Submitted: Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 02:13
ThreadID: 51719 Views:6252 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Whats the go with chemical toilets?
What does the chemicals do?
what do you end up with?
And what do you do with the schit!
Or are they just something comfy to schit on that doesnt stink?

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 04:26

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 04:26
We have all 3 types

Chemical toilets are good, in their own situation, ie I have been told that some parks allow only chemical toilets.
We buy that Haymen Reece type one, all done on one step, but have been told that you can strengthen it up or down depending on needs.
The chemical breaks down the contents, turning it all into a non smelly liquid. But it takes time ( 3 days)
We just go into a toilet, on the side of the road, "Dumpage Point" (they are everywhere) and dispose of the contents there.

We have also Jimmy's Thunderbox, a bucket of lime, ( to sprinkle on deposits ) and one of those spring up, spring down toilet tent. Make our own long drop, and the lime kills that ammonia stink.

When I go out shooting with my mates, the third one cones into it's own ,,, Shovel and a roll !

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 272253

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 06:08

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 06:08
Hairy
Nice schitt of a subject you chose, but I can't just let this slip by without adding that it's a good subject for 96 GXL 80 because he's full of it.

The chemical I guess works instantly to chemically neutralize odours, someone else that knows more than me about schitt will be able give more info.

AnswerID: 272254

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 09:12

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 09:12
HEHEHEHE !!!.........like a dog with a bone mate.

Cheers.......Lionel.
FollowupID: 535522

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:48

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:48
Your a schit stirrer!!!

FollowupID: 535553

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:48

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:48
Your a schit stirrer!!!

FollowupID: 535554

Reply By: Member - BIGMARK (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 07:43

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 07:43
Hairy,
We took a chemical dunny away on a 3 month trip and never got it out.So,even the missus still used the shovel.Now it sits in my shed taking up space awaiting a garage sale ha.
AnswerID: 272267

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 19:04

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 19:04
How was the trip to Roper Bar Mark?
What did you sort out with the fold up trailer
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 535627

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 08:37

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 08:37
From the Thetford (Porta Potti) website:

=========================================

Thetford waste holding tank additives reduce unpleasant odours and gas build-up. They break down waste matter in toilet holding tanks and prevent clogging. They also prevent deposits from sticking to the inside of waste tanks.Toilet additives are necessary to make mobile sanitation systems work trouble free. Our flushwater tank additive keeps the water 'fresh', ensures a smoother, better flush and leaves a protective film in the toilet bowl.

=========================================

The old process was to use formaldehyde to break down the septage waste....newer chemicals are environmentally friendlier. I'm not sure if i would want to tip any of these chemicals into a personal septic system as the residual chemical might kill the good bugs in high dosages (only if overdosed, and/or having a poor septic system). A conventional sewerage can buffer any extremely small concentration of biodegradable chemicals.

The end product doesn't look like the starting product. :-)

AnswerID: 272273

Reply By: sparrow - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 09:41

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 09:41
Hi all ,Aussie Traveller supply a kit which involves drilling a hole in the empty tube of the holding tanks in caravans and motorhomes, and fitting a tube to the outside hatch which has a charcoal filter fitted.This is to allow oxygen to enter the tank to help with decomposition and negate the the use of chemicals.When the toilet is opened from the inside a small exhaust fan on a micro switch starts preventing any odours from coming inside.Has anyone tried one of these?.Just wondering, if when traveling ,slurry in tank travels up waste tube to outside filter. Regards Bryan.
AnswerID: 272287

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 10:15

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 10:15
Gooday,
Message 5 refers to a system called "SOG", don't know its German translation but I call it "Smell Orl Gone", as quoted it is available from Aussie Traveller. Costs around $300-00 plus fitting, but bear in mind it is only suitable for Chemical toilets installed permanently.
I fitted one to our Caravan approx 4-5 months ago and am very very happy with it, not only the fact of the cost of chemicals but, but helps to reduce pollution, we can now empty it more regularly which we do even into composting toilets and septic systems where necessary. we use it for both Deposits and Crankcase Draining if Public Facilities not available at the time.The thought of no Pollutants is a great feeling.
Have found you can get some odour seep through after 3-4 days if blade valve not fully closed.
Very simple process to install, if you follow the instructions to the letter, they said to take out 4 screws to remove the valve actuating system to fit the micro switch, because of it's location I couldn't see the 4th screw and took the little tension washer off the lever arm, to find it would have been much easier to get a mirror & locate that screw. Caused me a problem a week later when the washer fell off during a trip and had to refit the washer properly.
Anybody in Bne wishing to have alook at the set up please contact me from my profile.
Boroma 604
AnswerID: 272297

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 10:35

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 10:35
Forget all the hazardous chemicals for your portable toilet.

