Bogans close O'Toole's Campground!

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 18:33
ThreadID: 61764 Views:7292 Replies:11 FollowUps:43
The camping area at O'Toole's Flat has been closed due to bogans doing 'circle work' & totally destroying the camping area surface.
This comes after the recent closure & subsequent re-opening of Merrington's Flat campground.

I wonder how long the DSE & DNRE will tolerate this behaviour before we lose these areas for good?

(Both these areas are in the Victorian High Country near Aberfeldy/Walhalla.)

Reply By: TD100 - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:12

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:12
Yeh Shaker these same dicks i am guessing also do the same thing up at the thompson dam and those areas. every time we go up there the grass is ripped to bits.came across a couple of them with trekkers on their lifted pootrols a few weeks ago up at mt selma,we were the first ones up there that day, they came in after looking to get thru but a tree was down on the other track, when they left they absolutely shreaded the joint when they went.we had a pathfinder with us which had some minor issues getting out cos of the huge ruts they created. MORONS !
AnswerID: 325762

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:39

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:39
did you get there number plates? report them as they wreck it for the rest of us???
FollowupID: 592839

Follow Up By: pjd - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:07

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:07
iff you see these idiots get there rego or club stickers off the windscreen & report them it will stop them dont just complain on web sites do something about it
FollowupID: 592924

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:15

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:15
Hi Shaker.

This type of idiotic behaviour is certainly on the increase & before too long, bush camping as we know it, will cease to exist.

Vince
AnswerID: 325765

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:26

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:26
yep, these same morons have wrecked every area within an hour or 2 of melb, damn shame they are "branching out" to the better areas.

DONT FORGET ABOUT THE DSE "BUSH TELEGRAPH" PHONE NUMBER.......see / ring / make a difference.
AnswerID: 325769

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:53

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:53
Of course it wouldn't be anyone on this site, would it?

A significant proportion of the people I come across in the Victorian bush are w@ankers - about six months ago I packed up camp and left at 7pm on a Saturday evening (I'd been in that spot for four days) but the "Good ol' boy" convey came through at about 5pm and I wandered out to chat with them. Apparently they were planning to camp in the spot I was inhabiting... but I was there first? I suggested a large campsite I knew about 30 minutes away but no, "we'll put our f****** swags down on the road here if we have to mate". I walked away. They camped (six vehicles) in a spot about 200m away from me which was only suitable for, maybe two, vehicles.

After listening to their music and watching them tearing around the area for 30 minutes I decided; either this is going to end up in conflict or I should go. On the basis there were about 10 of them and one of me plus a shotgun I decided it was best I packed up and went - which I did.

I shall never again camp in a spot marked on Rooftop maps or where (as Shaker puts it) Bogans are likely to appear. But just be aware boys one day I might decide to stay...?

AnswerID: 325784

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:07

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:07
"One of me plus a shotgun"

Yep!! that just the intelligent reply we have come to expect from you.

FollowupID: 592829

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:19
The sad fact is that at times it is necessary to carry a firearm for nothing other than personal protection.

I don't like the idea of us going the way of the USA, but if the authorities do nothing to deal with the Bogan element, well.... those who like to enjoy the bush may have to be able to take reasonable measures to defend themselves.

I've experienced the sort of stuff Mike is talking about, and it is not fun. Fortunately it is rare.

FollowupID: 592830

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:25

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:25
Bull$hit!!

Comments like this on a public forum show a callous disregard for licensed shooters who act in a sensible and lawful manner.

The implied suggestion of utilizing a firearm over the "staking claim" to a campsite shows the same "Bogan" attitude that this thread is about in the first place.

FollowupID: 592834

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:27

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:27
>Yep!! that just the intelligent reply we have come to expect from you.

I'm impressed John... I doubted you could spell "intelligent".

FollowupID: 592835

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:36

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:36
Pretty poor come back Mike.
No doubt that you had to get the dictionary to double check the spelling.

