Another Yalwal Gathering???
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:23
Kiwi & "Mahindra"
Thanks to Signman, he has given me an idea!!
Who would be interested in a gathering at Yalwal....?
Maybe getting too close to Chrissy for this side of the yr so maybe early next yr.
The thought is for a
camp at Yalwal Dam (free, has dunnys of some sort - never used them), maybe get there Friday arvo, Saturday go on the odd track around the place,
camp Sat'day night do what ever sunday morning and then choof off home - which for us is only 20km back towards town!!
Any idea's or suggestions ie dates etc, before we make it official????
Laura
ps just need to convince Nathan that the car is a 4wd and not a bmw and that it can be used for what its built for and that its tough!! (he dont wanna wreck it)
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:32
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 10:32
Yup- I'd be in that.
As you say- gettin a bit close to the silly season..
Early into '08 would be good !!
Even for the Sydneysiders- it's now an easy run down there- and that new section sth of Albion
Park should be finished soon.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 11:00
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 11:00
Sure does make it an easier trip down this way.
Laura
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 12:30
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 12:30
G'day Kiwi aka
Laura,
Seems I'll have to get a North West meeting of EO going cos all the gatherings seem so far from me here in
Tamworth.
Up til the other day when Signman posted re gathering at Yalwal, I had never heard of the place but now, thanks to Google Maps, I know Yalwal is sort of west of Nowra. Same Google maps tells me it's about 590 k's from here and about 8hrs and 23 minutes drive so even if you good EO members get the "Yalwal" gathering I'll have to excuse myself.
I'll have to look about for some likely tracks around here and perhaps think about a more local one for members from NW NSW, Mid North Coast and
Newcastle areas
Anyone from those areas have any ideas??
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 12:38
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 12:38
John,
I was thinking about a mid north coast region one between Christmas and the new year. I'll be at Woolgoolga so somewhere in between there and
Tamworth would be good. I haven't been offroad in that area but from reports the Jackadgery area is very good.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:28
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 13:28
John T
there is a great spot up your way at Styx Rriver just out of Armidale.
another
forum group I'm in did a june long weekend up there last year and about a dozen vehicles made the effort.
Most were from
sydney and got in around midnight friday and we all left lunch time monday.
I took friday as
well as it was 12 hrs each way from
Canberra with the camper trailer.
I liked the place so much we had another trip inthe october enroute to
brisbane.
Howard
Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:07
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:07
G'day Kev and Howard,
The break between Christmas and New Year is very short for me this year - I'm working Boxing Day and most of the rest of that week so that period is no good for me at all. I'm expecting a couple of friends for Country Music but not sure when they are showing up but I'm sure I could swing a long weekend somewhere between New Year and the Festival.
The area around the Styx is great country and
well worth the drive. As you know Kev, I work for Fisheries so have spent a little bit of time in the area. A nice little side visit would be the Trout Hatchery on the Point
Lookout Road. I might even be able to get EO ppl's in for free - have to use my influence somewhere haha.
Thanks for the replies gentlemen. Would be nice to put faces to names. We'll have to work on some other members who are also reasonably close.
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:43
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:43
John,
I am busy from the 1st of Jan to the 18th working with
Coffs Harbour Council then I may end up in
Tamworth for the Festival before heading north to QLD permanently :((
Plan for a trip any way and I'll see if I can make it for the weekend part.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:55
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:55
Kev'
I won't promise anything but if enough
forum members from the area in question are interested I'll try to get something organised. I'll have to ask the Festival goers when they intend coming up so I can find a suitable long weekend.
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:06
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:06
I'd be in that. Have to be new year as you said. Been there once before and loved it.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:38
Heaps of good tracks hey!
Last time we did the power lines, wombat flat then through Cassia fire trail....up a stinkn hge
hill that some bike tried to over take me on!!
Laura
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:43
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:43
Laura,
I'll be up for it provided the date is OK. Been down there a couple of times.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:47
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 16:47
good stuff.....plenty of tracks and im sure that the gold fields are accessable.......???
Laura
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:00
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:00
I reckon I could make Yalwal in the Jack.... I would need an excuse to see parents at Nowra otherwise Sybil would insist on coming and she gets a mite nervous off the bitumen.
I spose this is for paid up members only so that would leave me out, damn....
Any updates on the progress of work on trunk 92????
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:22
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 17:22
Basil,
AFAIK none of the trips are "Members Only". They're open to all comers.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:14
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:14
Open to All "Basil".....last trip out there I was the only paid up member....
