Where are all the Lancruiser 200s?

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:34
ThreadID: 56518 Views:4870 Replies:20 FollowUps:25
Where are all the 200 series Cruisers? Can it be that only the and rip off merchants can afford them? Are they all in Toorak Melbourne and the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney? Note the capitals in deference to we the great unwashed to our betters, the residents of those areas. Could it be that the stock market crash of recent times has affected these people far less than we the ordinary people. Are fuel prices a factor? Is your superannuation what you thought it would be worth? I was considering a new 4b and caravan, but frankly now we cannot afford one. You views on this subject are valuable. Please let us all hear them, and please no nissan v toyota crap.

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:36

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:36
put ya glasses on....seen heaps of them???? Can't miss the ugly oversized Kluger's......Nice V8 diesel motor though :)

Stefan
AnswerID: 297843

Follow Up By: Richo (SA) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:26

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:26
Oh and they are LanDcruisers not Lancruisers
FollowupID: 563927

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:41

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:41
Mate there would have to be at least 20 running around Springsure and around 40 of the new 70 series troopies, mini troopies and utes. It seems every where I look there is one.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 297844

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:43

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:43
Plenty up here on Bribie Island. Ugly looking things. Can tell them by the clunk in the rear splines in the driveshaft.
Was talking to one owner who said he would give anything to get his 100 series back.
It cost him ovr $1000 to get it wired up to take his van and his boat trailer with sensabrakes. Still waiting on a Hayman Reece drop hitch for it.
AnswerID: 297845

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:51

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:51
Have seen heaps of them, only one diesel thou the rest (about a dozen or more) petrol. Park next to one virtually every saturday. Have seen plenty of Sahara's so plenty of money about or company cars or up to there neck in debt one of the three.Would I have one ?? yes tomorrow, will I ever afford one ?? probably not considering I dont play lotto. Sat in one at the show, very nice inside and plenty of roooom. Would be a brilliant touring vehicle with a nice 24 foot van hanging off the back for me. Ahhh well I'll keep dreaming. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 297848

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:52
Plenty of 200's getting around Victoria with a high turnover at our local dealers. It appears not many are being used offroad (by the lack of modifications) rather most bought as tow vehicles.
The gap between the haves & the have nots is certainly growing & the ability of many to buy a 200 is exaggerated by the lack of any base models. If you can't afford the vehicle though you'll have little hope of affording the fuel in a few years.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 297850

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:31

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:31
i have seen at least 5 this week already,the best one was a filthy looking one pulling a tandem full of junk.another one pulling what looked to be a brand new trakmaster---lucky bastard!!!Paul
FollowupID: 563928

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:56

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 19:56
Why don't you try moving up market & get a Mazda BT50 or Ford Ranger & save yourself all the hassles?
AnswerID: 297851

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:12

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:12
Just as I thought. In Sydney & Melbourne etc, I have seen 2 since they were released here in Toronto NSW. I must live in an area that is disadvantaged. Maybe that will get me a government grant and then I may be able to afford one, or 2? How about the value of your money? Any answers ?
AnswerID: 297856

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:47

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:47
The think value of my money is comparable to 7 years ago when I bought a 100 series. The difference is the 200 has been targeted at a richer market making it less affordable to me. It's almost stepped into the Range Rover segment in some respects in both comfort & features. As great as it would be touring central Oz in one I can't see myself pushing a $100,000 car through bog holes & up rock ledges no matter how capable.
Value for money?............Almost.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 563915

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 08:24

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 08:24
I bought a LC100 GXV in '98, which was the first of the V8's and it cost $96,000....!!! The only extra was a towbar. The seats were cloth, no sunroof, no traction control or various other electronic aids...certainly no KDSS or fantastic TTD V8.
I have just ordered a VX TTD with all the things missing above in the LC100...10 YEARS LATER and it is $5000 cheaper...in my opinion, the LC200 is realtively cheap using that comparison.
FollowupID: 563991

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 10:49

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 10:49
I once owned a 1986 HJ61 Sahara, which was RRP $53,000 when new. That was a lot of money back then.

For the money, you got flares, chrome wheels, electric sunroof, electric windows, central locking, dual air, and 8 seats including front buckets.

