Marriage? Starting my first life consecutive life sentence?

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:43
ThreadID: 51333 Views:3243 Replies:17 FollowUps:29
Marriage? Starting my first life consecutive life sentence?

The one big question in a young man's lfe. Will I or won't I????

So if all and sunder want to contribute the Advice on this mammoth subject please feel free to contribute!!!

Knowledge is power, power is Knowledge!!!!

Hey i hope you like the heading i say that fior fun and my fiance knows i say it and she knows it is for fun?????

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:45

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 12:45
OOPs fiorgot getting married in the 24th of november 2007 and at belmont newcastle, at 11am.

I can hear the song by Queen "another one biotes the dust"
playing loud and clear
AnswerID: 270328

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:31

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:31
We share a wedding anniversary Christopher . I will be in the city that night at a flash restaurant and an overnight stay at one of the big hotels .

Don't worry , you might get a beauty - I did . She likes camping , going to the cricket , is a great cook , works whilst I am retired and tapes football for me while I am away .

Willie .
FollowupID: 533324

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:41

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:41
Congratulations Willie to you and your Partner, have a good night in newcastle and if you haven't picked a nice resturant do highly reckonmend Mangrove Jack's at the fish co-op on hannel street wickham i think!!!

Dinner for two right on the water front!

Good luck and thank you!
FollowupID: 533329

Reply By: Batman69 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:01

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:01
Christopher,

Marraige is fantastic, it comes down to being lucky enough with who you pick to be your partner.

I reckon I hit the jackpot. My wife is a ripper.

Married for six years so far with two little girls and all is well. Wife goes off to work and I stay home looking after the girls and work as kitchen b#tch.

Good Luck with your choice.

Batman.
AnswerID: 270332

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:34

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:34
Thank You!
Yes i scored a ripper aswell and looking forward to a good life with all it's problem which will be easier to work thru! She left me until i convinced her that her leaving me was a bad idea and She hasn't looked back, only forward and hopefully next year we can get another 4by and go tripping around the country side! Meeting Explore OZ folks along the way!!!
Thank you again

Chris And Teena
FollowupID: 533325

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:22

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:22
Try www.dorothydix.com !
AnswerID: 270334

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:38

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:38
HUH????

Googled it and got garbage
FollowupID: 533328

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:45

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:45
If you have to ask here, you're not ready!
You could also try Dr Phil.
FollowupID: 533331

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:51

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:51
Nah mate don't need the shrinker yet, maybe soon though!!!!
i have found that as long as you have good mates and a person you can talk to your are good and go to a shrink when i need to, often.
FollowupID: 533333

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:29

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:29
as long as you get the right (she will say she picked the right man)woman you are set for life
we have been married 39 years next june 3 kids 8 grandkids the 1st couple of years were a bit rugged but these days we are partners in life and the best of friends and travelling companions
my advice to all my kids has been have a joint bank account and share everything (doesnt always work)dont have a this is my a/c and thats yours
if you are serious everything is shared the pain the fun the lot
ps dont get caught with the bridesmaid on your wedding day lololollolol

AnswerID: 270336

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:46

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:46
Thank you, the bridesmaid is great but my girl is better and the bridesmaid is married to a great friend so no hanky panky with the maid!!!

She has caused me pain but i we have being together for 2 1/2 years now with a 3 month break her decision not mine, and haven't looked back, we are off to lovely lord howe island for a week and then off to the south coast for 2 weeks travelling.

Congratulations on being together for 39 years, and the kids and grand kids!!!

We do enjoy travelling around and should see a few people about!!!

Good luck with the years to come!!!
FollowupID: 533332

Reply By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:47

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:47
Use the first one as experience for your second :)

Boc

AnswerID: 270340

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:54

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 13:54
hey Boc, don't need to my dad has marroed 3 times and still hasn't learnt! i learnt the first time and this is the first and only time i am getting married. Good luck in whatever you do and thanks for the wisdom!
FollowupID: 533334

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:33

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:33
We have been married for 38 years come the 20th December
we have 2 sons and 2 fantastic daughter inlaws and 3 grand kids.
and we all have 4wds.
LIFES GREAT
Daza.
AnswerID: 270349

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:51

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:51
Congratulations on such sucess and thank you for replying, i hope pray beg borrow and generaly steal whatever secrets to a sucessful marrige you might have and use adopt abuse wrangle etc etc into my up and coming marriage, if you allow me to???
FollowupID: 533338

