Gunbarrel highway questions...

Submitted: Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:40
ThreadID: 59370 Views:5861 Replies:13 FollowUps:23
Hi there, Richard Lundgrens wife here - Tracy.
Just feeling a tad nervous about our upcoming trip (in a months time) as we are traveling alone with the two youngest kids...
We will be going across the Gunbarrel Highway. Not the abandoned section from what I can gather.

I'm not entirely confident at hubbys answers("It's fine....everything will be fine...we'll have the HF radio!) when I ask things like "How isolated IS it? and........"Could we get bogged?"....and "IS It SAFE for us to do that road on our own?"

Hey, I know I'm a worry wart but we'll have the kids with us and it's my RIGHT to be a worry wart under these circumstances! :)

So really, at the risk of sounding silly...just needing some assurances here about the Gunbarrel.....It really is OK to do on your own?
Is it just the abandoned section that you should have the safety of other vehicles with you?
Are there a lot of sandy sections?........and can anyone give me an idea of how frequented the track is?
I mean.....if we WERE to have any trouble....?
Kind of worries me a little that perhaps there might be less travellers on the road this time out because of the rising price of fuel...

PS - I have done a search here looking for peoples experiences traveling this road but only found one thread?

Anyway....I'm hesitant to post this, but then again, I'm sitting here going through the itinerary and noticed he had us marked for a bush camp at Wiluna, and now that I've done some reading on that town here on the forum.....well, lets just say that I think I'll be popping in here QUITE a bit in the next few weeks to do some reading of my own. :)

(Sorry Richard, lol!)

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:55

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 14:55
Tracy
I note you mentioned Richard has a HF radio installed....
Do YOU know how to use it...Does one of the kids know how to use it ???
How isolated is it ?? Can be so. We travelled the roads in 05, and at one stage didnt see another vehicle for nearly 5 days..
Could you get bogged?? Possibly-depends on the weather..
IS IT SAFE to do it on your own?? Depends on what you call safe?? If the vehicle, and the crew are confident & competant you'll have no probs.!!
I have to go to a suburb near here tomorrow- IS IT SAFE?? I'd feel much safer out on the Gunbarrel...
Just do it and enjoy it- You (and the kids) will look back on it as a great adventure !!!!
Have a great trip- I'll be listening out on the VKS737 scheds. for you !!!

AnswerID: 313066

Reply By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 15:10

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 15:10
Hi Signman, thanks for your reply.

To be honest, no I don't know how to use the HF radio and neither do the kids. Pretty pointless really having it isn't it if we don't know how to use it!
Richard keeps saying that he will get us to practise calling in etc but it hasn't happened so far.
Actually.... the reason WHY at the moment is because there appears to be something wrong with the HF antennae.
This happened on our last camping trip.....it just suddenly stopped working which really concerned me because I thought...well....at least we have THAT as our safety blanket.
Didn't occur to me that it would just stop working!
Anyway, it will be fixed soon and then we just absolutely MUST...ALL of us, must learn how to use it.

So it takes about five days or so I gather to drive across the gunbarrel...? But there ARE stations....places where people ARE, along the way?

Of course all the necessary vehicle preparations will be done before we leave and we have had "some" remote area travel experience on our OWN, but coming from the west this time I am totally unfamiliar with the areas, and therefore feel just a little bit apprehensive.
AnswerID: 313071

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 15:23

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 15:23
Hello Richards wife Tracey,
Now your started it, I caught my wife (EnglishRose) having a bo peep at the forum this morning.
Anita had a look at some of the rig pictures and is now concerned that we will be carrying too much weight on the roof of our Jackaroo across the Simpson.

Even had the nerve to say our little Jackaroo looked "dinky" compared to some of the other vehicles.

So now my "she'll be right responses" dont make the grade, and I expect some searching questions on my return from work tonight.
No doubt if the answers dont make the grade my dear wife will be on the computer doing a bit of research.

You my dear have started the rot, no man will be safe now that wifes have found out the font of our wisdom comes from the good pages of ExplorOz.

Have a good trip and enjoy it, theres allways a first time for everything, and welcome to ExplorOz.
William

Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 313072

Reply By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:04

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:04
Hi William.
I seem to be developing a habit here.... Last time I posted it was on "Which way should the camper trailer face!" which REALLY created a kerfuffle. :)

Well, you know, us ladies just need to feel totally assured about where our other halves are dragging us off to, and HOW.
I know that in general us girls can be a wee bit cautious, and men, sometimes a bit too "she'll be right-ish"...so a balance really needs to be achieved.

