Service Station Etiquette?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:08
ThreadID: 61966 Views:4826 Replies:34 FollowUps:34
I am frankly sick of pulling up behind an empty vehicle at the bowser, sitting around like a stale bottle of milk, waiting for the owner to finish their purchases in the servo shop, pay the bill and get back to their car.

When I have finished filling the tank I move the car to the Parking Bay and then go in and pay for the juice. Thus allowing the next person who pulls up at the bowser free access to it.

I reckon it is just decent manners.

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:12

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:12
I agree totally Jim BUT most servos hate you moving your vehicle prior to paying. i have been pulled up a couple of times about this situation. so now i dont move till i have paid, i fill up nearly every day so you can see why i just do it their way. cheers Paul
AnswerID: 326796

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:17

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:17
Strange customs here If you did that in NZ you would get a right bollocking off the next customer.

Probably comes down to honesty, the attendant thinks you are skipping if you move it I guess.

As we dont have so far to run away in NZ we tend not to do it.

FollowupID: 593933

Reply By: Kroozer - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:16

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:16
Agree 100% there, but alot of places dont allow this to happen. I have been chased to the carpark many times thinking i was doing a runner. It really p's me off when people pack there eskies and do there windows there too after they have filled up.
AnswerID: 326797

Reply By: stefan P & Pee-Wee 50 - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:18

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:18
Been done before and the general feeling was....yes it would be nice to move up and let the next one in.....BUT in this day and age of fuel theft ect and servos with up to 30 pumps they do prefer you to stay put untill you have paid

Stefan

P.S Now when there is 27 unleaded bowsers empty and one car is blocking the diesel pump or the LPG one when I had my old Patrol...Now that gives me the SHYTES
AnswerID: 326799

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:19
Jim,

Many Service Stations frown upon this practice and expect customers to leave their vehicle at the bowser until they have paid for their fuel purchase.

As far as I'm aware, moving your vehicle won't let the next vehicle in line "free access" as in the pump working, until the previous customer has paid.

I too, get frustrated at times from inconsiderate (ignorant) people who should promptly pay for their fuel, return to their vehicle and progress to a parking bay, then return inside to buy their bloody icecream, lollies, drinks, or whatever.

Now, how many people would do that?

Bill.

AnswerID: 326800

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:46

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:46
The computer system is the servo can "store" your transaction and allow the next guy to start pumping before you pay.
FollowupID: 593995

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:13

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:13
Most servo's these days have CCTV (I know all don't have them) the risk to the operator of theft is getting less. I know it still doesn't stop them trying, I have also heard that thieves are steeling number plates now.
I don't know what the solution is, Maybe everyone has to take a step back and think about how their actions effect others.
FollowupID: 593999

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:17

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:17
They can MrBitchi but thats not the point....where I worked had 13 pump and if everyone moved forward, which happens plenty of times, you not only have 13 amounts to be paid for but also another 13 going through, then when someone says "pump 12" you gotta ask them their amount, they usually dont know.....my theory was to charge the larger amount, then it wouldnt be my backside getting kicked at hte end because we're down a huge amount of dollars!
FollowupID: 594236

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 21:45

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 21:45
I agree with kiwi, after working at a 20 pumps, with 2 purchases on each pump and 125 customers /hour by 8 -10 hours, and customers saying the white one x 15, the white 4wd by 7, the holden by 12 etc etc, you should by now get the drift!!!

Yes it would be nice for people to move off the pump after filling, but think about the poor console operator!

FollowupID: 594675

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 22:53

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 22:53
Our worse day ever was the beginning of the first lot of bush fires down here in 2001.....we topped at 269 customers in 1 hr (totalled something like $18k for the hour and it was the same day we had 2 tankers do a drop in under 18 hrs)....most of the buggers moving forward to get icecreams. We somehow managed to get only 1 screw up where we were told the wrong pump!

