What got you started??....4WD ETC

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:24
ThreadID: 60123 Views:5240 Replies:22 FollowUps:9
G'day Everyone

Was having a chat with my son Littleborgy the other night and the conversation was "wonder what gets people into 4wdriving and camping , fishing etc" well i thought about this for a few days and jogged my memory...for me it was when i first moved to Pt Lincoln as a 17 yr old and my b/inlaw to be asked me if i wanted to go fishing for a day with him and one of his mates...His mate owned a series 2 landrover with a 186 holden motor in it and the next day off we went to a place called Millers Hole...i remember sitting in the back of that old beast and driving over some pretty rough ground and also through the sand hills..talk about a rough bloody ride and a sore as hell backside..lol..but when we got to the spot i was absolutely gobsmacked..and we caught quite a few salmon that day!! Anyways after that day i was hooked , so as soon as i had saved enough money i bought my first 4wd, a LWB series 2 landrover with a 186 holden motor in it , it had a broken axle and no reg , i got it for 500 bucks got myself a new axle and some rego and i was set..for my first 4wd that thing was awesome talk about a go anywhere vehicle, i got a couple of years pleasure out of it before selling it for a good profit , and so began my 4wdriving adventures...

So come on people i would love to hear how different people got into the 4wd fishing camping etc scene...

Hope that wasn't to long winded ...

Cheers.....Borgy

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:45

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:45
Memory Lane huh..... How scarey...... Started with me as a scout on my first camp. Little Shark Rock Point Bay in Kuringai National Park was my first camp when I was 10.
Rember just having fun and being in the bush. During the next 4 years spent over 100 nights under Canvas. Then as a venturer we were camping further afield as the older boys had cars.
Next it was a Subaru for me and started my first trip once I finished my mechanic trade. Drove to Cairns, went to perth to look for gold and just kept traveling. So wanted to get paid to cruise this awesome country so bought my first camera, now have 8 or nine with the latest purchase today.
Another suburu, then my first real 4wd was an 85 4runner. It took me to some real nice places but still had not checked out the real remoteness of the desert. Bought a brand new Hilux 5 years ago and it managed to take me on the gunbarrell and simpson.
I have always been in the bush, even skipping school to hang out in Kuringai NP and in the early years it was always walking with a backpack on. Have walked 250kms on Fraser Island on 5 seperate trips, 170kms in Tasmania in one trip and heaps of hiking.
I remember when I was about 13 hiking in Barrington Tops seeing a 4wd drive up the top. remember thinking to myself and being rather peeved after walking for 2 days seeing a 4wd in the wilderness. then I thought, "I got to get me one of those one day"
now I got one
AnswerID: 317054

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:44

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:44
""I got to get me one of those one day""

did you sell the navara?? :):):)
FollowupID: 583451

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:02

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:02
Hey Stefan,
How are ya....... Yes I have to admit the little nissan is a very capable 4wd....... Just not made very well..... :)
FollowupID: 583507

Reply By: Member - grant M (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:45

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 22:45
Hi There Borgy

For me it was watching good old Harry Butler in the wild, then the Leyland brothers as a 7yo and saying to my nan and pop who i lived with when i grow up i'm going to buy a 4wd and go to those places. Me and my son now average around six 4 day trips a year and one outback trip per year so i guess i'm living my dream.

Regards Grant M
AnswerID: 317055

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 23:54

Thursday, Jul 24, 2008 at 23:54
#1Wheels across a Wilderness. I watched this first Leyland Brothers film as a 12 year old at Hoyts Manly in the 60's.

#2 "Jeff Carters book of the Great Australian Outdoors" - published early 70's and showed you how you could tour the country in any old 2wd - even a Porche.

#3 Redgum's album "Caught in the Act"
AnswerID: 317061

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:16
re #2... I used to luv his stories in Wheels... will have to attempt to track that book down!

Cheers, Nige.
FollowupID: 583446

Follow Up By: Camoco - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 13:37

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 13:37
re # 3
"BANKCARD" !!!
Have you done it this way???

