Daylight Saving Already

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 07:54
ThreadID: 50977 Views:3081 Replies:19 FollowUps:31
Why can't all the other States see that QLD is in front of all them, Today being the 1st day of daylight saving and I'm hating it already.
My curtains have faded 2 extra shades already LOL

I am just looking orward to getting back to QLD the normal state.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 07:57

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 07:57
How does that song go

Dreamer, silly little dreamer .....

Hahahahahaha

AnswerID: 268685

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:01

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:01
Queensland, one hour AND a hundred years behind the rest of the country LOL

AnswerID: 268686

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:09

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:09
I'll just throw those in the bag, I wonder what the daily limit will be LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 531412

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:41

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:41
Daylight saving is another European idea that should have been left in Europe.
AnswerID: 268690

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:51

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:51
The QLD dairy farmers should have an increase in demand for the next few weeks as these backward States down here have to retrain their cows to turn up on time LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 531417

Reply By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:57

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:57
What's the problem guys - too much trouble changing your clocks or what :-))

Gee I look forward to it each year.

Cheers JD

AnswerID: 268691

Reply By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:58

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:58
Hi Kev, It never ceases to amaze me why they don't start an hour earlier and knock off an hour earlier.
Isn't that what work choices and a democratic society is all about. (snicker, snicker)
AnswerID: 268692

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:03

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:03
That's because they are from the southern states, it is too complicated for them ha ha

FollowupID: 531419

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:12

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:12
Franga
Your spot on
I been saying that for years,

Doug

FollowupID: 531431

Reply By: aka - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:59

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 08:59
The rain started an hour earlier here in COROWA
AnswerID: 268693

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:02

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:02
But it will rain for an hour longer in QLD :))

FollowupID: 531418

Reply By: MP - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:14

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:14
I love this debate. Same every year. Personally I love not waking up with the sun at 5am and having extra daylight after work to enjoy being outside with the family. But the actual time is just an inconvenience sometimes. When I go camping I get up in the morning, I have lunch at lunchtime and go to bed when I'm tired. It's true a clock will help with some things like tide times or if your meeting friends somewhere. Like this time, at band camp, sorry different story, camping towards the end of a cloudy, windy day, everyone was peckish, must be tea time. Crank the BBQ start cooking then some fool looks at the clock. 3PM. Shut it down - too early. Needless to say the first things packed from then on were chips and dips......

AnswerID: 268695

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:18

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:18
Mark,

I just wanted to kill time today and what a better way to do it :))

Kev

FollowupID: 531420

Follow Up By: MP - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:25

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:25
Yeah I reckon it's a great debate. Same as everything, some for some against.
FollowupID: 531422

Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:24

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:24
As a former Queenslander myself I can only say how wonderful it is now to be living in civilisation. These southereners can actually cope with change.

QLD will catch up one day, well maybe LOL.
AnswerID: 268697

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:14

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:14
TRAITOR

FollowupID: 531432

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:26

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:26
I'll proably move back there when I'm old, retired and ready to die.

Whatever happened to the suggestion of of changing the the rego plate from "The Sunshine State" to "God's Waiting Room"??

LOL.
FollowupID: 531434

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:40

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:40
Ditto Jimbo....being an ex-FNQer I can see why they don't like it too much up nort....still too bloody hot to go to bed at 11pm...but down this way (Queanbeyan) it is magnificent.
FollowupID: 531453

Reply By: Member - Shane L SA - QLD - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:34

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 09:34
yep what a pain in the butt, had to change clocks & watches today, Tuesday have to change to VIC/NSW time, next Sunday change to QLD time on our big move to Sunshine coast. 3 bloody time zones arrrrgh, family in NZ won't know what time it is haha 3 1/2 hours behind in Adelaide, 3 in Victoria and 2 1/2 in QLD, poor old ma will be lost.
AnswerID: 268699

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:06

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:06
Hey,

Another plus for the NextG phones.

My Nokia 6120 changed automatically.
The Nokia 6021 GSM's authough set to automatic update, didn't.

So there!

