Hi from the UK

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:01
ThreadID: 60708 Views:3070 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
Hi all from the UK
Have just signed up as a visitor, my Uncle (Brian(wa)) is over here on holiday and shown me your site so thought I would say hello

Dont get to take my caravan off road etc here, tend to stay on sites with electric hook up etc, have been across to France with it, went across to Paris then further South, you can travel all over Europe which many do.

I am a member on a UK caravan forum but dont know if I am allowed to put a link to it on here if any one is interested.

Anyway am off to look around the site, if I see any post's I think I can help on will answer.

Night
Stuart

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:11

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:11
Giday Stu, 'from the UK' eh!!!

No need to apologise mate. All sorts on here......hehehe.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 320369

Follow Up By: stuartmuk - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:28

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:28
Am in Tamworth Staffordshire just North East of Birmingham, bang smack in the middle of the country
FollowupID: 587150

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 11:28

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 11:28
And another g'day stuartmuk...

My wife was born in Biddulf and still has rellies in Mowcop..

Gotta tell ya that it is cold where I am, 2plus hours north from
Adelaide SA and it was ' scrape the ice off the car' this morning:(((

Michael J
FollowupID: 587185

Follow Up By: Member - david L (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 19:15

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 19:15
Hi Michael I was born in tunstall and I have relatives in Pits hill and I think its called Harishead(not to sure about the spelling) near mowcop.
FollowupID: 587235

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:42

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:42
Hi David,

It sure is a small world, make you wonder just how people can vanish.

SWMBO was just a little thingy when her family came over here.
We went over for a visit a few years ago, lovely countryside and top people too. Taylor is her family name and there are quite a few of them in that area.

Michael
FollowupID: 587261

Reply By: Member - Doug T NT - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:19

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:19
Stuart
Welcome , from Tennant Creek , central Northern Territory.

AnswerID: 320371

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:30

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:30
Hi Stuart,
welcome to EO from the Gold Coast, Queensland!

AnswerID: 320374

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:44

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 08:44
Hi Stuart,
Welcome to the best site in Australia. You will have to take the plunge and head down under for a true bush holiday and swap the van for a swag and camp out under the stars.

Cheers from the Clare Valley in South Australia

Who has been here

AnswerID: 320376

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 10:44

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 10:44
Hi Stuart,
Welcome to the site and greetings from Sydney NSW. I hope what you find here encourages you to, one day, come and see us here in the colonies.

But be warned there are quite a few of your countrymen who came for a visit 50 or so years ago and simply never went home again. LOL

What do you tow your caravan with?

AnswerID: 320388

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 12:30

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 12:30
My mum was one of them! Cost her ten pounds...
But I reckon that there were poms arriving here over 200 years ago and didn't get to go home....
FollowupID: 587191

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 16:40

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 16:40
One of our Family Members, came over a while back, on a Cruise Ship,
she was a bit of a Naughty Girl, she lifted a couple of items that wern't hers, and the Beak in London didn't think it was funny, so
she got a one way ticket, paid for by the Crown.
My Grand Parents came over from London just before the First World
War, they owned a Grocery Store at Anakie in Queensland, they
just settled in it when my Grand Father joined the Light Horse and
went of to war, these mad poms lol.

Daza
FollowupID: 587210

Follow Up By: stuartmuk - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 08:05

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 08:05
I used to tow with a Ford Maverick 4x4 but then the fuel shot up and changed to a Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDCI car and as much as I liked the 4x4 I dont regret it as I am saving a bucket load on fuel now, that said the Mondeo is front wheel drive and is just hopeless on wet grass but I seem to get by.

Looks like there is a bit in my profile I can post some pictures up, will have a go when I get some spare time
FollowupID: 587296

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 10:52

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 10:52
Hi Stuart

Welcome from the Sunny Gold Coast in South East Queensland,
Heaps of Poms here lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 320389

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 17:13

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 17:13
Hi I was having a disussion just the other day with a mate about how long it would take to drive from the bottom of your country say from Portsmouth to the very top.
How many kilometers do you think it would be.

Probably a really dumb question.

AnswerID: 320423

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:38

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:38
Land's End to John o' Groats (Or ass about)

Land's End is the extreme southwestward (but not southern or western) point of Great Britain, situated in western Cornwall at the end of the Penwith Peninsula.
John o' Groats is the traditionally acknowledged extreme northern point of Scotland, in northeastern Caithness. The actual northernmost point is at nearby Dunnet Head. The point which is actually furthest by road from Land's End is Duncansby Head, about 2 miles from John o' Groats.

The distance by road is 874 miles (1406 km), according to the much-photographed signposts at each end.
The driving record once stood at just under 12 hours drive, or there abouts. I think it was a team from Vauxhall racing team then.

Hope this answers your question Eric.
FollowupID: 587258

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:41
I did it myself, more leisurely, in 2000 in a Ford Focus 1.3ltr and took 2.5 days.
FollowupID: 587260

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:44

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 20:44
Thanks I won the bet I said It was about 1500ks

FollowupID: 587262

Reply By: Keenycruiser - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 17:34

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 17:34
Hi Stuart, good to hear from a fellow caravanner. We have swapped our Landcruiser and caravan with people in N.Wales and had great holidays in UK and they have enjoyed cheap holidays down here. I am sure there are plenty of Oz caravanners would love to have a cheap touring holiday in UK and let you do the same in the best country on earth.

Email me if you need any more info.

Regards Mike
AnswerID: 320426

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 17:49

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2008 at 17:49
G'day Stuart from Cairns, FNQ.

AnswerID: 320427

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 21:10

Wednesday, Aug 13, 2008 at 21:10
Welcome Stuart
I am a ten pound pom. I came out when I was 25 and have been in Oz for 40 years. Originally from Wellingborough. I curse my old Dad for not coming out here when I was 12. This is a great country. He was offered a job with British Leyland and turned it down because he would not leave his garden. We have just driven 13,000 kms on three months holiday towing a camper trailer and not left Australia. This is the third big trip for us and we still have heaps to see. I think in the UK no matter where you are you are no more than 85 kms from the sea. Unfortuneatly you are going to hate this site because it will make you green with envy.
AnswerID: 320625