Reply By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:43
Chris,

Just remember this it is "Chris sweetie" when she wants something and "CHRISTOPHER" when she is bleep off. LOL

I have been fortunate to be married for nearly 8 years now and let me tell you the ride has been rough. A bit like where we met at a Rodeo LOL
When we first met I moved interstate for work and we survived 2 years of back and forth from Sydney and Brisbane. We then bit the bullet and I moved back to Sydney.
She was diagnosed with MS in 2002 and since then our life has been pretty messed up. But we now have 2 great kids and wouldn't change anything.

AnswerID: 270353

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:59

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:59
Hi Kev

Stick at it mate, you both will be stronger for it, and the kids will be to.

Daza.
FollowupID: 533340

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:31

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:31
Daza,

We have been through too much to throw the towel in now :))

The move to QLD will just be another chapter in the book, I just hope who ever has the Voodoo doll leaves it alone for a while.

FollowupID: 533345

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:17

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:17
Give up, GIVE UP you two swear at me again like that and I'll beat you up with it!!

I'm too stupid to give up and i thought about her for like two to three years before we got together!

Teena was a customer of mine when i worked for Caltex belmont in new south wales, her and her sister came in frequently when fuel was cheap! i got talking to them and Teen has a bueatiful bum wiggle well less said the better, as that bum wiggle got me Hook line and wiggle!!!

that was like almost 5 years ago and we have being together for 2 1/2.

Qld Kev you are a good man to still be with your l;ovely woman thru thick and thin!!!
I take my hat of to you and bow to your kind sir and you are welcomed at my table and beer fridge anytime!

I thought yeah that won't happen to anyone i know but my young niece has MS or something similar to it and i have found when i first found out i freaked, like i did when my sister was pregnant at 15 and gave birth to a lovely girl at 16, i freaked then but have grown to accept it and i love my niece with all of my heart the little attention seeker she is, suffers middle child syndrome aswell!!!

Good luck and God bless
will be up on the Sunshine coast for xmas with my sister and her family so will try to catch up if your that way!!!
FollowupID: 533470

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:50

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:50
Well done mate !
I am up for 35 years next May,

So 2 life sentences down, and well into my third !

Loving it, got a beauty, and I have sex twice a year, weather I need it or not ( hehe )
What else could I ask for ! ( maybe better left alone ! )

AnswerID: 270355

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:55

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:55
congratulations on er... well yeah a successful marriage, and thank you, well you must have being a bad boy for 3 life sentences but hey, i hope and pray that i have that long too!!!!

love the avatar!!!!!
FollowupID: 533339

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:08

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:08
Gees Bucky ,
Your doing well . I am going to show my wife this post !
Willie .
FollowupID: 533350

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:08

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:08
Gees Bucky ,
You're doing well . I am going to show my wife this post !
Willie .
FollowupID: 533351

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:11

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:11
I thought I had stopped the first post after I noticed a spelling mistake - you should never rely on a spel checka .
FollowupID: 533352

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 19:17

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 19:17
Oh Bucky.....Not pre alzeimers....its just night shify you poor bugger!!!

I got warning off Zev (and our selves....Nathn to the doc!!) to keep it at a minimum or Nathan and I will be trading the new girl in next week!!!! maybe 2 a yr is good!!

Laura.....oh dear...Kiwi, my new name...must learn
FollowupID: 533394

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:54

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:54
Thanks i will be showing this to my girl and put this post after i print it up in the photo album!!!!

It will be good to look at it at a later date and reminece!!!

I think its around tea time and the body and brain are craving the delicious thought of food!!!!

Fading away to a shadow!!!
FollowupID: 533476

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:50

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:50
Well done mate !
I am up for 35 years next May,

So 2 life sentences down, and well into my third !

Loving it, got a beauty, and I have sex twice a year, weather I need it or not ( hehe )
What else could I ask for ! ( maybe better left alone ! )

AnswerID: 270356

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:27

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:27
Hey Bucky,
mate that alzhimers thing is a bummer ain't it??? I sometimes forget I posted something and do it again just to be sure to be sure.