FollowupID: 592837

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:49

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:49
yeah well maybe a few nights at redfern area up in sydney will change the mind, i'm against violence to a point but if my life is in danger watch out, i will hit to imobilise first and if they get up and come again it's hit to kill, after 3 warning's!!!

I am also a shooter and believe firearms have a time and place, but mike did the right thing in leaving but the red necks did the wrong thing by being tossers and causing/ threatening trouble, you also have the right to use reasonable force to defend yourself and i think a shotgun against 10 to one odds do even it up.

THE BUSH IS THERE TO SHARE, NOT TO OWN!!! OR HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN THAT???

Can you defend yourself against those odds of ten to one??

I'm trained to do a max of 4-6 in the tightest of spots! but i don't reckonmend that!
FollowupID: 592840

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:50

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:50
Please John,

Take your vendetta elsewhere.

Haven't you got better things to do?

There is more to life than internet bickering.

FollowupID: 592841

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:20

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:20
Settle down fellas.

You don't take a gun to the bush for that reason. If you do, I reckon your license should be cancelled.

Some of these comments don't do us much good.

Kim
FollowupID: 592846

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:26

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:26
I agree with John.
Mike - people with your attitude shouldn’t be allowed near a gun
FollowupID: 592849

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:28

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:28
Chris are you for real??
You would start a gun fight with 10 blokes over a camp site??
And remember we only have the story as told by one person.

As you say the bush is there to share and threatening someone with a gun does nothing but show what a true idiot the owner of the gun really is.

As Kim said, if you carry a gun with that in mind then you should have your license canceled.

FollowupID: 592850

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:48

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:48
No but i wouuld use it for self defense only!

I don't see anyone being threatened by a gun, the comment was said in a self defense attitude.
Yes we only have one side, but the person invovled erred on the side of caution and protected himself by
1: not threatening anyone with it
2: leaving BEFORE ANY trouble occured
3: Using common sense
4: yes i agree that comment was inapropiate

Have you being beaten up by more then one person???
This is the way society is slowly going, so be prepared to defend yourself by any and every means possible. Within reason!!

in america they have the right to bear arms, to what detriment to there society?

In Australia we have the right to defend ourselves with reasonable force? if you pull a knife on me, i'm allowed to pull a knife on you?

Prevention was the key and Mike did his best not to become a statistic, ie DEAD.

FollowupID: 592854

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:52

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:52
i will hit to imobilise first and if they get up and come again it's hit to kill, after 3 warning's!!!

Chris have you ever thought of getting professional help?
FollowupID: 592855

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:53

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:53
Also to remeber with campsites first in best dressed, these guys didn't know the rules otherwise, why would Mike feel threatened enough to leave???

If i was in the same situation and have being close twice, moving is better, and having a friend ie: a lump of wood or shotty sitting close at hand just in case of trouble is preferable to getting the living bleep beaten outta me for somebody's stupidity and jealousy, I see that at work and around me everyday!!!

I go away camping to get away from that crap!!! Like the rest of us!!
FollowupID: 592856

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:59

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:59
Hey tell that to the guy that got beaten that started the cornulla riots?

How about the taxi driver that got beaten to DEATH by two 14 year old girls?

How about that 16 year old girl that got raped and beaten by 4 boys!!!

I have being a victim and it's not fun! I will defend myself with any and all means possible, in a graduated way first!!!

I know the law, i have taught self defense classes and we are taught to talk our way out first and if that doesn't work say stop in a strong commanding voice hands in front of me with open hands to indicate stop, and if the attacker doesn't stop then to immobilise them Without excessive force! i can teach you take downs, not to hurt.
FollowupID: 592857

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:09

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:09
According to Mike they are camped 200 meters away!!
(Further than my next door neighbor lives to me)
Hardly what I would call close enough to be a threat, besides his story did not say he felt threatened he said....