What bugs me even more is when people who work there fill and then move the car when its busy knowing full well what its like...also they are alot stressfull cos if Ive seen them out there then I know that it will be them.
FollowupID: 594689

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:21

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:21
Agree Jim as I fill up to 10 vehicles a day, but as the other guys said they do not like you moving it.
But if gertting minor groceries I aways park away from the bowser.
AnswerID: 326803

Reply By: Ray - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:32

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:32
I had a run in at a bowzer some months ago. I was filling up with LPG and ULP at the same time. A voice came over the loudspeakers saying that that was not allowed. I gave them the one finger and when I went to pay I got chatted up again. I told the servo manager to put a sign up to this effect and if he wanted to speak to me to get off his butt and come and tell me personally and not shout at me through the loudspeakers. Guess who had the red face?????? Not me
AnswerID: 326806

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:33

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:33
as per what Paul above says

on a recent trip to ACT a servo at balranald got very narky when i moved the car away from the camera...and that was after I presented myself at the counter to pay the bill..

but I'm with you..i dont get a hassled here in adelaide doing it..maybe its just an eastern state thing
AnswerID: 326807

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:33

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:33
gday all

what would the legalities of this be;

you pull up to a bowser
punch in to the bowser a preset amount
bowser clicks off
then you tip up the hose with the nozzle still in your tank,holding the handle of the nozzle open
preceed to the counter?

would taking this small amount of fuel that is still in the hose ( which came through the pump,which has a counter on it to measure the fuel , is it legally yours??)
AnswerID: 326808

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:27

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:27
Just as legally yours as the fuel that someone else paid for that yoou pumped into your car first I guess

FollowupID: 594019

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:37

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:37
Gday Jim, I agree,but in NSW they dont activate the pump until the customer has paid for the goods, so it would save about a minute,if that up here,most folk get their juice,milk, bread,fags etc and put it all on the plastic at the same time.

regards,Keith C
AnswerID: 326810

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:39

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:39
We do a lot of refueling at a small congested BP. Was over their yesterday and a older grey nomad in a GQ and a large bogey van had driven into the bowser closest to the shop. To exit is tight in a fairlane. It was obivious to me the old guy was going to have to back out. BUT another old goose(older them me ha ha) was jamed up his clacker waiting for him to move forward.
I went over to the idiot one and explained the situation, and he complied with my directions and moved to the other side of the bowser. This was actually now the right side for him. While I am helping the other old guy back out the idiot one goes inside and complaines about me.LOL
Anyway when I finally got the UD filled I went inside to fix up and the manager told me about idiot.
Anyhow she told me her reply was( thank god their was someone on the scene with some common sence, because it is not common.
Gave me a laugh anyway
AnswerID: 326811

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:53

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:53
Maybe its time we go the American way and install swipe fuel machines where you don't have to go to pay the attendant. Just swipe your card, nominate the amount with the correct buttons, enter and then put your fuel in. When finished get in and drive away.

That way all you young, impatient, tycoons will keep your cool....lol
AnswerID: 326814

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 21:59

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 21:59
Willem,

Here in the "big smoke" some servos already have them (mostly Mobil servos i've noticed)... Handy when you've got the little 'uns in the car, but a pain in the a$$ when the bloody card reader won't work...

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 593966

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:50

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:50
And a right royal pain when you want to fill up. How can you predict exactly how much it's going to take??
FollowupID: 593996

Follow Up By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:00

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:00
Willem. Those sort of pumps are appearing in NZ now. Just swipe your credit or EFTPOS card at the pump and enter a pin number. You fill up (whatever it takes) and the $ amount is taken off your card when the nozzle is hung up.

The servos hate them because they don’t get you inside to sell groceries and bad coffee at inflated prices, but the customer resistance to prepay was getting too high. Plus it’s hard to do a drive off from a card pump.

CliveG (NZ)
FollowupID: 594010

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:09

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:09
One great BP Servo where I fill up at times has the card in the bowser system.

1) Swipe your card in the bowser mounted reader.

2) Fill whatever quantity you wish.

3) Place nozzle back on pump.

4) Remove transaction reciept from pump.

Must lose a lot of impulse sales from the shop though! I know that I never go inside.

FollowupID: 594084

Reply By: Angler - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:55

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 20:55
You know what I hate more, I have the van on the back and pull in to fill up with diesel and the pump is in another lane. Stupid B's can't even put a sign up to say where it is. I just drive straight through and find another station.

