McCafe

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 16:53
ThreadID: 5464 Views:5208 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
Almost embarrassed to ask this but with 2 young boys we always have to stop at McDonalds.
Hate it myself , but have found that McCafe is the best of a bad option. Trouble is I can't find a list of McCafe locations - have tried www.mcdonalds, google etc.
Any suggestions ??
Brad.

Reply By: Member - Richard- Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 17:18

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 17:18
Without sounding too sanctamoniuos (spelling?) I think you should take the opportunity to wean them off it. I am not saying there is anything wrong with the food, (in moderation) but if you have to plan your trip around finding McDonalds it sounds like you have lost control. Sorry, but as an old b?55er I find it a little sad.Richard and Leonie, The grey nomads.
AnswerID: 22572

Follow Up By: Brad - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 17:34

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 17:34
I hardly plan trips around McDonalds !!!
But if say we are planning to go to Fraser Island from Sydney, than we might try and do Sydney - Brisbane the first day. If we stop every 3 hours or so for loo / refreshments / letting off steam / coffee than a stop at say Tamworth (McCafe) rather than somewhere else keeps everyone happy. I have a 4 and a 6 year old who are happy to do 600-700 kms in a day to get to Fraser Is, Cooper Creek/SA desert, Red Centre etc ( we have done all of these).
I hardly think asking the location of a McCafe stop on the first and/or second day out of Sydney constitutes having to be lectured on how to keep "control".
I am sorry but you sound sanctimonious.
Brad.
FollowupID: 14899

Follow Up By: Johnad - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 22:22

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 22:22
With 3 kids I agree, Macca's when travelling is ideal. Their food is consistent (whether it be crap or not) its the same all over the world. Its clean and the hygiene standard is unparalleled. Richard, you sound like my father in law (Back in my day......)
FollowupID: 14922

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 19:04

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 19:04
Well we plan around Maccas for breakfast at the start of a big trip, bail out of bed at 0530 and go till we get to a maccas around 3 hrs or so later, take a few drinks for the kids and snacks, then stop, rest and let the kids eat, play, clean up and hit the road again 300km further after brekky than we would have been.

its magic! and I dont mind their pancakes, why do they call them hotcakes

laterally literalSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 15046

Reply By: Ronald McDonald - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 18:03

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 18:03
Yes I am sure that everyone with parents feels the same thing. We feel guilty admitting that we go to McDonald's but I have a little secret for those that cringe at the thought - there are many people just like us who do it every trip. It might be politically incorrect to admit it, but we often go to Macca's. They are fast, clean and cheap and one or two days of iffy nutrition is not going to make a difference. It is what you do on for 95% of the time that is important, not what you do on the odd 5% of days.

Ronald M.
AnswerID: 22574

Reply By: Jack - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:00

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:00
Maccas is like everything else .. "horses for courses".

When I am on a trip (and I am usually travelling solo) ... I can refuel, grab an AussieBurger/coke/fries, (thereby getting my caffeine and sugar hit in one go) .. get back onto the truck and off again .. feeling totally refreshed, relaxed and happy.

Outside of that I rarely eat the stuff ... but ....

Maccas do a good job for what they provide, including teaching young people skills, teamwork, and a good work ethic. Onya Ronnie!!!!!

Jack

If you are heading to Fraser, the one at Gympie is the "last stop before the barge".
AnswerID: 22584

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:09

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:09
Jack,
Sorry, I'm a bit deaf, did you say "horses, first courses"? If so, I hate to think what you have for desert!!!
FollowupID: 14909

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:41

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:41
You are a bit deaf, Its Yak, not horse. Nothing like a Big Yak!!! Michael
FollowupID: 14910

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:53

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 20:53
Either (horse or yak) would be a lot healthier, and probably tastier, than what you actually get there, but McCafe coffee actually isn't too bad. I had one, once.Talk is cheap ...
Rohan (Sydney)
FollowupID: 14912

Reply By: Member- Rox - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 21:32

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 21:32
What about McRoadkill slung over the motor to cook it?????Around Oz 06/2004
AnswerID: 22597

Follow Up By: Jack - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 06:46

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 06:46
That sounds good .. do you have a camp oven recipe??
: )
Jack
FollowupID: 14935

Reply By: Ted G - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 09:32

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 09:32
When travelling if you want a clean toilet the Golden arches is the place to go,
Try the Mac site http://www.mcdonalds.com.au/home/default.asp
Regards Ted
AnswerID: 22634

Reply By: Caveman - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 14:02

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 14:02
I'm afraid you've all lost the plot if you think a weekend away with McDonalds on the menu is camping.
Do you take the gameboy with you too ?

Either wean your kids off the crap or sell your camping gear !!!
AnswerID: 22653

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 18:33

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 18:33
gday brad.
our first trip from vic to fraser we were stopping every time we fueled up and having maccas ect.4 kids and 2 adults cost us heaps.
the next time we went up we would go to a super market and bye a loaf of bread sliced ham/straz ect a cpl of tomatoes and sit down and make sandwiches.
also good for a bit of a rest and a look around town.keeps the kids happy getting out for half an hour.looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
AnswerID: 22682

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 20:50

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 20:50
Diamond,

Might come with you, I like the sound of fresh bread, meat etc.

Still, we do stop at Maccas a bit, but mainly for the convenience and clean amenities. Luckily, theres not too many Maccas between Brisbane and Winton.

Hooroo...
FollowupID: 14986

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 00:24

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 00:24
Yep I agree with Diamond even though i love a good espresso we regularly do the supermarket jobbo even get the special and carry a KFS set in the car with a chopping board ,does a wallet a lotta good.
glad I'm not the only miser (rather have the money for travel and 4by)

i can post the dutch pot roasted horse rump recipe if you like (hmmmmmm!)

cheers 1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 22737

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 12:27

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 12:27
Brad,

I'll be honest...I'm addicted to the stuff! Stopping at Macca's, HJ's or KFC was a big treat when I travelled as a kid with my folks. Especially when we'd been out bush for weeks. And now I have a kid of my own, it's still a treat. I love camp cooking but even I deserve a night off occasionally and Macca's is one place we can go and our 2 year old can hit the playground, make some friends, run around and generally have a good time whilst we kick back and relax.

Now to your question...go to http://www.mcdonalds.com.au/home/default.asp then hit the Restaurant Locator button at top of page.

:o) Melissa
Petrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
AnswerID: 22780

Follow Up By: Brad - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 18:49

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 18:49
Thanks Melissa - I should have posted this question on the campertrailer website for a quicker answer it seems :-)
How can asking for a McCafe location end up getting replies how I've "lost control" and instructions presumably on the "correct" way to have a holiday with my kids ???? Everyone on this site loves to knock politicians, wouldn't they make terrific little Hitlers themselves judging my the narrow-mindedness of most of the above.
Thanks again,
Brad.
FollowupID: 15045

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 20:23
Brad,

Don't take it to heart matey. Macca's is a lifestyle choice, not a sentence. Just ask for help and you get many different results and somewhere in the middle is gem like Melissa.

Literally lateral :0)So many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 15053