"I decided; either this is going to end up in conflict or I should go. On the basis there were about 10 of them and one of me plus a shotgun I decided it was best I packed up and went - which I did"

Clearly he implies that he would use the gun to shut them up because they are disturbing his peace and quiet.

As I said a Bogan attitude by a gun toting Bogan who should not be in possession of a Firearms License.

FollowupID: 592859

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 22:38
They camped (six vehicles) in a spot about 200m away from me which was only suitable for, maybe two, vehicles.

we'll put our f****** swags down on the road here if we have to mate". I walked away.

After listening to their music and watching them tearing around the area for 30 minutes I decided; either this is going to end up in conflict or I should go. On the basis there were about 10 of them and one of me plus a shotgun I decided it was best I packed up and went - which I did.

Conflict, hmmmm usualy ends up with someone getting hurt!!!

Do you see the signs?? Trouble was brewing. Enough joy juice and i bet mike would have being in serious trouble. A fire starts from a spark, add fuel and it turns into a flame, add more fuel and you have an inferno!!!

I say he did the right thing left while he could, i'm not condoning the after comment about a shotgun, but if he had to use it it would most likely have being if he had of felt really threatened to a point where he would have had to use it! ie 6 wankers beatening the crap out of him!!!

but we live by different rules these days.
FollowupID: 592863

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:29

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:29
Personally I don't take a firearm when we go camping for 2 reasons:

1. I don't own one.
2. The last time I fired a rifle was about 25 years ago shooting rabbits and I am not a good shot. Given that, if I was to get into a conflict with Bogans who may also be armed, my thought is that they would be far more skilled than me and I would end up dead.

Having said that I do understand why some people feel safer with the reassurance of a gun. It's just not for me though.

FollowupID: 592886

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:14

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:14
I will not travel with people carrying weapons such as guns. Not needed for general camping (yeah recognise all the exceptions) and when you consider 1 in 5 of our population has some form of mental illness then it's a no brainer for me. My observations suggest there is an inverse relationship between the number of weapons carried and intellect. That's my bit fellas!
FollowupID: 592901

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:43

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:43
I'm with you Leigh!!!

Also agree that there are these bad boys out there. On the flip side there are people who think that only they should be in the bush or particular camp area. I have met both of these types of people and find them as distasteful as each other. ( No aspersions cast here Mike, just observation)

FollowupID: 592934

Follow Up By: Miss Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:58

Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 20:58
Now I would definately want to leave to not put up with their crap.. but the stubborn b!tch in me wouldn't let me leave... "nah, not going anywhere, they are not going to come in here and bully me and push me out! not going to let them win!"
FollowupID: 593207

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:04

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 20:04
CLOSURE OF O'TOOLES CAMPING GROUND (5/09/2008)

Four Wheel Drive Victoria has been notified that the O'Tooles camping ground, 50 kilometres north of Erica, has been closed to the public due to extensive damages caused by trail bike riders and irresponsible driver.

Please see DSE's Media Release under the more link.

Four Wheel Drive Victoria has also been notified that similar damages has occurred at Merrington's camping ground.

Link to 4wd Vic web site with the letter from DSE regarding this matter below.

DSE Letter

AnswerID: 325787

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:16

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:16
They said last time, that if it happens again at Merringtons, and it appears that it now has, that they will shut it for ever!
FollowupID: 592869

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 00:54

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 00:54
Shaker its also obviously a Motor Bike issue also.
I like most who frequent the HC have suffered the minority idiot bike brigade doing donuts in various High Country locations over the years and find that its always a small group that will ruin it for the majority.
Most bikers are good blokes who want to enjoy their chosen hobby like the rest of us a but few don't seem to care.

FollowupID: 592877

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:19

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:19
2 or 4 wheels, it doesn't matter ... A bogan is a bogan!
FollowupID: 592902

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:56

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:56
Fair dickum.....!

