Is there a decent camping gear store left in Sydney ?

Submitted: Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 10:25
ThreadID: 58213 Views:6958 Replies:11 FollowUps:17
I don't think so , but I hope somebody will tell me there is .

Last week I needed to buy three bases for tent poles - the type you use to prevent damage to the tent floor by poles and also to stop poles digging into soft ground .

I always used to get this stuff from Boots at Auburn . The girl there was puzzled by my description and could not find anything . Boots has been taken over by Rays Tent City and now sells clothes , BBQs , direct imported tents , fishing gear and packaged tit bits . Cross them off the list for the future .

So , I am off to the old dependable Kangaroo Tent City ,who have always been famous for their low end range of bits and pieces . They have a store at N.Parramatta so I head there with confidence . In the store I have a hard time locating the camping poles etc as I am lost in a jungle of outdoor clothes and BBQs . The staff cannot locate the pole bases and think maybe they don't sell that type of stuff any more . WOW , I am stuffed now .

Sitting in the car I review my options . Suddenly I remember the family run Thornliegh Camping Store . I am off with the speed of a thousand startled gazelles . I wheel into the street in Thornliegh , full of confidence to find a "For Lease" sign on the premises . WOW , I am double stuffed now .

I think I will have to get some aluminium ones made , as camping stores have disappeared as fast as the dinosaurs .

Hope somebody can let me know where there is still a live one in Sydney ,

Thanks ,

Willie .

Reply By: smifffy - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 10:49

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 10:49
willie,

i have not been there for years but use to go to a great camping store @ minchinbury.

from memory, on the great western hwy, not far, possbly across the road from maccas.

good luck.
AnswerID: 306905

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 15:29

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 15:29
Yep Budget camping, ask for simone, very helpful lady

Stefan

P.S they sponsor our 4WD club so I guess a bit of an affiliation

budget camping
FollowupID: 572804

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:15

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:15
Sniffy and Stefan ,
Thanks , I will go out and have a look .
Willie .
FollowupID: 572814

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 19:51

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 19:51
Willie,
Let mine be the third follow up. Budget Camping at Minchinbury, been looking after me for more than fifteen years. They started off selling from their home at Bidwell.
FollowupID: 572869

Follow Up By: smifffy - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 21:22

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 21:22
2nd to that willie,

check this outhttp://www.camping-r-us.com.au/

they are in qld!

they have a great website & i have dealt with them numerous times with great success! p & h is reasonable too.

i bought a swag online with them friday week ago & it was in the post the same day arrived interstate nsw central coast monday morning. fantastic!

any dramas ring em & they will sort it out.

cheers again...
FollowupID: 572876

Reply By: TimS - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 10:51

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 10:51
Hi Willie,

The Thornleigh camping store has moved just down the same street about 200M further north. The new premises are bigger but you may not have noticed it easily because the shopfront is set back from the road.

Rgds,
Tim
AnswerID: 306907

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 11:29

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 11:29
The bigger store is probably so they can stock clothes, BBQ's and fishing gear:-))

Sorry, just my warped humour!

FollowupID: 572774

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:17

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:17
Tim ,

Bugger ! I wish I had had a better look . I am away tomorrow , so I will check them out when I get back .

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 572816

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:20

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:20
Sandman ,

Such a cynic , but I fear you may be right .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 572818

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 11:07

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 11:07
Hi Willie
What about the guys up at Thornleigh....in Railway Street.

When are you off?
AnswerID: 306912

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:19

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:19
Baz ,

I am leaving at 5.00 am tomorrow morning . I guess you will be puffing away on the rowing machine at that time . I will email you when I get back .

Willie .
FollowupID: 572817

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 11:36

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 11:36
Willie,

If you have no luck with your quest, take a look at Discount Camping in SA. You can order on-line, or over the phone and they will deliver.

The pole foot/base is listed at $1.50 each, plus 0.20 delivery.

Discount Camping SA

Bill.

