members personally they still treat me as a human being (when I'm really a Martian hehe)
Have another Friday drink and chill yourself

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 268477

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:27

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:27
John,

Living in Tamworth would class you as a 6 fingered Banjo player and not a Martian LOL

FollowupID: 531063

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:32

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:32
Kev,

Thanks mate,

iffin I lisen long enuf i can heer them hammers cummin back on the ole 12 gauge too and sum crazi man out back laffin reel hard.

love that movie "Deliverence"

How's the chop going ?

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 531065

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:37

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:37
As far as I know (Lyn's holding the latest pics to ransom LOL) The rear wall and new rear seats are in. The Auto Elec has rewired it and it went to the Doctor to fix it's power steering leak.

Thats about all I know

FollowupID: 531066

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:50

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:50
I saw a white 100 series (chopped) with dual rear axles a while ago on the highway out near Bendemeer - I think it had a Trayon camper or similar but I was going 1 way and it the other.

Trust yours works out well too

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 531069

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:53

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:53
When I pick it up I may be going through Tamworth (may stay the night) I'll drop in and give you a look if you want.

FollowupID: 531070

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:55

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:55
That's not how it was when I last observed it.

FollowupID: 531073

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:57

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:57
And how many moons ago did you see it Lucky??

FollowupID: 531074

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:02

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:02
Would enjoy having a look Kev and putting a face to the name.email's always on

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 531077

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:07

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:07
Will do John,

I'll probably be heading across to Coffs Harbour, just need to work out which way I'll go from Melbourne.

FollowupID: 531079

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:31

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:31
Guys got a point though John , there is an element here {allbeit miniscule like thier brain} who take offence at what most would consider a bit of light hearted banter, but all you do is IGNORE em from that point on, dont even read thier threads, they dont seem to realise that everyone else is reading those threads too and just let everyone see them for what they REALLY are ,narrow minded and bigotted, but hey thankfully 99.9% of us aint that way, so just do as I do and IGNORE EM,
Davo
FollowupID: 531080

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:52

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:52
Got any examples Davo? I have seen some I would say, but the guy above hasn't played a part to be offended.
FollowupID: 531088

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:43

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:43
Hey Kev, Lucky gets the keys for a burn every week. Good area for donuts around Al and Lyn's back lawn as Rock Crawler found out with the Caddy.

John T there was a chopped 100 at Allansford the other day otside Cheeseworld, one look said it wasn't Al's jobbie. It had a flat back, yes a window, but an average job, or below. I guess the guy was happy he had a chopped 100. Kev's will be triffic.

I see Dave hasn't 'put up' yet. I could name some of course but that may not be fruitful.
FollowupID: 531227

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:51

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:51
John R,

That would explain why Al now needs to change the tyres over before it goes to the Engineer LOL.

I saw one of Al's conversions on Thursday on the M5 up here in Sydney, from what Lyn has said they must have had the chassis extension done later as he hasn't done one on a 100 series yet.

Kev

FollowupID: 531229

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 14:45

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 14:45
john the reason i had'nt "put up " I was logged off but if you really want an example i'm not afraid to give one a classic was Willem who spat the dummy after he had a pop at the toyo's and I dared to return the compliment he lost it and ended up calling me THICK for trying to keep up what was nothing more than a bit of light hearted banter, WAY too touchy over the Patrol v Toyo stupidity anyway his loss as they say,
too old to care mate,
regards,
Davo
FollowupID: 531283

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:13

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:13
Hey there 96 GXL 80 series (strewth, what sort of FU_KED-UP name is that anyway????).

Where is your sign???

If you don't know what I'm on about, refer back to a post in Friday Funnies a few months ago.......... It referred to the fact that all FUC*WITS should have a sign they wear around their neck that simply says "I'm a F*ckwit".

It's purpose is equally as simple......when sane, normal people see somebody who is wearing their sign (which they must wear always), we instantly know that everything that person says will be bu//siht ........ hence the question: "Are you wearing YOUR sign???"
FollowupID: 531589

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:26

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:26
upID: 531589 Submitted: Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 20:43
Member - Roachie (SA) posted:
Hey there 96 GXL 80 series (strewth, what sort of FU_KED-UP name is that anyway????).

Where is your sign???