LandCruisers today are much better value!
FollowupID: 564015

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:16

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:16
I WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER FORD AS LONG AS MY BACKSIDE POINTS TO THE GROUND ! loud enough !

Giffo
AnswerID: 297858

Reply By: Go Fishing - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:18

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:18
Better to be ripped off by a Yota than to buy a hand grenade aka the Lemon aka the "We don't give a stuff about ya" Nissan.

Stick that in ya pipe and smoke it son.

P.S. Does the Renault 3L Diesel make into the 1st position as the biggest lemon of all time?
AnswerID: 297859

Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:29

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:29
I did ask for no Nissan v toyota crap so please be nice. I am serious about my question and would appreciate serious answers. Thank You All.
FollowupID: 563910

Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:36

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:36
It is not about anything other than driving what are high priced vehicles with high fuel consumtion figures around our wonderful country. We have saved up all our working lives for this lifestyle and costs are preventing us from enjoying that lifestyle we I beleive we deserve. Do you agree? Are we being short changed?
FollowupID: 563913

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:40

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:40
Steve, are you having a bad day?

If you personal circumstances have taken a slight downturn, things will get better. Fuel will probably stay up but Super will recover, as will the stock market.

Only a temporary glitch, you will get your 4by and van, but maybe a little later than planned.

In reality, the main difference between you and Toorak residents is the size of their debt. You've probably got less to worry about and will be able to keep your toys when you get them. They will have to hand them back to the leasing companies.

AnswerID: 297865

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:58

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 20:58
Steve,

I never normally buy into these threads but I can tell you that I pick my 200 series TTDV8 Gxl up next week after nine years owning a toyo 100 series.

I was very happy with my 100 series and had it setup with all the gear over the years. I expect to be more happy with the new one based on following the build, test and release of this vehicle over the past three years.

I come from driving a 4.5 ltr petrol motor to the new diesel and having spent a bunch of time testing this unit I am more than happy with my choice.

Mine will not be a torak tractor but be setup for anything that the 100 series could tackle and more. The out of the box spec of these units is impressive with ramp tests against lifted vehicles testament to this. The toyo with KDSS fitted out ramp these and if you look on the web you find these pictures.

The engine is a revolution and expect it to be pushing out great mileage figures after a few thousand kms as other are finding now.

My wife drives a 07 spec Kluger and from my point of view they don't look alike....but everyone has there view.

I have BFGs A/T 285/70/R17 waiting in my workshop ready for fitment at the dealer....this transforms an already solid performer into another world and this comes from driving the rig both with Dunlops and then BFGs.

The aftermarket accessories are starting to arrive and I will fit the ARB deluxe bar and compatiable suspension to suit weight and provide additonal lift.

I will be developing the following myself:

1. a new roofrack bracket to enable me to use the existing ARB roofrack from the 100 series on this 200 series. If you check ARB have offered a two racks for this vehicle one is the same dimensions as the existing 100 series and new wider version for the 200 series.

2. new rock sliders steps with stainless top plates etc to be functional and look good.

3. new Rear _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and fridge slide (same as I built for the 100 series and are exactly like the commercially available ones.) and manufacture cargo barrier.

I will rip out the existing dual batteries and replace with Odessy 1700 units one for crank and one for deep cycle.

I have to refit HF radio which requires new HF brackets etc. and fit all the other electronic gagdets.

Shower exchanger needs to go back in etc.

Anyway I reckon it will all be a bunch a fun to a vehicle this good setup how I want it and yes the TTDV8 is costed higher than some vehciles but what else is out there that really compares to this....not much in my opinion.

I really didn't want a auto but do like the way it behaves and yes you can still drive the 200 series with all the aids retarded if you want.

Stuart

AnswerID: 297869

Follow Up By: Mike - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 10:24

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 10:24
Hi Stuart, What about long range tanks? I have heard that they are not offered as an option because they would push the weight over the top.

Happy trails, Mike.
FollowupID: 564008

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 21:17
Hey Mike,

I am not looking to fit any other tanks as the 138 litres that are available with the TTDV8 GXL as standard is more than adequate for my needs. If I need the extra I will carry a few jerrys.

