The time has come to rethink driving habits

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:18
ThreadID: 51868 Views:4385 Replies:28 FollowUps:42

Related Pages

We were getting used to paying $1.30lt for diesel and for a while things plodded along. The last few days the price has jumped to $1.45lt and it seems that the trend is UP!!!!

Being a two vehicle family like many others we drive around with disdain. In a small country town it is not such a worry but whenever you need goods or services not obtainable here there is a distance involved. Large towns nearby are Port Pirie 220km return, Port Augustra 260km return, Adelaide 500km return and Broken Hill 570km return

Solution 1. Walk to most places around town. Exercise will do me and the dog the world of good.
Solution 2. Buy a bicycle...hmmmmm...maybe
Solution 3. Buy an El Cheapo car on gas for commuting trips. Also a thought

Life is forever changing and throwing up new challenges.

Reply By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:20

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:20
Willem,

Tell me about it. I love unexpected trips :))
I filled the Triton yesterday and ULP was $1.389 c/L while the poor Diesel owners were paying $1.529 c/L and that was Sydney

I wonder what the cost of fuel will be on the way to Calliope?

AnswerID: 273065

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:31

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:31
Morning Kev

SWMBO just shot all my ideas bar the walking bit down in flames. Reminded me that I had just solved the parking problem in the yard by fitting the bush trailer in the garage as well.(Have been doing some concreting and reorganising workbenches etc). She suggested a towbar on to the Xtrail for mild camping trips. I said gas fired car can stand in street....lol. SWMBO not amused...:-)

FollowupID: 536394

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:35

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:35
Put the X Trail on gas and see what she says hehe

If you got a pushbike you would have to build a trailer to tow around town.

Kev

FollowupID: 536396

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 03:05

Monday, Nov 26, 2007 at 03:05
Kev,

I am feeling better at the moment that I traded from diesel vehicle in a few years back, I filled up today for 52.9cents a ltr. No matter which way tou do the maths thats gotta be a saving. We have a Road bus also... Mitsi 380 on LPG, cost to travel to Adelaide (approx 250k's) is $12.00...

By the way DVD arrived on friday TX, haven't had a chance to have a look yet..
FollowupID: 537110

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:28

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:28
Nathan has just bought a bike to ride to work on which is nearly 2km dwn the road - 1km if he takes the bush tracks.

We thought about getting an el cheapo too, keep the wd tucked away for big trip and us the little one for town trips, but by the time you throw in the cost if regi & some sort if insurance, tyres, fixing it etc its just not worth the worry ( for us anyway)

Running the Navara is so far cheaper than the LC on LPG, its working out to be $40 a week instead of $50 ......but we'll see....plus I only fill up once a fortnight instead of every week - less times in town! Even better................

Have a nice day Willem....

Laura
AnswerID: 273066

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:34

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:34
Hi Laura

Yeah I was reminded of the rego and ins etc. Still, if I speak with the local car thieves I may get a REALLY cheap runabout but I think as far a SWMBO is concerned I am walking on thin ice.

FollowupID: 536395

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:37

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:37
If I didnt thave to take the kids everywhere I went Id be walking into town...we're out of town but its only 4km in...

good luck....Cheers
FollowupID: 536397

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:33

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:33
I'm sure the dog is wrapt in option 1 :)))

Like you, we'll keep the two vehicles but be a bit restrained in how often we go for a drive.

AnswerID: 273067

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:38

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:38
G'day Al

Was talking with a local wag last night stating that I might put the GQ in mothballs for a year and he said " Have you seen the price of Mothballs these days?"................LOL

FollowupID: 536398

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:43

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:43
Willem,

hahaha if the GQ was in mothballs they'd have to lock you up or tie you down :))))
FollowupID: 536399

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:58

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:58
Not to mention the number of moth's to catch that you would need to put the GQ in.
FollowupID: 536417

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:38

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:38
Morning Willem

When I last filled my Nissan here in Tamworth about 2 weeks ago, diesel was about $1.39 a litre, yesterday I noticed that it is now $1.48 a litre. Up the road a couple of 100 k's at Inverell it's about $1.27 (cos the servo's there are closer to Qld and their cheaper fuel). Not practical to drive up there to fill the tank I afraid.
We all have to really think about using any vehicle these days as the costs are always going ap and unfortunately my salary does not keep up with the increases. Not sure how any really long trips can be arranged now - when I first started to plan a 5000k trip next September I allowed $2.00 per litre but not sure that will be enough now - might have to think more along the lnes of $2.50 to be sure.
I walk down to the CBD most mornings to collect my mail and ride a bicycle in the afternoons but that's just for exercise and fun. Work is a bit far from where I live to do either.
Ah well we shall just have to wait and see what wonders "Kevin" and his team can bring us after saturday I spose.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 273068

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:16

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:16
Mornin John

Yes, I have shelved the Cape York trip for 2008. Will be doing an Offtrack adventure out into CXentral Australia but that is as much as this old pensioners budget will allow.

