Who said "Speed Kills"??

Submitted: Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:02
ThreadID: 59021 Views:4777 Replies:20 FollowUps:34
Since the speed reduction restrictions were placed in the NT- fatal road accidents have RISEN by 40%..!!
While in all other states there has been a decline in fatals !!

Reply By: pjd - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:05

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:05
the same thing happens all around the world
when they put in speed cameras & lower speed limits
the death toll rises but no one seems to learn!!
AnswerID: 311165

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:09

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:09
We spent last November driving through many countries in Europe, Most of the people drive like crazy, even in countries that have similar speed limits to us. Most drive well over the limits, just slowing for the fixed cameras, just like a game. On our way home, we concluded that speed does NOT kill. We did not see an accident or mishap in 10,000ks.. Its lack of judgement of drivers and their general lack of skill in a sticky situation that kills. Michael
AnswerID: 311167

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:22

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:22
"Its lack of judgement of drivers and their general lack of skill in a sticky situation that kills." Spot on Michael. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 577155

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:25

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:25
Congratulations...one of the few who understand the reality of our driving regulations.

N.T. road speeds - used to be excellent, to be able to cruise on 140klm ( conditions suitable ) up there - always got where I wanted to go BEFORE the micro sleeps kicked in.

" Speed Kills "....only according to the taxman....A road safety EXPERT ( or a thinker ) would say Dangerous Driving Kills.
FollowupID: 577158

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:41

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:41
Poor decisions and stupidity will kill more people but that can't help revenue so we blame speed.Speed can only kill you if you hit something.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 577163

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:44

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:44
So true.....
My maths teacher told us once in yr 12 that its not that P platers are 'bad' drivers, its that they are inexperienced.
FollowupID: 577229

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:20

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:20
I have found as some one else said on here the other day you seem to daydream more when taking it REAL easy then when you are doing the speed limits you seem to be, should I say more alert due to the extra speed. Now before anyone jumps Im not saying that we should be speeding. Look at the stats in Europe, outobahns (spelling) etc where they have big speed limits. Yes when they have big accidents it normally envolves alot more vehicles but in general there stats say it all. Problem here is you have (some) P platers who think they have been driving for years and are so experianced they think they know how to handle any situation at any speed, you have some people who travel into country area's have never driven country roads before who hoot along well over the speed limits then come unstuck due to soft shoulders on the road edges, ruts, etc and DONT slow down. Even when we went through the NT years back we still only sat on about 110/120 heaps quick enough and we had people passing us like we were standing still. Im not saying I never speed or a goody goody and dont break the law. Also I think these days that newer vehicles are so quit and most can easily do well above the speed limit that the new vehicles give a lot of people a false sense of security with abs, traction control, airbags,stability control, etc that they think it wont happen to me. Peter Brock for example !!!! brillant driver knew the road but still unfortunately come to an end. Regards steve M
AnswerID: 311173

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:29

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:29
Mate.

There is no such thing as speeding.( except for revenue )

There is driving over the posted limit and there is dangerous driving. Fines and punishments should be adjusted accordingly IMHO.
FollowupID: 577159

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:56

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:56
Some of the sign posted speed limits are ridiculous. M2 here in Sydney, some of it 90klms where you could do 120 no problems, the pacific highway 100klms where you should be doing 70/80 due to the bend or the crappy piece of road at the time. There are so many places where the speed signs are incorrect its not funny. NT even though I was only doing 110/120 at the time had I had a better vehicle with more power 130/140 would have been ok to. Problem is people dont drive to the conditions, slippery, wet, foggy and they still want to do 110 crazy stuff. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 577165

Reply By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:32

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 11:32
Signman
Yep, you can make bare statistics say anything you want.

tessa
AnswerID: 311175

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:24

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:24
A few years back there was a study paid for by the then State Government on road fatalities. It was conducted by a well regarded European company.

The basis of their finding was to have safety corridors between the sealed surface and the property lines (country areas and to a lesser extent urban areas) with no structure or obstacles within a set distance. For memory it was a significant distance of (guessing) 20-25 metres.

If you look at most fatals it involves a vehicle colliding with a solid object - be it road signs, trees, fences etc. The Government looked into it briefly and I can only guess that the cost would have scared them off. The cost of relocating ALL power poles only, let alone convincing the greens to cut trees down along the highways would have seen their political demise.

Bottom line is it costs a lot of money to reduce the road toll - why not just chase revenue from speeding motorists?

To surmise - it's not speeding, or dare I say dangerous driving, that kills - it is the sudden impact with a fixed object (not including head ons obviously).