Suart
FollowupID: 564113

Follow Up By: Richo (SA) - Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 17:28

Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 17:28
Hi Stuart,
interested in how you will do teh rock sliders. I believe there are implications with this because of the side air bags?
FollowupID: 564211

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:14

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:14
Ive seen two in Sydney, thats it.. Then again, they could have been Sang Yong Mooso's!!!! HHMMM Same style.. As much as i dont like the 100 series, its much better looking than the Ugly Stick 200 series.. My opinion only!! Michael

AnswerID: 297874

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:16

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:16
Stacks of 200's around the Riverina. We're off to the Louth Races again this August and I expect to see a carpark full of them by then...
AnswerID: 297875

Reply By: Richo (SA) - Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Apr 10, 2008 at 21:25
My 200 series is going strong. I even have scratches on the bull bar because I DO use it off road. It is also my weekly driving vehicle and only a couple of months old so I do actually wash it!
I hear a lot of complaints about 200 series but since having my tailshaft greased, it is perfectly fine.
I am luck enough to be able to salary package my vehicle and it was in fact more economical to trade my 2003 Prado and purchase a new 200 - so I did. The best of both worlds. Yes, I bought a GXL because I don't need leather or a sunroof. I have installed plenty of extras including the bull bar and winch.
Perhaps there are not too many seen with accessories because the aftermarket is still catching up. ARB still haven't released their Sahara bar yet.
I feel safe with my family in the car with all the active safety features such as traction control, stability control, active brake assist, ABS. As far as the diesel engine goes - well it GOES!
I reckon the Nissan is a good vehicle for what my opinion is worth but it just lacks the modernisation of the 200. I am sure it will catch up in time.
AnswerID: 297880

Reply By: steve & sandra - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 00:04

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 00:04
don't get me wrong im sure the 200 series is a darn good motor vehicle, but by the time people option up with the all the bits and bobs and want to head out bush, cos this is why they make the vehicle in the first place wont it be overloaded. In my opinion i think the car makers are putting too much rubbish in vehicles these days. gimme an old 60 series any day.
AnswerID: 297920

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 07:46

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 07:46
It has more load capacity than the Patrol, around the same as the LC100 but less than the Disco 3 and Prado...the load capacity issue is a fallacy and anyway, if you want to upgrade to that extent then you can also upgrade the GVM by adding Polyairs, so I am led to believe. I want one vehicle which is competent off road, good tow vehicle, good ON road and doesn't look like an army truck when I go out to my local restaurant. If there is a better vehicle to suit that set of requirements, then it hasn't been released on the Australian market yet.
FollowupID: 563989

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 13:07

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 13:07
Yes I suppose on the North Shore one would at least need a new Cruiser to appear at the local restaurant. No offense !
FollowupID: 564039

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 15:20

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 15:20
Same applies to wherever you live...I wouldn't have thought you would want to go out anywhere with the wife and family in a military truck....unless you were in Bagdhad...
FollowupID: 564057

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 11:52

Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 11:52
Can't understand your logic, I always take the 60 Cruiser to all restaurant's on the G/Coast & don't care who see's me. It saves me getting a door crease from some charged up diner on my better car. If I had a Army truck I would use it. Nothing wrong with military trucks mate, I drove a 23 ton M543 Wrecker in S/Vietnam & it's road presence got more respect than something smaller. Guarantee it would get more looks if I had it to pull up at the local restaurant than the 200 Cruiser & also the family would love the view from the front seat.
FollowupID: 564186

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 07:34

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 07:34
I have ordered a VX...a month ago and expect it in July. They actually delivered 1200 last month, some 300 more than the same period last year (LC100) but I must admit, I haven't seen too many but then, I live on Sydney's North Shore. Mine will be used asa tug, towing a 24' van but also will be doing things like the Simpson, CSR and the Cape...yes without the van..I also have an RV3 Oztent which I hope will fit in the back.
As for the looks, well I think the people who say they look like pumped up Rav's or Klugers have worse eyes than me.The Kluger definitely looks like a big Rav and I suspect that is intentional. The LC200 looks no more like a Kluger than a Mercedes GL for heavens sake...chalk and cheese and a liberable dose of jealousy is the only reason you would make the comparison with a Kluger. I bought the first LC100 in '98 and everyone was saying how ugly that was compared to the LC80 but beauty, my friends, "is in the eyes of the beholder": and I think the LC 200 is a damn good looking vehicle and nothing like a KLuger and certainly nothing like Musso you insulting ****
AnswerID: 297935