As you can understand, I just want to make sure we will be properly prepared so that we can embark on this trip feeling confident that it will be the fantastic adventure that we envision it will be.

We plan on making a documentary out of it with this new fancy fandangle HD video camera we have bought so I don't want my last footage to be.....
"We drank the last of our water three days ago... we are now digging for frogs so we can drink their urine."
(Truly - I saw a documentary recently of aboriginal people doing this in the desert - gross!)

AnswerID: 313080

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:08

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:08
PS - good luck with your Simpson trip...and your discussion with Anita tonight. :)
FollowupID: 579065

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:36

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:36
Tracy, We travelled along the Gunbarrel a couple of years ago with the company of several other vehicle and the only issue that we had was with one vehicle being overloaded and had a suspension problem.
Not saying that you are unlikely to have any problems because preparation is the key.
As emergency back up, carry an Epirb and with your HF radio, you can report your locations and anticipated arrivals at various locations at various times. If you don't check in the skeds, they will attempt to call you and take action if that fails. It is just another safety net and you can't have too many of them.
you are doing the right thing on here because if you're not comfortable going where you are going, the trip will be fairly miserable for everyone. I would also carry as much common sense with you that you can load into the vehicle. it will save you a lot of hassles along the way.
FollowupID: 579072

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:59

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:59
Thanks Dasher, yes we will definitely be checking in with the skeds and giving regular reports on where we are and where we're headed. :)
We have discussed and considered getting an Epirb.
Originally Richard wanted to do the Canning stock route (Not alone- with a group) but we decided against it as my 9 year old son has had some asthma related problems in the past during other trips to the outback. (We now are armed with the suitable medications we "might" need should such a situation arise again.)
At the time when he was researching the Epirbs he read something somewhere about the systems for them being completely changed in the next twelve months or so? Considering that they are quite costly we decided that since we were no longer doing the Canning that perhaps it would be better to hold off buying one at the moment.

I believe that the Gunbarrel will be the "most" remote road we'll be on for this trip.
But I can't be sure....since Richard hasn't gone into the kind of "female intricate detail" about the rest of the trip YET with me :)
He might now that I am starting to ask these questions, LOL!

FollowupID: 579079

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:10

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:10
ExplorOz have Personal Locate Beacons for sale @ $499.00
The old EPIRBs become obsolete this week.
If s++t happens and it does, what is $500.00 compared with a life.
A few years ago after a Rodeo in Fiordland I was enjoying a few beers (and later Drambuie's, but that is another story) with one of the top Helicopter Pilots in Fiordland, and he mentioned about a Bull-rider that had got into a wreck, I suggested he had put himself into a position he could not get out of, instead of baling out when he found he was going off the wrong side the rider hung on in there hoping to make time and ended up getting stomped on a bit, broken bone or two. Hannibal took another swig of Speights, thought for a bit and said " That is what I do flying, always keep an escape route, better to bale out when you can don't put yourself into a position you can't get out of "
I would consider a PLB is a pretty good escape route!
only the price of 2 or 3 tanks or fuel
I Have one
The only thing I have bought that I hope I never need!!
FollowupID: 579312

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 16:15

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 16:15
Yeah... I think I will convince Richard that we should get one.
He seems confident that having the HF radio and the ....well, I'm not sure what it's called - where you can make phone calls? is "enough"....but as I said to him last night...."What if we rolled the car....and what if you were bleeding to death....and what if the HF radio failed to work?"
Hmm....thinking about it....what if the Epirb got damaged?
Aghhhhh!
Yeah, as likely as winning lotto - Richards words...BUT...people DO win lotto! (my words)

FollowupID: 579324

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:25

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:25
I understand your nervousness, but as Signman said, you're possibly safer there than in the next suburb.
Quite a few travellers do the Gun in winter...you may not see too many but you aren't pioneers. The track is only remote if you make it remote or get into strife. Although it's corregated in places, it's the usual bush highway. Take it easy and a well prepared mob shouldn't have any problems at all.
Wiluna is an interesting place, but if you keep a low profile there shouldn't be any dramas. There are police and a pub there, along with a few other facilities. It will be civilization for you :)
Hint! Buy any medicines etc that you might need before you run out of shops.
Have you thought about hiring a sat phone if that aerial keeps playing up?
Just going to Wiluna or continueing on to ?
AnswerID: 313085

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:30

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:30
I forgot to add...you need psychological preparation for those areas as well as physical preparation. Plan to enjoy and not to worry too much. Don't expect facilities to be like at home etc.
Many women travel in the outback, and many do it by themselves. But they aren't afraid of a bit of dirt or of their own company for a while. You'll really admire the women who live out there by the time you get home.
Have a great adventure.
FollowupID: 579069

