Spare on roof-------Entire tyre and rim or just the tyre carcass

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:22
ThreadID: 59207 Views:5364 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
Hello, Another question in regard to Simpson trip.
I have the knowledge to take a tyre off a rim with tyre levers and rubber mallet and know of ways and means to break the bead also have a tyre repair plug kit.
The question is, with the weight of the 16" Jackaroo steel rim and the BFG AT KO being very heavy, would I get away with just carrying the BFG carcass on the roof racks.
Would it be unlikely in peoples opinion to suffer two flats between repair facilities that I could not repair.
Peoples oppinions please.
William

another piece of string question I know!!!!!
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:40

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 07:40
I reckon keep the weight on your roof to a minimum. For my Canning/Kimberley trip I had the normal spare plus a spare tyre (no rim) on the roofrack. Took heaps of tyre repair plugs for the 'normal' punctures plus a full tyre changing & tyre repair (patches etc) kit. My only concern was that I had alloy rims & knew that if I did have to replace a tyre on a rim that i might damage the rim with the tyre levers (which i did have to & now have some minor scoring on the inside edge of one rim!)
AnswerID: 312278

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:29

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:29
Thanks Drew,
Weight is a concern, especially because of the small fuel tank in the Jackaroo I have to carry 2 jerry cans as well.
William

FollowupID: 578310

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:00

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:00
Good idea with the tube in the case ..... thanks!
FollowupID: 578325

Follow Up By: downtools - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:46

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 20:46
g'day Drew,

I also have alloy rims on the Nissan.
Our local wheel and tyre supplier gave me a few rim protectors.
Apparantly, when they receive their new rims they are packed with these hard plastic rim protectors that stop the wheel getting damaged if they are dropped during transit. Just slip them over the front edge of the rim to stop any damage when using the tyer levers. Works for me.
Cheers Nifty
FollowupID: 578402

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:12

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:12
I've only ever carried a second spare tyre case on the roof.
Usually put a tube in it with a few pounds of air to keep the dirt out as well.
Just remember to check the ratchet strap at regular intervals as sometimes the tyre on its own will squash and become loose on the rack.
AnswerID: 312283

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:30

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:30
Hi traveller2,
the inflated inner tube sounds a good idea.
William

FollowupID: 578311

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:13

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 08:13
If you have the equipment to change a tyre- and the competancy to use it- then just the case !!
But at least give it a go before the trip to be sure everything works, including enough air to reseat the bead.
We have just the case, and out round 'Jackaroo' brand bbq fits nicely inside the tyre...

AnswerID: 312284

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:32

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:32
Hi Signman,
Good point about the compressor, I have one that inflates ok but will have to check how it goes reseating a tyre on the rim.
William

FollowupID: 578312

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:10

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:10
Yeah, definitely just the carcass. You would give yourself a hernia or worse, trying to lift the whole wheel up there.

Look on the positive side mate. I carried a spare second carcass in the trailer on a trip through the Centre, to the top end and back on many dirt roads and never received one puncture. (Murphy's Law)

Bill.

AnswerID: 312295

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:35

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:35
G'Day Bill,
Your right about the weight of the thing, I busted a valve putting it on the roof to test the positioning of the thing.
You had to mention Murphy didnt you, now I know I will be in trouble.
William

FollowupID: 578314

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:34

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:34
for quite a while we had the spare Cooper up on the roof of the landcruiser (it was 285 x 75 x 16....so not little!).....it took both Nathan and I to get it off when we needed to.....but for the trip had a wheel carrier on.

But if you can just put the rubber on the roof and keep the weight down - Id do that.....!

Sounds like all your planning is coming along!
AnswerID: 312297

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:40

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:40
Hi Kiwi & "Grenade"
The weight factor is starting to cause me some concern.
I dont think the Jackaroo's roof is rated much for weight, and by neccesity we have to carry a bit on the roof any way.
Including the Black Wolf Turbo 240 you recommended so highly.
Planning is progressing well, I have 2 days off work before we head off so plenty of time to panic then.
William

FollowupID: 578316

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:55

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 09:55
If you are only carrying a tyre hang it on the bull bar as soon as you away from the big smoke.

AnswerID: 312303

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:43

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:43
Hello Kiwi Kia,
The Jackaroo is a TD and needs all the air it can get.
Mind you if we have to travell in the evening it wouldnt be a bad idea to stick the tyre on the front for a extra bouncy bullbar. LOL
William

FollowupID: 578319

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:02

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:02
I have done 2 trips in 2 years over 12000 km, I put a spare on the roof for the car and one for the trailer both with rims, As Murphy would have it you will need to change it at the most in opportune time and the last thing you would want to do is change a tyre onto a rim.

