Bore Track Feedback

We are wanting to travel the Bore Track in early September and are wondering if we are able to tow an outback Galaxy 16ft pop top caravan along it without getting into trouble. Can anyone give us some info please.
Also what is the Old Stzelecki Track like to travel with same outfit? This is the first time out with this, we have always had a camper trailer in previous years. Thanks ..................Trish

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:22

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:22
The Bore Track is not suitable for your caravan. It's not all that far so why not park the van and just drive it with the vehicle.

AnswerID: 317695

Follow Up By: Reiny - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:13

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:13
Thanks Kiwi Kia for the info. Gives us more confidence travelling through the area. Great to be in contact with fellow travellers and lovers of the Aussie outback.
If you are Kiwi's I have just spent some time in NZ at the Field Days at Mystery Creek. Love new Zealand
...........Trish
FollowupID: 584078

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:12

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:12
Not too sure what Kiwi is on about, but I went through the Bore Track up to Innamincka a couple of weeks ago with GoneBush WA and he was towing about the same size Bushtracker van.
There were a few washouts in the last 50 Kms to Innamincka, but everything else was good.
Came back on the Old Strez and it was`a breeze.
Should be plenty of flowers out about that time too after all the rain up there.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 317703

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 19:56

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 19:56
Hi Dave, Those wash outs were not really suitable for caravans a couple of months ago. Vertical sides about 750 high, probably flattened out by traffic now.
FollowupID: 584074

Follow Up By: Reiny - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:18

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:18
So Dave where was the snatch strap? That photo ia a classic.
Did you get out okay?
Thanks for your info, it has given us confidence to tackle the track now and see the wild flowers
..................Trish
FollowupID: 584081

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:59

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:59
I am with Dave, it was pretty easy with an offroad trailer, but just take any drop-offs with care and you will be ok Trish. Some of it through a clay pan or two was faster than the road through Camerons Corner.

Dave, g'day, hope you are well mate, you were in bed when I rang up.
FollowupID: 584380

Reply By: Isuzumu - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:20

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:20
Hi Reiny, We did the Bore Track (or most of it anyway) on our way to the Gathering. We had no problems and it was a lot better than the part of the Stzelecki we did. We got a call from a road working gang saying the northern section was impassable, they were having a go at us, we later found out that the only problem was some wash out in that section, so you may wont to heed that.
Here is a photo of the other two vans that did it with us and our 30 odd year old Viscount.

I definitely do the Bore Track than the Stzelecki.

Cheers Bruce

AnswerID: 317705

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:15

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:15
As one of the other vanner's travelling with Bruce, I too would reccomend the Bore Tk. I don't know specifically your van Trish, but it would have to be a full road going version before I would try to talk you out of it.

Take it easy and enjoy.

PS: we travelled from the Corner to Innaminka in about 6hrs at reasonable pace for the conditions I reckon. Easily could have taken longer but not that much quicker IMO.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 584079

Follow Up By: Reiny - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:31

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:31
Hi to all the gang Isuzumu, Bruce and Trevor R,
Do you all know that we are sooooo envious as we are sitting home at Kalkee in the Wimmera where the over night temperature is supposed to be -3 and you are all having a great time camping out there.
Thanks for all the info and great photos.
Our van is new, so surely we should be able to get through.
We are also farmers so have some understanding of road conditions etc.
Have a great time on your trip, you have given us confidence to tackle the tracks, as we were'nt sure what the area was really like.
...........Best Wishes Trish R
FollowupID: 584090

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:26

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 21:26
Hi Trish,

Sadly we are home in Brissy now so don't be too envious of me hehehehe. There is more photo's here of the trip. I added a photo of us on the claypan in this thread, down the bottom somewhere. It is truely remarkable country and if I can be of any help with info, don't hesitate to ask.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 584102

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:16

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:16
I would have to agree with Kiwi Kia.

We also drove the Bore Track on the way to Innamincka.
I was towing an off-road camper trailer, but would not recommend a normal pop top van, unless it is seriously off-road. You risk shaking the inside to pieces.