The future after Saturday will be a new adventure.....lol. Either the Libs breaking their promises or Labour doing the same.

FollowupID: 536435

Follow Up By: stocky - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:26

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:26
What can ANT of them do about fuel prices?

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

Any who believes labor when they say they can is dreaming!
Swany even admitted it on TV under scrutiny about what they could really do about fuel/food prices....."ummm - nothing really"

Unless they start cutting the tax take (yeah right!) we are stuck the global economy and high fuel prices.... :-(
FollowupID: 536454

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:43

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:43
Willem
How ya goin' , Wait until the Moonfaced Mongrel and his redheaded Tart along with all the Unionist Thugs starts running the country after Saturday , then prices will soar, it will probably take a few weeks or months for the flow on but yeh ....the bike might be the answer, Sorry Willem ...you have left yourself open to an attack here so here we go

Solution 1. Walk to most places around town. Exercise will do me and the dog the world of good.
( yeh I'll agree to that , it'll do you more good than the Dog)

Solution 2. Buy a bicycle...hmmmmm...maybe
( Do you know how to ride , what about the Dog)

Solution 3. Buy an El Cheapo car on gas for commuting trips. Also a thought
(Money wasted that could be spent on fuel for the Nissans)

Hey have a great day , Dusty sends a woof, And Hi to your Mrs

Doug

AnswerID: 273070

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:48

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:48
I filled up with diesel last night, 1.33 cents a litre, average on the Gold Coast, so with 4 cents discount with woolies docket, and
business discount re: g s t it ends up 1.16 cents a litre.

Daza
AnswerID: 273071

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:52

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:52
Bro, you and I both drive old technology engines. We may have savoured those in the past.

The Next Challenge just wait until the 'Greenhouse' taxes kick in after a new government is elected and the Greens get their way. Thats when the multiplyer will get the short and curlies.

Just about to get a new bike here for Christmas. No dog to walk, they have free leash.

Already have a low fuel useage car for trips. Want a lower fuel useage 4by too, with towing ability. Not a 3 litre.
AnswerID: 273072

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:54

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 07:54
Willem
Sell up down there and move to North Qld

AnswerID: 273073

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:13

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:13
Doug if I ever should entertain that idea it would certainly not be Queensland. Back to the NT or the NW of WA

FollowupID: 536434

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:19

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:19
Willem
NQ is ok , the Crocs are friendlier , they love People and Pets.

Doug

FollowupID: 536437

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:01

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:01
Hi Willem
I know exactly what you mean. In the Last 2 weeks, diesel has had a price increase of 8 cents per litre here in Clare. Just returned from our early morning walk and up 1 cent from yesterday. Mind you it is still cheaper than many other places around. All but 1 servo is selling diesel for $1.439 per litre and the cheapest as at 6.45am this morning in Clare was the BP at $1.429

Who has been here

AnswerID: 273074

Follow Up By: stocky - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:32

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:32
More locals :-)

144.5 in Burra yesterday - interesting about the same in Adelaide on my way out last night
FollowupID: 536455

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:48

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:48
Yeh Stocky,

Saw your truck in the car park in Burra yesterday,
Must have been the day for all the "Mid Norths Finest" to be in town !!! LOL

Cheers Mate Pesty
FollowupID: 536539

Follow Up By: stocky - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:07

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:07
You must have had an early start......
FollowupID: 536551

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:05

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:05
Hi Willem

There is one easy partial solution you left out which is to get a commuter type motorbike.

These can carry some shopping - even two people and under the right circumstances can significantly reduce fuel costs even for those short local trips.

My trail bike is not exactly a commuter type but I have 10km of dirt roads to nearset shop and its a lot of fun espically as there is a 4wd short cut along the way.