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:39

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:39
My physical preparation includes more bars of TopDeck!!!!...hahahaha
FollowupID: 579073

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:01

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:01
Willem, had I remembered I could have sent some with Brian for you. Blast, looks like I'll just have to eat em myself as consolation for not going LOL
FollowupID: 579081

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:16

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:16
Thanks Footloose.
I might just suggest the satellite phone to Richard.
If it's relatively inexpensive......? although we ARE going for six weeks in total. Wonder how much that will be?
We're heading to Uluru - meeting my parents there. We've been there before but it will be great to re- explore it with them as well as Kings Canyon, Alice Springs.
Then we head off alone again to Mt Doreen? Mt Fredrick? Wolfe Creek (Agghhh- that horrible movie!) - to a whole bunch of places I've never even heard of (Might have to come back later and ask more questions!) then to Broome and back down to Marble bar and back to Perth.

Richard plans to bush camp as much as possible, so I am quite prepared for the complete absence of amenities. Not entirely happy about that and I did put in a request for a "thunderbox" :) that I saw advertised somewhere but this request has been denied.
He did say though that he WILL be installing the car shower....but won't go as far as buying a shower tent thingy.
(Bloody stingy he is!)
So yeah.....it will be a "roughing it" trip, but hey, I don't mind getting a bit dirty.
You gotta get REALLY dirty before you appreciate being REALLY clean. :)
FollowupID: 579083

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:36

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:36
Wolfe Creek ? Lovely spot...seriously...forget the movie (it was a comedy wasn't it ? LOL). Geekie George at Fitzy Crossing was a great spot for a few days in the 90's, not sure now but worth a squiz. Edderly chap fell off a thunderbox and seriously damaged himself on the CSR (now that can be very remote)...probably why your request was denied. Health and Safety ya know :)
Re satphone rentals, take a peek here
Cheap satphone rentals
(shameless self promo but I'm trying to be of help here)
No bush shower is as good as the one at home, but my days of red dust in my wife's hair were before vehicle showers. No worries till we met a bus full of tourists who were clean LOL To this day she still reminds me !
FollowupID: 579089

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:42

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:42
Footy

SWMBO aka Judith washes her hair every morning come hell or high water or dust storms. So that has to be catered for. She is allowed 500ml of hot water for the lot!!!

FollowupID: 579093

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:29

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:29
Willem, at the time I had an early Landcruiser that (unbeknowing to me) had a rust hole under a rear wheel arch. Jan put up with it for a few years...until I found the hole and then she said replace it!
So I did, but the dust still came into the newer vehicle.

She rekkons that even with a bush shower, you get dirty straight after getting clean. No wonder that I now have to travel without her LOL

I was talking to a younger female friend today who's idea of camping is a motel room ! She said that a full shower, flush toilet and a comfortable bed is an absolute necessity on any holiday.

She also asked me where Uluru was LOL

As you and I both know, camping isn't what it used to be...thank goodness. I can remember a time when the Top Deck had to be eaten within the first 50km, and you had to wait till morning to have a scotch and coke because the coke was cooler then :))
And couldn't we have done with a heated van/trailer on some of those nights around Centraliia !
When sat phones weren't invented, and the evenings entertainment was listening to the party line on HF.
One phone call over the RFDS was from a girl telling a bloke she was pregnant, and that he was the dad. I'm sure I wasn't the only one likstening that day :)
Like you I can still remember when "real men" didn't need ice cream, late's, electrically powered everything or even air con. Argueing over who was going to get up first and stoke the fire...the one that burnt your front while the ice formed on your back. And boy, those desert winds! Brrr...
No wonder I have a ton of respect for those who've lived and worked out there.

But I have a niggleing feeling that if I had of waited till we could have afforded all the bells and whistles then we'd still be planning our first trip.
I guess we were lucky :)))

FollowupID: 579152

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:58

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:58
>>I was talking to a younger female friend today who's idea of camping is a motel room ! She said that a full shower, flush toilet and a comfortable bed is an absolute necessity on any holiday.