If you don't know what I'm on about, refer back to a post in Friday Funnies a few months ago.......... It referred to the fact that all FUC*WITS should have a sign they wear around their neck that simply says "I'm a F*ckwit".

It's purpose is equally as simple......when sane, normal people see somebody who is wearing their sign (which they must wear always), we instantly know that everything that person says will be bu//siht ........ hence the question: "Are you wearing YOUR sign???"
Click Image to Enlarge
And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count, it's the life in your years.
My Members Page: Members Rig & Profile

FollowUp 15 of 15

We left it just waiting for you to come along, and here you are.

It is good to see that you atleast admit that you are a Fuk_wit.
Gees you must have spent a lot to cart all your bu// bleep around, why didn;t you just use the dunny at home and let us breathe fresh air and not yours.

I suppose you have your sign on the back of that ting saing "Bu// bleep ahead"
FollowupID: 531595

Where is your sign???

Click Image to Enlarge
And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count, it's the life in your years.

FollowUp 15 of 15

Gees you must have spent a lot to cart all your bu// bleep around, why didn;t you just use the dunny at home and let us breathe fresh air and not yours.

I suppose you have your sign on the back of that thing saing "Bu// bleep ahead"
FollowupID: 531596

Where is your sign???

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 15 of 15

I suppose you have your sign on the back of that thing sayng "Bu// bleep ahead"
FollowupID: 531597

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:45

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:45
Hey Roachie, can I have one of those signs, they would be good for a party
FollowupID: 531605

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:29

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:29
96 GXL 80
I know where your heading, I seen the posts yesterday, this is a 4x4 Forum , I think we can all tolerate a small amount of politics just like the funny Friday , Yes we live in democratic country where we have the right to say what we like ....unfortunately sometimes but that's the way it is , But when someone comes on here or anywhere else for that matter and blame the Prime Minister of this Country for the death of an Australian Soldier then I believe the line has been crossed , And I must add I don't care who is Prime Minister, Howard,Rudd Costello or Bud Abbott he should be given the respect he deserves ,
Your comments yesterday was a slur against all the Brave Soldiers who gave their lives in previous wars so you can have your rights to shoot your mouth off , So we can have the right to use the the Internet as we are now and have freedom of speech, I am not going to call you names etc , just ask that you be an Aussie and not an Ar$ehole. Join in here with sensible answers and posts with a bit fun thrown in here and there ,

Doug

AnswerID: 268478

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:55

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 17:55
Hey Doug

I couldn't agree more, well said.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 531072

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:09

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:09
DougT,
"Your comments yesterday was a slur against all the Brave Soldiers who gave their lives in previous wars"

Nothing would be further from the truth.

I still shoot in Military Competitions and are proud to still own a SMLE amoungst other military weapons.
FollowupID: 531095

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:36

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:36
96 GXL 80
Can't take the hint can you, Don't expect answers from me in future unles you come down out of your tree,

Doug

FollowupID: 531113

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:40

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:40
Hey Doug

This person is well balanced, He has a chip on both shoulders.LOL

Steve.
FollowupID: 531116

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:44

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:44
DougT,
that's probably why I am not hitting the bullseye because the wind is blowing the branches around.
FollowupID: 531118

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:09

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:09
For you

FollowupID: 531124

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:14

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:14
DougT,
I see another StevenT told you what he thought of you.
Take the hint.
FollowupID: 531127

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:21

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:21
How far back are you going to go??

I mean just about everyone has had a disagreement with Doug ;))but at least they were able to get over it.

Kev

FollowupID: 531134

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:28

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:28
QLD Kev,
are you looking after DougT tonight Kev?
You two arn't Gay? are you?
FollowupID: 531140

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:33
Kev
Ow's this one mate , one for us eh.

FollowupID: 531142

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:33
Kev,
I noticed that you don't have HF radio in that 4WD of yours other wise I might have been able to catch up with you in around Coffs.
FollowupID: 531143

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:37

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:37
DougT,
youre not going to let Kev drive down to Melbourne looking like that?
He might get P^$#^$%ed
FollowupID: 531147

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:45

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:45
It would be pretty hard to catch up with me in Coffs Harbour in either the Triton or Cruiser as the Triton will be sold ASAP and the Cruiser will only be there for a few days before I get the hell out of NSW.
And you don't need a HF Radio to catch up with people when you are in the same location besides I wouldn't want to meet up with a closet Poof.