The southern section, on Bollards Lagoon Station is very good and a pleasure to drive, but when you reach the Innamincka Regional Reserve section, all bets are off. The Track here varied from severe corrugations to narrow sandy sections.

We left Cameron Corner at 2pm and drove the last 2 hours or so in the dark. Total time taken was over 5 hours, because in darkness, you cannot easily judge the Track conditions.

Bill.

AnswerID: 317735

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:21

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:21
The Old Strzelecki would be a good choice and more enjoyable to drive than the New Strzelecki IMO.

Predominantly dirt based with very little corrugated sections.
The southern section towards Merty Merty is almost a "highway".

Bill.

FollowupID: 584085

Follow Up By: Reiny - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:54

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 20:54
Hi Sandman Bill from South Australia,
We have a new Galaxy off road pop top van and hope that we can take to almost anywhere with care.
Thanks for your info others have said it was okay.
Were they kidding me?
We have pulled a camper trailer in the past and have taken that to some pretty hard places etc; right up the Ghan line through to Chambers Pilllar in and out all the sights on the way. Through the centre from Winton to Birdsville through the Diamantina. Up to Mnt Cobbler in the high country Vic (although you'd never get a caravan up there)
Hope we will make it through the area, can't wait to leave home.
Did you know it is supposed to be -3, here in the Wimmera Victoria over night.
...............Trish R
FollowupID: 584095

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:19
Trish,

I'm not a "doomsdayer" and should you decide to travel the Bore Track, you may decide it was worthwhile.

Only you know your Van and how it will travel over corrugated roads.
It's not the suspension you need to concern yourself with, but the contents of the cupboards in your van. If they are secure when the top is closed and built for the rough stuff, then you should be OK, but I have also heard of vanners who have experienced cupboards literally falling to pieces on corrugated roads.

As I have stated, the southern section of the Track on Bollards Lagoon Station can lure you into a false sense of complacency, then you reach the Regional Reserve section, where the Track is rarely (if ever) graded and things can be somewhat different.
Others have mentioned a few washouts, where the road has been eroded consinderably and care must be taken to travel at a speed where you can adjust and change direction, or your approach angle to suit the circumstances.

If you have confidence in the build quality of your van, then you should be OK, but I would recommend you give yourselves plenty of daylight time to travel the Track.

Bill.

FollowupID: 584358

Follow Up By: Member - Trish R (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 22:13

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 22:13
Thanks Bill for all the info about the track.
We haven't packed the van yet but I must say that I did think that all contents would have to be secure if we want to travel the rough terrain.
The van is new and we have been assured it will travel well.
We will put most things in plastic boxes for travelling.
Then take our time over the track.
It will be a learning curve for us, but we can't wait to get going and enjoy the outback again this year
.......Trish
FollowupID: 584407

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:01

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 22:01
Reiny,

I've travelled the Bore Track twice now, towing my caravan. The first time I didn't like it and swore I would never go on it again (that was 12 months ago).

This time, only a few weeks ago with Dave B, I wondered what all the fuss was about.

There were a couple of washouts that we approached too fast but that was our fault. We were lulled by the soft sandy track leading up to it. There is another section, a few kays long, of gibber rocks but you pick your line, watch for the nasty rocks, and keep going; just like any off road trip with or without a van.

If your van has leaf springs just drop the tyre pressures a bit ( we dropped to just under 30 from 40psi but we have trailing arm suspension) and go slowly.

If you end up having to camp on the track, great !! There are some very nice spots.

And there are other travellers everywhere.

If you are going to Innamincka, spend a day out at the Dig Tree and take the loop track back to Innamincka. It's very impressive.

AnswerID: 317765

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:19
Trish, you mentioned a couple of times about -3 C.

Don't be surprised if it is thereabouts in the mornings out there.

Take a good windbreaker too incase the wind is up a bit.

The windchill factor is something else in the desert.

I have seen people cut a couple of holes in a garbage bag and wear that just to stop the wind going through.
They didn't win the beauty contest though.

BTW, we had to leave the old bus there ;>)).

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 318218

Follow Up By: Member - Trish R (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:32

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:32
And I thought you were a desert dweller.
Fancy leaving that accommodation behind!!!!!!!
............Trish R
FollowupID: 584713