guns

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 09:30
ThreadID: 62474 Views:7643 Replies:29 FollowUps:138
hi guys was thinking about this one the other day...

i am yet to travel around oz but usually do small trips up an down the queensland coast fishing, due to work i dont get alot of time.
but when i do(eventually) do a trip around oz,more so accross the top end for me and remote places

would i take a gun with me for protection for my family cause you never know who or what is out there,be it animals or humans, to ruin your life.

whats is everyones opinion on carrying a gun on trips to remote places,hopfully you never need to use it though.

brentos

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 09:41

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 09:41
Will someone post that popcorn eating GIF for me please?

Mike Harding :)
AnswerID: 329448

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:12

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:12
FollowupID: 596845

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:19

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:19
Maybe this is more appropriate for all those monsters in the bush.

FollowupID: 596853

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:35

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:35
John,

FollowupID: 596859

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:22

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:22
Thank you Brian :)
FollowupID: 596880

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:53

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:53
Oh Mike you are funny!!!!
FollowupID: 597012

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:31

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:31
Brentos,

I cannot think of anywhere you would travel in Australia where a gun is needed for self defense.

In places like crock country in some places across the top end, it just requires a little commonsense and alertness when around rivers and other waterways. Even if you had a gun, the lizards are a protected species.)
I have taken my 3.4m tinnie along the Mary River fishing for Barra (got two good size ones) and seen a few crocks, but they are as wary of you, as you are of them. (unless you go for a swim)

As for the high profile Ivan Milat & Bradley Murdoch incidences, well I would suggest these are very remote indeed and you would be in more danger crossing the road at home.

Leave the gun at home and it cannot be used against you.
Just enjoy the experience of remote travel mate.

Bill.

AnswerID: 329458

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:33

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:33
Never been to sydney ???

Boc

FollowupID: 596899

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:08

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:08
ROTFL....with tears...hahahaha
FollowupID: 596908

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:07

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:07
Or Gouger st. in Adelaide? LOL
FollowupID: 596967

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:43

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:43
I know some members carry firearms for various reasons, but I don't see the need.
Most travellers will never find themselves in a situation that needs lethal force. You'd probably be better off with a loaded baseball bat.
Is it actually legal to carry a firearm in all states ? Registered or not ?
You don't point a firearm at anyone unless you intend to kill them.
Under what conditions would you do that ? Are you in a position to be able to judge when your life is at stake, or when the local drunken lads are just having fun ?
What if the murderous intruder at night is just a local on his way home from the pub that stumbles into your camp?
Some justify carrying a firearm by saying that they would use it to kill snakes (you'd need to be a cool customer and not a nervous nelly to do this..better to just get out of their way I rekkon). Some might use it to kill animals injured by contact with vehicles...
but few people would need to use a firearm to do this very often, surely ?
Unless you are very experienced with them, or need them for work, I suggest that you leave them alone.

Ok guys, you can blast away at me now. I make an easy target :))

AnswerID: 329459

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:54

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:54

Fiction at it's worst :))
FollowupID: 596844

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:12

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:12
I would just like to say that it is an offence to kill snakes/pythons as they are a protected species ..... and punishable by large fines and or Goal

Boc
FollowupID: 596910

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:29

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:29
"punishable by large fines and or Goal " now you really have us scared. After all, nobody wants to be kicked as a goal !
FollowupID: 596920

Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:13

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:13
I've got 6 rifles and a over under shotty which is minimum legal length, it easily breaks in two and can be stashed in a small spot in your car.
If I was travelling Oz and camping remote grounds i wouldnt hesitate, whether it be for protection from animals or nuts!

Cheers, Wayne

PS; by the way i'm not some gun toting nut so no bashers please!
AnswerID: 329464

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:16

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:16
Have you travelled around Oz or in remote areas ?
FollowupID: 596847

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:47

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:47
Yeah you really need a gun for protection from those vicious rabbits that we have in this country.

As we have seen before those that insinuate they need a firearm for self protection whilst traveling this country should not hold a gun license.

Nutta by name Nutta by nature.

FollowupID: 596851

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:05

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:05
Vicious rabbits! What a load of crap!

Now drop bears - that's another matter - definitely need to carry a firearm.

FollowupID: 596876

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:30

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:30
His profile/nick name says it all.

FollowupID: 596882

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:13

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:13
Christ, who the hell do u think u are making claims like that, get a life you loser!
FollowupID: 596911

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:13

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:13
W W Why dem rabbits arrr dangerous....they could kill...like gum you to death.....dangerous dem li'll kritters.....