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 583467

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 14:46

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 14:46
Cam,
Not sure what "Bankcard" means, but the Redgum song that did it for me was this, and it was written before the Stuart Highway was sealed:

THE LAST FRONTIER
There's a corrugated highway Leading north from Port Augusta
lined with ratted cars that didn't rate a tow
The Salt plains out of Pimba And your eyes begin to stream
On to Kingoonya huddled dusty by the road
Romantic notions bleep tered Like the tyres that didn't hack it
This has got to be the country's last frontier
Where a sports car's next to useless Running cattle grids and river beds
We drove a van from 1963

Someone mentioned walkabout And kiss your job goodbye
Just to see the country shimmer through the windscreen
Drinking beer, telling stories While laughter filled the night
And flexi-time's behind you like a bad dream

You got a flat on Anzac Highway And Lawson on your shelf
Its a Southern Comfort, air-conditioned rage
Where a homestead's more than just a cheap print Dangling from a wall
And mateship's more than lines upon a page

We went looking for Australia In between the TV lines
'Cause the ABC just couldn't make it real
Colour documentary From a beanbag on the floor:
Never shows as much as it conceals

A stark and blistered Alice Springs And a river runs with shame
And you wipe the sheets of bulldust from your eyes
Another country's uniform And the mirage it falls apart
To the open gap between the truth and lies

Go and see your country, mate The travel agents scream
Politicians sell it's hard to score a pasttime
Signs and high-wire fences Hold the land where I belong
It's as if I'm in the outback for the last time

FollowupID: 583472

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 14:51

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 14:51
Nige,
Yeah Jeff Carter was a very accomplished photo journalist - he wrote a fair bit in Overlander too.
Here's link for the book.
FollowupID: 583473

Follow Up By: Camoco - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:09

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:09
Sorry Phil,
I thought you may have been referring to the song also by the same name on that album. He suggests a cunning plan to see your country using a "bankcard" for the cost of only $50. But of course if you hear a knock on the door when you get home you've probably just been "Caught in the act".
Also yes The Last Frontier is very good and often to the point.
I still enjoy listening to this very down to earth aussie group and cherish my vinyl disks.

Cheers Cam
PS thanks for the lyrics. I've never written them down because everytime I've thought about it, my mind wanders to the trips I've been on and I forget what I was doing.
FollowupID: 583492

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:41

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:41
Thanks Cam, I hadn't listened that closely to the title song.
Can usually Google the lyrics: Redgum lyrics
FollowupID: 583500

Reply By: Kroozer - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:07

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:07
Was born a bush kid and always will be. My old man passed down all his love for the land and fishing to me. Taught me all there was to know really across all the categories, His life was working in the bush for the Department of Agriculture up here in the Kimberleys. He spent all wekk out bush and come weekend all he wanted to do was take his family back out to experience what he got paid for. I learnt to drive in the old mans Tojo, and i know own it and it still gets me to them amazing places i visited as a kid. Really waht can i say, Born and Bred Kimberley lad so its all in the blood. Was driving myself at 12, camping on our own at 12 and fishing at around 10. Nothing got me into it, i just have always loved it. And now i have my own son he loves it all too.
AnswerID: 317064

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:19

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 00:19
Hi Borgy

For me, I got to love the bush way back (in the 50's & 60's) as a young kid travelling the Nullarbor every couple of years to go back to SAus to visit the rellies, each year we went I enjoyed it more and have always had a yearning to get out there, In 2004 Hubby and I purchased our first 4WD (our current one, with plans to travel the CSR which when I was young the old drovers use to tell stories about when they were droving the cattle through there) and we had no idea how to even put it in 4wd so booked into a course with Ray Harris (he is well known in the 4by world over here) and had a lovely weekend learning all about how to run a 4wd through mud and over sand, after that we went on a couple of his "campfire escapes" (I thoroughly recommend them, we would do more if we had the time,) that helped a lot, then we booked with Eric & Ronnie Gard's tagalong for the CSR, now we are happy and confident that we could do the rest of our wish trips on our own if need be but there is always someone to go with which is great.

That's a very condensed version of our 4by beginnings.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 317065

Reply By: Desertrose - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 01:14

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 01:14
For us it was the fourth child that did it.
We were faced with the choice of getting a van or a 4wheel drive in which to transport the "gang".
I spent the first ten years of my life growing up in Africa - and we NEVER camped.
Didn't take much to convince Richard that we should try the whole camping thing.
We've never looked back.
AnswerID: 317069

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 01:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 01:16
First 4WD I ever drove was a 58 Landrover S2 shorty, in the army. Then a spell in the city with ordinary cars .
Got sick of getting bogged trying to find the secret fishing spots along the WA coast.
Moved to the bush for work, bought a landrover LWB 2A and with only 3 exceptions (Toyota FJ55, Lada Niva and Ford Courier) have always had one or more Rover products since. Currently running a Disco TD5 and a S3 trayback.

Basically got into the 4WD scene because I could go more or less where I wanted to to camp, fish and relax.

Mrs is not quite as keen on basic camping (swag and tuckerbox) but we drag the on-road caravan around a bit as well.

Been doing it for close on 50 years and never tired of going bush.

