What permanently stays in your vehicle?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 23:55
ThreadID: 62196 Views:3644 Replies:16 FollowUps:10
So I have been messin about a bit lately, transferring stuff, bits and pieces etc from the storage box in the paj over to the patrol.
So got me thinking for a general question, what has a permanent home in your vehicle whether you are off road or around town? What stays in there no matter what?

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 23:57

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 23:57
Everything....lol

AnswerID: 328040

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 03:16

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 03:16
after getting bogged and having to walk 40k the highlift never leaves the 4by
AnswerID: 328047

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 06:39

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 06:39
Yep everything stays in it permanently, mind you it is only used for travelling and weekends away, the old Volvo is used around town.
AnswerID: 328053

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 06:51

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 06:51
A lot of Stuff,

Hilift Jack and base,
The Storage box drivers side at rear; 4meter lead light, handy for when you need to put the winder handle in the spare wheel winder of a night. It’s the only thing a hate about my 80. Roll of toilet paper, 2x ocky straps, Test Light, 400mm reusable Zip Tie.

Passenger Side rear storage compartment; Jumper Leads, A few basic tools in the stock Toyota bag with the wheel nut socket & Key. Toyota Bottle Jack, 600mm of 25mm gal water pipe, makes getting a Tyre off & on the studs a lot easier, Tyre Levers

Glove Box; First Aid kit, Tyre Gauge, Telescopic Stick with a magnet on the end, Box of Tissues, Matches, In a Pill Box; Spare Fuses, 2x each type, Valve Cap, 2xValve, Valve removal tool, Key for the lockable towing hitch.

Passenger Front Door pocket; 3x plastic bags for rubbish, repair manual, Maps

Drivers Sides Door Pocket; Windscreen Shade, 2x Window Shades, To keep the sun of the kids if they fall asleep. Old Rag.

Center Console; ExplorOz Stubbie Holder, CD’s, note Pad, 2x pens

And the day I take something or leave it behind, will be the day I need it. LOL
AnswerID: 328055

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:07

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:07
That's it hey, when you take something out and forget to put it back in, that is when you need it. That is why I always kept the major stuff in the paj. Also if there was a spur of the moment take off somewhere, especially if you are not leaving from home to go play, the vehicle has everything in it for any situation.
FollowupID: 595383

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 14:17

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 14:17
And when we go and play, All I have to do is throw in the Snatch strap & bag of goodies, the Air compressor, Axe, long handle shovel.
And of cause chairs, esky, and ground sheet.you know all that other kinda crap.
I do believe in the 50/50/90 rule.
When you have a 50/50 choice,
90% of the time you'll choose wrong.
FollowupID: 595430

Reply By: toyocrusa - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 06:51

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 06:51
Hi Jo. Unfortunately,If you use your vehicle regularly,the less you leave in it the better.If you check out the "Greendog" post a couple of months ago you will see what these bloody thieves can get up to. Better to keep your hard earned goods somewhere secure. Regards,Bob.
AnswerID: 328056

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:05

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:05
I always kept what I consider the essentials in the paj. Had no problems with louts, Need to keep those same essentials in the patrol but with the vehicle being more open visually on the back end than what the paj is I reckon it is a bit more tempting to want to steal from than what the paj is. I will be keeping everything in a galvanised black powder coated toolbox and chain it down to the vehicle itself and padlock it. When I get the windows tinted on patrol it obviously won't be so noticeable to look straight in and see stuff there.
FollowupID: 595381

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:46

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:46
Hi Jo, love the rig pic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!funny LOL

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 595496

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 00:13

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 00:13
Classic hey!! someone sent it via email.. I think it may have been Bobby. (Zuk Scooter)
FollowupID: 595512

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC)(MURRAY) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 07:58

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 07:58
At the moment i have a bag of potting mix that seems to have become permanent.There is also a pot that i have found that goes with the potting mix. One day my darling will ask where it is ,and then it will be something else she wants.
Murray

AnswerID: 328068

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:25

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:25
Jo,

Basic tools.
Jack and base plates.
Compressor.
Shentai Impact wrench.
Snatch strap and rated shackles.
Small shovel (army trenching tool type).
Axe.
Exhaust Jack.
2 x Fire extinguishers and fire blanket.
1st aid kit.
Emergency rain poncho's, space blanket etc.

I figure with that lot I can safely do an "impulse" run and not get into too much trouble ;-)

PS. The laptop has a crook keyboard.....
AnswerID: 328073

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:10

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:10
It is stuffed? If it is John and cannot be saved, just put it out to pasture, At can say tried to save her, the Dell has died!
FollowupID: 595385

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:36

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:36
Nothing , no interest to any thieves . I dont carry anything LOL .
AnswerID: 328079

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:58

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:58
Now that just sounds like you are hiding something!!!!!!
FollowupID: 595379

Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:06

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:06
Nothing to see here .
FollowupID: 595382

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:13

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:13
Jumper leads, first aid kit, hiking whistles, recovery gear, a rope, a can of silicon spray, dunny paper, small folding shovel, KFC wet wipes, some serviettes and a packet of chewies.

I have a plastic crate under the shelf in the back with basic gear in it. It stays there all the time, next to the toolbox. It's amazing how often you need tools for non-car related things.

Louie
AnswerID: 328081

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:36

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:36
The baby Engle fridge ,allways on and ready be it to a party or going grocery shopping.
AnswerID: 328090

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:49

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 09:49
Everything stays in the Landy...ready at a moments notice.
AnswerID: 328091

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 10:11

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 10:11
Oh, and I keep my "rack" on permanently as well.. LOL
AnswerID: 328095

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 13:28

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 13:28
You have a "rack" as well John??......Greendog will contact you shortly....hahaha...

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 595422

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 00:12

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 00:12
HAHAHA John!!! Between my best friend and I we had named the patrol the Cex mobile because of the number plate and all the funnies we made up about it .. but no I am thinking, The Rack? Jo's rack? Rack 2? If any one can come up with the perfect name that I will accept, a carton of beer for them!!!!
FollowupID: 595511

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 10:21

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 10:21
Papers, rubbish, sticky lolies left by the kids, old bills, mcdonalds wrappers.. plenty of Lotto tickets.. i must check them sometime,, Totally organised!!! What about you?? Michael
AnswerID: 328098

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 20:02

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 20:02
Be careful leaving anything in your car round your place Jo. I would have any gear for trips in a plastic container in the house somewhere so when you want to, just chuck that container in the car for a trip somewhere. RACQ will sort out the rest of "emergency" situations round town. Works out heaps cheaper than a stolen tool kit or recovery gear or both.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 328177

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 20:05

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 20:05
Full compliment of tools,spare fuses,wire,meters,the must have steel putty,wd40,puncture repair kit,vinyll repair tape,recovery gear,wet weather gear, extinguisher and comprehensive first aid kit,bottle jack and plate,jumper leads and rags. the hand held uhf,stauns and leatherman all live in it permanantly. i have removed all the camping lanterns and cookers that used to live in it.plus i leave about 10 litres of water in the tank as well.i think thats about it?? cheers Paul
AnswerID: 328178

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:56

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:56
Compressor, recovery gear

Thats all

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 328216