AnswerID: 273075

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:10

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:10
He could get the postie run while he is at it as well then. Just gotta make sure that he gets a red one LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 536405

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:51

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:51
Robin, there is room for more than two if you remember some of the pictures out of Asian cities. With Willem's beard he needs a Harley I reckon though.
FollowupID: 536410

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:12

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:12
'Twas Mulga Will, from Peterborough, that caught the cycling craze;
He turned away the old GQ that served him many days;
He dressed himself in cycling clothes, resplendent to be seen;
He hurried off to town and bought a shining new machine;
And as he wheeled it through the door, with air of lordly pride,
The grinning shop assistant said, "Excuse me, can you ride?"

"See here, young man," said Mulga Will, "from Walgett to the sea,
From Conroy's Gap to Castlereagh, there's none can ride like me.
I'm good all round at everything as everybody knows,
Although I'm not the one to talk - I hate a man that blows.
But riding is my special gift, my chiefest, sole delight;
Just ask a wild duck can it swim, a wildcat can it fight.
There's nothing clothed in hair or hide, or built of flesh or steel,
There's nothing walks or jumps, or runs, on axle, hoof, or wheel,
But what I'll sit, while hide will hold and girths and straps are tight:
I'll ride this here two-wheeled concern right straight away at sight."

'Twas Mulga Will, from Peterborough, that sought his own abode,
That perched above Dead Man's Creek, beside the mountain road.
He turned the cycle down the hill and mounted for the fray,
But 'ere he'd gone a dozen yards it bolted clean away.
It left the track, and through the trees, just like a silver steak,
It whistled down the awful slope towards the Dead Man's Creek.

It shaved a stump by half an inch, it dodged a big white-box:
The very wallaroos in fright went scrambling up the rocks,
The wombats hiding in their caves dug deeper underground,
As Mulga Will, as white as chalk, sat tight to every bound.
It struck a stone and gave a spring that cleared a fallen tree,
It raced beside a precipice as close as close could be;
And then as Mulga Will let out one last despairing shriek
It made a leap of twenty feet into the Dead Man's Creek.

'Twas Mulga Will, from Peterborough, that slowly swam ashore:
He said, "I've had some narrer shaves and lively rides before;
I've rode a wild bull round a yard to win a five-pound bet,
But this was the most awful ride that I've encountered yet.
I'll give that two-wheeled outlaw best; it's shaken all my nerve
To feel it whistle through the air and plunge and buck and swerve.
It's safe at rest in Dead Man's Creek, we'll leave it lying still;
Shank’s pony is good enough henceforth for Mulga Will."

apologies to Banjo Patterson

G'day Willem,

give the walking a go I reckon, you're not too far from the shops and it will do you good indeed. Just put an EO sticker on the back of your stubbies, you'll be right! Don't be too proud to buy a granny trolley either, they are very practical, and again, just whack an EO sticker on it....

he he....
AnswerID: 273076

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:28

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:28
Good one Jeremy...hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 536419

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:34

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:34
Well done, a brilliant piece of work...
FollowupID: 536457

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 20:09

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 20:09
Very clever - just sensational.

In my imaginative minds eye, I can see Mulga Will with a bottle of White Lightening in one hand and bottle of barbed wire in the other, swigging from same (alternatively) whilst purchasing a 'deadly treadly'.

Still ROFLMAO

FollowupID: 536517

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:23

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:23
Alas Lucy, all content of White Lightning and Barbed Wire Moonshine have been devoured. Have to wait 'till friends go overseas again....lol

FollowupID: 536593

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:26

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:26
Perhaps "our" government should have introduced retail price maintenance some time ago but I would expect that that was not possible as the oil companies are more powerful than the government.
I use a Daihatsu Coure and it only gets filled with fuel every month. $25.00 to do 700 kls. Not too comfortable though but we are only 20kls from the nearest shopping centre and the is no public transport here.
AnswerID: 273079

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:55

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:55
We have not got public transport either. So I feel your pain. Nearest bus is about 10km away. Until the powers that be start pulling down trees and start building a new estate, more then likely 20 years away then will we have public transport.

But has the state local member told me that other day," you chose to live there ", she has never got my vote and she won't be getting it next time either.
FollowupID: 536411

Reply By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:49

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 08:49
Your challenge if you chose to accept it is to get on the phone and ring your local OPPOSITION ( aka Labour ) candidate and find out what their position is on fuel tax excise. Would you change your vote if the excise was cut by 10c- 15c /pl? We need to put pressure, who ever we can over the excise, whether it be the sitting person or the other person. If either of the parties came out today and said that as of Sunday the fuel price was dropping 15c/pl they would win, even the donkey vote would vote to cut the fuel tax excise.

