Hey I'm Home

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:09
ThreadID: 52067 Views:3853 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Well what a weekend, I travelled 3561km in 5 days and had 2 job interviews.

I left at about 3:30am on Saturday courteousy of a prank call :((

I headed for St. George via Cessnock, Singleton, Willow Tree, Gunnadah, Narrabri, Moree, Mungindi, Nindigully.
The trip out of Sydney was uneventful due to the hour of the day and Cessnock was still in snooze mood when I passed through.

A large "coffee to go" in Singleton and I was headed for the open roads to QLD.

The area south of the border had had recent rain which had allowed the previously constant mobs of cattle on the stock route to be near on extinct. The last trip that way I came across a mob about every 50 - 100km but this trip there was only 1 mob north on Moree.
It was raining from Singelton through to Moree which was a bit annoying as people don't drive with their lights on. I ended up tucked behind a Heavy Vehicle Tow truck from Gunnadah through to outside the airport in Moree. Where he found his tow and locked the brakes up to turn around, which was quite interesting at the time as I was watching a plane land LOL

I rolled into St George just after lunch to Mums suprise as I had told her I'd be there by 7pm :)

Overnight Roma (200km to the north) had 100mm of rain, which was their biggest rain fall in 3 years. This made me re think my route to Calliope as I had intended to go some black soil roads instead of black top :)

A detour of about 200km was needed but not without some highlights. I left St George and headed to Surat, from Surat I took the Surat-Yuleba road, this road has been slowly upgraded from a gaot track to some goat trak right through to 2 lane tar. This route was advised as wet and possibly impassable to small cars. It was definately wet (100mm of rain does that) and I ended up neededing 4WD High Range to get through the majority of the dirt section. I emerged from the road at Yuleba with a Triton covered in thick black mud which had a sort of clean windscreen LOL
I then took the Jackson-Wandoan raod that is now a sealed road. I had been told that there was some culverts that marked very late as I found out. They were very steep and narrow especially at warp speed.
From Wandoan it was balck top all the way to Gladestone, via Taroom, Theredore, Banana, Calliope then Gladestone.
I stayed in a cheap motel in Gladestone Sunday night and organised a late check out for Monday (the interview was at 3pm).
The romm was average but the view was sensational. You could see from the Aluninium Smelter in South Gladstone all the way through to the Marina.

I spent Monday morning house hunting the area and had a couple of inspections of potential ones.

The job interview went well and they are now finalising a package to give me by the end of the week for consideration.

By chance I had called Roma to see if they wanted me to have an interview for a job they had advertised and recieved a "I'll get back to you at 7"
I never heard from them but took a chance and drove to Roma Tuesday morning and fronted them. After waiting half an hour I had an inpromptu interview and was offered the job.

I now need to decide which one to take now LOL

From Roma I headed to St George once again. Dad had gone to Charleville for the day and he recieved a phone call from the Water Board saying that they were filling the local weir. Which resulted in me moving his water pump from the river for him.

I left St George at 3:30am this morning and went via Tamworth to see the rellies for a while. I didn't see John T though.

I got home in Sydney at about 6pm and am considering going to Coffs Harbour next week as an overnight run.

Did I say that I love driving LOL

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:12

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:12
Well....good to hear ya back.....

Laura
AnswerID: 274107

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:13

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:13
Onya Qld Kev :-)
AnswerID: 274108

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:15

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:15
Just found my ideal job LOL

In Atherton Tablelands again LOL

Salary Package of $109k

I may have to apply LOL

FollowupID: 537569

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:25

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:25
Hi Qld Kev,
Not a liberal politician? and to top it off when you retire a Gold Card as well. Free Travel.
after that trip you will need it.
Cheer
FollowupID: 537570

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:51

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:51
I already have a Gold Card :)

FollowupID: 537575

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 02:01

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 02:01
Strewth Kev, a gold card and 109k PA.
Mate I'll sacrifice me spare block just outa Malanda for 500k: now you can't ask better than that, eh. (Was gonna offer it to D'nD for 700k, but I reckon it's too wet for Dusty).
Tellya what, will even chuck in free advice re brick oven.
Grin.
Jeff.
ps. and by the way, some mongrel dumped a '64 Cortina under a Blackbean. No charge on that though. j.
FollowupID: 537889

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:21

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:21
Kev

Welcome back mate,

The forum has been quiet without you - mind you Laura has kept us all under control haha

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 274113

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:38
John,

Kiwi isn't that good, she can't even get a Friday funny in first LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 537572

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 21:31

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 21:31
Im gonna beat him this week John - Im reading and Im gonna get 'im......

Im ready to go!!!!

hey that gathering sounds good.....might be able to make it....depends on what nathan is doing for a job by then....plus we gotta get down to see Bucky at some stage so we'll let ya know...

Laura
FollowupID: 537585

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:16
Kiwi,

Make sure you do it when it is Friday in all of Aust, otherwise someone will delete your early entry again LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 537632

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:25

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:25
haha!! Not my fault half the nation doesnt use DLS...they should!!

will prob be around after going to airport if thats ok....Dad wont finish work until nearly 12pm so it'll be straight to the airport for us!
FollowupID: 537635

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:06

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 13:06
Kiwi,

I'll see you when I'm looking at ya ;))

Kev

FollowupID: 537693

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:51

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 20:51
Good to hear you are back home safely and that the job interviews went well. Long distance driving is definitely the domain of the young although I see a number of gray hair truckies around ...lol

Good luck with the jobs

AnswerID: 274120

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 21:03

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2007 at 21:03
The interviews were more like "chewing the fat" LOL

The rural councils are pretty laid back.

I saw a few Long haired Female truckies on the trip as well, they couldn't string more than 2 words together though. Still got some good info from other truckies as to where the rain had fallen and what roads were closed.

I took a black soil road from Taroom to Roma yesterday that was on the verge of being closed due to water over the road. The water was actually over the sealed section and was about 1" deep ha ha.
The black soil road was very rough in parts but very firm which was good.

Kev

FollowupID: 537576

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:49

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 07:49
Hi Kev,

glad you're home safe....and hope it all goes well with the jobs whichever one you decide...

as far as I know..Darkie is still on track...Al home from Perth tomorrow afternoon, he had a couple of extra days there...

Lyn
AnswerID: 274165

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 11:40

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 11:40
He had better be on track LOL or has Lucky been around being a pest and hindering work.

Kev

FollowupID: 537678

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:29

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:29
LOL Kev, good to see u home safe, looking forward to the Pyrenees when u pick up that cut Yota....

Lettuce no how the jobs go mate

AnswerID: 274295

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 06:45

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 06:45
I am thinking of offloading the Triton to Eric now, if it doesn't sell before mid Dec when I get Darkie :))

Kev

FollowupID: 537891

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:40

Thursday, Nov 29, 2007 at 21:40
good luck with the job Kev

sounds like your back is standing up to it.

Cheers JD
AnswerID: 274297

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 06:46

Friday, Nov 30, 2007 at 06:46
The back is still a bit tender, it was just a case of wearing the kidney/back brace and not stop very often LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 537892