Tim
AnswerID: 311184

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:48

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:48
Tim,

Well, but question still remains – why car went off the road and collide with (say) pole? Official answer because of excessive speed, while mine (as many other’s here) because of luck of concentration and skills (including poor assessing car’s ability to perform in given condition).

Serg
FollowupID: 577175

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:50

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:50
NB. What really p11s me of that perception that only “legal” or “posted” speed is safe speed. As been notice above – plenty of places where sign says 100 km/hr, but it nowhere safe even doing 80.
FollowupID: 577176

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:50

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 12:50
There is absolutely no way that you can draw any correlation between the introduction of speed restrictions in NT and the number of fatal road accidents. The decline in other states may (MAY) be as a result of less vehicles travelling on the roads, greater Police presence, increased enforcement of road traffic laws including drink and drug driving etc. I challenge you to substantiate your inference and prove that a reduction in speed limits in NT has contributed to an increase in fatal accidents.

Dead is dead HOWEVER I would much rather be in a vehicle that looses control at 100 km/ph than anything much greater than that thank you. In fact I prefer not to be in any vehicle that looses control particularly on a road.

Unfortunately many of those that choose to drive at high speeds simply don't have the necessary skills or even experience. Just have a look at the number of high speed chases (every night in most cities) involving Police. Most end in for the offenders. A combination of excessive speed, inexperience, to judge and recognise danger or dangerous situations and usually a complete lack of fear and responsibility.

No one will ever convince me that it is safe for vehicles to travel along the same road at vastly differing (read high speed) speeds. There are just too many uncontrollable and unforeseen factors at play. For example, road conditions, driver inexperience, wandering wildlife, grazing stock, dust, rain, fog etc are likely causes of collisions and so often deaths on our roads.

In NT to compare road deaths with any other state is ridiculous as the volume of traffic is so vastly different. Any death on the road anywhere as the result of vehicle collision is one death too many. Any legislation that restricts drivers from speeding or other dangerous actions is one means of controlling irresponsible driver behaviour and hopefully reducing the carnage occurring regularly on our roads.

The basic principles applying to road safety are uniformity and the control of speed, with road rules, vehicle road worthiness, driver attitude and well designed and maintained roads. There would not (NOT) be one Govt. brave enough to stand up and tell it's constituents that by increasing speed limits on the roads and allowing drivers to act with complete indifference and consideration of others will reduce road deaths and other trauma.
Try telling it to the parents, spouses, children of those that have lost loved ones as the result of poor choices made by so many irresponsible and arrogant drivers who have caused the death of innocent parties by their unforgivably bad driving. Why not try fronting up at the ED of any major metropolitan hospital and just experiencing the pain and anguish, loss and suffering of Nurses, Doctors, family and friends of those victims fighting for life and so often loosing that fight.

You are entitled to an opinion. To any opinion whatsoever, however if you are going to make such confronting statements in relation to a subject that has and will continue to impact on so many families throughout or country, then you could at least substantiate your claims with some FACTS. Cheap headlines and throw-away statements or comments do nothing to add to the values of human life so often lost on our roads.
AnswerID: 311190

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:11

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:11
Geeeeeeez- what's that all about??
Thank you for entitling me to have an opinion- however, my post is just a statement based on statistics, or facts, or whatever you wish to call it.
Not necessarily my opinion.
I may be just a coincidence that the fatal MVAs increased so dramatically in line with the speed reduction ??

On a serious note- if there is a personnal connection with this subject- I do apologize.

FollowupID: 577182

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 15:28

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 15:28
So where do yo live DIO?
Sounds like you know a lot about the speed related deaths in the NT.....
FollowupID: 577424

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:49

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:49
Well written DIO

"Person who drive like hell bound to get there sooner"

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 577438

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:05

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:05
What amazes me is whan i got my license in 1973, there were signs everywhere that were derestricted zones(a sign with a circle and a line crossing the circle from memory) . Basically you could do any speed you like over the NSW state limit of 60 mph, as long as you could prove you were driving safely if something went wrong or you were pulled up by police. Over the years i have seen the same places, limits come down to as low as 60 kph.
In those days, old 66 Falcons and HR holder were still plentiful and the handling and stopping was pathetic.. So whats happened, we have much safer cars, seat belts, ABS, vehicle stability and better tyres and we have very slow speed limits compared to years ago.
I just dont get it.. A few months ago, heading south and taking the off ramp for Mittagong exit from the Hume Horrorway, i find the sign changed from 100 down to 80kph, I have been travelling that off ramp for the last 12 years and have never seen an accident so what is the thinking behind all of this? Are we being asked to cater for the lowest common denominator on the road?? Michael
AnswerID: 311191

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:18

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:18
Hi Michael,
"In the beautiful Southern Highlands" ..!!!!
We're at the northern tip of the Southern Highlands.
The most Southern village in Wollondilly Shire..