My kids are members of a community group and tell you the community group have offered everything from the key to city to prizes for raffles during this campaign.

I filled up on Tuesday ( full driveway service) at 138.7 c/pl, in an industrial area/truck stop. On the highway the prices was 147.6 c/pl.

22 days till we leave for Tassie

Debbie
AnswerID: 273082

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:12

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:12
Hey Willem

I paid $145.1 all dry season 4 cars twice a week, Last year it was $155.5 all dry season, So this year I did notice the difference.

So if I fuel up the car and it's under $200 I think it's Xmas.LOL

It's about $ 138.2 in Darwin last weekend.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 273090

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:35

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:35
Ahhhhh...... yes..... BUT..... you are a working man running a 'lucrative' business...I hope...lol

Retirees and pensioners have to do the rethinking

FollowupID: 536422

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:36

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:36
Instead of buying your goods in nearby towns Willem turn to the internet and have it delivered for 1/10 the cost of the fuel you would have used driving there.
I've gone the cheap 3rd car route picking up a Festiva for next to nothing. Even with the $450 for reg and a few other minor running costs, for us it saves running the big Cruiser around and will delay the need to replace it by a couple of years.
As for a bike I paid more for it than the Festiva but some how I can't imagine you in your licra shorts and fluro top heading into town :-))
As much as fuel prices are a pain, another 40 cents per litre would have one positive effect.................... It would halve the number of tourists getting about and leave a few more campsites available ;-)
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 273093

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:09

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:09
Craig

"Instead of buying your goods in nearby towns Willem turn to the internet and have it delivered for 1/10 the cost of the fuel you would have used driving there"

If we all did that then our towns would die and we will then be forced to move to the big smoke and become part of the faceless culture.

No, I can't imagine me in licra shorts and a fluoro top.......definitely not my scene

Halve the tourists and it will have the same effect on our towns and we will all be going to paragraph two as mentioned.

FollowupID: 536433

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:50

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:50
Willem the nearby towns you mentioned were "Port Pirie 220km return, Port Augusta 260km return, Adelaide 500km return and Broken Hill 570km return". I certainly wasn't suggesting you stop shopping locally but many items that you need to buy from these bigger towns can be sourced over the internet from these same towns, often from the same supplier as you would drive all the way to. I'm 200km from Melbourne and often question the need to drive there when a courier will deliver goods to my door for a fraction of the cost of the fuel.
Additionally one can support rural companys like Westprint maps for example by buying over the internet instead of driving to a big city. Possibly a direction small town business needs to head to reverse the exodus.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 536444

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:05

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:05
Craig
Give him a go mate , Us old buggers like to get out and about and blow the cobwebs off the wheels ya know and cause a bit of havoc at the same time,

Doug

FollowupID: 536467

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:38

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:38
Willem,
I have seen diesel here in Melbourne at $1.55 lt at Shell/Coles.
It's all a blatant rip off. Notice how since the election was called and the govt went into caretaker mode the price of fuels lifted. yes the price of oil went up but so did the $ which should have kept it at the same level. ACCC gone to sleep. When the price of oil falls nothing seems to happen for ages yet when it goes up it is reflected instantly.
They predict that the Aussie $ may equal the US$ very soon. Let's see if we start paying 80cpl then........that's what the US are paying.

Rob
AnswerID: 273094

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:45

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 10:45
Grotius thumb to nose ...........

Still paying 9 CPL for my home made bio .....

saved about $4500 so far ... in fuel

Boc

AnswerID: 273095

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:18

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:18
Sticker on a new work diesel says "To avoid damage do not fill with Bio Diesel". Why would they put that on?? Probably the same reason as an F250 came to a grinding holt after they put it in that tank.
Locals here reckon it costs them around 32 cents per L to make it. You must have your base products subsidised or at least not take into account all the driving around needed to pick it up etc ;-)
Cheers Craig......
FollowupID: 536436

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:45

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:45
Our pathy is not allowed to run on bio-d either. It voids the new car warranty.

One of petrol stations in our local area only sells bio-d, so now I have started to fill up at the truck stop, it is bit cheaper then the others, independent and it also has full driveway service.

