I am Back Online :))

Submitted: Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:53
ThreadID: 54129 Views:5425 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
After about 7 weeks of living with the "Outlaws" we have finally arrived in Calliope.
We actually arrived last week but had to return to Cockroach land to pick the 2 kids up (we left them there while the furniture was delivered).

So far the area is fabulous, the Diggers Arms pub will more than likely become a 2nd home (Sam has been offered a job there already).
I intend to do a day trip out to Springsure soon to meet Dave AKA "Tourboy". I met Nev G yesterday (he runs a Jewlery store in Gladstone).

I have already scored a Barra fishing charter at Lake Awoonga for a very good price :) a full day for less than the usual half day rate. Also have a neighbour that has a boat and trailer but no vehicle to tow it must see what he is up to next weekend :))

I finally found the computer in the packing boxes this morning and set it up as I was getting withdrawals from EO LOL

If anyone is travelling through the Calliope/Gladstone area let me know so we can meet up.

PS
Due to John R and Lyn nagging I am still trying to work out where we can go for a QLD Gathering LOL
When I work it out I'll allow a few months so you can organise yourselves to get up here.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:57

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:57
Kev,

Good to have you back on line again.

AnswerID: 284994

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:07
Wayne,

I don't think I missed much, just the Wild rivers trip LOL

Kiwi, Lyn and Doug have been in touch regularly so there was not much chance of missing much.

FollowupID: 549789

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (springsure- Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:59

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 20:59
woo hoo. The fish are going ballistic running up the creeks here at the moment. Saw a barra jump over a causeway on the Tambo rd on Tuesday heading upstream.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 284995

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:05

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:05
Dave,

They are reportedly pulling 1m + Barra out of the Lake regularly ATM

Will organise a trip out there soon, probably after I start work.

FollowupID: 549788

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy (springsure- Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 21:17
no worries mate I still have to find a guaranteed barra spot in the bush with out getting lead poisoning..LOL
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 549795

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:05

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:05
Yeah...your girlfriend was quite worried about you....lol

AnswerID: 285017

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:16

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:16
So I noticed, she was worried that I didn't post a funny this week LOL

FollowupID: 549816

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 11:19

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 11:19
seeing that my "boyfriend" was with another woman (aka his wife...and I know how crazy that sounds)...I had to pay him out!!!! ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you were missed kev!!lol
FollowupID: 549882

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 12:56

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 12:56
It's OK Kiwi,

Your only Human after all LOL

FollowupID: 549904

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 12:58

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 12:58
I am???? !!!!
FollowupID: 549905

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:28

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:28
Yeah allright, I'll probably beat you to your place rather than you to my place (if that makes sense LOL). See you on my next trip.

Curtis Island. Ideal spot if you can organise it with the property owner over there, George was his name many years ago on a property called Monte Cristo or Monte Christo ??? something like this. Need the local barge to drop you there and real 4wd to get right up the island to some untouched beachfront camping, we used to do it in a very well setup beach buggy but plenty of pushing at times hehehe.

I will drop you a line one day soon.
Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 285019

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 07:22

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 07:22
Trevor,

We were in Brisbane about midnight on Tuesday night, got up here at 6am LOL

I actually scored the fishing charter through Steve a previous Curtis Island caretaker??

Once I get settled in I'll see what dates suit and organise a Gathering.

FollowupID: 549853

Reply By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:45

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 22:45
Kev

In your backyard you have Kroombit Tops and in there is the bomber wreck "betsy". Easy and interesting day drive from Calliope

AnswerID: 285028

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 07:24

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 07:24
Thanks Alan,

It seems I have a lot of exploring to do in my weekends off :))

FollowupID: 549854

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al - Al & Lyn, Romsey - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 08:15

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 08:15
OY!....are you accusing me of Nagging?..LOL..

glad to see you're online again...

Lyn
AnswerID: 285064

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 08:39

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 08:39
Got it in one Lyn LOL

Darkie should become a Queenslander this time next week all going well. May just need to get a mod plate fitted.

FollowupID: 549861

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 11:22

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 11:22
you got numbers first up there in toadland hey???

647kie

001drk

007kev

007sam

iri78d

001wik
FollowupID: 549884

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 13:00

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 13:00
Kiwi,

Only if you want a cheap number plate.

DARKIE has been taken but D4RKIE isn't, the only problem ATM is the cost ($2295) I may have to save up for that one :)

FollowupID: 549906

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 10:31

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 10:31
Kev,
Welcome to the local area.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 285274