AnswerID: 268704

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:29

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:29
Just check my 6120 and you are correct. :)
I love DLS and look forward to it every year. It's been daylight at 4.45am the last few weeks, and i wake up with the sun :(.
FollowupID: 531435

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:27

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:27
Kev
Yep ...same old story every year as someone said, Same old mob of protaginists emerge from within the timber tops every year to push thier whims and wants on everyone else ,the same lot of excuses each year pop up, trade, time with family , go to the beach , ...what a load of schiitt , I could lay a bet on it that their lives don't change for the better, Oh noooo it's an excuse to spend more time at the pub and drink and gamble ,
All this crap about time differences affecting trade is crap, Trade is not conducted like it was years ago, It's nearly all done by phone / Internet , I can go on the internet at midnight and buy some item from Melbourne or Perth , In normal Non Daylight saving times WA is 2 hours behind the Eastern States and businesses conduct trade without any problems, Australia does trade with USA , It's a day behind us ,I know one thing here and that is there is the desire of a section of people who want to have Qld go to Daylight saving to satisfy their own ego , I really think it would be better for whole of Australia to stay at the normal times , I was in Perth last year when it started and in the mornings I had to have a light on and the heater when I got up , this idea of saving power is hogwash. The idiots on the Gold coast and Brisbane want to sit down and re-think things over, They get the opertunity to begin trading with NSW and Vic at 8am instead of 9am , all the fools on DS in NSW knock off at 4 pm Qld Time and flock across the border to spend money in Qld , They are also up 1 hour before us in the morning and heading for Qld ,

Doug

AnswerID: 268712

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:32

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:32
Spoken like a true Queenslander.

I bet you used to vote for Joh LOL.

FollowupID: 531436

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:54

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:54
Joh was a great Kiwi wasn't he.
FollowupID: 531440

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:57

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:57
The Kiwis deported to dog to QLD.

Goes to prove Kiwis are smarter than Queenslanders LOL.

FollowupID: 531441

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:03

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:03
lol, a big improvement with the average IQ of both places
FollowupID: 531442

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:09

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:09
Jimbo
Joh was much too religious for my liking, .......No we won't go there.!!!...lol

Doug

FollowupID: 531443

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:40

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:40
How about all the people that don't like DST leave Australia and move to Qld. LOL
AnswerID: 268714

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:41

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:41
They already do, the blue rinse brigade on retirement LOL

FollowupID: 531438

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:55

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:55
because of daylight savings, i have to waste the whole day rewriting all the weeks rosters.
AnswerID: 268716

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:56

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:56
And even better news is that next year summer time is extended, it starts early Oct.....yahooooooooooooooo
AnswerID: 268717

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:15

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:15
We are in a year 2 of a three year trial, WA. And I HATE IT. My hubby is a tradie and works by daylight, not time. For six months of the year, I don't see him before 9.30pm. It may work well in theory start early and have all the sunlight at the end day, but it did not work well last year.

My kids school runs on a early timetable, by March we are driving to school in the dark, I won't allow them to ride to school, it is too dark. Teachers at our school hate it. The kids knock off at 2.30pm, which now means they are knocking off at 1.30, which means 7 more hours till sun goes down.

Now if the powers that be would just sort the retail trading hours out I would be extremely happy. We had to purchase gear last month, we had to join about five hundred people outside a major retailer in Perth City at 12pm, to wait for the shop to open on a Sunday. We live about hour out of Perth City. As hubby was 12 hour days, six days a week. It was right royal pain in the butt.

Debbie
FollowupID: 531444

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:46

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:46
Where's Kevndeb i wonder ? I'm an hour out of Perth as well .
FollowupID: 531480

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:48

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:48
Where's Kevndeb i wonder ? I'm an hour out of Perth as well .
FollowupID: 531481

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:48

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:48
Talking amonst others here after daylight saving last year we found that , No swim in the warmth before work, Having to use lights in the morning and getting home and turning air cons on an hour earlier. Horizon power must of loved us as all power bills went up a third again for more power consumption. To hot and humid to do much outdoors so more daylght to sit inside. lol. and as a company that uses NT and QLD to source parts ...oops no change what so ever.
Just another one of those things you sort of sigh , shake your head and bop along with.
FollowupID: 531482

Follow Up By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:08

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:08
I live in the Kimberley and the time of year they have their Daylight Savings basically is pointless. Just like what Squizzy said, too hot, too humid...
I can't wait for the referendum so we can vote it out for the fourth time.
FollowupID: 531484

