Gay Grey nomads

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 14:31
ThreadID: 53303 Views:8113 Replies:19 FollowUps:59
As two GGN's we are about to hit the road for our loop of this great country, but in our trial runs over the last 3 months we have not found any other like minded people.

Please don't get me wrong, we have meet some fantastic people and had some really great times, but it would be nice to know there are some more of us out there, just to socialise and exchange stories etc.

Leaving Melbourne end of Jan. and heading up the east coast.

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 14:36

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 14:36
Looks like a line and hook post to me . Are you tied up with this Willem .
AnswerID: 280774

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:10

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:10
It will probably be sunk before it gets going LOL

I stand up for Willem and say definitely not.
FollowupID: 545099

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:12

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:12
PS I can imagine Willem's response. "Bugger You"
FollowupID: 545102

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:09

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:09
i'm suprised you didnt take them up on the offer Dessy.....
FollowupID: 545118

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:55

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:55
Nudie, I've left it for you to come out
FollowupID: 545143

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:25
Geez...arn't, arent, ar'nt, bloody hell, are we not glad, they only made it legal, and nor compulsory?????...HAHAHAHAHA (sorry that's loud laughter) don't want to offend anyone here.
FollowupID: 545182

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:27

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:27
sorry, that's NOT compulsory.
FollowupID: 545183

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:44

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:44
Hi Hotabbots.

You didnt say what genda you prefer, but why not make contact.
with the toyota owners with the BIG DONKS.

OH WHAT A FEELING.

Daza.
FollowupID: 545190

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 15:49

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 15:49
You must be a toyota owner ...huh???....Wink wink
AnswerID: 280781

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:05

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:05
Good to see you back Borgy, hope you are recovering well.
Colin
FollowupID: 545112

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:06

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:06
nudge nudge
FollowupID: 545113

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:18

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:18
Thanks Colin

Im getting there... slowly....i love getting on the forum here for a good laugh , its supposed to be good for the heart , although some times i laugh so much my heart hurts ....lol....

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 545122

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:17

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:17
guys this is no laughing matter, we established some time ago that toyota buyers are one way inclined and nissan buyers the other. Have you ever noticed the dealerships are often next door, this is so when a man in a fluro shirt walks into the nissan shop, the sales man can helpfully show him accross the road to the IFS depot.
FollowupID: 545137

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:25

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:25
So who pulls who???

Mainly Toyota pulling Nissan's out the crap and not the other way around!!!

Nissan, Licensed to get "BOGGED"

Me: Nissan 0: Toyota 1
BIL: Nissan's 0: Toyota Several!!!

The Figures speak for themselves!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 545166

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:46

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:46
i think your turtle neck collar speaks for itself
FollowupID: 545169

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:35
DO NOT wink at me Borgy!!@!!!#*%@!#!!
FollowupID: 545186

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:57

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:57
Chill out Christopher P (NSW} why turn this into a Toyota versus Nissan debate ???? For f***s sake mate get a life and stop going into defense mode every time someone mentions the word Toyota or Nissan
FollowupID: 545194

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 22:01

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 22:01
Fred G

Unless your joking mate , you can well and truly go **** ya self ...if you are jokin , well i apologise...

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 545195

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 00:33

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 00:33
now now Dave

You started it, settle down think of the health..
FollowupID: 545222

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 01:30

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 01:30
Gday Richard

Laughter is supposed to be really good for your health mate ..lol..

Cheers........Dave
FollowupID: 545226

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 08:16

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 08:16
Member - Christopher P (NSW) posted:
So who pulls who???

Mainly Toyota pulling Nissan's out the crap and not the other way around!!!

Nissan, Licensed to get "BOGGED"

Me: Nissan 0: Toyota 1
BIL: Nissan's 0: Toyota Several!!!

The Figures speak for themselves!!!!!!!!

Hey Chris,

I'd firstly get another Toyota before you go pulling anyone off/out etc as that little piece of crap in your rig profile is not going to pull anyone off ;)) since the 4by has been flogged

Cheers Darkie

FollowupID: 545249

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 19:49

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 19:49
Hey Borg? "Come in spinner", Gotcha!!!!

Hey Darkie, my little tonka w y anked, oops three vehicles out in a day and that was before it got flogged!!! My SR2 went to inskip and didnt get bogged either!

But has anyone seen my 4by its either here in newy or in sydney????

\MIssing it something shocking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 545378

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 19:51

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 19:51
i'm sick of getting gravel rash on the bum from sitting so low????
FollowupID: 545380

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 20:49

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 20:49
apology accepted, hang on, not necessary at all...::))
Borgy, if ever I was to suspect that a response on this forum was anything other than a light hearted one, I would pull the pin. I know a few visitors are getting close to the mark, but let's "Just ignore them," and soon enough they will go away, we hope.
FollowupID: 545397

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 00:02

Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 00:02
Members are family, visitors are toerroists????

But we are here to HELP one another not fight and argue like children!

