It's a done Deal :))

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:56
ThreadID: 52374 Views:4761 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
Righto, For those who are interested in where in Queensland We are headed for, it has been decided finally :))

For my little travels to job interviews less than 2 weeks ago at Calliope and in Roma, I was offered jobs at both locations.

After considering the opportunities that were available both socially and professionally we decided that we would settle with CALLIOPE.

We are looking to arrive in late January/early Feburary. So there will be a short period between Wednesday and then until we get back to normal LOL

Don't worry John, I'm still coming to the January Gathering for the last Hooray in NSW.
I have a few miles to cover between now and the end of January. Melbourne to pick Darkie up before christmas, on Wednesday I'll be going back to Woolgoolga (was there yesterday/this morning) until we go to QLD.

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:13

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:13
Good on ya mate and congrats on scoring the job of your choice.

Hope you get a place with a big back yard to accommodate camper trailers etc....lol

AnswerID: 275670

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:16

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:16
I just need to win Powerball next week for that LOL.

The places I looked at when I was up there would fit at lest a couple though ha ha

There looks to be some good fishing spots in the area, just about every house has at least 1 boat.

Kev

FollowupID: 539444

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:19

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:19
OK then...choose your neighbours this way. One with a boat on one side and one with a swimming pool on the other side.
This way it is very cheap living as you only have to sidle over with a slab of beer under your arm....LOL

FollowupID: 539445

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:26

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:26
One house had an 50m wide easement which backed onto the bowls club (stumbling distance) :))

FollowupID: 539449

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:42

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:42
Good on Ya Kev, great to hear. Are you chippying up there or wot?

AnswerID: 275677

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:52

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:52
I am starting a new profession ha ha

I am going to work for the Calliope Council as a Building Certifier. They have residential houses going up like there is no tomorrow at the moment. They expect that there will be 800 new houses built within the next 18 months. As well as the Aluminium Smelter in Gladstone that is going to be renovated and extended, So I think I will be busy.
I have asked as a condition of taking the job that I have 2 weeks leave in July so I can attend a Reunion that I have already committed to LOL (its the National ExplorOz Gathering)

Kev

I be down there on the 19th to pick Darkie up if the Engineer remembers to write the job in his diary ;))

FollowupID: 539450

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:12

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:12
Well done Kev, hope it all works out for you.

Hope to see you at the gathering next year

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 275685

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:14

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:14
Brad,

Unless they sack me I'll be at the National Gathering LOL

I just need to find out where the good fishing spots are when I get there :))

Kev

FollowupID: 539458

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:51

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:51
"I just need to find out where the good fishing spots are when I get there :))"

When you find them, let me know, i'll join ya... Apparently there's some good sized callop in the Cooper Creek
FollowupID: 539476

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:25

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 21:25
There is also some big barra in the local lakes as well. They have been stocking them over the past few years and there is no closed season in the lakes just a bag limit.

Kev

FollowupID: 539494

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:21

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:21
G'day Kev

You got my total attention when you mentioned BARRA........ so your saying that there are lakes at Innaminka that have been stocked with Barra???If so would it be a good idea to take my tinny with me???

Cheers........Dave
FollowupID: 539535

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:34

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:34
Dave,

I reckon I could arrange for a Barra to be caught at Innaminka

Kev

FollowupID: 539548

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:19

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:19
Hi Kev

Good Luck with your career change and we hope it works out for your family.

Cya
Muddy and Judy
AnswerID: 275690

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:21

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:21
I'll have to suss out the area and have a gathering for all the Southerners to attend LOL

I go the theirs so maybe they should attend some in QLD ha ha ha

Kev

FollowupID: 539461

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:24

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:24
All bhe new job Kev.

I suppose you will have to draw up plans for your new beach shack at Tannum Sands LOL
Regards.
Vince
AnswerID: 275692

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:34

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:34
I actually prefer Calliope as Tannum Sands is becoming a bit over commercialised IMO.
I will probably rent to start with and possibly build when we are settled.

FollowupID: 539467

Reply By: George_M - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:35

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:35
Congratulations Kev.

You'd better give this information to your wife:-)

Subject: Diary of a "New" Queenslander

31 August
Just got transferred with work into our new home in Calliope. Now this is a city that knows how to live! Beautiful sunny days and warm balmy evenings - what a place. I watched the sunset from a deck chair on the verandah. It was so beautiful. I've finally found my home. I just love it here.

13 September
Really heating up. Got to 35 today. Not a problem, though. Live in an air-conditioned home, drive an air-conditioned car. What a pleasure to see the sun every day like this. I'm turning into a real sun worshipper.

30 September
Had the backyard landscaped with tropical plants today. Lots of palms and rocks, so it’s a breeze to maintain. No more mowing lawns for me. Another scorcher today, but I love it here.

10 October
The temperature hasn't been below 30 all week. How do people get used to this kind of heat? At least today it's kind of windy though. But getting used to the heat and humidity is taking longer that I expected.

15 October
Fell asleep by the pool. Got 3rd degree burns over 60% of my body and had to miss 3 days of work. What a dumb thing to do. I learned my lesson though - got to respect the ol' sun in a climate like this.

