Submitted: Saturday, Aug 30, 2008 at 23:59
Kroozer
Well Done Buddy
Franklin, what an achievement. 100+ goals in the Home and Away season. 2008 Coleman medalist, they dont come much better then this. Fevola and Jonathon Brown eat ya heart out.
21 years of age, with so much talent he could only be a West Aussie.
Up the mighty Hawks
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 00:40
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 00:40
I watched that match and was hoping Fevola would reach the 100. At the start of the game I didn't think he would get as close as he did, then at half time he had 2 points next to his name I thought no chance. He will always be remembered for the 99 goals though
You gotta love tradition, 5000+ people running on the ground, half of them don't even care if they can't get close it's just the atmosphere.
Go the Crows
Cheers Luke
Follow Up By: Kroozer - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 03:14
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 03:14
Yeah Fev did a great job, but he just wasnt good enough. Cant say i like the way Fev goes about life, but he surely is a good player. Better then Jonathon Brown who everyone seems to think is the best. But Buddy is in a class of his own. Not bad for someone who has had multiple players tagging him just about every game
And great game by the Crows by the way. Top stuff
Follow Up By: al - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 11:10
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 11:10
who cares lets keep it to travelling and 4wd stories.
al
Follow Up By: 93 Navara - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:11
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:11
why'd you bother opening up the thread al?
Follow Up By: Ford_Rodeo - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:16
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:16
I agree that John Brown isnt in the same class as Buddy............
WELL above actually. You cannot compare the two. And dont forget the 3 Premiership Medals around his neck.
Phill
Follow Up By: Kroozer - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:23
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:23
Premierships are a team effort mate not individual. Lets see who polls more Brownlow votes shall we, thats the true way to tell.
And as for Al, what a sook. Obviously your as Australian as a peperoni pizza. Its the national game mate and someone has made history. Alot of posts on here are off topic mate so get over it.
Does everyone have to stop wishing people Happy Birthday on here, thats not travelling or 4wding.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:34
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 16:34
Luke, I agree - Go the crows! I thought
Franklin was from Tassie but I now stand corrected. Yes he is good, but he's no Jonno Brown.
Follow Up By: Ford_Rodeo - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 22:37
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 22:37
Brownlow votes the true way to tell? Are you kidding or are you just winding me up? You'd be the only person in Australia to think the umpires know what they are talking about.
Brownlow votes...............LMAO!!!
Phill
LMAO!!!
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 07:10
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 07:10
Franklin is a very good Full Forward, but not yet a great one. Doubt he ever will be.
Brown is a great Centre Half Forward.
Matthew Lloyd always kicked more goals than Wayne Carey. Carey ws a champion CHF, Lloyd was/is a good FF. BTW, I'm an Essendon supporter.
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:22
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 12:22
That's a lot of goals......for a soccer player....:)))
Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:00
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 17:00
That's a good effort considering he's the first in a decade to reach 100. If you ask him what he would wants, he would say a flag.
Have you heard of a bloke by the name of Ken Farmer? Kicked over 100 goals for about 12 seasons in a row in the best competition in the land at the time. South Aussie.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 19:50
Sunday, Aug 31, 2008 at 19:50
Ken Farmer's goal kicking record. They called him The Bradman of Goal Kicking.
Year Goals
1929 62
1930 105
1931 126
1932 102
1933 112
1934 106
1935 128
1936 134
1937 108
1938 112
1939 113
1940 123
1941 86
Ken Farmer
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 13:35
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 13:35
And in SA they have the Ken Farmer Medal.
A true champion.
Go the crows
Go the tigers (
Glenelg)
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 14:11
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 14:11
I'm sure he was a champion in the SANFL.
But......
" in the best competition in the land at the time". That is simply incorrect.
The VFL/AFL has always been the premier Football League.
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:30
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 19:30
Point taken Jim, but vfl has ALWAYS been the premier comp you say? Then how come in the late 60's/early 70's SA teams won the championship of Australia? I can't remember how many times. I remember Barassi came over here with Carlton once and were beaten by North
Adelaide led by Barrie Robran, now there's a champion.
Eddie Macguire had a dig at Robran once about being put into the hall of fame and most people just laughed at him.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:34
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:34
I hear what you are saying Barnesy.
The simple fact is that players from SA and WA went to VIC to prove themselves. And make some money. Polly Farmer, Graham Moss, Stephen Kernahan, Dorotich, etc.
VFL was the big time and many VFL clubs spent huge amounts of money luring interstaters. Quality footballers come from
all places and races.
I apologise for Eddie and Ron. Two blokes whose ego's far exceeded their abilities. Barassi was amongst the best footballers ever seen, but he should have left it at that. Eddie,
well.......
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:52
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 20:52
Some guys played the game because they loved the game, and never took a cent to play, BC Robran included. Apparently Leigh Matthews said recently that one of his biggest challenges as a coach preparing for a game is dealing with the players that play because they can get paid lots of money for it, not because they are passionate about footy. My son is involved with a league club development squad. Talk about passionate; he gets a buzz out of playing on the same ground as the league guys. Hope he maintains the passion, just needs to play for a good club!!! LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:48
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:48
Fair enough Jim. As a South Australian I still have a hard time accepting vics.
As a
point of interest, which club has won the most Championships of Australia?
Port Adelaide.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:57
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:57
Are sorry Barnesy, I thought you didn't know the answer.. LOL
:-)
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:58
Monday, Sep 01, 2008 at 21:58
being a South Australian and all ... :-(