In a way I'm glad that there ARE so many people who share that sentiment.
That way there's less "people" to contend with out in the bush - and that's the appeal for me....on one hand... On the other it's nice to know that there ARE fellow travellers out there who share the same appreciation for these kinds of experiences. (and who might be able to lend a hand if a situation arose.)
So far in all our travels we have found that the people doing the remote travel especially, are so much more friendly AND the majority of them very respectful of the environment....almost like there's a shared sense of that "adventuring" spirit.
We've found that it's mostly on the tar roads that you find campsites and road side stops that are polluted with litter.
Once you hit the dirt this seems to be the exception rather than the rule, so to me it says a LOT about the kinds of people that take their off road vehicles OUT there.
FollowupID: 579297

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:26

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:26
We did the trip 3 years ago and saw vehicles every day
The Place to stay at Wiluna is "Wiluna Grape and Vine" which is about 10 to 20 ks East of Wiluna- Lovely People and a bit of green grass to camp nearby with Hot Showers.look them up on the Internet.
The Corrugations are bad once you get East of the Shire Boundary, East of Canegie but you must carry Tyre Repair Gear.Plenty of places to Camp include Mt Beddell. I beleive you will find other travellers on that road.Not a lot of water. We did the trip incl abandoned section in 4 days nice steady driving
AnswerID: 313086

Follow Up By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:28

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:28
Forgot to mention
Look into hiring a sat Phone - we did and it was not all that expensive as a back up and emergency
FollowupID: 579068

Follow Up By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:31

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:31
http://www.users.bigpond.com/gunbarrel.camp/laager.html

Web Site for Wiluna Grape Camping Ground
FollowupID: 579070

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:32

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:32
Thanks Trevor!
Will definitely look Wiluna Grape up.
We will be well stocked with water and the kids are well trained with being water wise while traveling.
I'm pretty sure we will be taking some spare tyres as well as tyre repair gear.
Will check on all these things with Richard though.
This is good!
Now I can set about making my lists :)

FollowupID: 579086

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:37

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 16:37
Tracy

The Gunbarrel is just a corrugated bush track a long way from anywhere but no longer remote.

We travelled the track solo some years ago and also did the abandoned section at the same time. We were driving a 1979 Toyota

Things that went awry:
Snorkle fell off
HF aerial kept of winding itself loose
Winch mount cracked and winch came loose
Broke both front spring centrepins
Lost spring hanger nuts
Bonnet bolts rattled loose
Both spotlight bracket broke.

This is probably the result of me doing around 80kmh to get on top of the corrugations....lol

BUT you should be OK. Just keep the tyrepressures lower than normal and find a comfortable speed

This all took place in 94. We saw two vehicles coming our way and passed three going the same direction during August of that year.

These days there are many more people out there. Some are even (maybe foolishly) towing offroad caravans along it. You are likely to see a number of vehicles. I am sure that Richard has prepped your vehicle well. Whilst doing the crossing use water sparingly. With two adults and two kiddies I would carry 125-150lts water to be on the safe side.

Above all, enjoy your experience. The wildflowers should be out in the Gibson Desert soon.

AnswerID: 313089

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:40

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:40
Thanks Willem.....that list of things that went wrong were supposed to make me feel better? lol! ( Kidding.)
I'm sure we'll be ok and I have confidence that Richard will have prepared the vehicle well for this trip.
I really do hope we get to see some wildflowers.
Never seen any before so our fingers are crossed!
FollowupID: 579091

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:09

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:09
Seriously though if you don't feel 100% confident in your ability to make emergency repairs to your vehicle, repair tyres, handle medical emergencies, keep your family safe and sound etc then you really should seriously re-consider your plans. If you are travelling with other vehicles and have support in the event of emergency (and it could be anything from spider bite to cardiac arrest or asthma attack) then you might have a chance of a happy and safe trip. Your family your decision.
AnswerID: 313097

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:43

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:43
You really are a DROLL TROLL, DIO
FollowupID: 579094

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:50

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 17:50
Thanks DIO. I hear you. :)
Of course it's a "risk" going anywhere remote....but, yeah....it's a risk you have to consider and weigh up in your mind.
I could and DO drive myself nuts sometimes with all the "what ifs", but....if you consume yourself with those kinds of irrational thoughts you'd never leave the house!
We've got a really good remote travel first aid kit, I have first aid knowledge - I used to be a nurse, and believe me I will be stocking up on medicines for ANY kind of illness.
I think Richard will be able to cope with any emergency repairs - as long as they are not TOO complicated - but I don't expect, with all the prior preparation that there SHOULD be anything major to contend with. We'll just take it easy and if it takes longer to get somewhere because of conditions, so be it.
FollowupID: 579096

Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:17

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:17
Dio

Thanks for the concern, but it isnt like we have not travelled remote previously. We are well prepared as is the vehicle. We have HF, UHF, remote 1st Aid kit, tyre repair equipment, spare hoses, belts etc etc.