FollowupID: 577183

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:32

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:32
HHMMM ! I owned a 25 acre property in Alpine until few years ago,, cant get much north than that!! Somewhere around there i guess.. Anywhere in the highlands is nice but not much there for kids.. My 12 yo son told me the other day that Bowral is where the elephants go to die LOL!! Michael
FollowupID: 577185

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:36

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:36
Yanderra...
About 50 years behind the rest of the country- still tank water and decimal currency is coming soon !!

FollowupID: 577186

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:50

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:50
Yanderra hasnt changed much i know, Pity they cant get that little gereral store open, i think it was brand new about 15 years ago and i think it was robbed a few times so he closed it not long after it was opened. The same guy that owns the Yerrinbool general store owned it , maybe not anymore. Michael
FollowupID: 577187

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:00

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:00
Michael,

Now (comparing to good old days) way too many idiots sitting behind the wheel. Their aim (government and manufactures) is to give all idiots cars. They pay for it, for rego, for fuel etc. As result of being too many idiots on the road they introduce silly rules, because otherwise those idiots can not use our roads. Do not even think to suggest to remove those idiots – they bring way too much revenue! As result of making road rules for idiots, normal driver will suffer. It is like this everywhere – idiots always better cared for.

Serg
FollowupID: 577190

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:03
Good point Serg! Here in NSW, the Govt want more people to use the neglected, run down train service in Sydney Let it be the idiots that support it!! Michael
FollowupID: 577192

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:06

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:06
The only claim to fame at Yanderra is that it was a hang out for bush rangers-
and that the railway pay bus was bailed up in 1941...

FollowupID: 577193

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:08

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 13:08
"There's no such thing as a dangerous road..........if you're going SLOW enough" Said to me by my grandfather 30+ years ago when I first got my licence. He worked on construction of most of Tassie's original Midlands Highway.Advice never forgotten.
AnswerID: 311192

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:00

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:00
And what a job that would be, working outdoors in the Midlands of Tasmania! A fantastic spot!! Michael
FollowupID: 577191

Follow Up By: landed eagle - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:39

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:39
Yep! He loved it. Hard yakka 45+ years ago, living in mobile cabins through winter. Was great as a kid to see him come home to nan's, if he was close enough, driving a huge road grader to take us for a spin. Of course that would obviously be far too much fun and far too dangerous to allow these days :(
FollowupID: 577291

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:03

Speeding really gets a bad rap, it is never really the problem. the problem is almost always the sudden stop after....

Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 311202

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:03

haha - a redneck speeders post. Good bait signman.

Look at em all come out of the woodwork and try and justify their speeding - what a crack up!!!

AnswerID: 311203

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 15:03
I dont think anyone has tried to justify speeding, only that speed is only one factor. Michael
FollowupID: 577205

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:13

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:13
I thought "Friday Funnies" were to be resticted to one thread,
surely this post & most of the answers is meant to be a joke, if not it is hard to believe that so many morons could gather in one place.

In Victoria, even with huge increases in vehicles on the road, the road toll continues to fall, it wasn't many years ago that we had well over 1000 fatalities in a single year, now it is around 300 ...... WHY??
AnswerID: 311206

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:33

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:33
I dunno, WHY?? - is this a trick question ??

FollowupID: 577199

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:49

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 14:49
In Victoria they book you for 2 ks over the limit, tell me that saves lives!! Safer cars has contributed to a lower road toll, Safety features started in the late 60's, seat belts, collapsing steering, crumple zones,radial tyres Think of the most recent safety features, mutiple airbags, ABS, Stability control, the list goes on. Drivers are still having accidents and surviving higher speed crashes. Many occupants died at very low speed crashes in the past.. Drive past the big wrecking yards, they are full of written off late model cars. Better roads and safer cars are saving lives by the 100's. I agree we need reasonable speed limits enforced and that would be agreed upon by most i would think.

Michael
FollowupID: 577201

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:25

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:25
The fact that the road toll in Victoria was about 1000 in 1970 might also have something to do with the roads were cr%p and there no freeways.
FollowupID: 577286

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:25

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 20:25
Correct Steve, But thats the point, some drivers dont drive to the conditions, they dont see the danger!! Yep, most states had bad roads and there are still plenty around but like someone said, we must cater for the worst drivers otherwise the death toll would be much higher. Michael
FollowupID: 577306

Reply By: F4Phantom - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:49

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:49
I did read somewhere that the gov misleads people in speeding stats. Example, if a car crashes and they look at the weather and its raining or dark, the car may have crashed at 60kph in a 60 zone, or it may have crashed at 50kph in a 60 zone, but if someone decides that 60 or 50 was to fast, the crash is put down into the stats as speeding. This is a lie to the people if its true.