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 10:43

Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 10:43
Sorry Don but here's what i think happened,
A Mitsubishi engineer and a Ssang Yong Engineer got really, really drunk one day and designed a vehicle together, on the back of a round, soggy pub coaster. They then sold that design to Toyota. Now Toyota is suffering the hangover...LOL...... ;)

FollowupID: 564182

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 21:04

Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 21:04
Quite unlijke the guy that designed the Patrol...he died 25 years ago...LOL
FollowupID: 564264

Follow Up By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 06:06

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 06:06
Got killed by a hand grenade I believe.
FollowupID: 564304

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:22

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:22
The few things we will agree with is that a 4 cylinder should not be pushing around a nearly 3 tonne truck and Nissan should never have tried to ignore the obvious faults with the first 3.0l grenades. This is a problem which will stain their reputation forever in spite of their rectifying the fault in the latest models, we hope.

Because of the removal of a 6 cylinder diesel from their lineup, i will be forced over to the dark side on my next purchase in few years. I will probably go for the V8 Diesel but it will NOT be an Ugly Duck 200 series because i still firmly belive that solid axles are superior off road and tests have proven at this stage of the game that this is correct. The jury is still out on the longevity and efficiency of this KDSS? (Sp) Only time and Kms will tell.
So the 78 Series or a (gulp) Troopy, sheeesh what a choice!!

FollowupID: 564311

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 09:03

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 09:03
Steve,

The 4.5 V8 diesel should even have enough power to snatch the chip of your shoulder.

AnswerID: 297949

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 11:02

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 11:02
Well maybe I'm a bit biased, but I went out to buy a new 200 & after looking at one in regard to interior dimensions & asking the saleman for a tape measure(never had one) I left after being of the impression my 60 series T/D Sahara had more interior room both across & definately more in the rear. And yes I can afford one, but when I looked at where I take mine out West (Hog hunting) it would be a lot worse for wear as it would come back badly scratched each time. Sure it would go the same places, & probably do it a lot better, but from past experience the new stuff just does not have the underbody protection like the old 60. My main concern these days with the new CRD's is the inability of getting problems fixed by the local mechanic in the country. Tried the old Nissan RB30 trick the other day, put a can of beer on the engine,(not bad for a Dieso) & it sat there solid as a rock & yes it was running. Next time you go past in your new 200 give me a wave & I'll wave back with a grin, the grin being for the 80 odd grand I know I've saved for a rainy day.
AnswerID: 297957

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 08:17

Saturday, Apr 12, 2008 at 08:17
I think I would be prepared to bet that the LC200 is bigger in every dimension than the LC60. After all it is longer and wider inside (and outside) than the LC100 which in turn was wider and longer than the LC80and while I haven't looked at the LC60 in that regard, I find it hard to believe that the LC60 was as big as the LC80 given that all vehicles get bigger and certainly more efficent with their use of space, as the models progress. In the case of the LC200 it is longer overall than the LC100 but has a shorter bonnet since it does not now have to accommodate an in-line 6 cyl. engine. This translates into something like a foot more length inside and it is also wider. I think you should go back and take your tape measure this time.
FollowupID: 564173

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 15:01

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 15:01
If you are able to find $100K for a LC 200 V8D with a few bolt ons, then good luck to you, go for it. You have obviously considered the purchase costs, added the relevant running costs,
included the interest cost,if any, insurances etc. And of course have added the $300 plus per week depreciation that will see your
LC worth about $50k in just 3 years time, if you"re lucky. If I could make those figures into a sound economic argument I would
be in one too. But,being a tight old fart, there is no way I can
divide all that into the number of k's I will do in 3 years & make
a figure I can swallow. I'm not much of a maths expert but I can make a per k cost of $3 out of the above scenario, assuming 20k kilometres per year. Looks like I'm stuck in a 10 year old Jack for
a while yet, (sigh) , but I will take some comfort in the fact that my per k costs will be around 20% of you lucky buggers traipsing
around in your LC 200s. Jealous? You Betcha!!!....oldbaz :)).
AnswerID: 297980

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 15:32

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 15:32
Oldbaz,
$50K in 3 years...mmmmm I don't think so. How many 2005 TD LC100's have you seen for $50K...???