Pooley
AnswerID: 326816

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 21:04
ANGLER

whats even more frustrating is you pull in to a servo to put 800ltrs + into the truck & some stupid woman ( & some blokes) pull in just in front of you and use the hi-flow bowser instead of the normal one.grrrrr!!
FollowupID: 593947

Follow Up By: Krakka - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 05:16

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 05:16
I don't push in but always use the hi flow pump.
FollowupID: 593981

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:38

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:38
Mark,
It's worse when the hi flow pump keeps cutting out because it's to fast for a car and they take 20 mins to put in about 80 lts then go and do their shopping.Or they park in the diesel bay because they think no one uses it very often
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 594005

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 21:50

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 21:50
its not like theres a shortage of servos - just go to another with aspare bowser
AnswerID: 326833

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 22:19

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 22:19
Well their is a shortage of servos in Bathurst. Only 7 to serve 30000 plus highway travellers. We have lost 10 in the last few years. Friday arvos is murder, fustration and anger as people cue up in a line to get fuel. No blxxdy wonder it is still 159.9.
FollowupID: 593969

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:13

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:13
Hey Madfisher!

You have my sympathy, had to fill up at Bathurst on our way home from the Darling River Run. Hell! What a bloody catfight tryning to get onto a pump. I would not like to have to go through that every time I needed fuel.

FollowupID: 594086

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:41

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:41
The servo with the best prices and lest congestion is the one at Yethomle, for travellers heading home.
Mostly try and get my personall fuel their.
FollowupID: 594139

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 22:13

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 22:13
Giidday Jim

Can't figure out what the problem is.

Some fella takes a minute to pay the bill and move on. So what.

Cripes I've spent triple that time in a supermarket listening to an old dear telling the girl on the machine her life story.

'Sniff the air, scratch ya bum, and before you know it, they'll be gone'.

Kim
AnswerID: 326839

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:51

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:51
Yeah Im with you!
Bloody hell......There is a servo here in Scrubby Town where you have to go in and pay for your fuel before you can fill you car up!!!!!
Im serious.

There is also some that will throw you a pack of smokes over everyones head, and give you a wave.....meaning fix me up on the way home or tommorrow.

FollowupID: 593974

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 06:43

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 06:43
Jezes, Hairy I can't remember the last time I did that at a servo.
Your taking me back some time now. Petrol would of been about 42 odd cents a liter for Super, none of this diet crap. Packet of Wini blue was around about $2?, I think. And 50 cents for a midi at happy hour. Each pay day you would go down to the servo fill the old girl up again and fix ya tab up. You'd never question it. What ever the young girl said it was, you just paid it.
How things have changed.
Most servo's don't even have a washer wiper for your front windscreen or a watering can to wash spilt fuel, let alone paper towel. And ya gotta buy something just to use the crapper, which are always filthy.

Oh Well, We get by.
FollowupID: 593986

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:12

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:12
Pulled into a servo the other day in the Western suburbs of Sydney and parked behind a panelvan loaded with gear and I presumed the drivers seat was empty and the driver was inside paying for fuel.
I patiently wait 3 mins and then see the badly dressedyoung male middle eastern driver alight from the drivers seat of the vehicle and he is talking on his mobile!!! He then proceeds to slowly fuel his vehicle.
I wanted to abuse him but was stopped by my wife who didnt want me to make a scene. This was in a servo in Lakemba and the owners are also of middle eastern extraction--only went there as they had the cheapest diesel in the area.
AnswerID: 326844

Reply By: Zebra400 - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 03:51

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 03:51
I have more of a problem with fuel station attendants who can't push the button on their console to allow you to fill up. The lights on their console are flashing and some of them bleep, but they just continue serving the customer in front of them. All this does is slow down the filling up process. I think they should be trained to activate a new purchase ASAP as I believe in heavy times this will speed up the filling process.

Oh, the other thing that gets up my nose is the "Thank you for your patience in waiting' from some of the attendants when their is a queue to pay on Wednesday mornings. It sounds so false as they are being forced by management to say it. It actually makes me feel worse when they say it. I would be happier if they dispensed with trying to sell their counter '2 or 1' specials when the queue is long. Most of us just want to pay and get out as quikly as possible.
AnswerID: 326857

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 04:18

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 04:18
Geez, lack of patience or what!!
Rather than hang meself from the nearest tree/bowser, I just chill and listen to the latest footy scores or whatever.
Glasshouses and double standards.