I also read the govs in the past who have started wars, started with changing names for things to suit their own purposes. Eg the vic gov does not call them speed cameras, they renamed them safety cameras even though the evidence that they are actually safety cameras is not there. This is also misleading. I am not actually saying our gov wants to start a war!! I am only observing as others have that this practice of deception is not a good one and I for one do not support it.
AnswerID: 311244

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:20

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:20
One would imagine that if they were indeed "safety cameras", then the position of them would be well advertised, similar to the fixed (and correctly labelled, IMHO)"speed cameras" in NSW.

FollowupID: 577249

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:32

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:32
I didnt know they did that in NSW but I did know in England the police put up signs advertising the fact even on car based systems. This means the motorists can choose to slow down if they wish and so stopping accidents by slowing cars rather than having angry people 4 weeks later opening an envelope and vowing to destory the current gov.
FollowupID: 577253

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:51

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 16:51
Here are some extensive and real fact and figures for those prepared to plough through them rather than just accepting simple slogans,
speed may not be the demon some suggest:

Road Casualties, Great Britain: 2006

AnswerID: 311246

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:03

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:03
Mike, with all due respect, I don't think British statistics are very relevant, although I suppose a hedgehog could jump out in front of you.
There are many variables in Australia that are less likely in the UK, such as wombats, kangaroos, wallabies, unfenced or poorly fenced farmland, speed is definitely relevant if the driver is forced to react in a 'situation'.
FollowupID: 577244

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:15

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:15
Hi Shaker

I believe the majority of vehicle accidents in Oz occur in the metropolitan areas and it's been a while since I saw a roo around Chadstone :)

Country accidents, I think?, are mainly single vehicle accidents and, although I can't put my finger on the stats from the Vic Auditor General I was looking at last night, it's a fair bet most of them are down to tiredness or loss of concentration.

I suggest the UK report is relevant - have a look, it's a comprehensive document.

FollowupID: 577246

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:05

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:05
Mike, single car accidents are indicative of loss of control, even if concentration or tiredness are a contributing factor, the faster they are travelling at that time will impact on the result.
FollowupID: 577280

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:43

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:43
Speed kills! Well if you were doing 1 kph instead of 100 kph the likelihood of death from an incident would be less. Perhaps the likelihood of an incident occurring in a given situation increases as speed increases above a certain threshold. And as the amount of energy dissipated in an incident increases with the square of the speed, going faster leads to more damaging incidents. So yes - Speed does kill.

But wait. If speed kills how come planes can barrel down the runway at 300 kph in relative safety? And how come there are very few fatalities on the racetracks?

It is far more complex than 'Speed Kills'. Its a slogan picked up by brainless politicians, bureaucrats and police who sponge off motorists for the revenue that pays them.

The dead, injured and bereaved deserve a far more honest analysis of road safety than we currently get.
AnswerID: 311264

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:46

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 17:46
Well said.
FollowupID: 577259

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 18:57

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 18:57
Yep hit the nail on the head... another point is a $500,000 Ferrari has to stick to the same speed limit as a semi so their braking distance and handling must be the same or they would have different speed limits, wouldn't they?

Everyone know its all just for money lives don`t matter
FollowupID: 577276

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:13

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:13
>Everyone know its all just for money lives don`t matter

Quite correct.

iirc 1580 killed on the roads last year.

2100 died by suicide - 80% of them males.

Compare the money and effort put into the "Road Safety Industry" (and make no mistake: it _is_ an industry in Oz - lots of people have made lucrative careers from it) against that put into suicide prevention or mens psychological health.

Of course it's a little difficult to gain millions of dollars of revenue from people who fail at suicide attempts.

FollowupID: 577283

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 00:06

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 00:06
Mike, If those numbers are right it would say it all.......
the other question would be why is there no speed limit on most of the Autobahn in Germany? Don't they know about statistics? or do we get told to much bull??
I red an back in the 80's as a response why the Germans don't do what the rest of Europe does......the response was that numbers have proven that very few accidents are caused by high speed and more people get hurt of killed by falling asleep at the wheel.......

Reiner
FollowupID: 577356

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:31

Friday, Jun 20, 2008 at 19:31
Lack of judgement kills!!!!

