Now Here's a Merry Xmas

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:01
ThreadID: 52872 Views:3113 Replies:5 FollowUps:28
Yet again we read about a bashing involving "a large group of people". Whenever that expression is used we all know who's involved.

Site Link

I acknowledge there are always two sides to a story but I will not be surprised if a few Yalgoo farmers get a vigilante squad up.

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:04

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:04
I don't think you're permitted to make such posts - I suspect they would be considered raciest.

AnswerID: 278509

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:09

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:09
G'day Mike, I can't see any racism in my post although there are great gobs of political incorrectness.

I wonder though, if there was any racism on the beach at Geraldton and which side was displaying it?

That's the problem with discussing this sort of issue: someone is always prepared to accuse the participants in the discussion of racism.

It's a boring copout.

FollowupID: 542521

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:16
Consider my reply to have have a satirical aspect - Gone Bush.
FollowupID: 542523

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:17

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:17
Sorry Mike, It's difficult to read the inflection in your voice.

Cheers (appreciate your entry)

FollowupID: 542525

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:43

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:43
And in Kununurra last night four young girls 13 and 14 year old crossed one street to buy fish and chips and were assaulted on their way back over by a group of around thirty of the aforementioned people for the food and their money.
One girl in hospital and the other three beaten and scared and the police response....ZILCH... Sign of the times.
FollowupID: 542565

Reply By: Go Fishing - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:41

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:41
The whole lot of them need to be taken out the back of an alley and flogged to within an inch of their life.

If thats political incorrectness, good, shove it up ya jumper and may you choke on your vomit.
AnswerID: 278517

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:26
I couldn't agree more!!!!
FollowupID: 542548

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:05

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:05
Go Fishing

Maybe you should change your name to Gone Fishing.. LOL
FollowupID: 542556

Follow Up By: Go Fishing - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:26
That name is already registered.
FollowupID: 542560

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:33

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:33
LOL .. :-(
FollowupID: 542563

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:23
Its amazing the Sydney TV news only said "A group of people" yet if it was a group of Lebanese people the would have at least said "Of middle eastern appearance. Is the media in the eastern states afraid or what ?????
AnswerID: 278525

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:20

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:20
The Sydney News I watched said "A group of approximately 25-30 youths, described only as Aboriginal......"

So they did say it...always two sides to a story, but there was no need for a death and serious injury !!!!

Why can't people learn to WALK AWAY !!

I hope the family of the victims are OK and in time they get closure with the conviction of those responsible.

FollowupID: 542547

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:54

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:54
Dunco,

Sometimes you don't have the "walk away" option.

FollowupID: 542551

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:59

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:59
Well said Al

FollowupID: 542554

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:02

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:02
25 people, you don,t walk you run..;-)
FollowupID: 542555

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:08

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:08
Walk on water does come to mind but it does'nt sound like they had any safe option at all.

We'll undoubtedly hear a few differing versions of what happened.

Waste of a life.

FollowupID: 542558

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:58

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:58
" Quote: So they did say it...always two sides to a story, but there was no need for a death and serious injury !!!!

Why can't people learn to WALK AWAY !!"

A fair comment however I have seen people in Cairns "Walk away" from this sort of thing and been hit from behind while walking away.

Fat lot of good that did them... so it is nearly impossible to walk away from these types because they don't givva sh*t anyway..

"bout time people started owning up and looking after their own as they say".

My heart goes out to the family's involved...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 542569

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:59

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:59
Gramps,

I was actually talking about the "offenders" walking, not the victims.

I think you know what I mean.

I hope the cops act swiftly with a firm hand.

FollowupID: 542570

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 23:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 23:27
Dunco,

Understand and agree that hopefully the cops will act swiftly and prosecute to the fullest extent of the law. Definitely don't need a repeat of the recent crap in Qld.

FollowupID: 542575

Follow Up By: Old Johno [NSW] - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:44

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:44
Dunco I have watched the channel 9 & 7 news & neither heard nor saw the comment about "Indigenous people". & today's Tele article does not state it, I assume it was channel 2. But immaterial it should not happen & what are the police doing about it. Sweet"B....." all. Even though they are calling for eye witnesses ????. Maybe I am just a sceptic
FollowupID: 542675

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:11

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:11
Old Johnno,

Must've been one of the major news Stations here in Sydney (maybe 10) as I don't watch ABC news.

Doesn't matter who it was...it was a bloody tragedy.

FollowupID: 542735

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:23
Hi GB,
Agreed, not too merry for some. An old friend called me to say g'day over xmas and a little nostallgia crept into the conversation. We've been mates since our school days.

As the decades have passed so to have the incidents and viciousness of crimes seemed to increase. Things like: softened laws, lack of parental control, increased violence in the media, wider gaps between the haves and have-nots, [ the list is endless ]. Depending on ones opinion, one or all have contributed to this problem.

Growing up in my day was no different than today. Sure, after a few beers the occassional blue would erupt but when your opponent hit the deck that was the end of it. The king hit or punch from behind was not the done thing.
Hooning is nothing new but, when the coppers stopped you, the last thing on your mind was an attempt to out run them.
Used to give the shiellas a bit of lip and a fare bit of cheek and they gave it back without the threat of an attack of any kind.

Mind you, I have noticed that the coppers these days dont seem to have the lee-way of those in the past in that a good clip round the ear or a stiff size 10 up the jaxxy got the message across. Now with the eyes of the media, civil libertarians and the like firmly watching every move, I cant quite see the threat of supervision orders worrying most young offenders.

Some may agree, others may not, however its my opinion only.

Cheers.....Lionel [the dinosaur...hehehe].
AnswerID: 278526

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:38

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:38
G'day Lionel,
Mate, you sound like a bloke I'd like to buy a beer one day!

