Broken Hill via Mungo NP.

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:12
ThreadID: 59699 Views:4166 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
I am planing a trip to broken hill in the September school holidays we are towing a caravan with a td land cruiser, can any one recommend a caravan park in the area that would suit the kids also suggest any drives and places to see in the general area.we are also thinking of stopping on the way to look at Mungo NP we would like to know if we can camp over night there also can any one suggest any areas of interest, heard there is a drive around the lake has any one done this drive.

any comments suggestions would be greatly appreciated

cheers Andy.

Reply By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:57

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 12:57
There's a campground at the entrance to Mungo called Main campground. It has a communal area with gas BBQ's and toilets. Sites have bollards around them (3 sides), so depending on how long your caravan is you may have trouble fitting. I had no trouble fitting a Kimberley camper trailer in. An excellent campground in my opinion.

There's showers at the visitor centre, a couple of kms from the campground

There is also a bush campground located about halfway around the lake drive, but the road is probably not suited to caravans.

The access road to the park is dirt of varying conditions. An off road van should be OK, but it might pay to check conditions before planning to go.

I found the lake drive interesting. It takes a couple of hours with sightseeing.

You can access the park from near Balranald or Mildura. To avoid back tracking, I entered at Mildura and left at Balranald.

At Broken Hill, a visit to Silverton is worthwhile. It's where the car from Mad Max is in front of the pub. There's also craft stores and galleries.

You can camp out there at Penrose Park. It's a bush setting but has facilities.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

AnswerID: 314951

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:14

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:14
thanks for your help Graeme most appreciated we might stay at Mildura and do a day trip to Mungo NP before heading on to broken hill.

andy.
FollowupID: 581208

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:06

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 15:06
Hi Andy, where are you setting off from. There is stacks to see and do at Broken Hill, and we found two days a bit short. Many things to see and do, and a visit to the Visitor Info centre will be worth your while. The RFDS base is a must,(the kids will love it), as is Silverton, and the Pro Hart and Jack Absalom galleries. We did not do the mine tour, but have been told (by an ex-miner) that it is great.
After only having driven through the place, it was good to stop and check it out.
We came up from Wentworth, and originally wanted to go via Mungo and along the Darling to Pooncarie and Menindee, but after conflicting road reports decided not take our caravan that way. Another time for sure. Depending on your time frame, a run up to White Cliffs would be good value as well.
You should find good info on Mungo NP on this site.

Enjoy your trip.

Fred.
AnswerID: 314964

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:26

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:26
Hi Fred

We are travelling from Geelong, I have just over a week to have a look around so shouldn't be rushing around to much.
Thanks for your suggestions should keep us out of trouble.

andy.
FollowupID: 581212

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:47

Saturday, Jul 12, 2008 at 22:47
hey andy, do a search on Broken hill here and you'll find that there was heaps of suggestions for stuff to see around The Hill, in a reply to a post around hmmm 2-3 months ago.

There 2 campgrounds at Broken Hill one on Sydney side and one on Adelaide side, both are good, but I reckon the Sydney side one is better cause theres grass and a nice pool. Hvae a feed at the West Darling (the Publicans Grill is superb) and say gidday to Kev and Mary there from Geoff Barby. The Hill is a great place

AnswerID: 315040

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:34

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 11:34
thanks Bonz

I will do a search for that earlier forum chat on the hill, you have given use some great ideas.

andy.
FollowupID: 581213

Follow Up By: andy mitchell - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:34

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:34
did a search and found that previous thread on broken hill.

im glad you remembered this as there was some great information there.

the penrose camping ground at silverton sounds great i think we will stay there.

andy.
FollowupID: 581238

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:53

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:53
Yep Penrose Park is a nice bush camping place out near Silverton. Have a great time I see you're from Geelong used to live there mate, have a good one.

FollowupID: 581241

Reply By: briann532 - Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:53

Sunday, Jul 13, 2008 at 14:53
Hi Andy,
I stayed in the Lake view Caravan Park in Broken Hill in Sept. Last year.
We have been to B'hill 5 times now and this is by far pick of the bunch for families.

As far as Mungo goes. Don't miss it. Been there 4 times and taken people several times. Everyone loves it.
We now get rooms in the old shearers quarters (actually new now as someone decided to set fire to them a while ago!!!)
rebuilt now, with new bedding and air conditioning. Camp kitchen and hot showers. Well worth the small fee.
Booking is essential.
Obviously camping is available at designated points and is good, but you can't beat the atmosphere the quarters offer.
Right next to the visitors centre and the old shearing sheds. You can still smell the sheep.

email me for any further info
AnswerID: 315108

Reply By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:03

Monday, Jul 14, 2008 at 17:03
Hi Andy,
We were at BH just over aweek ago. Stayed at Broken Hill City Caravan Park which was fine. Great camp kichen, close to a shopping centre and not too far from the CBD. Only downside was the traffic noise.
Stayed at Copi Hollow CP near Menindee and it was great but freezing.
We did a day trip from Mildura up to Mungo. It was an easy drive and the 70 km scenic drive was a breeze. Beyond The Wall of China it is one way.
Plenty to see in B H, Wentworth and Mildura. Pooncarie has a great little cafe near the old wharf.
Menindee to Pooncarie road was fine the day we drove it but was closed two days later due to rain. We had several reports of the Pooncarie - Mungo Rd being very rough and slow going.
Be aware of the Fruitfly exclusion zone.
B H operates on CST.
Enjoy your trip.
Jon W
AnswerID: 315277