FollowupID: 531151

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:49

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:49
re: closet Poof.
So your not going to catch up with DougT after all.
Sorry to hear that.

PS. i bet you are to DougT
FollowupID: 531153

Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:21

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:21
GeeZus 96GLX80,

Your original post started off as a great statement about consideration for opinions other than yours.

Shame that you f**ked it up with just the thing you were going on about............Derogatory comments about people who do not agree with you!!!!!!

It's quite fair to attack the opinions expressed, but when you start attacking the person, you show up as a total F***wit.

Is it any wonder that readers start wondering about where you are coming from, or what mind altering substance you use to come up with such drivel.
FollowupID: 531180

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 00:51

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 00:51
Disco, if you take your time and read the posts, you will see that advice from others is to get a thick skin and join in.
So what is your problem???
FollowupID: 531207

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:10

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:10

Where is your sign???

It's purpose is equally as simple......when sane, normal people see somebody who is wearing their sign (which they must wear always), we instantly know that everything that person says will be bu// bleep ........ hence the question: "Are you wearing YOUR sign???"
FollowupID: 531586

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:01

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:01
Lets all drive Toyota's
Lets all have Engels
Lets all use Cooper tires
Lets all use the same batteries and battery set up

Then we will all be happy.
AnswerID: 268484

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:53

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:53
Hey Brew69

That lets all list re: engels /cooper tyres/ batteries,
there all on my wifes Ford Explorer, and I have a Nissan oops,

does that mean I have to hand in my membership tonight?
or can I do it later on if I get abused.

Daza
FollowupID: 531089

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:58

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:58
wrong car,fridge, tyres, battery (as long as it works), & bet I don't like your brand of beer unles you're offering me one. All good fun as long as nobody gets hurt in the process.

FollowupID: 531091

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:21

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:21
G'day 96 GXL 80 series,

Welcome to the ExploroZ forum.

Yes - Some of the stuff is robust to coin the phrase but most (the banter) if not all is in jest and should be treated that way.

The information that is available to non members like yourself should be regarded as a bonus .. yes I am a paid up member for the next 2 years...and yes they've had a go at me as well but by crikey I have learnt a lot from these people all over the country.

If you are having difficulty with that spare a thought for all of those who use this site and ask them their views on your subject matter. It is after all the biggest and the best of its kind.

The owners of this site do a magic job in keeping the decorum within acceptable limits. Yes some comments are over the top at times but your comments could also be seen that way as well.

You have had your say and that is what this country is about so next time you have a bit of a go at all us disfunctionals like me spare a thought for those people who advise and help all those people out there who ask for help (with info regarding what the site is for) on this site.

Unfortunately I only own a 96, 80 series DX so I guess I am behind the 8 ball immediately. Watch the Troll owners come out of their caves...LOL. Incidently I have a couple of thick skins for sale if you know anyone who wants one...LOL

Enjoy the site and lighten up a bit - It does the follicle's wonders...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 268501

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:37

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:37
"Watch the Troll owners come out of their caves...LOL"

Nah...you have made your choice (Unfortunately I only own a 96, 80 series DX) Why would I rub ya nose in it!! LOL

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 531114

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:43

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 19:43
Coz ya can Stefan,

Rub Rub Rub....

Please be gentle after all I am ONLY a Cruiser man...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 531117

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:09

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 07:09
stefan,

You will have to get off the sand dunes at Stockton Beach before you can come out of your cave.

Cheap shot I know.

Watch Sydney Weekender tonight at 5:30 Ch7 to see how to drive on Stockton Beach.

FollowupID: 531216

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:00

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:00
I did get off them!!! Look at my pic!!! thats air between the tyres and sand!

Sorry I missed the show, I am in the process of filling my inground pool in with dirt, huge job.

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 531342

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:07

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:07
stefan,

We both know how big the dune was that you went over to get that much air and who was the first to get stuck. :))

I could say that you could put the Nissan in the in ground pool to help fill but i am not that sort of person.

FollowupID: 531346

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:10

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:10
wasn't the Jackaroo the first to get stuck? I got stuck going to save him?????
FollowupID: 531349

Reply By: Smudger - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:04

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:04
96 GXL 80 series
You were out of line mate. Just say fair cop and get over it. You'd have to be pretty naive to think you could shoot your mouth of about politics in the middle of an election campaign and get away with it. Let alone over the subject that you selected.
AnswerID: 268522

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:36

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:36
G'day there,

As a very long term "lurker" and now member for some time, I haven't come across any trouble or over the top shots at what I say.