We have done some trips with others and some trips alone. Yes the GBH is somewhat more remote than the Oodnadatta or Birdsville tracks, but I am still expecting to see others out there.

Both Tracy and the kids will learn to use the HF prior to leaving so that they will know what to do in the case of an emergency. They will also learn how to phone using Radtel. As is normal on a trip such as this, its mostly a matter of common sense and driving to the conditions, making sure that you are carrying plenty of water, food and spares just in case that emergency does arise.

FollowupID: 579145

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:10

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 18:10
Tracy as you will be travelling at the peak of the touring season you could expect to see up to 5 groups or individuals a day. The track is not technically difficult so the chance of getting bogged is very slim unless of course you receive heavy local rain. Many do the Gunbarrel solo (as would I with my family) particularly if well prepared being self sufficient for medical emergencies, vehicle recovery & minor mechanical or tyre repairs. Some of the worst corrugations in Oz are on that stretch of road & it would be very unlikely any vehicle would complete it without something vibrating loose.
The track is sandy in parts but not the windswept sand dunes one would come across in the Simpson. There's allot of rocky outcrops, large washaways & a few clay pans.
The old Gunbarrel section is no more remote or challenging, the only reason it has additional precautions is because it gets far less traffic.
The key thing I find with travelling solo in out of the way areas is the need to slow down & be more cautious with everything you do, the kids probably needing to be kept on a leash.
Have fun out there.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 313105

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:04

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:04
Thanks Craig....yes....keeping the kids on a short leash especially!
My youngest are 9 and 12 and have been traveling since they were toddlers so they have some awareness - now- of just how "remote", remote IS. But having said that, kids will be kids and they can do the most unpredictable things at times!
I guess they won't be doing their school work in the car on THOSE kinds of corrugated roads. :)
FollowupID: 579299

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:02

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 20:02
Tracy, I think an EPIRB is essential (independently powered): you can hire or maybe someone on this Forum would lend you one? It is cheap insurance for that unforseen situation where someone needs help fast. Let me know, you can borrow mine :-)

Best wishes, RayJen
AnswerID: 313125

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:45

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:45
Thanks RayJen.
Richard was going to send you a pm, don't know if he has yet though....he's busy doing stuff to the car.
FollowupID: 579294

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:12

Monday, Jun 30, 2008 at 21:12
Hi Richard's Wife.. :-(

We did it last year just Robyn and me (and Benney) easy trip just take it easy, it is a well traveled track, lots to look at and see, so take your time and smell the rose's we did.

read our blog The blog

And have a good trip

AnswerID: 313144

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:43
Thanks Richard.
I read your blog. Good to see some pics too.
FollowupID: 579293

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 08:08

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 08:08
Just make sure you really CAN repair and change tyres - by doing it in the driveway. That you really can operate that HF. Drive carefully with the right tyre pressures in tyres with goof tread. Fully prepare the vehicle,

AnswerID: 313202

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 16:02

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 16:02
Tracy,
Is it possible to travel the Gunbarrel alone? Definitely.
Is it isolated? If you are in trouble yes it is. It is relatively well travelled these days though. Having said that you may not see anyone for awhile.
Could you get bogged? Unlikely unless it gets wet. The road is rough and you need to watch what you are doing all the time.

I suggest you stop being nervous and take some positive steps to do as much as possible to keep you and your family safe. Nervous is OK if it motivates you to be prepared. Preperation is everthing if you are going remote.

Make sure:
1) You have a decent first aid kit and have some idea how to use it. If you call RFDS they may ask you to do something so if you know a bit and what things are called it helps. You need to be able to deal with the basics yourself, real medical help may be a fair way away. My wife was not allowed to use the first aid kit until she had a senior first aid certificate.
2) Make sure you can use the HF radio. If the car is going to fall off the jack onto someone it will be your husband. Practice making calls. A HF radio is not a phone, make sure you can work out the frequency and which base station/RFDS base to call. Try to call different VKS bases during the skeds and check you can do it. By the way the VKS operators love talking to women! They will tend to get called back first and tend to ignore minor transgressions in protocol! So bite the bullet and get familiar with the radio.
3) You should be able to drive off road yourself. Possibly slower than hubby but know how to do it. Make sure you know how to get out of sand etc.
4) Make sure you can change a tyre. If you use plugs see if the instuctions make sense to you.
5) Make sure you can navigate and always know where you are.

Basically make sure if it was up to you, that you can do enough to get help or drive out.

Me and my wife travel alone extensively and she can do everything in my list, some of it better than me. She could drive out of the Simpson Desert if required. It provides a great deal of comfort particularly for you.

AnswerID: 313279