Packing Fishing reels away

Submitted: Friday, May 16, 2008 at 13:40
ThreadID: 57666 Views:2202 Replies:12 FollowUps:5
People

What/how does everybody store there fishing reels for travel so they dont get damaged.I am cuurently just using a cardboard box but there must be a better way.

Matt

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 13:49

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 13:49
Matthew.

I cut the legs of old jeans ect and I have SHMBO saw up one to form a pocket. Each real has its own pocket. Problem solved.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 304145

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 13:56

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 13:56
Yeah ill pay that

Matt
FollowupID: 570210

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 14:05

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 14:05
Ditto for us, my Cook made several Material Bags with Draw Strings,
each reel goes in a bag, also made long tube bags for the Two Piece
Rods, even have Two Piece Surf Rods, they dont get damaged.

Daza
FollowupID: 570211

Reply By: Member - Howard T (QLD) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 14:04

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 14:04
GDay Matt
I think you can buy these protectors from fishing shops. I have seen them around and they seem to be made out of the stuff stubby coolers are made out of. Something like a thick wet suit.
Have no idea how much they cost though.

Howard.
AnswerID: 304149

Reply By: Charli - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 14:30

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 14:30
I find that the baitcaster style reels fit well in a stubby holder

Charli
AnswerID: 304153

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 15:41

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 15:41
Hi Matt ,

I have a bag made from thin wetsuit material which takes three reels - a small spin reel and a large and small baitcaster . I have small cloth bags for each reel before they go into the big bag - that sounds a bit obsessive , but I like to look after my gear so it works correctly next time I go fishing . Cutting down rubbing / vibration in a car is important .

Okuma sell wetsuit covers which fit baitcast and game reels , but nothing for spinning reels .

I keep all my rods in cloth bags when I travel , as the vibrations of a guide against a blank can wear weak spots in a graphite rod - then it breaks next time you use it and it goes back to some poor bugger for a warranty claim .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 304160

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 16:50

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 16:50
When the reels are new, I have stored them individually in a material draw string bag and then place them in a back pack I use specifically for fishing. In the side compartments are room for an LED torch or two and my bait/filleting knives.

They are always together when I need to put my hands on them and the back pack provides suitable storage and "transport" whether it be in the car, in the boat, or walking to the fishing spot.

I seldom experience tangles because I set up the tackle each time I go out.

The only problem I have is with a bait caster overhead reel which is a beauty, providing you remember to feather the spool with your thumb. Sometimes I forget and swear at it profusely when I end up with a birds nest. (It's never my fault)

My favourite though is the fly rod and reel. Simple construction.
Pity it's not quite so simple to "cast" but I have fun anyway and have caught the occasional trout (and a couple of other species) with this gear.

Bill.

AnswerID: 304174

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 16, 2008 at 17:00

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 17:00
"fly rod"...and just where do you go fly fishing in SA
FollowupID: 570250

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 22:49

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 22:49
Mate, I don't.

I believe you can fly fish for trout in SA but probably need to be a member of a club. Bugger that!

Have been to the Tongararo in NZ (Mecca for Trout Fishermen) and several places in Tassie.

Apart from that you can catch me at the local oval if I'm planning another fly fishing trip. Fly fishing can also be used in salt water.
Have tried it for Gar/Tommies but no luck so far.

Bill.

FollowupID: 570315

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 10:12

Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 10:12
nah you dont need to be a member of SAFFA...but it will assist in getting a chance to catch the bigger fish.

SAFFA stock nearly all suitable waters in SA including a few private dams. They have their own hatchery and get certfiied disease free eggs from tas/vic state hatcheries and grow them to siutable size before stocking.

it is not a catch and release club as most think, (cant bee seen to do that as its cruel by some sectors of the cummunity) and is certainly not clicky....after all they accepted me..lol. Also have their own fully furbished cottages north of adelaide for lenghty fishing trips.

SWMBO wont let me go to NZ anymore as she doesnt want to outfish me .....again

FollowupID: 570367

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 17:47

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 17:47
I just wrap mine in rags, but a rubber band around them and put them in an old camera case.
AnswerID: 304188

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 19:50

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 19:50
I thought the Idea was to Protect the Reel including rag to keep the dust,grit,sand etc etc out..Heavy Duty Plastic/Tin Container to stop other objects from hitting/falling on them...

Thats what i use anyway...Plus a sewer pipe(New lol) with caps on the end's for Rods and shorter one for my laminated maps....

AnswerID: 304205

Reply By: madfisher - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 20:47

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 20:47
The fly reels I do not have carry bags for I use old socks and pack them into a back pack
AnswerID: 304217

Reply By: Scorcher - Friday, May 16, 2008 at 22:24

Friday, May 16, 2008 at 22:24
Matt,

I throw each of mine inside a thick pair of sox. Then just put them somewhere where they don't get squished.

Seems to do the job.

Good thing is that, when I run out of sox, I have some spares in the fishing tackle box !!

Scorcher
AnswerID: 304240

Reply By: Barry 2 - Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 00:09

Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 00:09
Hi Matthew
I wrap mine in rags and pack tightly into a cheap plastic tool box traveled heaps of dusty corrugated roads without any issues
Safe Travels & Happy Fish'n
Bazza
AnswerID: 304264

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 01:02

Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 01:02
We use padded, zip up toilet bags. The type that we all get with smelly stuff on Fathers Day! Wrap them in a cloth first, then into the bag, then find a nook or cranny in the car somewhere. Cheers.

Roger B.
AnswerID: 304270

Reply By: bjnt - Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 13:54

Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 13:54
http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10151&catalogId=10001&langId=-1&partNumber=37513&hvarTarget=search&cmCat=SearchResults

Plano Reel Storage Case - outstanding for storing reels and electronics
AnswerID: 304324