Some times posts bother one person or another, but usually there is a lot of helpful advice and friendly people out there. I have gained so much knowledge from this site, my vehicle is a who's who of peoples thoughts and opinions.

If a person stops to think about all of the BIG problems in the world, some of the issues raised are minuscule! I have to say I have had a chuckle or two at some of the posts that get a little heated between two parties, but don't we all bleed red at the end of the day?

Rossco.
AnswerID: 268531

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:39
96 GXL 80 series

Its called a gang mentality, the same names pop up every time, big noising, it's all a bleep contest.

A boys club, say one thing that only ONE person disagrees with and the gang comes out (fingers ready) to attack,

I get it all the time, but hay WTF. I'm me I can get over it.

I can't see way the moderator or someone on the site doesn't do something at time as I'm sure it stops some people joining, but it's there site and I only pay for the privilege to be on it ... LOL

Anyway regardless what JohnR (Vic)&Moses says, driving a Toyota is better the not driving a Nissan Patrol... Ha Ha

Richard Kovac
AnswerID: 268532

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 01:01

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 01:01
Hi Richard,
Re; "Its called a gang mentality, the same names pop up every time, big noising, it's all a bleep contest.

A boys club, say one thing that only ONE person disagrees with and the gang comes out (fingers ready) to attack,"

Yes reading the threads I see the same ones in each.

I don't think there would be many that they have missed.

"They are "Key Board Jockey's"
FollowupID: 531209

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:40

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:40
So what, lots of members do themselves and the site wrong, give them heaps.
FollowupID: 531357

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:32

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:32
96 GXL 80 series,

You've made a great first impression LOL

Seriously though, some of your 'nay sayers' are accusing you of behaving like themselves; ie being opinionated, politicising the subject, being ignorant of the facts etc. There's plenty of that coming from members before you ever posted.

As for members that HARASS and INTIMIDATE non-members on the basis that you need to be a member of their precious club before you can say what you think:
1) We were all non-members once
2) They act with that 'boys club' mentality that is usually reserved (but still unacceptable) for longtime members of clubs in general (but early members of EO don't generally act this way).
3) If the 'powers that be' think that membership is important to them, then posts that have 'boy's club' mentality versus a non-member should be moderated before things like jokes not posted on Friday or subjects that are too off topic.
FollowupID: 531599

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:47

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 22:47
yes Bware,
you can see there eyes lighting up the skies and smoke coming out of there ears from here..
It is a wonder that the neighbours of these Forum Police have not called in the riot squad.
That is all we would need.

I had a good read on the forum posts first up and I think they get all upset because you are posting on there forum, and don't have the right to?
You have to pass some sort of test or something?
can't be too hard as they passed it.
FollowupID: 531606

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:27

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:27
haha, don't worry about the members 96, I've meet a few and they really are just big pussy cats.
FollowupID: 531619

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:56

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:56
Hi Red Frog,
if they were Tom cats, you would get them marked, that's if you could beat there Mother to it.
FollowupID: 531631

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:46

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 21:46
What a bloody load of dribble.

Does'nt take much energy out of a man to be polite.

Kim
AnswerID: 268535

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:32

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:32
Hahahahahaha what is the bag limit for Flounder these days? Get yourself a box of tissues and get over it.

AnswerID: 268548

Reply By: Member - Lloyd B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:52

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 22:52
96 GXL 80 series

It's time you kept your mouth shut and your dim-witted thoughts to yourself. No one wants to read the drivel you spouted yesterday.

I am a reasonably tolerant person and did not comment yesterday however after what I have read today I must just ask you to shut up for everyones sake.

Lloyd B
AnswerID: 268552

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 00:56

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 00:56
Go back to sleep LLoydBe a good boy now
FollowupID: 531208

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 06:29

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 06:29
Hey 96,

At the very least you should put up some dosh and criticise us from the same side of the fence.

As a comparison, I wonder how far you would have got on this forum:

http://www.rugerforum.net/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=32

with your original post?