The other thing that the snivel-libertains are responsible for is the fact that it is now wrong for us (as parents) to whack our kids with anything more aggressive than a feather!!! The result is that we (well a lot of us; not all) are raising kids who don't know what it feels like to be physically "put in your place" with the old man's belt or even just a good swift hit on the backside.

I have 3 sons who are getting to the age now (12, 10 and 7) that they think they can back-answer me or Annette and all I can do is take their flamin' PS2 away from them for a week or 2 as punishment. Then, when the kids reach the age of 14 or so, and go off the rails, the parents get accused of not controlling the little "baskets"......I'm in a no-win situation; but ya just gotta keep tryin' I guess.....

FollowupID: 542549

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:18

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:18
Its a Totally hopeless situation now, Physical abuse( Proven) seems to have taken the right for parents to diciplin there kids in a physical way. kick up the cyber, belt around the ears, hit on the head with the frying pan, Pops big belt, razor strap,The cane taken out of schools was the start of the problems we have to-day, and what it will be like in years to come is quite frightening.

Axle.
FollowupID: 542559

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:36

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:36
Axle

I hope you are taking the piss out of someone... otherwise :-(((

FollowupID: 542564

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:32

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:32
Richard, I don't think he is (I hope not, anyway). The removal of the cane from schools is symbolic of the whole bloody problem. Teachers not only now can't whack the kids on the hands with the cane, but if they should even happen to speak down to a kid, like "Smith, you're a waste of space" etc ...then they could find themselves up on a charge as that little statement could hurt Smith's feelings and he might turn into a mass-murderer as a direct result.

Getting the cane a few times at school never did me any long term harm (I hope hahaha) and I reckon the teachers need to have more disciplin measures in their arsenel to combat cheeky little s.o.b. kids!!!
FollowupID: 542598

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:20

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:20
I agree totally that the removal of corporal punishment from school and the criminalising of the Whack around the ears at home have led to a generation of fearlessly ill-disciplined louts. What peed me of in recent years is when Ken Maroney blamed the Macquarie Fields Riots on a lack of parental control. HELLOOOO Mr Maroney it is your constables that enforce that lack of parental control by throwing us in gaol if we try to discipline our kids.....
I managed to instil some discipline in my kids thankfully and at 19 yo my son could snap me in 2 but he respects me enough to listen when i say something. I have been able to teach him wrong from right. If he (heaven forbid) ever kills someone it won't be from attacking them but by defending himself.

The daughter unfortunately is like her mother LOL... ya just can't discipline everyone...
FollowupID: 542604

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:25

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:25
Thats the point i was on about, (thanks Roachie), Other issues are there as well ,But what do you do!

CheersAXle.
FollowupID: 542605

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:44

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:44
It's interesting how the lack of a cane is seen as the start of youth's problems.
AFIK the cane was abolished after the Australian Government signed the UN's children's rights charter.
And, forgive me if I'm wrong, but wasn't the 20th century the most deadly for mankind in recorded history? And we had the cane, then, right?

Does not using the cane simply teach us that the guy with the biggest stick wins?

There have always been thugs, be they white, black, green or yellow. The problem seems to be society's ability to enforce appropriate responses. Our political correctness at all costs.

We, as a society must bear some of the blame.
There's no respect for anyone or anything any more.

The worst offender is as good as you or I.
I'm as good as anyone
Me first, get outta my way.

There's no avenue for parents to instil respect and discipline.
Children have "rights".
The police are corrupt "pigs".
Teachers are pedophiles.
Doctors don't know anything.
If they have anything, sue them!
If they have nothing, bash them! But steal from them first.
The Govt knows everything (nothing!)
Children are "sexualized" at an early age.
Television is the universal babysitter.
And the dollar is God.

FollowupID: 542608

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 12:01

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 12:01
one of my kids class's was told by their teacher to report if their parents hit them......for any reason
FollowupID: 542620

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 13:08

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 13:08
I totally agree and sympathise with everyone who has youngsters.

We have been extremely lucky in that our son "made it" without any hassles on our part. He is now 30 and pretty well balanced we think, but he got the occasional clip over the years, as I did when growing up and I'm not traumatised by the experience.

Unfortunately, kids get "good advise" as to their rights by all forms of do-gooders, from both Teachers and Government Department personnel, which have now taken away the right for a parent to "discipline" their children.

A relative has recently had her 15yo son leave not only home, but the State, without her approval. There was nothing she could do about it. His (the son's) problem?....He didn't like the new Man in her life, or the parental control they were applying over his Internet access.

Unfortunately, even if the situation changes back to what it should be, there will be a generation or two, of undisciplined and uncontrolled "citizens" who think they know better than their parents, what is best for them.

Some will overcome this adversity and take their place in the community, but others will fail with unfavourable results.

In many cases, a "family" will have become fragmented and the path back to "togetherness", very difficult indeed.

FollowupID: 542624

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:27

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:27
Discretion has been taken out of the hands of classroom teachers.
Reporting is mandatory.
Complaints against a teacher that involve any contact between a teacher and student, are also mandatory ...even if the teacher isn't informed until they find "a lack of evidence". The teacher is never "innocent", they merely find the complaint not proved and it is recorded on the teachers record as such.
The days of a male teacher standing at a classroom door while students file past and occasionally brush up against them, are well and truly gone. These days the teacher has to put their own welfare first, even if the kid at the end of the line is trying to thrash another kid.
Physical contact of any kind, no matter how accidental, is a definate no no.

FollowupID: 542636

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:09

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:09
Many years ago Lang Hancock proposed a solution to the problem of racism concerning the Australian Aborigine ,, perhaps his solution should once again be debated and acted upon.
AnswerID: 278652