Back from EO Innamincka too.......

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:22
ThreadID: 60082 Views:5628 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
We are back from Innaminxcka and like to thank the organisers for their work. Willem, for sorting through the links and bringing us together, with Laura, Kev, Dave B and John T for organising events.

I must say though when Laura and Sam started asking questions on the Simpsons in the Trivia quiz, I wondered where the desert came into it as it just didn't seem to relate. I think in catching three yabbies I was more successful than any of the trivia questions though our group did win a couple of rounds. Not the medical one, but nor did Big Kidz Andrew, either.

The trip began with a head wind all the way to Mildura and we camped beside the Murray on the Victorian side opposite Wentworth, but had to buy enough Victorian manderines for our tripping. We were buying for Navigator 1 too for some fresh food so went back next day for another 4kgs of the sweet bundles. Pumpkins were cheap too and avacados. Hudaks Bakery in Mildura is always on our visit list for their beestings and orange loaves, even though I am restricting my carbohydrate intake. We were late leaving so just did an easy drive to near Packsaddle for an overnight.

Dave had warned us about the drive across to Camerons Corner being a little rough. There wasn't any fuel at The Corner either so we got a top up at Tibbooburra and were amazed Heather's Next G phone worked there. The sim from my digital didn't work in it though.

I was amazed at the skatty approach to driving by some road users. Some with UHF, some without. There was a Rodeo that overtook us at quite a speed. I tried to call on the UHF to no response to let it through, then his mate was behind me and I went to wave it through but the first one stopped in front to talk to the second ute. It stopped to talk of course.

The first ute came up quickly behind us again to overtake, then the second just near the flood marker for the 1974 flood. They sped off at pretty innapropriate speeds for the corrugation vairiations. Five minutes up the road they had stopped at a turn off to Fort Gray and then one called the third car coming more slowly. They had to wait for it and I really wondered the rush of the first two utes, it was rediculous.

We went through CC and then turned up through Bollards Lagoon and paid our dues. We were to camp overnight further up. The Southern part of the track was smoother, the clay pan at 80kph and then the dunes. Over the property tracks were pretty good considering rain a few weeks before. The lillies were responding to that rain, well before we got to Bollards though.

We camped overnight between the dunes and next morning and moved up the track, over the grid but along the way heard the UHF and there were others, we eventually caught when they stopped for a tea break. Four vehicles, all to go their separate ways from Innamincka. There were some work vehicles about too, heading hither and thither.

We got to Innamincka in good time, meeting Kev as soon as we got there. We fuelled before going to camp. We renewed with lots of friends we had met before Laura, and met her extended family before meeting with Nathan a day or so later. Dave and Nora, Michael from Mossvale, Trevor Ribbitor, Ross H, Pete and Les and the Pestys. The Gone Bush family, we hadn't met before, John T, Scrub Cat, Sandman, Zukscoota.

My Bro, Willem and Judith - we aren't brothers, but when I get whiskery, I resemble Willie. The Geriatric Gypseys we have known since Wandin a few years back, their grandies since Pyrenees last November. Arriving in camp though it was Big Kidz Andrew who saw us first I think and I just had to give Jen a hug.

Some were still to come in, NickR - Mad Cowz was a day behind us with Simone and our grandies, Des Lexic and his brother Jim, RayJen Paj came late at night, but during daylight when we were in the car we heard UHF traffic, someone agreeing "....Roger Roger....", then a female voice "Charlie, Charlie........" I said that sounded like Robyn - Navigator 1 and her with the quirkie sense of humour that is the trademark of she and Charlie. Heather agreed.

We visited Bourke's Grave, Wills' too, King's tree and the petroglyphs near the choke. The usual visits and wondering that The Cooper is such a wounderous place with the starkness of gibber plain starting just metres away. People out of their normal surroundings are keen to converse, the outback is a great leveller, awayness is a great leveller.

We yabbied, we trivia'd, we horse shoe'd and watched Bourke and Wills. Love to see it on a good screen. We raffled, we presented Willem with a "cat in a sack" to meeeowww at him and remind him of his past.

People had heard of Pud in the creek trying to teach his Patrol to swim, but it wasn't til a few days later we heard of Roachie and his exploits. Navigator 1 said they wanted to go into the SD and would go across Walkers Crossing, down the Birdsville Track to Warburton Crossing then in to Poeppels Corner, we asked if they would mind us joining them through to Birdsville. We had crossed the Simpson with them four years previously East to West. We kew we could have trouble towing and were prepared to turn around and head straight for Birdsville.

We enjoyed the track, camping first night on the bank of the Warburton. Next monring UHF traffic, heading our way wre two groups, including Kingsley from SA. Some 100s a 200 or so, and Nissans and ...... two cyclists. WOW

Having heard about the trials of the Eastern end of the Rig Road, we hadn't expected to meet a pair of intrepid Troopied Germans so they talked with us over lunch.

Camped up early and roast pork was the go. Love camp oven pork and it so easy to crackle with more heat in the oven. Veggies for cold next days helped too. Bubble and squeak for my breakfasts with bacon. Yum.

Next morning to Poeppel Corner for photos and no Roachie in the visitors book was a puzzle. Turned the corner and listened to the UHF on scan to see where groups were. Not everyone used the UHF channel 10 we find. Why? Some you meet at dune crest without transmitting anything.

Across my bogging lake of last visit it is thankfully dry, and into the dunes. Some were very chopped up on the Western side. Why would that be, the sand looked just damp, it should compact well but no. Obviously too high a tyre pressure from drivers. We had to be tugged at one severley chopped dune. We dropped tyre pressures further before the tug so there was opportunity to see a Toyota pull Toyota.