Some of the dribble I read in response to this post is a real worry. A few of you fellas need to stop yanking the lower end.

I can't beleive there's still a bunch of drop kicks around carrying on with this bleep related to guns.

Try to get this into your heads fellas, you don't take a gun into the bush to protect your self in a camping situation.

It's that's your thinking, then you buggar it up for the rest of us with red neck stupid bloodly Rambo comments.

Kim

AnswerID: 325818

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:12

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:12
Kim,

Thanks for the voice of reason. Yep, I still wonder how some people ever got a firearms license. If you're scared to go into the bush without a firearm you should'nt have a firearm or go into the bush for that matter.

FollowupID: 592884

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:35

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:35
For reasons detailed above I do not take a gun with me camping.

However I can understand why some people do. I might not agree, but I can understand their reasoning.

FollowupID: 592889

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 11:56

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 11:56
"If you're scared to go into the bush without a firearm you should'nt have a firearm or go into the bush for that matter"

Spot on Al.

I don't own a gun, never have and I don't object to those who do own one and who act in a responsible and lawful way.
I travel the HC and the deserts and camp like many others in very remote locations and have never felt the need to carry a gun for any reason.
Comments and insinuations as to the possible use of a gun as displayed by people on here do nothing but add another nail to the coffin of the true sporting shooter.

Jim your contradictory attitude rings true, in the above post you support Mike for carrying a firearm.

"The sad fact is that at times it is necessary to carry a firearm for nothing other than personal protection"

And now you back peddle by saying you agree with the reasons for not carrying.

In the first instance you are sucking up to your mate and in the second you are trying to distance yourself as you realise what a dick along with him you now look.

No vendetta or bickering from me, and if you think thats the case then it shows what a true dick you really are.
I just respond as I see it to posts I think are worthy of the appropriate response.

Your just as bad as Mike Harding with your condescending tone and attitude to others maybe you should spend your time doing something more productive than to try and belittle people on here.

FollowupID: 592916

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 14:42

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 14:42
John,

Once you resort to cowardly insults, any further discussion with you would be a waste of time.

FollowupID: 592940

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:52

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:52
John,

Look out, you've upset the Forum bully. Next he'll start a post to have you banned from the site LOL

FollowupID: 592958

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:05

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:05
Damn Al, now I'm really worried.

Maybe he will ask me over to his factory so he can start a punch up like he did in the other thread.

I note his mate has ducked for cover also.

FollowupID: 592993

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:48

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:48
Hey Gramps...I thought i was the forum bully...thats what Harding called me a little while ago....hahahaha.....

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 593051

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:55

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:55
Borgy,

Don't worry about Mike's "red neck stupid bloodly Rambo comments" as per Kim's description above LOL

FollowupID: 593056

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 02:06

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 02:06
Just goes to show the mentality, or lack of it with some of the posters on this site.
Quite obviously the gun buyback scheme missed a few drop-kicks.
Threats, boasting and agreeing with them, really says it all!!
'Rambo', not bloody likely, more like 'Deliverance'.

Disappointed.
AnswerID: 325822

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 05:03

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 05:03
What a shame !

O'Toole's Flat is a great spot.

These idiots, and they are a minority, bugger up everything, and I hope that they are caught.

We camped up there in '07 ( I think ) just before the floods, and loved it. But that was mid week, and the dkicheads were not up there, fortunately for me.Image Could Not Be Found

Did a clean up, broken stubbies, ( my pet hate ), and doughnuts

Gotta hate that.

AnswerID: 325826

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:37

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:37
I see the problem like this.

If bogans are permitted to be "bogish" they will continue to do so.

We camp a lot and very, very rarely see a Ranger and never Police.

I've seen some appalling behaviour and destruction to the bush and would happily appear as a witness if asked by a Ranger. But he needs to be there in the first place to ask me.