This gear is all you need and it's safe for you and the environment.
BIOMAGIC

No connection to the manufacturer/supplier.

I first tried it a couple of years ago and now only use this product for both the water (flushing) tank and the "dump" tank.

Can also be bought in pump spray and aerosol spray for use around home. (I use it here too)

Very good for removing Diesel smell and a whole lot of other uses as well, such as car, toilet deodorizer, etc.

It does not have any odor (smell) of its own and doesn't mask other odors, it eliminates them.

AnswerID: 272298

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 04:50

Monday, Nov 19, 2007 at 04:50
Cheers Mate

Will check it all out ,, but now I have to go to work ,,,

Don't ya hate that

FollowupID: 535710

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:42

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:42
Small porta fitted in troopy ('troopy poopy') Beware of extreme temperatures leading to spillage in harsh offroad adventures. Top tank may surge perhaps under pressure and push past pump/relief valve into bowl where it slops around and out into nearby items (eg dunny paper, clothes, washing gear). As this is only an occasional occurence, we have been unable to solve it. My most recent 'solutions' was to open up the relief valve - so that pressure cannot build. Also we now use far less water than maker recommends in top tank.

Fortunately bottom tank holds its own!! - Well mostly. The pressure relief valve for this tank can leak the wrong stuff when going through very rough country on hot days.

Value is immeasurable for partner.

AnswerID: 272306

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:46

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 11:46
Gday all,
We were discussing the +s and -s last night and werent to sure how they worked. I was a bit woried about haveing a weeks worth of crap sloshing around in the back of the car and busting open!
Where we usually camp its never a problem to have a dump in the bush, but were thinking they might be a good idea when we get to the coast.

Thanks for the replies, its given me something to stink about anyway.

AnswerID: 272307

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 12:47

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 12:47
Hairy, I wouldn't think of keeping all your deposits for a week.
Not sure you could get near it to empty it in a week.
In the coaches I know that it was a bit on the bugle after 24 hours.
Admittedly there were generally more people using it, but the deposits were the same stuff.
If just one person used it, even the urine smell was enough for me to want to dump it after 24 hours.
On returning to base, always told the cleaner to dump the loo if anybody had used it.
If the vehicle sat there for a day or two and the dunny wasn't dropped, you could smell it as soon as you went inside the vehicle.
Not sure of the capacity of the loos in the coaches, but I just put about 100ml of the blue concentrate into the loo, any more was just a waste.Then just a bit more than a bucket full of water.
Overfilling with water created problems.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 535567

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 19:13

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 19:13
Hairy

I have nothing to say, other than to quote a recent gem "I've got this mental picture".

Kim
AnswerID: 272366

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:30

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 20:30
I'm glad this has been brought up again. We recently bought a porta-potty and used it for the first time last easter, for a week (Mum/Dad+2xkids) - came home and emptied it down the ole thunderbox at home. Now I'm not normally squeamish, but jeez, it took about 5 /6 good rinses and I can tell you, I'm not ready to repeat the experience in a hurry. So, question is, if we're camping bush for a week, how do we empty it before it gets so ripe and in need of so many rinses when we get home?
AnswerID: 272394

Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 21:17

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 21:17
As another Biomagic fan, I have to endorse what Sandman said. We (3 adults) were camped for 10 days in June and didn't have any problems w/ our P Potti. If you put 20mls of BM in the top and bottom tanks there will be no smell. Tip 1 :- try 3 pumps into bowl before use to make flushing easier. 2. Have a small (500ml) bucket/container for female use of no. 1's; after use, empty under tree etc., as the males do, store in the bowl while travelling. On long camps, dig a large hole/pit somewhere a fair distance from campsite and unload when needed .
Due to mechanical problems during last camp, when packing up, we emptied the PP at site, but didn't get to it until a week after leaving camp. I emptied it and had no problems with odours or cleansing. I must say that once emptied and hosed out, I soaked it with some warm water with water softener added and some pool strength bleach. Whilst the bleach was doing its thing, I tipped the whole unit upside down and shook the crap out of it to see if it leaked at all, and not one drop of water fell out of the Potti. I hope this is of help to you,
OzeSheila.
FollowupID: 535660

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 21:39

Sunday, Nov 18, 2007 at 21:39
Thanks for that Sheila. I did use Thetford's chemicals but maybe I left the biz in the tank for too long before emptying. An unforgettable experience. I know it's a delightful topic but jeez, I need a new regime to sort it out. I did look thru the archives and somebody said that with the chemicals available these days, emptying is quite a pleasant experience. I beg to differ. So, in conclusion, I gather it's better to empty less volume and more often?
FollowupID: 535670