We later called up Des Lexic and heard a response from Big Kidz. Met the group of them plus, Mad Cowz, RayJen Paj and a prospective member for lunch before going on. Found the Polyairs on our car had deflated so pumped them up again but later in the day found a cut in a tube to repair. The hammering of the suspension on the bump stops bent a join in a third party drawbar extension. Something more to fix. Camp time, my beer had to wait til some repair work done to Polyair tube. Two goes to get it right

We travelled the rest of the way and climbed to the top of Big Red - well within 2m of it unaided. Chatted with the folks aready at the top of the dune before heading to Birdsville where we met up with Ruth and Ian before setting up camp in the cvp.

BBQ at the pub, then off to bed.

Bakery coffee, then head Eastward. Pretty straight forward, the road through to Quilpie was good, amazed at the green after the rain, plants ready to flower if they weren't already doing so. Fuel 2.02 - 2.05 in bvd but I wanted a short pit stop and top up with water too. The price dropped as we went day by day Eastward.

The objective was the Gold Coast as our Karavan is close to two years old and we organised for a service and a couple of fitments. Kath is garaged on the Coast at a fellow KKOG member's home. Jim's Karavan is most optioned I think so it was an education. Thanks Jim and Sandy for your hospitality while we were with you.

We have flown South now for three weeks before a KKOG gathering near Alice Springs. Not as big as the EO gathering but a greater percentage of members going - about 25%. Shall be good to meet the people.

I guess the biggest puzzle is the dissapearance of a certain Collingwood flad. It hasn't made an appearance but will undoubtedly do so on the last Saturday in September waving triumphantly from the MCG from the hands of a new Magpies supporter. One amongst thousands of cheering fans.

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:50

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 20:50
We thought Hudaks' beesitng was a bit dry and flavourless. Not a patch on the ones from goldsteins on the gold coast.

Mad Cowz
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 316830

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:07

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 21:07
Great report John. You should have given me a bell as you weren't far away.
AnswerID: 316834

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 22:59
F'loosie, I realise that but we were with friends but hope I can make contact next time up there in three weeks. We were preoccupied doing some addressing of immediate issues. Relos would probably say I shoulda called them too, then again, may be pleased to see the back of me.

I did have you in mind as we headed towards the GCoast as per the Toyota navigational aids that show you a scenic route rather than the direct one. Not in mind in a bad way mindddd.....

Did actually see the Mudge turnoff where the Mad Cowz relos live as well

FollowupID: 583127

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 23:10

Wednesday, Jul 23, 2008 at 23:10
John, that's Ok mate I realize that you were in a hurry to get home. I've done the same myself, several times. Lots of people I should have called as I zoomed past...oh well.
Don't feel obligated. There's always next time :))
FollowupID: 583128

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:35

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:35
Good stuff John, loved the read.

Out of interest, I am not the ribbitor nor was I involved in the flag napping. Never have, never will do untowards things to other EO members....just ask Ross, he'll tell you LOL!!

Safe travels to Alice in a few weeks.
Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 316872

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:18

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:18
Trevor R (Qld) Ribbitor eh, isn't Ribbitor your surname?

Flag napping, it is quite forgiveable to support Collingwood mate.

FollowupID: 583181

Reply By: Dasher Des - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:43

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 08:43
Good report John, nice read, and was good to catch up again.
AnswerID: 316874

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:22

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:22
Thanks Dasher. Was good to see you in the desert mate. Not sure yet which way we come back through SA, so we may call and say g'day.

Saw your good lady on Skype before you got home - think you were in Coober Pedy. She looked to have a weight lifted off her shoulders but then you were due back next night.
FollowupID: 583183

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:24

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:24
I meant to say in the report that we ran into John T and Julie on Big Red too but left it off the re-proofing.
AnswerID: 316887

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:08

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:08
No damage to either party I hope ;)

FollowupID: 583199

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:29

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:29
Enjoyed that John.
I am looking forward to getting along to St George and finally meeting some of these characters...
AnswerID: 316889

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:48

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:48
Glad you enjoyed it. We enjoy the company of many and various EO characters. Not sure if St George is going to slay Sir Kev though. I don't actually see Sir Kev as the white knight on the charger Darkie just yet. LOL. Needs a couple of 50 calibre on the front....
FollowupID: 583210

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:45

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:45
That could be arranged John LOL

FollowupID: 583216

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:50

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:50
Nick has an old school mate they used to call 'the arms dealer' Sir Kev, but he dealt with aircraft not just the components.
FollowupID: 583517

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:43

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 09:43
Thanks John,

I enjoyed reading your report, it made me wish that Ray and I could've been there too.

Viv
AnswerID: 316892

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:38

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:38
We would have enjoyed your company too Vivvie, if you folk had attended.
FollowupID: 583207

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:04

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 20:04
Hi John,

I think we were both on a different wavelength to the others on that "Simpsons" topic:-)

Good to catch you up in person again and I enjoyed the read, which brought back some great memories.

That bloody Des Lexic. Tried to catch him at the gathering, but either he, or I, were at different locations at different times.

Oh well, next time maybe.

Bill.

AnswerID: 316993

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:26

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:26
G'day Bill, that Lexic fellow must be pretty shifty I think moving around like that. I was pretty pleased to try to get events into the report. I know I left people out of the report though.

Good to catch up mate
FollowupID: 583534

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:28
Hi John, thanks for the write up. We missed you at Innamincka as I had to leave on Wednesday morning but bumped into Nick on the Bore Track as he was heading up.

Hopefully see you in the Pyrenees.

Adrian
AnswerID: 317049

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:23

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:23
Missed you along the way then Adrian. Not everyone was able to go on the arranged days. Roachie left early, you left early and we met Jeff O on the Bore Track too.
FollowupID: 583532