Disco.
AnswerID: 317070

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:06

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 08:06
Was into bushwalking and needed a vehicle to get me to the trail-heads - Commodore just a bit too low slung, so got a Pathfinder, then that grew up and became a Patrol, then the Patrol grew up again and got a more reliable donk.

AnswerID: 317075

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:00

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 09:00
G'day Dave

I started travelling and camping in 1964 in Africa. Had a Simca then, but still managed to do a cross country trip through the Namib Desert with it. Got to Aus in '68 and had a variety of cars(mainly VW and Renault) for camping and exploring and then bought ny first 4by(a two-stroke Suzuki) in 1977. The rest is history...lol

AnswerID: 317097

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:48

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:48
My first car a 64 Simca good car, they were ok.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 583452

Reply By: Dasher Des - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 10:26

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 10:26
My brother and I had our own business and he had a 82 HJ61 and I had a Beema. Swapped vehicles and had one ever since apart from a tight time around the early 90's
AnswerID: 317122

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:26

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 11:26
Borgy,

Posted to Darwin in the mid 80's and quickly realised that EVERYONE in Darwin had a 4WD, at least if you want to explore the area and get to the good fishing spots.

Too late before I realised that taking up drugs or gambling would have been a cheaper habit.

Still addicted and (as you would well know) it provides a great avenue for sharing fun and education with the kids.

AnswerID: 317126

Reply By: Tasrat - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:36

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:36
Started with Dad in a series 1 with extra tanks.
He was running a cattle station out of Alice, back in the days when you could drive any where, on road or off.
Fell in love with the red sand back then and even living in Tassie I still get back there as often as possible.
Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 317139

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 13:10

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 13:10
As a kid both me & SWMBO grew up camping (together actually), mainly on the Murray as the extended family were all waterskiers. But in 1987 I was seconded through my job with Dept Primary Industries to work in the Flinders Ranges on a Plague Locust Eradication program for 3 months. Did it four times, each time for 2 - 3 months. I got to go into some great places that tourists didn't get to go to. I.e flying by chopper and in 4WD & motorbikes. Thats when the travel bug really bit hard. since then we've tried to travel as much as possible. We now bring our kids up the same way.

I love this country to bits. I've met some great people and some real characters.
AnswerID: 317148

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 14:41

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 14:41
Hi Borgy,

Once it's in you blood your screwed.
What got me started?
My parent travelled although Western QLD before I came alone, I still have the old slides and projector.
16 odd years ago I bought a 94 Yota Lux extra cab petrol.
There was only the two of us and our two Ridgies, Prior to it, I always had V8’s and dirt bikes. With the 4by I could take the Misses to the places I use to ride on my bikes. Just loved being out in the scrub, driving down empty beaches. Lying awake of a night listening to running water in a creek.
Sold my 4by, V8 and bikes to get a deposit for a house. We had a tent and a station wagon which we out grew , Then came along Three kids, 4 years ago we decided to get a camper trailer, so we bought the 80 series, took 7 months to fine the right one. Bought a trailer, modified it, put a camper tent on top and haven’t looked back.
In the last four years we’ve meet some of the best travelers and campers. The kids have made a lot of friends.
We hope to do this for the rest of our lives.

Life isn’t about how many breathes you take, but about how many times you’ve had your breath taken away. ?
AnswerID: 317160

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 16:02

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 16:02
I remeber watching Dad look longingly at Landrovers as a kid.

I remember the whole family pushing Dad's various cars out of bogs on that little dirt track off the highway.

Got my love of the bush from Scouts and a mate who passed away a couple of years back. He lived in the Blue Mountains and often took loads of kids for walks into the bush, giving us time to appreciate the beauty and peace of it all.

I remember sitting with him one day and he asked me to count the different birds I could here. I got to about 6. No mate he said there is only 1, a lyrebird. I like to think I'd pick that now.

I tried to talk SWMBO into a 4 Runner in 1986 but we ended up with a Commodore. When the first kid came along my motorbike had to go and I eventually picked up a cheap MQ. Took SWMBO to Fraser Island and once she was hooked away we went.

Now the missus I think is going soft on me but I have a son who is keen to get out in the bush as often as possible, there will be a 4wd parked at my place for a while yet.

AnswerID: 317179

Reply By: JohnF56 - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 16:16

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 16:16
Honestly, we bought the 4WD 12 years ago, because it was a 4WD, you know, the big car syndrome, trying to keep up with the Jones's.
But after a year, unlike the Jones's, we thought what the heck - it's a 4WD, so we'll go 4WDriving.
Never looked back since.
AnswerID: 317181

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:49

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 18:49
I got the taste in the military and on trips with the Kakadu rangers.