I sold my petroln LC100, actually traded it in on n X Trail for my wife in 2004...it was 6 years old and I got $60K for it. t was a petrol V8GXV not a TD and I paid $96K new

I'm paying less than that for my TTD VX andf it is far better equipped, never mind that fantastic engine..no interest, I'm retired and can't afford loans, but sure, lost opprtunity considering the interest I could make if invested...say $7500pa but then, I would have to have something so the real cost is what would I buy if not the LC200..?? Something that would cost at least $50K anyway, so that will lose me $4000 at least...not much when I cpnsider what I want to do with the vehicle.
FollowupID: 564059

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:00

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:00
Thank you all forumites for replies and your views re 200 series. That was as you have worked out by now merely to grab your attention and it would seem to have done the job. The real question is how if you are retired with no prospects of earning more is you retirement dollars standing up in the face of stock market crash, increased fuel prices and expensive vehicles, but mostly about retirement expectations. Thanks even to Matt M from ACT, which I believe is somewhere near protected species land for his totally uncalled for comment re a chip on my shoulder. Thank you again Matt ACT for demonstrating that you have are completely remote from the rest of real Australians who in many instances are doing it tough. I am aware that some in the ACT are doing very well at the expense of real Australians. You anonymity does not hide you, you are it would seem, still a dill, nothing has changed.
I agree that the real price of 4wd vehicles has reduced in real terms if you have an income, I dont anymore.
AnswerID: 298026

Follow Up By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:05

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:05
Steve Elis said "Thanks even to Matt M from ACT, which I believe is somewhere near protected species land for his totally uncalled for comment re a chip on my shoulder."

No I think many people on this forum have expressed their opinions that they think you are a dork with some strange agenda.
FollowupID: 564096

Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:06

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:06
Special thanks to Don Miller[Don M} You have examined and disected the issue very well.
FollowupID: 564097

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:28

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:28
Thanks Steve, I hope things work out for you.
FollowupID: 564103

Follow Up By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:34

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 20:34
Steve, I am confused and sorry if I misunderstand your point. Would you please elaborate as I may be way off the point.

The way I read it you are making the point that some Australians are doing it tough and others are doing well. So well that they are probably ripping off the system and as a result can afford expensive vehicles such as the Landcruiser 200. The ones that are doing it tough are ripped off because of the stock market crash.

Right?

FollowupID: 564105

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 22:51

Friday, Apr 11, 2008 at 22:51
Steve,

My comment was probably uncalled for and for that I apologise.

But have a look at your thread, if you want to ask a question about the cost of travel in retirement, then ask the question. What it has to do with the 200 Series Landcruiser is beyond me.

You seem to be happy to make generalisations about people living in our cities as being 'betters' to the 'great unwashed'. Well if you think that living in our big cities is such a rort then move to one, and you will soon discover that there are plenty of people doing it every bit as tough as in other areas. Next time I pass a homeless person in Canberra (and there are plenty) I will be sure to tell him that he is lucky to be in the ACT and that he should stop doing so well at the expense of 'real Australians'.

Has the relative value of our retirement funding decreased? I honestly don't know, but I suspect not. There will always be people doing it tough (and always has been) just as there will always be those who are comfortable. When my Grandmother retired she couldn't afford a top of the range vehicle either, and nor could my parents. Yet there were still those who could. What then do you think has changed?

Two points for the record. Not all people in the ACT are politicians or bureaucrats sponging of real Australians. Secondly, I grew up on a Dairy Farm not far from where you are and watched the agony of my parents going broke and having to sell their farm (and their dreams with it) just to keep the bank off their back. I know what it is to be without money my friend so please don't accuse me of somehow being isolated from your 'real Australians' simply because you have some ill-informed concept of what everyone in the ACT is like.

Hide behind my anonymity? If you have any clues as to who I really am I would be fascinated to know myself. Perhaps I am the heir to some great fortune only I don't know about it yet? Please let me know because I will whip out tomorrow and order that TD V8 200 Series I have been wanting.

FollowupID: 564137