OT - Way Back When!

Submitted: Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 00:03
ThreadID: 53461 Views:1921 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
SWMBO was performing a search today, looking for her grade 3 lunch money (she never throws anything away) and she came across a parking notice which was attached to our vehicle during our Honeymoon in Tassie way back in '72.

I ask you, how many Council's have a policy which would match what we discovered in Devonport.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT – MUNICIPALITY OF DEVONPORT
Date: 14/9/1972
Notice to the Driver of vehicle…………………

The vehicle described above was found by me this day at 11:21 am within a metered space in Stewart Street and meter no 5317 was not then running.

You are therefore liable to prosecution for an offence against section 704 of the local Government Act.

However because you are the driver of a Vehicle carrying a mainland registration plate it is not proposed, on this occasion to take legal action against you nor to require you to pay the composition fee of $1, which is the usual penalty for this offence. Council hopes you enjoy your holiday in Tasmania and does not wish it to be marred through the need to pay a fine for overparking.

BY AUTHORITY OF THE COUNCIL
Form No. 280

Oh!, the good old days!
$1 was a bit of money back then:-))

Actually, I wonder if Devonport still has a Form No. 280?

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 00:23

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 00:23
Sandman, Tassie is still back in the good old days.

When we were in Devonport in 2006 we didn't realise there was a parking metre in the side street where we parked; it was the only one and the rest of the street was free - and it was quite different looking to the others in the the main street so we just didn't notice it. We got a warning, with a Devonport postcard and a greeting. Nice touch.

AnswerID: 281495

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 00:26

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 00:26
G'day Sandman

I was at the Rocking Horse at Gumeracha yesterday between the hours of approx 1.30pm until about 4.30pm saw a blue Jack there with EO sticker on rear window ...was that yours????

Cheers.......Dave
AnswerID: 281496

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 01:01

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 01:01
Hi Borgy,

Yes, was me and mine.

We were having a picnic with my brother and family on the lawn just opposite. We had our Border Collie with us and were sitting behind where the lass with the wee pony was based.

Sorry to miss you mate!

FollowupID: 545815

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 12:28

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 12:28
G'day Sandman

I was there with swmbo as well , also Littleborgy and his swmbo and their 2 little daughters, and family from Pt Lincoln, we were sitting on the seats directly above where you were, so did see you , but wouldn't have a clue which one was you ...lol..

Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 545862

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 03:33

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 03:33
MUNICIPALITY OF DEVONPORT is still lookin' for him.

Pay your lousey Dollar here

AnswerID: 281498

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 08:05

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 08:05
Nice one Doug :-))
FollowupID: 545822

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 10:50

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 10:50
Most intenet banking setups will not allow a payment less than $10 do I guess the $9 must be interest. LOL

FollowupID: 545846

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 10:46

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 10:46
Thanks for sharing that one Sandman. I got all warm and fuzzy going back to 72. My honeymoon was the year after :))
AnswerID: 281534

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 14:48

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 14:48
The child bride and I honeymooned there in 1970. What gets me is, i would have been out of jail 20 years ago with good behaviour
Murray

AnswerID: 281567

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 18:07

Monday, Jan 14, 2008 at 18:07
just wondering how old your bride was when you married if she is just now looking for her grade 3 lunch money was she 6 mths old ?????????lmao

AnswerID: 281592