traveling to flinders ranges

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 15:46
ThreadID: 59517 Views:4245 Replies:12 FollowUps:6
hi all
we will be traveling to flinders ranges during September school holidays this year have been searching the net for information on places to see and things to do we will be in the area for two weeks traveling from the south to north could any one recommend places of interest also any camping areas that you could recommend also 4x4 treks worthy of a look would appreciate any ideas.

andy.

Reply By: Philip A - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 15:58
I suggest that you buy Ron Moon's book which is a very comprehensive guide. It is available from ths site.
Start at Quorn as it is a good base for the South. The Caravan Park is great and the people nice.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 314003

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 16:18

Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 16:18
You could always start with the South Australian Tourism Office Link they will have heaps of info freely available on the Flinders and elsewhere.
AnswerID: 314006

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 17:03

Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 17:03
Wilpena
Peterborough Train Museum
Warraweena Stn - say hi to Stoney and possibly Willem from here.

I was lucky to score a guided tour from Wilpena for a few days after leaving my wallet 2+ hrs south of the pound, fueling up then realising I didnt have it, and having to wait for some great bloke to bring it up to me.

Theres so many places to see, as said buy one of the tourist books, I got one and 2 weeks aint enough.
AnswerID: 314016

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 18:02

Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 18:02
Andy there are heaps of options & where you can go will depend on you & your vehicles ability. There are almost 30 private properties throughout the Flinders & Gammon Ranges providing the bulk of 4 wheel driving opportunities, some with excellent camp sites & facilities. Additionally there are several Pastoral Access Routes (PAR's) with tracks passing through scenic private properties. Most formal camping areas are in the Parks so pick up a copy of their maps, the Hema map & as already suggested Ron Moons Adventurers Guide. Between these you will have all the information required.
Must see places that I liked were Argadells, Kanyaka, Moralana, Wilpena, Chambers Gorge, Aroona, Brachina Gorge, Bunyeroo, Parachilna Gorge, Blinman, Artimore PAR, Cu track, Wirraweena, Beltana, Arkaroola, Grindalls hut & Mt Fitton.
After a bit of study if you have any specific questions please ask away.
Cheers Craig
AnswerID: 314023

Reply By: Louie the fly - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 18:21

Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 18:21
Glass Gorge & Oratunga is nice and the old mine at Blinman is interesting. Is there a PAR through Gum Creek Station these days guys? Gum Creek has some spectacular scenery on the Trezona Range. Years ago we camped at the side of McDonald Creek (nth side, on the right, but not in the bed) for nearly two weeks. The area east of The Great Wall of China is interesting & I think you can get in there. Old Glen View is good also. I worked in the Flinders years ago and got to see lots of great places - by vehicle and chopper. These days, with the PAR's, it's opened up some great places. Big Moro Gorge was pretty cool as well.

You can also walk the Heysen Trail. The part west of Yourumbulla Cave is quite good.

Basically, the Flinders Ranges is good wherever you go.

Camping - Parachilna Gorge, Brachina Gorge & Rawnsley Park are good spots though often busy in Sept holidays
AnswerID: 314027

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 23:35

Saturday, Jul 05, 2008 at 23:35
I know t gets a bad rap hese days for bing Touristy bit IMHO
no tripto the flindes is complete without doing the Wilpena pound walk right through the centre then to the rim and up to the top of St Marys peak with just stunning veiews from inside the pound to the flinders on the outside. the walk then gos to the outside of the pound and back.
done it twice now it is a must
AnswerID: 314062

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 10:23

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 10:23
cheers gents

we have an td 80 series cruiser

have booked 3 nights at willow springs station & will be doing sky trek

but other than that will just camp at places as we move around you

have given us quite a few places to check out thanks.
FollowupID: 580143

Reply By: steve21 - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 14:31

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 14:31
Hi Andy, i am also thinking of doing the flinders early Sept, if your comming in via Broken hill, whats the best way via Yunta or another way?
cheers steve
AnswerID: 314106

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 09:27

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 09:27
not sure stev as we are travelling from Geelong

i think we will travel toward Port Augusta then north to flinders

we may come home via Broken Hill still undecided.

cheers andy.
FollowupID: 580241

Reply By: Nuccaleena - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 15:38