I was going to ask on a post about navigation on the Simpson tracks, but your Picture tells it all I think. Looks like signage is quite good. Thanks mate.
Colin.
FollowupID: 533344

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:40

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:40
just remeber we will all get old timers, or was that alzhimers, can never remember which one!!!LOL
FollowupID: 533529

Reply By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:38

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:38
We are also getting married on 24 November but at 4pm. Both our second marriages. First marriages lasted 12 years and we have been together for 13 years and finally decided that we wanted to get married. Have 5 kids between us, none together and 1 dog (may as well be a kid). Always talk things over. We go nearly everywhere together except work, enjoy each others company and love getting away. Next year we are doing a trip to the Kimberley and if we like it enough we probably won't be back for a long time. Good luck and we will have a drink for you on the day.
AnswerID: 270359

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:24

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:24
Congratulations to your and your partner of choice, wish i could go as well but some BARSTOOL stole my 4by and can't go up the beach or the bush!

Yes we talk and argue and fight but after all that we still love each other!
When we do that i say she is causing me grief or vise versa, but at the end of the day we forgive and forget!!!

To forgive someone you love is important when they hurt you, but to forget and learn is the greatest gift we can give.

Good luck on our special day! Don't do anything i wouldn't and keep it clean! Will do the same aslong as the battle axe lets me, oops The wife to be!!!! :op)
FollowupID: 533471

Reply By: Kevndeb - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 15:43
My hubby and I met when I was 15, he was 16. Married 16 years now. And our 14 year old has his first girlfriend, oh boy I am getting old. , though I thought he was going out with another girl the other day when came home with another girls name all over his arm....nup that is her last name...I have no idea what the heck that is all about...but apparently she like being known by her last name.....maybe I need to watch Home and Away a bit more closely.

Never go to bed angry, always fight fair and never not listen to stuff she has to say, even if you think it's stupid. And also sweat the small stuff....it does matter.

Debbie

AnswerID: 270361

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:32

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:32
Thanks Debbie for the advise, we play little funny games when we fight and i fight fair, i save the real dirty stuff when i have to defend myself from physical harm. We listen to what each other say, well i do she doesn't or switches off but have found a work around, ( it might be something with her hearing to, really concerned about that) but we only have gone to bed angry a couple of times, but patch it up quickly and learn!!!!

Home and away i don't watch cause its almost the story of my life and it's almost same stuff rehashed, well to me anyway!!!!

Eldest of eight, five sisters and two brothers i can understand what goes on!!! We do sweat the small stuff, her family well most of her family hate me or don't want anything to do with me, but hey i got big shoulders and a strong back, so they can " go bite me people and wake up to themselves"

Good luck with the future!
FollowupID: 533472

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 19:08

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 19:08
What do you mean "Will I or wont I" ???? are you planning an alter no show???? I really hope not...seen that and it aint pretty!!

Nathan and I have been together for 5 1/2 yrs, a beautiful daughter exactly 1 yr later - to the day - really!! and have just been married for 3 yrs....

A little crazy compared to the trad way but things happen for a reason.....

Marriage is fun....but ya gota give and keep working at it...keep a sense of humour...

Husband: When I get mad at you, you never fight back. How do you control your anger?
Wife: I clean the toilet...
Husband: How does that help?
Wife: I use your toothbrush....

Laura..

AnswerID: 270394

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:39

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:39
Well you know you women, you cause me grief, so if you cause me grief i will cause you grief, when you stop causing me grief i will rub your back clean your car etc etc, this is our break the ice thing after we have an arguement and believe me it works cause you can say anything you like and it relieves the tension of any arguement we have ever had!!!

It helps if we have finished arguing and we have unfinished questions and point we haven't argued about yet tooooooo!!!!

Thank you for the advice will take all said in the discussion with everyone on board, whether i us eit or not is a diferent thing and i think i will, I will also show this to the little woman to!!!!!

Thank you!!

FollowupID: 533473

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:23

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 07:23
Thats it Laura
Gotta remember to remind you about your statement there Laura,, especially when you go into " squalk mode "

Hehehehehehehehehehee

FollowupID: 533692

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:47

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:47
Good onya Chris , congratulations mate ...i have been married for 30 yrs next April and wouldn't change it for quids , have 4 great sons and 3 terrific d/in-laws and 3 absolutely gorgeous granddaughters ....and they all love 4 wheel driving and camping. Best of luck to you mate , hope your marriage is as great as mine has been .......Cheers.......Dave

Oh and nearly forgot ..2 more grand kids on the way , and possibly another d/in-law
AnswerID: 270431

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:43

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:43
Thanks heaps Borgy, good luck with everything, sounds like you are going to be busy, well i hope so too, as it has taken me ages to convince this little woman of mine to accept the fact i'm her mister right, almost had to take the riding crop to her!!! :op)

I don't know about the kids thou??? maybe a couple of years down the track she is 33 and i'm only 32!!!