Wind drag is wind drag a few extra kgs isn't going to hurt.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 312305

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:46

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:46
Hi Steve,
Bugger, everyone keeps on mentioning Murphy, you can keep him for yourself.
Your right though it never happens at a good time.
William

FollowupID: 578320

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:20

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 10:20
On my late Jackaroo [ http://users.picknowl.com.au/~darian/JackCampo ] I carried a tyre case, a long handled shovel and a PVC tube for fishing rods - fairly light overall - the low profile Rola racks were quite happy. We carry the basic tyre changing hardware but haven't had to use it yet. BFG wins again ! :-o)...............
AnswerID: 312308

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:51

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:51
Hi Darian,
I have the Rhino platform rack on mine.
Touch wood I have never had a puncture with BFG's.
Allways a first time.
Looks like just the case for me.
Just had a thought, less weight on the roof more weight in the car eg. a case of BEER.
William

FollowupID: 578321

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:36

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 15:36
Yep - the BFG's have been very (very) good to us on our bush trips (but they were probably only repaying our very good treatment of them in the first place :-o) - the Cruiser we have now came with Coopers but I'll probably end up on BFG next time - why change a formula that works for us ?
FollowupID: 578518

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:40

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 16:40
Exactly the reasoning behind me sticking with the BFG's.
Tyre dealer was very keen on me getting some Coopers but I thought i have never had a problem with the GFG's so why change.
William

FollowupID: 578533

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:01

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:01
While I dont disagree with carrying just a case, I would personally take the complete wheel. In the event of getting two punctures ,or worse damage, you can at least bung on the 2nd one & maybe camp at the place of your choice, rather than have
to effect repairs where the problem occurs. I dont think the extra
weight of one steel rim outweighs the convenience of a quick change & keep rolling. Your choice of course....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 312314

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:54

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:54
G'day Oldbaz,
Its the combined weight of the tyre and rim thats a concern.
The 245/70/16 all terrains and the steel rim wiegh a ton plus the 2 filled jerries when actually crossing the Simpson.
William

FollowupID: 578323

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:08

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 23:08
I think people worry to much about what they put on the roof and not eneough about driving to the road and vehicle conditions
I safely carried 6 x jerricans, 2 x 285/75/16 tyes and rims, 4kg gas bottle and a box of recovery /spares etc etc all on a steel roofrack over the cape, kimberly, simpson etc . this was in an 80 series lc. in the old 60 series I carried a 10 ft tinny and outboard as well right around the gulf and back home thru the centre.

now I tow a CT instead.

a 285/75/16 tyre on a std 8' toyota rim weighs 33 kgs

a full jerrycan is 20 kg so your combination(Tyre/rim and 2 jerries)would only max out about 70 kg.

BTW you would not believe how much lighter a flat tyre feels against one with 50 psi when you are lifting them on and off the roof.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 578442

Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:02

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:02
We got two flats on day one of our Simpson crossing, so yes it is easy enough to get several flats. The chances are that they will be repairable with a plug though. You need to watch the load limits for the roof in a Jack so off rim would be a benifit. It really depends on what else is up there I suppose. The dunes are fairly steep and some are crossed on an angle so I would try to limit roof weight anyway.

AnswerID: 312315

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:57

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 16:57
Hi Steve,
As mentioned earlier I will have a bit on the roof allready.
So I think just the tyre will be the go.
I suppose I will trust to luck and hope if I do get a flat I can plug it.
William

FollowupID: 578324

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:07

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:07
It'll be the third puncture that stops you dead and FORCES a tyre repair. To have three terminal punctures in succession is pretty long odds for normal bush touring.

It's the second puncture that forces a tyre change. Often this will mean carrying a punctured tyre to your overnight stop - or to a convenient place or time. I repair in the cool of the day.

Carried two extra tyres without rims for a while and have never NEEDED them - though occasionally they allowed me the convenience to find a town that supplies the right tyre. (BFGs are popular - but not that popular.)

I have never carried a etra rim on the roof - too difficult to get it up there - and getting off the roof can be even more troublesome especially for couple travelling solo.

