A Hard Day in the Office.

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 23:22
ThreadID: 61177 Views:3482 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
Just thought I'd share day with you I had 2 days ago. Jodie & I both woke early at around 5 am WA time. This particular morning we were going to be mustering around 90k out from the homestead. The morning was cool and crisp with only a slight breeze .
We sat and enjoyed our morning coffee outside our caravan, which we are staying in while here on the station. Then it was up to the kitchen to have a quick brekky and Jodie was kept busy making all our lunches for us to take out on the day. Once breakfast was over all the guys have to get all the gear ready for a big muster and do last minute preps on buggys etc, and make sure evryone has enough fuel. By 7am I was in my buggy and heading east along the Nullagine /Bonney Downs rd and the scenery is just spectacular along that route at that time of the day, and I kept thinking of what the traffic on the harbour bridge would be like right at that moment!! The sun came across the tops of the pinnacles of granite that stand high in the sky out there and I was glancing out Sth towards the Chichester Range and still just couldn't believe my luck.
Greg our boss had been out spotting cattle in the chopper and was lining us up in pairs ready to head off mobs that he had brought in from the steeper gullies and ranges. By around 1pm we had close to 500 cattle and were heading slowly back to the yards to pen them up.
By 5pm, they were in the yards and all the gates were shut and finals done to make sure all was secure before leaving for home. The dust was settling, the sun was setting and before I climbed into the dual cab to head home with the rest of the crew, I had to pinch myself to see if it was really happening.!! All I can say is , anyone thinking of working on a station in outback Australia while travelling, "Just do it"... Jodie & myself have had an absolute ball so far , and look like we will stay here a bit longer yet.

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 23:25

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 23:25
Do I need to say it Unc....

JEALOUS!!!!

Glad its been great so far....what has been your greatest memory so far????
AnswerID: 322746

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 23:33

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 23:33
Hey Laura how ya going. There have been many great moments, one was race day at Marble Bar, watching the mustering choppers head onto the creeks to chase stubborn 700kilo bulls,running out to the chook pen one morning in the nude to chase off dingos ( I think I traumatised the chooks after that!!) they've never layed that good since that day.! Driving home from Port Headland at around 5pm is always good as well, the colours at that time of day heading back to the station are just amazing. Bash day was great too, there have just been many great memories so far really, and I reckon there will be many more before we leave.
We are both so glad we took up the offer when it was there.
FollowupID: 589806

Reply By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 00:18

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 00:18
My wife was high up in the corporate world as the general manager for a few large hotels and resorts in Australasia. After too many years it all got to her. Too much stress, too much pressure. She quit, reunited with an old friend on a cattle station and lived and worked there for quite a few months.
That was about 10yrs ago and she still is good friends with the owners and keeps in touch with them.
She said the experienced changed her life, her outlook and her priorities.
I worked for our large airline and couldn't be happier seeing the back of it when i left a few months ago aswell.

We now live on the NSW south coast doing an early mid-life seachange thing, living on a 130acre farm, and enjoying a life away from the dog eat dog world of the corporate vultures.
I just sold my penile extension car, bought a used 80 series cruiser and am seriously excited about decking it out for touring and planning some 4WD tours, hopefully at least one to a real cattle station to experience what my wife, and you both have experienced.

My realisation comes down to the old saying "work to live, don't live to work". I return to Sydney to see my old friends getting up at 4:30am for work to sit in hours of traffic before they even start the day, and get home at 8:30pm to shower, have dinner and get ready for another early start, 6 days per week. Mortgaged to the eyeballs and no light at the end of the tunnel or them for at least another 30 years....

The great thing about this forum and it's members is that most here would agree life is about living, experiencing, and coming back with stories to tell.
Uncle, i think it's great that you both are having such a fantastic time and just to post here shows how great it is to get out and experience the Aussie outback.
Keep your experiences rolling in mate, so i can keep dreaming until i'm ready to load her up and hit the outback too!
AnswerID: 322750

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 05:35

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 05:35
Dear Uncle,
What a marvellous word picture you've painted.
I'm living & working in Switzerland (and enjoying every minute of it, NO COMPLAINTS) and I've just copied your message into an email and sent it to my Swiss friends with "now can you understand what I've been trying to describe?".
Your story reminds me of Banjo's line about "I am sitting in my dingy little office, where a stingy ray of sunlight struggles feebly down between the houses tall ....." and so on.
Congrats on living the life !
DickyBeach
AnswerID: 322759

Follow Up By: toyocrusa - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 07:10

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 07:10
Aussie Aussie Aussie. Oiu Oiu Oiu.
FollowupID: 589820

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 10:40

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 10:40
Uncle, uncle uncle...........

That is just not fair:((((((((((

But it is sooooooooooo nice to know that "some people"
are out and about enjoying all this country has to offer......

-going home to kick the cat (only jokin')

Seriously tho', you paint a very nice picture about something a lot of us can but think about at the moment..

Michael....stuck at work in the cold

AnswerID: 322788

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 11:14

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 11:14
Hello Uncle and Jodie,
I have only one word to say,

bastard

spoilt my day.

Only jealous, enjoy.

William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 322792

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 11:23

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 11:23
Spent some time on Montejinnie Station in the mid 80's on my first lap around the country.

It's here

Every time I read your blog it all comes flooding back...

Thanks!
AnswerID: 322793

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 17:17

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 17:17
Good on you Uncle & Jodie. You are not only "seeing" it, you are living the experience & that has got to be a real bonus!! You know, it just reinforces the fact that you should do what you blokes are doing while you are still young and active enough to actually become a member of the community you are travelling in.
As said before, we look forward to more well written & interesting word pictures of your travels & experiences. Best wishes & happy travelling.
AnswerID: 322838

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 20:41

Friday, Aug 29, 2008 at 20:41
O.k i'm Jealious,souds great Uncle, lap it up whole you can mate,cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 322884