Sydney to Birdsville

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 10:55
ThreadID: 61716 Views:5117 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
I am planning a trip to Birdsville in a SUV or 'tupperware 4x4' as my mate calls it. What is the best route to take from Sydney, considering I don't have the rugged kind of 4x4? (Its a Nissan X-trail) From Birdsville I would like to do the Birdsville track down south to the Flinders Ranges and then head back to Sydney.

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 11:59

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 11:59
Xtrail is fine on any of the public roads you'll be travelling on. take it easy, as you would with any vehicle.
Might be worth taking an extra tyre casing, as the Xtrail tyres are an uncommon size.

I'd head for Broken Hill then Tibooburra, Camerons corner, Merti Merti, Innamincka, Cordillo Downs, Birdsville, Mungarannie, Marree, Lyndhurst, Flinders.

AnswerID: 325540

Follow Up By: Lombard&Stokes - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 13:36

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 13:36
Thanks Phil, appreciate your response.. this gives me more assurance to take on the trip. Will follow advice and throw in an extra tyre casing just in case. We have two weeks to prepare for the trip and I cannot wait to have a beer at the Birdsville pub and experience the remoteness of the region.
Lombard&Stokes
FollowupID: 592609

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 14:19

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 14:19
If you dont have a " need " to see Broken Hill / Silverton then ....
Dubbo / Bourke / Wanaaring / Milparinka / Toboorburra / Camerons Corner is not a bad run.

An extra spare is always a handy thing especially if running " odd " sizes .....

The X-Trail should be fine if mechanically sound ..... lots of this country was explored in VW Kombis before AllWD station wagons became available ....

Prepare wisely and have a good trip.
AnswerID: 325551

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 15:46

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 15:46
Came back the opposite way last year, except didnt go down through Milparinka , its a bit shorter if you cut through the Sturt NP to Whyjonta. the road was fairly hard on tyres had a few places with really sharp rock patchs just sticking through the surface.

Ended up killing a tyre after getting a slow leak . The guy at Wanaaaring shop reckoned he made all his money from spare tyres from people who had driven that section, lucky I had 2 spares.

The road may be better now , just something to keep in mind with whatever tyres an x trail comes standard with.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 592622

Reply By: wendys - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 15:01

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 15:01
Rather than going on to Lyndhurst, consider turning south at Mt Hopeless and coming south to Balcanoona. You could then have a look at Arkaroola, before going on to Wilpena area.
AnswerID: 325561

Follow Up By: Lombard&Stokes - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:53

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:53
Thanks Wendy - "fine tuning" the route with these type of tips is really great. Often we pass places of interest because we didn't know of them.
FollowupID: 592632

Reply By: aussiedingo - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:02

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:02
G'day all, 10 years ago I bought a 1975 Falcon wagon for $ 1200, threw a bit of gear in the back & set off from Brisbane to Birdsville through Windorah, enjoyed the trip & the races so much continued to do the whole track through Maree to Adelaide, did the wineries then back home through Broken Hill, Louth then Brisbane all in 6 days (I could only get a week off work) fantastic trip. The only problems we had were 5 punctures & 2 holes in the petrol tank! Carried 3 tubes with us & patched the tank up with a square cut out of a coke can - 1 of the puncteres I had to screw in 3 self tappers to stop the air leak. Where we had one of the punctures a new Landcruiser had 3 flats in one go (gibbers again - not selective at all!) This Falcon was standard road height, loaded with 2 adults & 2 kids with standard road tyres - sold it for $1000 after we arrived home. Those old Falcons XA to XC were tough models. That was my choice of car to do that trip. You don't really need any special 4WD to do that trip (if it is dry country) only if you head into the sand. The road now is so much better than when we did that trip. I have just got back from this years Birdsville trip - Brisbane, Thargominda in the wet, Innamincka, Cordillo Downs, Birdsville, over Big Red, Windorah, Dalby & home, 9 days - what an adventure!
Met another EO in Birdsville, Dunworkin from Perth, said if they had known the Birdsville Track was in such good condition they would have towed their van to the races. If you drive at a speed appropriate to your capabilities, your car and the road conditions you shouldn't have any problems. You can't go too slow - you can only go too fast! Slow & steady wins the race. seee yaa
AnswerID: 325573

Follow Up By: Lombard&Stokes - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 17:07

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 17:07
Heyaa! Now thats a classic adventure story...my Xtrail will become an" Xsnail". I am a salesman and need to use the vehicle after the trip so will definitley take lots of caution. I am more and more realising we need to be prepared for the trip.
Guys here talk about seeing "The Red"... i take it is the Simpson Desert. I am not ready to cross it but would like to see it when in Birdsville. I take there is a road that leads to its beginnings and you can see a bit of of it?
Anyhow, appreciate your response aussiedingo. cheers!
FollowupID: 592634

Reply By: aussiedingo - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 17:31

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 17:31
G'day again, when you are in Birdsville, drive out to Big Red & have a look at a real sandhill, if you don't want to have a go at it you can climb to the top & have a look, it's REALLY worth the effort to have a look, take a camera - you can see forever! The road to Big Red is in really good condition - don't drive up it if you are the only car out there, in case you need help. The race weekend it was great spectator sport with a large group of people lined up along the ridge applauding the brave ( have a look at my gallery for some pic's) Hope you enjoy the planning & the trip! I would suggest purchasing from EOz a Hema map "Great Desert Tracks, South East Sheet" is very informative & accurate. will cover a lot of your trip. seee yaa, Dingo
AnswerID: 325590

Follow Up By: Lombard&Stokes - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:55

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:55
Looked at your pics..great shots and sure is remote territory. I am definitely purchasing the Great Desert Tracks map book, it looks like it will give us all the prep tips we need...and I'm definitely driving out to Big REd. I am new to 4x4 adventure...hopefully this will be the start of more exciting expeditions. Thanks heaps for information given . Cheers. Lombard
FollowupID: 592728