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 15:38
Hi Andy,
As we live on a sheep station in the Flinders Ranges I can highly recommend a few awesome places worth your visit! Orroroo is a great start for your trip. We have a B&B there called Nuccaleena CottageFlinders Ranges Bed and Breakfast, there is a great caravan park in town and Bendleby Ranges just North of Orroroo is also a great place to spend a few days to explore.
Call into Hawker and visit artist Jeff Morgan's Wilpena Pound Panorama and visit Teague's Motors for some excellent hospitality and service, they have some great historical displays.
Rawnsley Park is a good place to stop, it has the Woolshed Restaurant and many activities for the family (i.e. horse riding etc.).
Some great 4WD tracks include Sky Trek on Willow Springs or the Copper Track which runs on Warraweena and Moolooloo Station (where we live! Moolooloo Station We also have a couple of free tracks, Public Access Roads, on our station. One goes out to Nuccaleena Copper Mine and the other loops around to Blinman via Hannigan's Gap and Artimore. Please always check road conditions before setting out and allow yourself plenty of daylight hours to complete your trip.
There are some lovely National Parks in the area and the Brachina Gorge is a lovely drive and showcases our majestic Flinders Ranges geology.
I've never been to Arkaroola my self but I'm hearing great reviews about them!
I would also recommend ordering the Flinders Ranges and Outback guide from the South Australian Tourism Commission - it's jam packed full of accommodation, dining and adventure options.
This really only scrapes the surface of what the Flinders Ranges have to offer...i hope this has been some help.
Lisa
Our blog!
AnswerID: 314112

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 09:41

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 09:41
thanks lisa

have taken a note of all the places that you have suggested we are looking forward to getting there cant wait

cheers andy
FollowupID: 580243

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 15:21

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 15:21
Hi Lisa,

I drove that PAR via Hannigans Gap and Artimore last October. Interesting drive although one of my shocks blew out between Hanigans and Artimore. Our group had lunch in the creek bed just south of the homestead.

Thanks for being our unknown hosts.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 580274

Follow Up By: Nuccaleena Cottage and Moolooloo Shearers Quarters - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:58

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 11:58
Hey Pete,

No worries, hope you enjoyed the trip! Bad luck about your shock.

Lisa
http://www.nuccaleenacottage.com.au/blog/
FollowupID: 580555

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 19:04

Sunday, Jul 06, 2008 at 19:04
Hi Andy,

Can thoroughly recommend Rawnsley Park Station Camp Ground. Really good facilities, Kiosk, camp kitchen, onsite fuel and a good camp kitchen and located in the middle of the park is the BBQ facility which is free. It has good sites with plenty of shade trees and very friendly management. Cannot speak highly enough of this place. I looked at staying at Wilpena Camp ground but preferred Rawnsley.

Call into the servo at Hawker and they will give you some very good advice, also very friendly people. Make sure you take a trip out to the sacred site just near Wilpena (sanctioned by the local aboriginal people, so long as you respect the place, disturb nothing and leave nothing but your footprints.) and also check out the Casineau (spelling?) tree. That was a surprise.

We were there last Nov and were really amazed by the Ranges and the fact that on the trip up to Parachilna we were travelling beside the Old Ghan Railway line. Take plenty of photos and have a great time.

Our time there was limited as we had decided to see so many places that we could not spend too much time in any one place. Retirement in 2 years will remedy that.
Gazal.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 314161

Reply By: andy mitchell - Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 09:47

Monday, Jul 07, 2008 at 09:47
cheers all

for some great help and suggestions on things to see and do around flinders should keep us busy for the two weeks we will be in the area

cheers andy..............
AnswerID: 314223

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:15

Wednesday, Jul 09, 2008 at 12:15
Just a little hijack here...

Are these 4WD tracks doable in a Tribute? We have a Prado but friends have a Tribby and just wondering what we can do in regards to these tracks.

Cheers, Nige
AnswerID: 314525

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:05

Thursday, Jul 10, 2008 at 22:05
bump!
FollowupID: 580801

Reply By: stewmair - Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:57

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2008 at 16:57
Just back a few weeks ago.
Rawnsley Park is by far the better vanpark/campground. Diesel was cheaper there and the folks are great.
Skytrek is a must. Deflated coopers throw stones evertwhere, damage the climbs and puncture. Wranglers fully inflated survive and dont scrabble up the road.
AnswerID: 316558