Reply By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:07

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:07
I even have the EO clock still running on QLD time and I'm in Sydney.
Good call David LOL

AnswerID: 268718

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:32

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:32
Kev
Just checked the Day/Night line and it from tip of Cape York to about Nowra south of Sydney

FollowupID: 531777

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:29

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:29
to All
Lets put it another way , A way the selfish Advocates don't think off or care about.
Take Boulia for instance , ( and anyone with a Garmin GPS Map 276C can check this for a more acurate reading for today, and while your at it get the times for Camooweal and Mt Isa . )
Boulia was when I measured it once 1Hr and 5 minutes behind Brisbane for Sunrise. I forget what month I did that , Now Camooweal is another 183 klm West of a line from Boulia ,
Far western Qld already has the Sun in the sky later than Brisbane, and if they went daylight saving they will be going to work and working in the dark for 2 hours,
Later when the Day night shadow leans more like / the forward slash the line will be from Tip of Cape York to Ceduna , These idiots in the City think the line is due North and South ,In WA in the afternoon the line will be at part of summer Derby to Eucla

AnswerID: 268720

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:31

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:31
I'm with you Kev.

Daylight savings sux badly. Here in WA we had THREE, that's 3, referenda on it. The answer was NO each time yet we still have it forced on us by the Nazis in power over here. Last year a letter to our morning newspaper summed it up: if a woman said NO to a man's sexual advances 3 times, that bloke would be in jail. But these crims are still shagging us.

Now, maybe if QLD and WA seceeded from the rest of Oz......

after all, we two States are keeping the rest in dole money aren't we?

And let's not even talk about extending retail trading hours. What a crazy suggestion. Only suits Woolies and Bunnings.

AnswerID: 268721

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 00:44

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 00:44
Bush

I think you will fine it was a privit members bill brought on be a Ex LIB. leader and a sacked Labor member. not some "Nazis in power over here"

FollowupID: 531875

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 00:45

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 00:45
thats Private not privit.. lol
FollowupID: 531876

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:29

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 10:29
They are still Nazis.

FollowupID: 531915

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:08

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:08
Hi Gone Bush and all,
Yes, it is correct that the Daylight saving bill was introduced by those you mentioned, one was bleep off coz he was sacked from the Party for a MINOR indiscretion, the other coz he was defeated as leader of the opposition a bit before. It took the heat off the Govt at a very opportune time.

DaylightSaving is/was/still is ALP policy and therefore all ALP members had to toe the Party line. The Premier was not game enough to give his members a free or conscience vote, and still won't even now.

Daylight Saving...........I bloody HATE it.
WA's most highly populated area (the SouthWest) has "daylight saving" 12 months of the year because it is considerably west of the longtitude line used to determine WA time.

Still Hate it, but feel better for having had my little bitch session.

Disco
FollowupID: 532009

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:07

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:07
disco driver

where do you get that from? I'm a payed up member of the ALP and have never received any info regarding towing the party line, only some info from BHP and Rio Tinto to say vote for Day light saving at the referendum .. LOL

Gone Bush.. The term Nazi is derived from the first two syllables, as pronounced in German, of the official name of the National Socialist German Workers Party (known colloquially, and especially to detractors as the "Nazi Party").

Richard :-)
FollowupID: 532097

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:38

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:38
Kev
I have a screensaver that shows the day/night , once downloaded and working you can add your Lat/Long , set it at about 8000klm / above , You can download it form here.
Earth Screen Saver for Windows

Doug

AnswerID: 268724

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:57

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:57
And you started a new thread with it as well, your getting you moneys worth with that one LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 531460

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:49

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 19:49
Its fnny how the anti DLS gets plenty of airtime - radio, newspaper letter internet etc. you would almost think everyone was against it.
until you talk to the people out there enjoying themselves- there too busy having a ball outside at the beach having barbies, going for walks swimming or just kicking back in the late evening sun
these people are the silent majority. they have better things to do than shut themselves inside and hit the keyboard or pen a letter to the paper.
BTW
i am about to leave work and i am tossing up weather to take the 6k walk back to camp or use the pool (might still be a bit cold for that)
AnswerID: 269179

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 20:21

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 20:21
Happy Birthday Davoe.

FollowupID: 532040

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:28

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 22:28
TA - gota bitmore day to the birthday 2 day
FollowupID: 532102