AnswerID: 326858

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:12

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:12
G'day Jim,

Seems like you opened a bucket of worms and unfortunately in our neck of the woods it is also frowned upon to move before paying. Incredibly frustrating I know but like most here I sit back and listen to the music, clean the windows (before getting to the bowser) and get ready for our Monte Carlo fuel dump.

The whole situation is off course exacerbated by cheap Tuesday when you have that little pocket rocket in front of you that takes $10 of fuel to save 2c with a shopper docket.

Hope you take it easy on me if I'm in front of you because I've already been slapped into this shape by the big fuel companies.

AnswerID: 326870

Reply By: Ray - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:51

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:51
I got confused at one servo in the NT. I hadn't done Pay before you Fill before. I went to the counter and asked how I pay before I fill if I do not know how much fuel I am going to buy? I was told that I could leave my car keys, credit card of $50.00 at the counter. I quickly told the attendant that I do not trust them like they do not trust me and drove off without buying anything.
AnswerID: 326874

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:19

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:19
Good one!

I used to have 4 and 5 yrear olds come into my service station with a message from Mum.

"Mum said can she have a packet of Windfield Blue and she will pay you next week".

My reply. "Tell Mum she can pay me today and I'll give her a packet of Windfield Blue next week".

FollowupID: 594087

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:12

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:12
I always move forward and have never been questioned by the console operator, and I go to a swag of different servos.

Sounds like it may happen soon, but that will not stop me. If I'm not breaking the law, I'm not doing anything wrong.

AnswerID: 326878

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:48
Yer Jim I do so too and have never been questioned either

FollowupID: 594020

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:34

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:34
im with you jimbo
never been questioned when i move or i even get tab to move the car while i go in and pay
FollowupID: 594137

Reply By: Member - John G- Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:36

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:36
G'day Jim

I'm with Kim and his dog

It's only going to be 5 mins out of your day - a bit of time out to contemplate the meaning of life, or small business. Don't know about scratching your bum tho', could attract some curious stares.

avvagoodday
AnswerID: 326884

Reply By: beelzebug - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:49
While we're talking servo etiquette, my biggest gripe is with losers who pull up at the pumps just to be close to the front door of the servo. They block the pumps and go in for a paper, bottle of milk and usually some Winnie blues.
Grrrrr!
AnswerID: 326900

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:13

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 11:13
I use to get them to move the car before being served if we were busy, that would piss them off and they would either not come back or not do it again!
FollowupID: 594235

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:55

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:55
It wouldnt take much for servos to have signs on driveway
"FUEL ONLY" this may stop those who park in front of bowser and go shopping but dont purchase fuel??
AnswerID: 326901

Follow Up By: Anton + Barb - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 01:55

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 01:55
More likely to be a sign "SHOP Items only, Fuel too much of a hassle"
FollowupID: 594192

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:42

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:42
I do move off and park but usually only at country servos because i often get some food go to the dunny and maybe stretch my legs
besides that the 2 servos i fill up at loacally are fairly quite and theres not much of a Q at the diesal bowser anyway
AnswerID: 326907

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC)(MURRAY) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:29

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:29
How slow are those people at the Bunnings check out?
Murray

AnswerID: 326914

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:10

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 16:10
MURRAY

Bunnings warehouse...........................where lowest wages are just the beginning!!!

FollowupID: 594085

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:07

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:07
Don't start swearing at us, Murray.
'The ministry of silly walks'
Sorry mate, Just that it's a dirty word to Mark & myself.
FollowupID: 594146

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:04

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:04
What's the dirty word, HairyFish?
Les
FollowupID: 594399

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 12:33

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 12:33
Com'on Les, don't make me say it.
We use to be employed by a real Hardware store, BBC.
Then WesFarmers acquired BBC from Howard Smith.
Would Love to sit down one day with a few beers and tell you if you would care to listen.
Whats that old saying?
Things are not what they appear.
Anyway it's friday, Yahoo
FollowupID: 594433

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:18

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:18
I was talking to Mark the proprietor at Mobil this morning about this, he said that it is frustrating for the console operators because 9 out of ten people that move there cars can't remember what bowser they used and how much they put in it.