On Wednesday, going home, I stopped at the lights on Nerang-Broadbeach Road at the Ross St intersection. I picked the inside lane which left me at the front next to a Holden Rodeo Ute on my right with two more lanes further across. I knew that my lane would run out in 400 metres so when the lights went green I was away quickly and eventually moved right using the merge lines well in front of the Rodeo. A quick glance in my side mirror had told me I was well ahead of the Rodeo. I also noticed in my mirrors that as he took off his rear end was sliding around on the greasy surface.

A few seconds later I again used my side mirror to see this guy barrelling up on my rear at a far faster speed than I was travelling (80 kph - the limit) and thought he was going to rear end me. Within two metres of my bumper he pulled out to pass, lost total control, skidded left, right, hit the median strip, crossed it, rolled twice and hit the oncoming lane from a height of two metres taking out the back of a Honda CVR.

The results can be viewed inside the Thursday edition of the Gold Coast Bulletin. He's in hospital but hopefully OK. He could have been killed and so could have drivers in the west bound lane who don't expect to see a vehicle barrell rolling towards them from the east bound lane.

The bottom line is that as he took off from the lights he already had traction problems but he continued on regardless and made what could have been a fatal mistake. I am just perplexed that someone could drive like this unless they were bleep or on drugs or both.

What I'm saying is it isn't speed that kills but poor judgement and poor driving skills. You've got a lot of people around who think that they are good drivers who aren't even close to it and as we all know, familiarity breeds contempt.
AnswerID: 311285

Reply By: motor_head - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 02:32

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 02:32
Hmmmm road safety hey, when i was young and silly and a new license holder i lost many mates (and mates of mates, if ya know what i mean) , seriously i cant even remember how many and honestly i think i should have been amongst the dead but somehow i survived, in my opinion now all learners should be made to do a defensive driveing course and made to watch a graphic movie on road accidents, to me the license laws they have in QLD at the moment are nothing more than a waste of time for everyone.
AnswerID: 311347

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:51

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 10:51
The governments use speed as an excuse to make people believe what they are doing is right.

When they use the words "speed was a contributing factor in the accident" or "speeding" or "excessive speed" it makes people think that these people were breaking the law.

Take for example if there was a accident in a 60Kph zone, the words SPEED, SPEEDING and EXCESSIVE SPEED would mean...

SPEED - A vehicle that is traveling between 0 Kph and 60 Kph in a 60 Kph zone.

SPEEDING - A vehicle that is traveling between 0 Kph and 60 Kph in a 60 Kph zone but the conditions are classed as dangerous whereby you can not travel safely at 60 Kph.

EXCESSIVE SPEED - A vehicle traveling over 60 Kph in a 60 Kph zone.

It's a play on words.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 311412

Reply By: Member - Richard K (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 13:11

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 13:11
A mate 's brother who was a highway patrolman said to me once that "speed doesn't kill, idiocy does" and he wasn't happy with the side of his job that had to book people driving very safe cars on safe roads in a very safe manner.

I've always put the scenario to people about a person on "green P's" (100kmh limit in nsw) driving a 25 year old rustbucket with barely legal tyres, clapped out suspension, dodgy brakes etc along the Bell's Line of Road (or any piece of fast twisting road) at night in a rainstorm. Compare that to a driver with 30-40 years experience (perhaps 50000km per year?), maybe with some club level racing/rallying under his belt, driving a late model Merc?BMW etc with excellent tyres, ABS and the like and he is sitting on 120kmh on a 110kmh freeway in broad daylight, not a cloud in the sky.

q1) who is at the biggest risk of causing an accident?
q2) who is the person "speeding" and therefore deserves to cop a fine and lose points?
AnswerID: 311436

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 15:58
I was talking to a mate (NT Snr Sargent, Accident investigator and member of the road safety council) about the speed limit before it all changed.
He agreed a speed limit will do nothing!
The idiots who drive at 200km will do it weather there is a speed limit or not and there has always been a law about driveing with undue care.
And as far as stats go...they can make them say whatever they want them to.
We looked at the stats for that year, what was classed by the government pushing the speed limit issue as speed related was a crock.
If you deducted the accidents involving grog, no seatbelts and under 130km there was bugger all.

AnswerID: 311450

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:54

Saturday, Jun 21, 2008 at 16:54
Signman

In the NT due to the low population there is a small number of deaths in comparison to the states and therefore it does not take a large number of death to cause an increase in the statistics.

A statistic which is more accurate is the number of serious injury accidents.

For information the number of fatal accident Australia wide was reduced with the introduction of RBT.

It was also reduced with the introduction of speed cameras.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 311462