Black topall the way to sasafrass now! I get to
Braidwood in 20 minutes quicker - how ever long that is!!!
There are really easy tracks out there that Sybil wont huff over!!
You in on it Gramps???
Laura
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:18
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:18
Laura,
Possible. Fed up with missing out so far this year.
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:19
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:19
Too many ferals go to the Dam
camping ground at Yalwal, winter is the best time for that
camping ground.
Charlyong crossing may be an alternitive or maybe Shallow crossing, more so for no ferals, it will still be crowded, but you get that at that time of year.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:34
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2007 at 18:34
Camped at Dam plenty of times and never seen ferals....oh...we were the ferals!! LOL !!
Not much in the way of touring around Shallow crossing. Yalwal has alot more to offer including the Dam to paddle in....easy tracks and harder tracks.
There is also Oallan which is nice - go gold pann'n if you wanna, but still no tracks out there....
I think I have heard of Charlyong Crossing - is that down through Wandy (wandandian) somewhere???
Laura
Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 08:55
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 08:55
It's the next crossing down from Oallan and a larger area, so not far from Yalwal and the tracks around there.
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 09:01
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 09:01
Not far! you kidding. It takes nearly an hour to get to Oallan from Nowra and thats most of the road tarred...If its the next one down then maybe too far as alot of people from what I understand would be from
sydney....
Another place suggested was wombat flat
camping ground...big area right in the middle of everything.....
Laura
Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 11:12
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 11:12
Charlyong crossing is 2k off the
Braidwood 14k south of
Nerriga 40min from Nowra.
It's 20min from Monkey Gum, Deans Gap, Mintbush Yarramunmun and Wombat Flat Tracks which run off Turpintine and the
Braidwood roads.
So yeah not far from these tracks which wind there way down to the back of Yalwal.
Wombat flat is not bad, some may find it hard to find.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 00:58
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 00:58
Im in...dependant on roster. There is another
camp ground on Deans Gap road if the dam is full, but no thunderbox. Nothing a shower tent and shovel wont fix...
Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 08:06
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 08:06
Deans Gap might be a better idea....although if people have thinderbox...the more the better....!!
Its wasy to get into it too...mmm.....I reckon will be better.....then all the crazies who like a major chanllenge can do 6 stage or rolback.....wont see us on those 2 though!!
Laura
Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 07:42
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 07:42
Sounds like a goer to me! Even if I can only make it for the day!
Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 10:43
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 10:43
HI All I won't be attending--- BUT happy to throw in a couple of ideas for you. I know Yalwal - for me it can be a bit feral and attracts quite a few rev-m-up dirt bikes. Nevertheless it does give good tracks through to the
Braidwood Rd where you have the choice of following the Tiajara fire trail south through to Princes Hwy or west to Neriga and Oalen etc.
The Tianjara FT - Princes H option opens opportunity to visit Pigeon House and beyond it- Long Gully
camp area. The Western Distrubutor is the main track throug here. It ultimately takes you through to Clyde Mtn Road and then to
Batemans bay - then return up the coast. Such a trip allows several options for free camps on different days. My own suggestions are on the T-FT, long gully (or turn right 2km beyond) and along the WestD there are two creek crossings which offer reasonalbe camps.
Hope that's usefuil to you
Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 11:17
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 11:17
What about the camping ground at
Nerriga behind the
shop, it has showers and
toilets probably has about 10 sites, maybe more.
Might be able to book it to make sure.
Just another option!
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 11:59
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 11:59
Yep. Basic facilities. but good watering hole
Believe the pub now has new owners.
There's also
good camp spots for groups just before
Nerriga on the Endrick River - wide and deep - usually quiet. No facilities.
There are several interesting back tracks in the area south/east of the
Braidwood road - eg Wandean Rd, 12 Mile, Perch Hole Rd
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 12:04
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 12:04
WHOOOPS! Better half has just reminded me that the
Nerriga shop closed a few months back - so things there might have changed
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 15:31
Thursday, Nov 15, 2007 at 15:31
Well I'm as keen as mustard, Endrick River is great, infact all through there is good.... Lovely spots for some skinny dipping too...do keep me posted... Any single blokes going? I could "arrange" some "casual skirt" from Orient Point ROTFL
Reply By: Izey76 - Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 06:04
Friday, Nov 16, 2007 at 06:04
Laura the fam and I would be up for it as long as it fits in with my work roster, havn't been down to Yalwal for 10yrs and will probably be hanging for a
camp and drive by then.
Clint