Debbuie

FollowupID: 536460

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:36

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:36
Yup , heard it all before - going to destroy your motor - blah blah blah blah - I have been running it now for 1 1/2 years - average about 100 litres + a week -- motor was not destroyed on the first tank ----- if and when i have to actually run dino diesel in my 4.2 TD it actually feels to have less power than with the Bio , which suggests i have a very high conversion rate

as for having to drive around to collect it ...... i have some fish and chip shops that i collect it from On my way home from work - so fact is i was going in that direction anyway so no further expense has ocured

Guy i know has been running bio in his front end loader / bob cat and haulttruck now for 7 years without a single problem ( makes his own also not store baught)......

any other reason you wish to present to me from hearsay against running bio in my 4.2tdi? actually -- your better off paying a heap more than me for dino --- after all, if you were to discover how easy it is and cheap and how reliable it is - my free source of oil would become harder to come accross .....

Boc

FollowupID: 536473

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 11:01

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 11:01
this is a depressing subject
as i have now been informed by Willem that the running costs of a 4wd is too and therefore is subsequently uneconomical to own i'm gunna get a zeta
AnswerID: 273096

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:20

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:20
A Zeta will suit your image....hahahahaha
FollowupID: 536438

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:16

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:16
The were built next door to where I went to school.
Spose it a housing estate or something now
FollowupID: 536529

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:57

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 21:57
Buggar all this. I'm going to throw a saddle on "damn dog" and teach her to eat ground fodda on the way to town!

Kim
FollowupID: 536547

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 05:47

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 05:47
up to a couple of years ago i knew where the mould was for them...might even be there stilll if i know the owner right.....
FollowupID: 536581

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 05:52

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 05:52
What are you doing up this early. You should be having your beauty sleep now....lol
FollowupID: 536583

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 08:06

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 08:06
she was snoring
FollowupID: 536604

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:24

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:24
Youve made me miss living in Kalgorlie
I used to ride my bike most places and a 5 min drive saw me in camping territry.
Everthing is so far away here in Perth I couldnt ride my bike there in any reasnable timeframe and decent camping is at least 5 hours away
AnswerID: 273107

Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:52

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:52
And it was only about 18 months ago that posts to this forum were saying it was just like 1972 and the prices would soon go down again. They wont go down. We have been protected by the very high Oz dollar. It is now falling so the current rises are now hitting us. It will still go quite a lot higher as current international prices come through and we have to buy at the lower $ rate.
The current (as of Thursday) govt has much to answer for because for the last decade they have bought popularity with tax cuts for the wealthy and have avoided investment in infrastructure. They are still pushing this line this election, althouigh more and more people are starting to question it. Interesting to see the posts calling for price intervention. Don't say we are starting to question the free market economy!
Why are we selling our gas on long term contracts so cheaply offshore instead of setting up the existing technology that enables gas to be turned into diesel? The WA govt has had a major, but largely ignored battle with the Fed govt to NOT sell off all the gas resources and reserve it for Oz use.
The scary thing is that our prices are still cheap by international standards. The death of our hobby?
AnswerID: 273110

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:40

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:40
Willem, we are considering a Fly-by-wire uniycle to save rubber LOL...but seriously, we intend to get a bike as despite living in the Southern Highlands, we actually are on a reasonably flat bit.

Good for the world and your (I mean my) waistline!!

Cheers, RayJen
AnswerID: 273112

Reply By: splits - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:44

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:44
Years ago someone was quoted as saying "you ain't see nothing yet" and in reference to oil prices, he could be right.

I am just one of the minows who buys the stuff at the local servo but I have been reading as much as I can find on the net about it in recent years in an attempt to find out a little about what is going on. When you throw in the tension between the US, Iran and Venezuela, pipe lines through Afghanistan, radial Islam, oil trading currency, Iraq oil which is apparently the cheapest to extract anywhere in the world, peak oil and Russian plans to control world oil supplies, it all adds up to things looking grim at the bowser.

You then look into our own supplies and find all of our capped reserves are small and nowhere near adequate to meet our increasing dermands. To make matters worse, most are in areas such as deep water making the oil expensive to extract.

To further add to the problem, I heard an Arab spokesman from OPEC speaking on Sydney radio about eighteen months ago. He predicted oil would be $150 US a barrel within three years. Nothing is happening at the moment to suggest he is wrong.

Maybe we should all get out into the bush and see whatever we want to see as soon as possible while we can still afford it.