AnswerID: 325854

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:11

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:11
Or, you could take it upon yourself to discreetly make a note of their registration numbers & report them to the appropriate authority.
FollowupID: 592927

Follow Up By: pjd - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:17

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:17
you dont need the ranger or police to be there take a photo/video of them in the act & get rego no & make note of day date time then hand it to the ranger or police whith your details so when they need a witness you will be there
FollowupID: 592930

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 14:13

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 14:13
Dont mind blokes cutting loose and having a bit of fun but they should also have a bit of consideration for others and the enviroment.
If your annoying someone, move on and play somewhere else.
If you've cut up a track, a shovel will tidy the worst of it.

With reference to Mikes comment about the shotgun:
No where did I read that he had the firearm for his protection or that he was scared to go bush without it.

I think some of you blokes look for molehills so you can turn them into mountains.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 325891

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:18

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:18
"I think some of you blokes look for molehills so you can turn them into mountains."

Oh, so, so true Lionel. The forum has a few pontificators.

FollowupID: 593019

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:30

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 21:30
Lionel,

"No where did I read that he had the firearm for his protection or that he was scared to go bush without it"

Here is the molehill from post 53808

"AnswerID: 283240 Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 05:23
Mike Harding replied:
I post this incident from time-to-time in case anyone can relate to it. I've been back to that spot but (thankfully :) no recurrence.

---------------------------------------------------

Last Sunday (7th March 2004) my partner and I
were camping on the south bank of the Murray
River in NW Victoria a few 10s of kilometres SE
of Robinvale. We stayed in the one spot for four
days and had a great time, my elder son and his
girlfriend were with us and camping about 2k
downstream, joining us for meals and much of the
day. Our campsite was in a state forest with low
to medium density bush and about 8k away from the
nearest habitation, a farmhouse. The forest was
_very_ dry with a lot of fallen branches and
leaves on the ground. It is the second time we
have camped in this forest the first time being
about six months ago. I have spent many, many
nights in the bush/deserts all across Australia
and the world (probably 50% of those nights by
myself) and am familiar with the night noises
and animals of such places.

Sunday (by chance a very bright full moon) was
our last night camping before returning to
Melbourne on the Monday. My partner retired to
bed around 10pm in our see-through mozzie screen
tent and promptly fell asleep; I followed about
30 minutes later and was asleep within five
minutes.

I think it was about 3.30am when I awoke from a
deep sleep - I was instantly wide awake and knew
what had awakened me, I was not surprised to find
my partner was also awake, she was sitting up in
bed and looking around at the forest. We were
both listening to the loud and unmistakable sound
of a heavy biped moving through the forest
towards our camp and, at a guess, no more than
100m away. I listened and looked for a further 5
or 10 seconds using the bright moonlight to try
and see the creature walking across the forest
floor on the dry twigs and leaves. I could see
nothing but I sure as hell could hear it. Two
feet, crunching the forest underfoot as they
moved. I pulled on my shorts, left the tent and
put on my shoes, the footsteps were still loudly
approaching but nothing was to be seen. I decided
to hide in the shadow of a large tree about 10m
away, as I moved towards the tree I made quite a
lot of noise on the dry leaves and by the time I
reached the shadow of the tree the sound of the
approaching footsteps had ceased. I waited for
about 3 minutes and neither saw or heard
anything. I moved the few metres across to the
camp, placed a chair in deep shadow and waited
silently for about 45 minutes. The only sounds
were those of the normal night noises of the
forest. I returned to bed and slept lightly for
the balance of the night, my partner had fallen
asleep before my return.

During the night my partner and I had not
exchanged a single word about the incident, we
both knew we sensed danger and took appropriate
measures to protect ourselves so there was no
influence or suggestion from one to the other yet
in the morning we were in 100% agreement about
what had happened and what our perception of the
noise was.