AnswerID: 268573

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:04

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:04
...... sort of reminds me why I prefer the civilized world GB. I don't particularly like the US. Then, they are all trying to out do one another there. I think anyone with a 96 GXL 80 series now comes under doubt.
FollowupID: 531232

Reply By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:11

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:11
I think some people need to phone AMI on 1300 40 40 50 (I think that's the correct No) and get some of that nasal spray and harden up a bit.

Everyone has a different opinion and views and living in a democracy we can all have our equal say. If; however, you may not agree with what someone else is saying fair enough - build a bridge and get over it.

I have been a financial member of this site since about 2000 (my membership No is 69 - whoa!!) and I have seen many people come and go. How many of you remember Oziexplorer and all of his opinions??

Over the time I have had some disagreements with some other posters but hey, I got over it and I am still here.

But then again I drive a 80 Series GXL so I know I am right :-)))
AnswerID: 268588

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:17

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 09:17
Who could forget Ozi? He's been banned from more forums than the number of lies he's told.

He keeps popping up all over the place with another of his aliases. Silly thing is, the moron trots out the same tripe every time and I can spot him a mile off. I have made it a personal mission to run the evil bastard off any forum I attend.
FollowupID: 531244

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 17:43

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 17:43
Come on Karl, stop trying to steal a year

says on your Members Rig & Profile that you have been a member since 26 Jun 2001.... :-)
FollowupID: 531308

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 18:34

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 18:34
Sorry about that, but when you get to my age these things slip - but I am still member No 69.

Karl
FollowupID: 531324

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:02

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:02
Jim, I'll never forget your post saying how such a top bloke Ozi was after he helped you with something, I nearly choked but you soom changed your tune..lol
FollowupID: 531632

Reply By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:16

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:16
You're not a member I see,not much to contribute either it seems!
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 268661

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:48

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 20:48
So much venom in this thread from the members, and to think the members here used to have so much respect for themselves the site and were tolerant of non members, how things change.
AnswerID: 268666

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:23

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:23
Gday Red Frog....have you read all of this fellas replies and posts??including at least one that i know of that was deleted where he practically told one member he knows where he lives and also what car he drives and rego number???? As for your comment of so much venom in this thread from the members , he didn't do to bad himself i think ........Cheers........Dave
FollowupID: 531369

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:33

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:33
Is it possible that this person is a disgruntled Coloundra 4WD club Member???

Steve.
FollowupID: 531371

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:38

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:38
Steve,

Gadzooks !!!! I was thinking the same thing. Would'nt surprise.

FollowupID: 531372

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:42

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:42
Hey Al

Great minds think alike.

Or is it fools seldom differ I can't remember.LOL big time.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 531373

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:57

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:57
G'day Al and Steve,

Borgy, unfortunately it's the members who put themselves up on a pedestal but then fail to deleiver the appropriate behaviour that spoil it for the other members. No I'm not up to scratch with the shenanigans here but if the members put themselves above others then a higher standard of behaviour would be expected from them. Best to ignore the goons rather than drop to their level.
FollowupID: 531374

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:58

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:58
Gday Steve

I reckon you might be onto something here mate...lol

Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 531375

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:11

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:11
Ray,

"the members who put themselves up on a pedestal"

hmmmmm ... don't see much of that as they'd undoubtedly be buried under a mountain of shyte from all comers (and deservedly so hahahahahaha )

FollowupID: 531378

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:32

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:32
Al

I see there is another members feature since I departed the roost

"This members profile is only viewable by Members and Customers."

hahaha
FollowupID: 531384

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:35

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:35
Nice pics and a lovely Barra there Borgy, hope the cook made a good job of it...yum
FollowupID: 531385

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:38

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:38
Ray,

Sssssshhhhhhhh .. keeps the riff raff at bay :)))

FollowupID: 531386

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:41

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:41
It's a bugger running between the PC and the TV trying to watch Jimi Hendrix at Woodstock on SBS LOL

FollowupID: 531387

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:49

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:49
Is Jimi playing there tonight Al, is that live ?
FollowupID: 531392

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:52

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:52
Hey Ray, it's just a purple haze all along the watchtower LOL

FollowupID: 531395

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:56

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:56
Gday Ray

Thanks for comments on the pics mate...as for the Barra ...well lets just say i do a better job of cooking it than what swmbo does ...but dont tell her i said that ...lol