Have fun not to personal, enjoy the shared interest with advice and idea's, and love our way iof life! Forget the mickey mouse ballsahate that comes along the path.

Amen to that!

FollowupID: 545448

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:23

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:23
Bloody Grey Nomads, got no respect for decent folks LOL

AnswerID: 280785

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:07

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:07
not your type eh?
FollowupID: 545116

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 20:51

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 20:51
In 20 words or less, describe "Decent Folk"
FollowupID: 545398

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 21:03

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 21:03
Me

FollowupID: 545404

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:35

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:35
I'll assume you're kosher - could be a mistake :)

I doubt you'll get too much response from this forum but why not start a Yahoo or MSN group for "Gay Greys On The Go" or whatever :)

You could advertise it on here and some of the other caravan/travel forums.

AnswerID: 280787

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:24

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:24
Hi Mike,
Given that gays range from mechanics to doctors, from boilermakers to technicians, from mathematicians to prime ministers, from artists to chefs, I'd be surprised if there weren't quite a few followers of this forum :-)
cheers, Gerry
FollowupID: 545124

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:55

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:55
Mike harding said:

"I doubt you'll get too much response from this forum but why not start a Yahoo or MSN group for "Gay Greys On The Go" or whatever :)"

"Gay Greys On The Go" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Priceless!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 545142

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 19:29

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 19:29
>Given that gays range from mechanics to doctors....

So let's wait and see how many gay mechanics or doctors reply to this thread.

FollowupID: 545150

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 22:10

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 22:10
This STRAIGHT old plumber has done a few house calls to several
GAY clients on the Gold Coast, and have never had a problem, with
getting paid ect, and there houses or units have been spotless,
I reckon they would make life interesting around the camp fire at
night, telling stories of there adventures, and making a new movie
called PROSILLA QUEEN OF THE SIMPSON DESSERT, or GETTING UP
BIG RED.

Daza
FollowupID: 545199

Follow Up By: hotabbots - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 09:54

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 09:54
Hi mike,
Yes i was serious, and so far have had a very interesting reaction or should I say in some cases over reaction. LOL Maybe this wan't the best place to ask the question, but it would have been good to make contact with some others travelling around.

And contrary to popular opinion I do not drive a Toyota or Boomer LOL

FollowupID: 545265

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:43

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:43
I'm not biting on this one!

AnswerID: 280792

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:07

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:07
wimp...hahaha
FollowupID: 545117

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 23:17

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 23:17
I too find it hard to swallow.
FollowupID: 545210

Reply By: Snowbunny - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:55

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 16:55
Bob Downe, and Phil Mc Cavity have been known to get into caravanning, on the odd occasion?
AnswerID: 280795

Follow Up By: normo - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:11

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:11
I thought is was Micheal Fitzpatrick and Patrick Fitzmicheal
FollowupID: 545119

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:33

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:33
Gay Grey nomads!! , geez, brings a whole new meaning to grey water....?
FollowupID: 545128

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:07

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:07
Ben Doone????
FollowupID: 545132

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:56

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:56
No....not Ben Doone....

It was Ben Dover!!!

LOL........
FollowupID: 545144

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:08

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:08
Straight up guys, try this site!!!!!
Nomadic Life
AnswerID: 280797

Reply By: AndrewX - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:12

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:12
Have a great time guys! When you get to Cairns I suggest you take the back passage up to the Cape though.
AnswerID: 280799

Follow Up By: Old Mal - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 15:30

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 15:30
A word of caution though, the back track down to Buggery Bay is pretty greasy this time of year !
FollowupID: 545337

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:34

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:34
I'm sure you will find a kindred spirit with Macka176 on this forum:

http://groups.msn.com/Caravanersforum/generalfrom2007.msnw

AnswerID: 280802

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:03

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:03
Come on now GB, yer dying to come OUT!

Anyone that puts Ozzie passionfruit on a Kiwi pavlova has got to be from the other side of the fence...hehehe.

Cheers mate,

Lionel.
FollowupID: 545174

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 00:33

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 00:33
Lionel, how unfair are you sweeety.

Do I really have to DRAG out the PAV argument again?

Anyway I believe you CAMP out?

And you LERVE to take your TURDyay 4wd club for a hoon up the chocolate freeway.

Just joshin mate, if you want to know for sure if I'm gay give us a kiss and I'll tell ya.

FollowupID: 545223

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 13:18

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 13:18
Hey, half the posts here are about swapping recipes!! LOL!
FollowupID: 545299

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:37

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 17:37
Hey guys
I see you're not members of this site. Do yourself a favour (and David of ExplorOz) and buy a subscription to ExplorOz, then you'll not only get all the extras available on this site, but you will have private messaging between members. There may be others out there who would be happy to make base with you, but afraid to stick their neck out, given some of the comments already appearing here on this post.
Australia is a great country to travel, and a great place to meet diverse people.
Happy travelling, cheers,
Gerry
AnswerID: 280803

Follow Up By: hotabbots - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 10:00

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 10:00
Hi Gerry,

My membership was dependant on the reaction to my question and you would have to say it was BIG LOL not all good, but most good natured which is what I wanted to see. I will join today.