AnswerID: 306922

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 12:08

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 12:08
Hiya Billie

Ive often wondered how these guys are for business,Come across them a lot on my web surfing travels...I don't know if its the bright yellow/greeny page that gives me a shonky feel (funny aren't we humans or maybe just me)

You obviously recommend them ?????

Cheers Bud
FollowupID: 572779

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 12:43

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 12:43
Hi Warfer,

Yes, I would recommend them. They have been around for ages.

They moved about 12 months ago, to a larger premises about half a click up the road from where they had been ever since I can remember.

As they are in my general area, I visit the premises in person, but I have not heard of any problem with ordering/delivery over the web.

They seem to carry a reasonable cross section of stock and are one of the few camping companies where you can search for a article and see exactly what their asking price is.

Bill.

FollowupID: 572782

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:22

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:22
Thanks Sandman ,

I have bookmarked it for future use .

Willie .
FollowupID: 572819

Reply By: Member -Signman - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 12:58

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 12:58
Hi Willie
I use my jacking board under the centre pole in our S/Cross Tourer tent. Saves the pole going thru the floor- even tho it does have a reinforcemnt patch. And spreads the pressure so it doesn't dig into sandy ground !!

AnswerID: 306936

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:24

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:24
Dave ,

Do you use the board with the white lettering up or down ?

Willie .
FollowupID: 572821

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 13:01

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 13:01
Bro,

Go to your local supermarket. Buy three small tins of International Roast coffee. Tip the contents down the dunny (remember to flush - full ). Deposit the lids in the garbage and you have three bases to distribute weight evenly over your tent floor and stop digging into soft ground. Voile !!!

AnswerID: 306939

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:28

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:28
Brother ,

You could work for Womans Weekly with and idea like that . I might try cok cans as I will have a few of them .

I am off tomorrow , but I will let you know if I get a decent nugget or two , as I have bought a data pack and am using my Next G phone as a modem . All I need is coverage .

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 572822

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:29

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:29
Cok cans ? Fruedian slip !
FollowupID: 572823

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:36

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 16:36
LOL you take it easy on the Coke Bro. I was going to suggest Anaconda or BCF on Parramatta Rd at Lidcombe/Auburn respectively but can't remember seeing that sort of thing at either store previously.

FollowupID: 572828

Reply By: Pyro 1 - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 20:26

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 20:26
Willie,
Sorry to hear of your dramas mate but Thornliegh camping store has relocated 5 doors down the road (north). They moved around 6 months ago. They did have a sign on the old premises for some time. Buy the way Harry still owns it and its still operated in the same old manor.
Graeme
AnswerID: 307009

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:57

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:57
yep, you can't miss the green and gold bunting....

anyway, what's wrong with some old tennis balls to protect the flooring? puncture them, punch the poles into them, no worries.
FollowupID: 573053

Reply By: Member - Sheepie (NSW) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 21:44

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 21:44
Hi Willie - we've found BCF (Beer - err I mean - Boating Camping and Fishing) to be really good for most of this stuff. Have a large store on P. road, Auburn - in the same building as Officeworks.

I know for a fact they have what you describe - down the very back of the store :)
AnswerID: 307021

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 11:39

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 11:39
Hey Willie

There used to be one in Trelawney St Eastwood near Rowe St.

AnswerID: 307311

Follow Up By: Member - 25Left - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 23:26

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 23:26
"Eastwood Camping" - disappeared years ago. :( :(
Jase
FollowupID: 573271

Reply By: Member - David B (NSW) - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 13:29

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 13:29
Not in Sydney, but Warners Bay Camping near Newcastle are well equipped with actual camping gear. They have two other stores in the Newcastle district

https://secure.kcmsystems.com.au/index.php?pageId=4447
AnswerID: 307321

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:39

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:39
If you want Coleman stuff at a good price their service centre is just across the road from Budget in the shopping complex at Minchinbury.
AnswerID: 307450