20 October
I missed Kitty (our cat) sneaking into the car when I left this morning. By the time I got to the hot car for lunch, Kitty had died and swollen up to the size of a shopping bag and stank up the $3,000 leather upholstery. I told the kids that she ran away. The car now smells like Wiskettes and cat bleep . I learned my lesson though - no more pets in this heat.

25 October
The wind sucks. It feels like a giant bloody blow dryer! And it's hot as hell. The home air-conditioner is on the blink and the AC repairman charged $200 just to drive over and tell me he needed to order parts.

30 October
Been sleeping outside by the pool for 3 nights now. Bloody $450,000 house and we can't even go inside. Why did I ever come here?

4 November
It's 35 degrees. Finally got the ol' air-conditioner fixed today. It cost $500 and gets the temperature down to 25, but this bloody humidity makes the house feel like it's about 30. Stupid repairman. I hate this stupid place.

8 November
If another wise arse cracks, "Hot enough for you today?" I'm going to strangle him. Bloody heat. By the time I get to work the car's radiator is boiling over, my clothes are soaking wet, and I smell like baked cat!

9 November
Tried to run some messages after work. Wore shorts, and sat on the black leather seats in the ol' car. I thought my arse was on fire. I lost 2 layers of flesh and all the hair on the back of my legs and my arse. Now my car smells like burnt hair, fried arse, and baked cat.

10 November
The weather report might as well be a bloody recording. Hot and sunny. Hot and sunny. Hot and sunny. It's been too hot to do anything for 2 damn months and the weatherman says it might really warm up next week. Doesn't it ever rain in this damn place? Water rationing will be next, so my $2,000 worth of palms just might dry up and blow into the bloody pool. Even the palms can't live in this heat.

14 November
Welcome to HELL! Temperature got to 38 today. Now the air-conditioner's gone in my car. The repairman came to fix it and said, "Hot enough for you today?" My wife had to spend the $2,500 house payment to bail my arse out of jail for assaulting the repairman. Bloody Calliope. What kind of a sick demented idiot would want to live here?

1 December
WHAT? This is the first day of Summer? Ya kiddin’ me!
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 275693

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:44

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:44

At least it will be a better climate than Roma :))

Kev

FollowupID: 539473

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:12

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:12
What a laugh George, good stuff.
Sorry about the cat though.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 539530

Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:24

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:24
Congratulations on your new job.
It was great meeting you at the Pyrenees weekend and hope to catch up with you another day.
Navigator 1
The outback calls

AnswerID: 275707

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:29

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:29
Possibly see you at the National Gathering??

If not call in if your passing through Calliope

FollowupID: 539545

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:32

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:32
Congratulations Kev.

Our friends from Boyne Island are coming down on Sunday for a few weeks. Send me a MM if you want any local info.

Adrian
AnswerID: 275710

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:31

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:31
Thanks Adrian,

I have a fair bit of info ATM as I had quite a few hours to kill when I was up there. All Sam wanted to know was how many shops were there LOL

FollowupID: 539546

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:06

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:06
Congratulations Kev, all your perseverance has paid off eh?
Well done.
Hope all goes well for you, and see you at Innaminka.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 275720

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:32

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:32
Perserverence is a bit of an understatement, I saw the surgeon on Monday and he now doesn't want to see me anymore after I told him of my recent travels LOL

FollowupID: 539547

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:24

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:24
Congratulations on the new job Kev....all the best to you and your family mate

Cheers.......Dave
AnswerID: 275725

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:36

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:36
Dave,

We may become the half way house to the ExplorOzer's travelling to the Cape, who knows LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 539549

Reply By: happytravelers - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:41

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:41
Is the Calliope council being amalgamated with neighbouring councils like a lot of other places in Qld. The Qld. goverment really is hellbent on stuffing up this state. Anyway best of luck with your new job.
Jon
AnswerID: 275747

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:48

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:48
Calliope will become part of the Gladstone Regional Council, it will be amalgamated with Gladstone and Miriam Vale councils.

The package I recieved can not be altered for 3 years following the amalgamations and Gladstone is advertising now for the same position with a less generous package, so it looks like I got the right one.

Kev

FollowupID: 539550

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 08:57

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 08:57
G'day Kev, just as well you are coming South to see us folks as none will want to go to Calliope after George's tale above.

Congratulations on the new job offers, but particularly the one you accepted. It will be quite something after the previous one, though I think you needed split rims on your 100 series just to maintain the right feeling mate;-))

Look forward to catching up again soon.
AnswerID: 275754

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:03

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:03
What did you see my nice alloy's on Darkie when you dropped Kath off for the chop did you LOL

To maintain the feeling I would need my pants around my ankles and be bending over ha ha

I'll be there in about 10 days all going well

Kev

FollowupID: 539556

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (central hig - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 13:35

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 13:35
Kev,
Glad to see that you are finally making the move.

Much warmer here than the Blue Mountains / Lithgow.

Getting used to it though.
Calliope is alot more humid than Springsure.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 275782

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 13:43

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 13:43
Dave,

Anything will be better than Sydney LOL

Will have to catch up for a few beers when I get up there.

FollowupID: 539585

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:48

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:48
Good onya Kev. That puts you just up the road.
Best wishes with both the move and new surrounds.
Jeff.
AnswerID: 276430

Follow Up By: QLD Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:52

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:52
I am thinking about having a QLD Gathering around Easter, that's if I can find some time to look around to organise one first LOL.

FollowupID: 540329