DA
FollowupID: 545268

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 13:27

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 13:27
G'day DA,

Sorry for my off-hand comments elsewhere on this post; I thought it was one the "regulars" being a smart...um...alec!!

You will be made most welcome on this site; I'd like to think I speak for the vast majority of members and other regular contributors when I say that we are not prejudiced.

You will no doubt have great fun planning your big trip and we will be happy to help in any way we can.

FollowupID: 545303

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 16:33

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 16:33
On'ya Roachie...and so say all of us.
FollowupID: 545350

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:09

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:09
hotabbots
I see your about to hit the eh, well make sure you have a safe journey around our great country, thing is though when I read your post something immediately came to mind , so if you click on the link below i'm sure you'll get a laugh , the quallity has been reduced for uploading and downloading purposes.

Caravan Parks

AnswerID: 280805

Follow Up By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:05

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:05
That's a cracker Doug, who is it?
FollowupID: 545176

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:42

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:42
Philip
.........Juhn Williamson, on the Album titled "Old Farts in Caravan Parks".
Sounds a lot better at 128kbps instead of 20kbps.

FollowupID: 545189

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:54

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:54
I can't believe there is anyone on this planet who doesn't recognise J.W.'s dulcet tones. Shame on you.
FollowupID: 545193

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 13:22

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 13:22
Actually, I enjoy JW's stuff, but I must admit I was on the verge of trashing him when Telstra started using him as music-on-hold about 10 or so years ago! 30 minutes of continuous True-Blue on hold is a bit much to endure!
FollowupID: 545302

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:49

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:49
There would be heaps on this site guys. Like mentioned above if you joined and had access to private messaging i am sure you would get quite a few replies via this way.
AnswerID: 280811

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 19:02

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 19:02
Brew, MM on the way. LOL
FollowupID: 545147

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 19:39

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 19:39
You'll find the most enjoyable way of seeing this vast country is by following the "tan track"...... You will find lots of opportunities to practise your ball handling skills as long as you don't stuck in a crack somewhere in un-chartered territory.

If you do happen to get stuck I'm not sure what you're gunna do as I don't suppose you'd be too interested in another driver giving you a snatch.

Going around Oz, try to stay in the internal route.

If all else fails, just pull over on the side of the road and start a mass debate.....that should get you a few friends who will PULL up and have a go at joining in with you.

Time for my Bex and cuppa tea.
FollowupID: 545154

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:07
Real subtle roachie, ROTFLMAO.
FollowupID: 545161

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:13

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:13
I've been accused of many many things in my life......but subtlty isn't one of them!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 545164

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:47

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:47
Roachie, make that 2...Hang on a minute!!!!!!! listen, can anyone hear the sound of approaching horses hoofs???????
FollowupID: 545191

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 16:41

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 16:41
Brew

Will you be the first to sent a MM??

FollowupID: 545354

Reply By: Snowbunny - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:30

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:30
Pardon the pun, but there's an opening for a bright young man on EO to start a new business "Outback Tugalong Tours"!!
AnswerID: 280824

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 20:39
Some say that people with big throbbing chevvy's under their "bonnet" may be a bit on the other side but not manyn of them on this site.
AnswerID: 280827

Reply By: Louie the fly - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:12

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:12
Hey guys, at least hotabbots has the balls (pardon the joke" to admit it openly. Bet there are some other people out there who wouldn't. Course, it could be two chicks!!! In that case, where do I sign on for the tour?
AnswerID: 280840

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 00:29

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 00:29
Louie,

I reckon you're right (females) - when they finish with Jan's end - their heading up the east coast :-)

Tim
FollowupID: 545221

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:21

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:21
Good on you guys. Have a great trip. Most likely to find other like minded people driving X5's and the like but few with caravan on tow. Cheers
AnswerID: 280843

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 19:43

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 19:43
X5s?
What about the extremely butch Patrol?
(4.2TD of course, not those wimpy 3.0L)
FollowupID: 545376

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:53

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:53
Whatever ya wan't from this site you might be pushing chit uphill..lol.
AnswerID: 280856

Reply By: Kev. (Cairns) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 22:39

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 22:39
Where they the ones who got caught with stolen property ?

Opps, i made a mistake. they were the receivers of swollen goods. LOL
AnswerID: 280875

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 03:14

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 03:14
G'day,
I'm staggered, in only one (1) day this thread gets 1,260 "views"

Mainey...
AnswerID: 280898

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 10:12

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 10:12
Yep, it brings out the best in us LOL
I've met a few gays (both genders) from this site and although I wouldn't go CAMPing with them, they would be OK to travel with.
FollowupID: 545272

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 16:00

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 16:00
Just as I suspected, a number of closet gays on this site who are itching to break free.
FollowupID: 545344

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 07:58

Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 07:58
Red Frog, I am sure with the kiss from the right prince, you may turn to a Prince Charming. LOL
FollowupID: 545473