AnswerID: 273113

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:46

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:46
Willem I think maybe you are onto something here "walking the dog"... I guess you are very close to your dog huh? I was going to suggest trade the dog in on a more substantial breed and make yourself a "dog cart".....Dogs are amazing creatures, I take the Pointer for a swim and hang onto the lead and he goes for it thinking, one can only assume, that the dog thinks I'm trying to catch him but in reality he is towing me...
I'm voting Green, simply because I want to see how the rest of you cope after the Greens shut down industry, ban cars (except older inneficient ones) and everyone is living, like me on welfare, with no one actually "working" for a living to fund my lavish lifestyle... I'll be happy as long as the Greens don't shut down the net, they'll still need it to circulate their propaganda.
AnswerID: 273114

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:52

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:52
Yes Mr Fawlty..........I hear you.

There is a young fella in town who lost his licence due to imbibing too much happy liquid. So he has harnessed his Staffy to tow him around on his skateboard. It works a treat.

My dog Jeddah is a X- everything but has some Blue/Red Heeler with short legs in her. I don't think that she would take too kindly to the imposition....lol
FollowupID: 536463

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:18

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:18
Willem
One of these should suit you, less tyre to worry about too
Reliant Regal 3/25 Super

AnswerID: 273121

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:37

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:37
What about one of these.

FollowupID: 536474

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:39

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 14:39
Ok go to www.smartaustralia.com.au/

Steve.
FollowupID: 536476

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:49

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 15:49
At the risk of sounding like a cracked record I will say it again , invest in oil stocks and get your fuel for nothing , be hedged against further price rises , and when your driving days are finished , get your money back . For example , you have saved $7,000 for your funeral so you wont burden others . If you had invested that $7000 in Colonial First State Global Rescources in January , you would now have about $9300 . Not enough for fuel yet , so you keep rolling over the profit until jul 09 . At the same rate of increase , you now have $14000 and tax on profits made after the first year is slightly under 25% . Start paying for your fuel out of your investment instead of rolling all the.
profits back in . You have foregone use of the income for 2.6 years , but your investment has grown to where it now pays for your fuel and you can pay for two funerals , or one and a massive wake . But the hedging is most important . If fuel goes to two hundred dollars a barrell at any stage of the investment , or after , you are covered because your investment returns will increase at the same pace . What , you haven't saved $7000 , come WA and we will find you a job where you can .
AnswerID: 273140

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:14

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 22:14
We brought a VW

a Polo

1.9L Turbo inter-cooled CD diesel

it gets 5L/100 thats 55 mpg we get 49 mpg

it say top speed is 188 km/h.. lol

I got 195 km/h

you just got to love those Germans

Cheers Richard

AnswerID: 273213

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:25

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 06:25
We brought a VW??????????

Yer getting worse Richard......lol

FollowupID: 536594

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:52

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 20:52
Always wanted a reason to buy a real metric Tool Kit.. LOL

:-)
FollowupID: 536729

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 15:29

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 15:29
are sh1t you having a go at my spelling, I thought you where being funny... :-)

didn't get much time to do that schooling thingie
FollowupID: 536880

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 16:04

Saturday, Nov 24, 2007 at 16:04
Arrrrrr...yer slow me lad...real slow...must be a Western Australian thing..all that summer heat....hahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 536886

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 23:29
Now Willem, dear Judith gets around in the much more expensive car, flog it off and buy a second hand CT110 postie bike, the difference will keep you both in fuel for years.

better not tell her I said that, she doesn't read the forum does she?

I'm not putting my name to this
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 273237

Reply By: Barry 2 - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 00:54

Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 00:54
Hi Willem, Yep I know what ya say'n, just recently paid $2.10/ltr for diesel on the Anne Beadell track didn't get much by the way ??
Time has come to "prioritise" we love our outback trips, wide open spaces, no one around, so while liv'n in the city we now cut out the stuff that really doesn't matter ?? We all know that there are things we spend $$$$ on that doesn't really matter "BUT" now it's more important to "GO 4x4'n spend your $$$$ on what really counts.
I personally will "go without" to pay $2.10/ltr to go Cruis'n in my 79 series Yota
It all comes down to what's more important "Choices" !!!
Fuel prices ain't going back to the good old days when I could fill my Valiant pacer for 10 bucks ( for you young'ns that was in the 70's )
even on an apprentice wage back then didn't seem a lot of money.
Why ?? "Choices" more important to go Park'n than anything else !
Just my spin on Life ??
Happy 4x4'n
Bazza
AnswerID: 273244