We used to take the old Tarago lots of places across the Territory we shouldn't have but never needed assistance to get back out. (Nice high clearance that holdens and fords used to have - my work crummydore scrapes mudflaps over speed humps now).

When the Tarago was retired we bought the Paj. We still use the ground clearance more than the small gear stick, but get to lots of nice places and are using all 4 wheels more and more as the Bush Princess gets a little more game.

Pete
AnswerID: 317207

Reply By: Member - Netnut (VIC) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 19:55

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 19:55
Hello Borgy,
I got a 4WD because I'm tall and the upright seating helps to accommodate me better. That's what I told the wife.

Actually, it was a family camping trip to Ayers Rock in a 1980 Commodore wagon - the bitumen ran out at Glendambo - over 600 km of corrugations that made me consider getting a 4WD.

Nowadays, I need one for camping along the Murray River in Victoria where I like to be able to access campsites off rough tracks which become very greasy following rain. My vehicle is also very handy when launching and retrieving a boat from dry mudbanks and sandbars.

I collect firewood each year from the river forests and I can do this with ease using a 4WD to yank logs out of piles of limbs left by the loggers. Of course, the best logs are always off the beaten tracks !

Like other respondents, my long time love of the outdoors - I was a Boy Scout - and a yearning to visit remote places demands that I own a special vehicle.

I often travel to weekend markets in the wee hours along roads where kangaroos abound (No pun here). My rugged vehicle and bullbar give me extra confidence.

I need a 4WD so I can go on a trip to the Gammon Ranges (SA), Lake Eyre North, Arltunga, Boggy Hole and the Simpson Desert on Tuesday.

Yippeeeeeeeee!
Netnut

AnswerID: 317217

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:21

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 20:21
Thanks for putting this up Dad... I got a bit slack & kept forgetting. LOL

You already know how i got into 4WDing, Camping, etc, but i'll tell u again so that other people can see as well...

I got into the spirit by going out bush with my parents & brothers from a young age... I remember living in Port Lincoln & going out to the Lincoln National Park whenever possible & just about every long weekend, we'd go out to the Coffin Bay National Park & camp there for the weekend, with fishing at Gunyah (Almonta) beach, or driving out to Point Sir Isaac for day trips...

I'm starting to pass on these trends to my own kids as well... The 2 girls have been camping/4WDing many times already & they absolutely LOVE it... We'll be taking the boy on his first camping trip next year up to the Cape & hopefully he'll love it too...

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 317224

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:19

Friday, Jul 25, 2008 at 21:19
Thanks for taking the time to reply everyone....seems like once the bug bites there's not to much you can do about it....lol...i think thats a good thing anyway , i know i certainly wont be giving it away for a long time yet....

Cheers......Borgy
AnswerID: 317244

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:01

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:01
Basically the ame as Littleborgy above.

Before I bought my first 4wd I borrowed the 'ol mans GQ and camper about 7 years ago (give or take).

Went to Coffin Bay N/P for an easter long weekend, got back to Adelaide and bought our first 4by, a GQ wagon.

We're now on our 2nd 4by (GU wagon) and will be keeping it for a few more years yet!!!

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 317413

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:41

Saturday, Jul 26, 2008 at 23:41
My introduction to 4x4s was courtesy of my employer, the NAB.

In 1987 I finally got my "Manager" stripes, but to do so, I had to back to PNG (that made it my 3rd tour of duty there). This time I was sent to a small place called Kundiawa in the Chimbu Province. It is located in between the Western Highlands and Eastern Highlands.
The Bank supplied me with a Nissan Navara 2.4 petrol dual cab and I was there for just on 30 months.
I was the only "whitey" in the Bank there and the place was a bit like the wild west.....I carried a Browning .32 most of the time.
When I returned to Oz in 1990 I proudly paid cash (about $35K) for a brand new LWB petrol Ford Maverick.
Then in 1995 I bought a 2nd hand 1993 diesel GQ (RX), then in 2000 I bought the (brand new) 2000 GU. I had that rig until last year....after I bought the 6.5 Chev in late 2006.

Some of the places I had to take that Navara had to be seen to be believed...... The only mishap I had with it was when I knocked a little kid over and busted his leg. Actually, HE managed to run into the side of the Navara!! It got a bit hairy there for a while, with every window in the Navara being smashed by rocks as I took the necessary action to save my own skin (it is well publicised that you NEVER stop at the scene of this type of accident if the vehicle is still driveable)......you go straight to the nearest cop shop (and pray that the coppers aren't related to the person involved in the accident.....otherwise THEY will take the necessary retribution).

AnswerID: 317417