I'll think about it??? Ok !!!
FollowupID: 533474

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 00:58

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 00:58
Hi Christopher

You're mad. But so am I, and happily mad for nearly 14 years. Good luck with your marriage - it will be the best and the worst thing you've ever done (until you have kids LOL) but if you take it seriously (ie: don't give up easily when the road gets rough) you'll be glad you took the leap.Well that's howit is for me anyway.

AnswerID: 270461

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:50

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 03:50
MAD you say!!!! I didn't spend 5 years at insanity university to be labeled MAD!!!

Aren't we all in some way shape or form, because if we were all alike imagine the boring things that would happen!!!

MAte thanks for the advice, i haven't and "Don't you ever swear at me like that again using those dirty foul words, GIVE UP" Man you need a good slapping!!!! NEVER!!!!

Thanks for the advice Teena and I are going strong and we have a couple of things to sort out but it's only minor and i mean minor!

She steal's my SR2 laser all the bloody time and i dion't get to drive it much anymore!!!

Buit i love her dearly, until she scrathes my car!!!

Good Luck with the future!!!

:op)
FollowupID: 533475

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 05:27

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 05:27
Marriage

I said that we clocked up 35 years in May, but went to primary school together, and traveled there on the bus together,,
SO add another 18 years to that, I suppose !

Started dating at 18, give it a miss, for a couple of years, then got back together, FOREVER !

AnswerID: 270468

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:51

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 12:51
Thats ok Bucky i think we all agree your exonerated from anything and use this discussion as your get out of free jail card, i hope it works, well give it a go!!!!

It only counts if she gave you her first kiss!!!

Well i hope Teen and i can last and stay together as long as Your Lovely wife and Yourself have!!! Wow 35 years and childhood sweethearts, My hat's off to missus Bucky keeping you inline for that long she deserves a medal and you deserve a beer sir, well ok a whole pallet load!!!!

You have done thie time and really enjoyed it too!

That's amazing!!! Really amazing!!!!!!!

With today's society being how it is and marriages falling and failing quite frequently old and new!!!!
Well i'll say this "if you travell together you stay together" is that correct???

I hope so cause Teena and i love travelling, we'll be down your way for honeymoon after a week on Lord Howe!!!

Thanks for the encouragement

Kind regards to Mrs Bucky and You to Bucky
FollowupID: 533530

Reply By: tdf - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:27

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:27
weddingcake...the most expensive food on the planet
AnswerID: 270482

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 13:04

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 13:04
Tell me about it, you have dresses and suits and venue's, but we are making ours, and i told her if she causes to much grief I'll trade her in on a younger model ( in jest of course) fought to damn long and hard to give up or lose, so she had better look after me!!! joking of course!!!!

Well i'm 32 and she's 33 so we are in the same generation era and i just had to convince her i was the right man for the job, and it's taken me 2 years 3 months 1 week 3 days 22 hours 12 mins approx to do that!!! we split up for 3 months late last year!

and got back together that all that counts!!!

So what about you tdf????
FollowupID: 533532

Reply By: pepper2 - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:53

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 17:53
married apptox 19 yrs from 1972 then divorced mainly through my own fault ....in new relationship last 8 yrs working hard not to make same mistakes again,marriage is great but you have to work on it daily and not take the other person for granted.Wish you all the best hope you do as well as some of the above.....
AnswerID: 270577

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:15

Thursday, Nov 08, 2007 at 20:15
Yes we all make mistakes! If we learn from it it is good, no harm done, as long as we are forgiven! If you aren't forgiven then thats a different matter and that's when life becomes hard. Or harder???

Thank you for the advice alot of people have said the same thing! I agree don't take what your not willing to put into a relationship, give what you get!

Thank you and Lots of blessings and well wishes to you and your Wife, good luck with everything!

Chris and Teena
FollowupID: 533800