AnswerID: 312316

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:05

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:05
Hi Chris,
I suppose on the roads leading up to the start of the desert crossing there will be places to get a tyre or repairs done.
Its the thought of getting stuck in the middle of Woop Woop which is a worry.
I suppose having the ability to repair a tyre would take off some of the pressure.
I could be wrong but I imagine it would be very unlikely to get a tyre wrecking puncture once in the Desert.
William

FollowupID: 578327

Reply By: TrevorDavid- Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:59

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 11:59
William, I carry two complete spares ( Allthough not on the roof ), allso tubes & plugs etc. I think i read that you are travelling with other blokes so they would / should be able to help you get it on & off the roof if this is a problem. If you have little else on the roof carry a complete second spare, just be mindfull of the weight on top.

TDB
dontyajustluvit

AnswerID: 312325

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:09

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:09
Hi TDB,
I will be travelling with my wife and teenage daughter and my 78 year old Dad and his wife.
Dads too old and my wife is vertically challenged, so it would be up to me.
I am not looking forward to lifting possibly up to 30 kilos.
I think the tyre only is the way to go.
William

FollowupID: 578328

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 13:25

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 13:25
A worn 265/75 BFG muddie weighs 17kg.
A 16x7 steel rim weighs 12kgs. Up to you.

I've done about a dozen trips into and around the Simpson Desert, and with groups of up to 12 vehicles, and we have yet to have a puncture on the common tracks between Oodnadatta and Birdsville. Its the tracks to and from the desert that can kill tyres - if you travel too fast, are overloaded and run tyre pressures too high, you'll puncture tyres.

In a group where you can share spares, then a single spare is often OK. But if travelling on your own, you need two.
AnswerID: 312336

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 13:43

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 13:43
Hi Phil..
"In a group where you can share spares, then a single spare is often OK"
Not having a go but- ever tried fitting a 5 stud 100series wheel, onto a 6 stud 75 series...

FollowupID: 578289

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 14:05

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 14:05
Fair enough :-)))

But we look at what vehicles are going.
If someone wants to take just the one spare, then we look at what is compatible in the group. Most 6 stud rims are interchangable (Toyota/Nissan/Jackaroo). Tyres are easily swapped between 5 and 6 stud rims. Most people I travel with these days are on 265/75 or 235/85 or 750R16 tyres, and drive Toyotas. And punctures are uncommon.
FollowupID: 578290

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:12

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:12
Agree Phil with the one spare but only when using quality tyres with plenty of tread. With tubeless tyres one has to totally destroy 2 to be stuck & in reality the vast majority are simply plugged these days.
As for fitting a 5 stud wheel on a 6 stud it's simple, just swap the tyres on the rims. Problems only start to arise when trying to fit a 17" on a 16" ;-))
As I've mentioned before in 27 odd years I've only ever destroyed 2 tyres beyond repair & with the vast improvement in the rubber I run on now I'd have more chance of winning Tatts than wrecking 2 between towns where I can get a repair done.
2 spares are now carried for cross country runs & going solo.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 578329

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:14

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 17:14
Hi Phil G,
Good point about the other vehicle.
Dad has just brought himself a new Prado.
If I remember correctly they have 17" rims, I will check the stud pattern, if we get stuck if the pattern is the same I suppose we could use each others spare.
William

FollowupID: 578330

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:12

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 19:12
William,
Yep definitely worth trying it out. Stud pattern is the same, and offset is similar. I'd expect that your 16inch Jackaroo wheels won't fit over the front calipers on the Prado, and maybe not the rear. Maybe the Prado wheels will fit the Jackaroo, but then you may get into trouble with wheelnuts - I assume the Prado has mags.

Craig,
I think experience counts for a lot. I know a few people who have flattened 3 tyres in a day, and usually on their first 4wd trip to somewhere like the Flinders. They are usually running Grandtreks at full pressure and 100kph. After that they learn the lesson, and rarely have a problem.
FollowupID: 578365

Reply By: chris_s - Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 18:14

Thursday, Jun 26, 2008 at 18:14
I also just carry tyre on the roof rack. I have 270/65-17 and can't physically lift 42Kg (tyre and steel rim) over my head and stretch over 2 metres to put this on the rack. This weight would also kill my roof rack (with the extra gear on top). I use the Beadbreaker so don't damage rims. I fit the extra steel rim (use steel just in case I smash an alloy rim) secured inside my vehicle and carry a couple of extra tubes (for emergency) as well.
AnswerID: 312381

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:34

Friday, Jun 27, 2008 at 17:34
having had steelies and alloys I now have a spare set of Sunraysias - a fair bit lighter than the alloys I had. I put the rim and tyre up top but hardly anything else.
AnswerID: 312579