As an electronics design engineer I've not given
to making assumptions without having creditable
evidence and I offer none here; but I can think
of no creature which could tramp through a dry
forest and then, suddenly, disappear without
trace, surely an animal would either have fled
when it heard/smelled me and I would have heard
it's flight through the bush or it would have
frozen for a time and then cautiously moved away
and I would have heard it during my 45 minute
wait and with such a bright moon that night I
probably would have seen it too.

I would return to this location to camp but I
suspect I will never sleep there as soundly as
before.

I would be interested to hear of experiences
others may have had of a similar ilk.

Mike Harding"

Mike's got a problem with bogeymen in the bush.

FollowupID: 593043

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:59

Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 22:59
Would you mind posting your cr@p in your own thread & stop hijacking mine!
FollowupID: 593071

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:57

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 16:57
We're all done are we...?

Well, well, well what an interesting thread this has been. I've
watched it develop over the past few days with, I'm sad to say,
little surprise. Far too often in recent times I have witnessed
threads on this forum which attempt to persecute and harass one
specific individual. Sooner or later the owners of this site will
need to tackle the issue, e-mails tell me it's costing them
memberships.

I was going to explain my, apparently contentious, statement but
I've chosen not to do so because I would then have to waste time
correcting the attempts to, yet again, twist my words and life is
just too short for that; suffice it to say, John got it wrong.

Let's look at the thread: the issue started when John chose to
set upon a few words in my post in order to perpetuate a vendetta
he began against me in 2004. Now the internet is a funny place
and arguments arise but I have never known anyone who could hold
such bitterness in his heart for so long, it must be a terrible
burden to carry such negative feelings for such a long time. It
doesn't hurt the target (me) but it eats away at the core of the
holder and poisons their view of the world.

Soon after Al (Gramps) jumped in. Al frequently posts to this
site, something like 90+% of his posts are one or two lines of
poisonous vitriol against whoever happens to be his target on any
particular day - usually someone who has disagreed with him in
the past. A bitter old man taking his anger and resentment at the
world out on hapless individuals on the internet.

Next came Kim with a little petrol to throw on the fire. [I
received your e-mail clarifying your post, thank you Kim, however
as you posted in public it would, I think, have been more
appropriate to have explained your intentions in public].

Then we had the hyenas coming in for the kill; they usually
circle the camp just outside the edge of the light, looking in
and waiting until the braver animals have made the initial strike
and there is safety in numbers. These people hover over their
keyboards, tut tutting, but never daring to post anything which
may be challenged unless they have backup. They don't take risks
in real life either, they're generally dull and boring but they
encourage the gang leaders.

That's it really. It's a group/gang behavioural pattern I have
seen both in real life and on the internet more times than I wish
to recall - I despise it and those who partake of it. It's
bullying at it's lowest form for these bullies do not even have
the courage to seek a victim of their own they seek safety in
numbers.

I feel sadness for those who hold such bile and vitriol within
themselves and even more so for their families because the
behaviour and attitudes we witness here are not confined to the
internet, this is the way they will operate with the people in
their daily lives too and those people will be far more
vulnerable to, and damaged by, such behaviour than I.

Shaker: sorry your thread was ruined, I know how much that
frustrates you.

Finally; thank you to those people who e-mailed me, I fully
understand why you would not wish to respond on the forum.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
AnswerID: 326290

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 17:17

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 17:17
Just an after-thought: if we have a disagreement on
the internet... does it _really_ have to be like
World War 3, can we _never_ find harmony again?
FollowupID: 593327

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:07

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:07
Mike,

Just the usual lies and personal attacks from you. No wonder you have so many issues elsewhere.

FollowupID: 593348

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:23

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:23
Its ok Mike....your'e allowed to have a cry in public....

Someone give the sook a tissue please
FollowupID: 593357

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:39

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:39
Mike,

Might you email me your email address please.

My email address is jimbest at bestoffroad dot net doot au

FollowupID: 593364

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:42

Saturday, Sep 20, 2008 at 18:42
Sorry,

Should have read the last line of your post.

Jim,
FollowupID: 593365