Not only that they can only hold 2 fuel purchases per bowser, so even if you move your car and the next person has finished and moved then you haven't payed as yet because you are still looking for things to buy, the third has to wait.

Steve.
AnswerID: 326919

Reply By: jammin - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:19

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:19
I think the best way around it is timing. Its like peak hour traffic, you know they will be busy at certain times so avoid it and if not then yeah sit back and wait the 5 minutes.
AnswerID: 326920

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:33

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:33
Havent had time to read through the respsonses but can I tell you that from an ex servo workers point of view its customers like you that think they are being courteous that are forgetting that if they want to be courteous to anyone it should be the person working behind the counter.

Especially when its busy and you and you other "courteous" mates think they are being kind, it you gotta remember that not everyone knows what pump they were on nor the amount, some dont even know what car theres is!!

AND my old place now has it so that even if you do move the other person cannt use the pump until the sale is cleared, which many places do these days anyway.

Be courteous to the person working there, not the person behind ya, what are they going to do for ya?? atleast your chances of getting a nicer greating off the CSA is going to be better!
AnswerID: 326924

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:16

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:16
Well said, young Kiwi!!!
FollowupID: 594131

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:04

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:04
Hi Jim

Once you've paid for another half tank of diesel which some freckle has nipped and took while you've gone off to park your vehicle out of kind consideration...then just driven off...you tend not to do this again and just leave the car where it is. No supposed to happen but it does.

Brad
AnswerID: 326955

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:51

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:51
didn't we just cover this a few months back -- ended up in a nit or a rukus......

boc
AnswerID: 326967

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 23:17

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 23:17
I select servo's on how accesible they are, not the bowser price.

I have a caltex card and close to normal work to home run there are at least caltex stations. However the one i go to has clear open access to the diesel pumps so i dont have a problem. For possibly a 1c litre extra cost over 80 litres i dont care.
This is not just a prolem on diesel there are lot os servos that are so poorly planned it is evean hard to get ULP.

May be instead of people selecting servos on price they should shop on access.
AnswerID: 327024

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:38

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:38
And how do YOU feel Jumbo when someone drives off after hitching up a ct without paying ,,,,, ?????? at the sandover servo a cpl of mths ago while we were there a drive off that cost the station $300+ occured because people like you have no patience ,,,,,, awaiting your typical vitorol ,,
AnswerID: 327090

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:45

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:45
No vitriol, can't be bothered.

By the way, how did you get on with the CAA?

FollowupID: 594263

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:01

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 22:01
Gone very silent?

Wonder why that may be?

ROMLMAO.

FollowupID: 594351

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 19:58

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 19:58
I'm still waiting.

FollowupID: 595696

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:50

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:50
Geez, you got me waiting too now, Gone silent?, why?
FollowupID: 595713

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:49

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 14:49
I think some people on here are getting uptight about things that are non-issues. The majority of people in the world would love to have the problems that you have to deal with.

So you have to wait in your car for an extra 3 minutes. Big deal.
AnswerID: 327091

Reply By: RosscoH - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:54

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:54
Its a long time since I have seen a "SERVICE STATION", I thought they were all fuel fill up stations now, haven't come across one with too much service of late.
AnswerID: 327229

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 23:01

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 23:01
The rule now is that if we sell it we have to be able to fit it. Ive asked to be put through a proper mechanical course but caltex (woops...names sorry!) not interested. Its not the stations idea but the franchisers way of covering their butts for whatever reason.....

At the same time its bad enough being a female working there and being told that I cannt check oil or change wiper blades or tyre pressure by the customers, alot must be scared Ill break a nail. They then bleep themselves when they see me moving the tanker or standing on top of it or laying under a car to do a fuel filter.....

But if your ever in Berry NSW stop at the servo there, last time I was there they had a lady doing all sorts of things for customers cars.....not sure anymore though.
FollowupID: 594691