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 531397

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:57

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 22:57
how come this forum doesn't have emoticons like other good forums,

good comeback

hahahha
FollowupID: 531398

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 23:00

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 23:00
how come when I write the word forum it displayed underlined and in blue, shouldn't that be members only feature, haha
FollowupID: 531399

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 23:05

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 23:05
Hey Dave, we don't ave them down here apart from the fish shops who are inclined to murder them but one chef up north served me up the best slab of fish I've ever had, barra he called it, was very very yummy,...good work
FollowupID: 531400

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 23:22

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 23:22
Know what you mean about fish shops mate , bought a piece from our local fish and chip shop once , ended up in the bin, i tried a piece of farmed barra once , didnt think much of that either, i try and get up North once a year to get a feed of barra , usually to the Roper Bar, fishing wasnt that good this year while we were there , as usual it got better once we left ..lol....

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 531404

Reply By: louie the fly - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 15:56

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 15:56
96 GXL 80 series, man, lighten up. If you want to see people get bagged with personal attacks read some other forums. I used to frequent a forum called The H.A.M.B. (Hokey Ass Message Board), for us traditional hot rodder types. Those guys can really take you apart. But you learn to get over it for a while. Then if you dont like the crapola, you can give it away.

Yeah, I'm a lurker (aka non-member). The site owner gives me the right to be that for as ling as I want. But now that I have found out all the good stuff I can learn and share with others here I am seriously considering becoming a member soon.

Bottom line, if you's don't like it, don't come.

Louie The Fly

BTW, I don't even have an 80 Series (LN130R DX 4runner)
AnswerID: 268759

Reply By: Member - Tony P (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:30

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:30
96 GXL 80 series
Hey mate I think your really need to lighten up a bit.
You call Dough and other forum member names , etc. Where have you ever contributed anything to the extent that Dough and others have to this valuable forum.
Yes I am a member (not long but at least I really appreciate the work the guys do).
I think you matbe need to have a 'big C' scare like I have just been through where you will soon get to learn that it doesnt matter a frogs leg what your opion of politics or vehicles may be, its the people who will willingly go out of their way to help you that matter in life....
For your info I feel that the banter from Dough, Steve (4wd tours), vivid, axel , willem , etc have really been the bright light that have made it possible for me to fight on and hopefully win.
Your 1st post made sense where you say that sometime people say things that my be misinterpreted or offensive to some, most of us love to see it as it shows some personality behind a 'mask' being the internet where you dont really know who your talking too.
I think this is a great forum for both advise and light hearted banter. I am a payed up member because the value I get from reading the 'technical aspect' and as well as the friendly ridicule makes it the highlight of my day.
I am really hoping to make it to the Pyrenees weekend (probably wont) but I will still be reading the forum and getting the best value for money laughs.
To the rest of you folk both members and non members, keep it up, stuff the rest ... lifes to short mate.
Tony
AnswerID: 268836

Reply By: Member - Tony P (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:36

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:36
Sorry guys, I didnt use the spell checker. I guess Dough will have to come to Vic to kick my ass eh... If he can still stand after I ply him with liquor that is...
AnswerID: 268838

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:43

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:43
Why would he kick your Donkey (ass)????
FollowupID: 531575

Reply By: Brian (3765, I think) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:58

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:58
If this guy is just trolling he's got one hell of a response out of us all hasn't he?
I think maybe he was seriously neglected as a child and craves attention in anyway he can get it.
I can give him my pity for driving a tojo if he would like, other than that me thinks he needs to get his lily white thin skin out in the sun a bit more to thicken up if anything and everything is going to cause him such stress.
My two bits worth anyway, and yes I know I'm kinda late getting on this particular band wagon but what the hell here I am...
AnswerID: 268861

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:08

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:08
Brian 3765,
I see that you are past the point of no return, you can't even count, it is 34567.
Go a take a few more sleeping pills and come back in a year or 5.

Bye :}}}
FollowupID: 531633

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 20:27

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 20:27
Just wondering if you can recognise a postcode if you see one( next to a members name). If not I have taken the liberty of giving my location in a more easily recognised format, I hope that clears up your misconceptions for you.
I tried the sleeping pills but they only made the voices in my head harder to understand, so thank you for the advice but please excuse me if I choose to ignore it.
FollowupID: 531808