I recommend a .700 nitro express...nuthin less...yeah that orta do it.
FollowupID: 596912

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:21

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:21
Hilarious, that was so funny DH.
FollowupID: 596918

Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:39

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:39
Why, tell me a story.
AnswerID: 329466

Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:51

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:51
Maybe we should all be driving around in 2 wheel drives if we mostly travel on tar/gravel roads.
We dont need 4bys right?
AnswerID: 329469

Reply By: kev.h - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:59

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:59
I carry a rifle most times in the outback (securly locked away) I started doing this afted having the unplesant duty of trying to beat a severly injured Kangaroo to death with a hammer that some less than nice person had left lying dying in the middle of the road
It may not have been any more pleasant but a hell of a lot easier if I had the rifle
To date I have not had to use it but if needed its there
Also it makes food a lot easier to gather if stranded its an essential bit of gear in very remote travel
My opinion
Kev

AnswerID: 329470

Follow Up By: Breakerman - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:49

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:49
Kev
I don't carry one on trips but I know what you mean. I should have stopped and put a kangaroo out of its misery after someone else had run over it - up near Hungerford many years ago - and I didn't. The kids were little and it all just seem too much because I would have had to beat it to death. I just couldn't do it. This was 30 years ago and in all my travels since I have not come across a similarly injured beast. I hope I never do.
Breakerman.
FollowupID: 596903

Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:10

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:10
Still waiting footloose?
AnswerID: 329472

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:22

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:22
Try posting a follow up to your original post instead of adding multiple new ones??
At least then he will get the email and see your response.

FollowupID: 596855

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:28

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:28
Gun scared, just how the gov want most of people to be!

Dont worry, 4bys will be on the banned list one day, so better get ready for it!
We will all be driving 2 wheelers one day, therell be no beach driving, no shooting, no dirt bikes! NSW already have fishing licences.
Anyway, lets all give in! Hooray!
FollowupID: 596857

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:34

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:34
Now try for a sane and sensible argument!!

Same old catch cry the gun lobby has been using for years.....

"The government wants to disarm the people!!"

Next you will be crying "Reds under the bed"

FollowupID: 596858

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:37

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:37
We'll just have to wait and see.

Dont forget to remove ur bullbar too incase u accidentally hit a pedestrian, Wanker!
FollowupID: 596860

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:45

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:45
So thats it??
No facts to support your argument so you resort to name calling??

Says a lot about you.

FollowupID: 596863

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:45

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:45
Nutta by name nutta by nature, i think u started it actually?
FollowupID: 596864

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:51

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:51
Its your choice of name.

FollowupID: 596867

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 13:00

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 13:00
Well , i apologise, it was out of line. I just think nearly everyone in this country has rights, whether it be owning a gun, 4wd, dirt bike or whatever.
Our rights are slowly eroding and the gun laws were the beginning, not every gun owner is a nut, the same as not every 4wd owner is not a road hogging nutcase as protrayed by the media sometimes.
Anyway, thats enough for me.

FollowupID: 596868

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:18

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:18
Next you will be crying "Reds under the bed"

I wondered about that,,,,I keep hearing noises at night...never thought of looking under the bed....will next time......will I need a rifle???
FollowupID: 596917

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:38

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:38
What exactly are you waiting for, Mr Nutter ? I'm still waiting on a rational arguement as to why this country should be turned into the Wild West.
FollowupID: 596922

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:14

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:14
Whats owning and travelling with a firearm got to do with the wildwest?
Some of you really in lala land.
FollowupID: 596944

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:18

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:18
You're quite correct there....only it isn't me.
FollowupID: 596945

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:20

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:20
Well you come out with the wildwest line, tell me thats gunna happen?
FollowupID: 596946

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:43

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:43
Wayne, Mr Nutta or Nutcase or whatever.
What is it that distinguishes Australia from America? Guns What is it that distinguished our history from theirs ?Guns
Why are some motorists over there so polite ? (it's because they are worried that if they aren't, they'll get shot dead !...)
Exactly what do you think would happen if we passed a bill guaranteeing Australians the right to bear arms ?

The NRA would be proud of you.

And what happens if the bad guy has a bigger gun or better eyesight ? Tough luck eh ?
What happens if the intruder happens to be a Pizza delivery guy looking for a customers back door...tough luck eh ?

"I just think nearly everyone in this country has rights, whether it be owning a gun, 4wd, dirt bike or whatever." WRONG !!
What we don't have is a Bill of Rights...The Govt giveth and the Govt taketh away.

You're telling us that you have 6 rifles and a shottie, and you're not a gun nut ? How do you explain that then ?

It might be the Law of the Jungle where you come from but I live in Australia. Perhaps if you feel the need for a weapon (or so many weapons?) you might not be the safest guy to meet in the bush?

FollowupID: 596954

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:05

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:05
FOOTY, There would be many firearms owners that would have at least that many firearms, is that the definition of a gun nut. I sure as hell don't class myself as a gun nut. As with many sports and hobbies there is no one tool that does all jobs. The same rifle you use for a bunny is no good for a pig, or a buffalo, and none of those rifles are ALLOWED to be used for duck or quail. I have maybe 10 torches, does that make me a TORCH nut?
Krakka
FollowupID: 596965

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:16

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:16
Other than collectors or those who sell them, why do such people own so many guns?
Krakka, do you propose to carry these firearms around Oz to protect you and yours just in case ?
If that is the case, then sorry but yes you're a gun nut.

FollowupID: 596972

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:28

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:28
So what if u own a few cars, car nut or enthusiast?

I used to do a bit of shooting, as krakka says u need a few rifles for different scenarios, i havent been shooting for 8 years and havent got around to selling them because im to lazy, i also dont like the government bossing me around.
I canrt beleive the assumptions people come to just because u own a few guns.
Go back 50 years and they were everywhere with a low crime rate, now theyve been cut back to the hilt, why more murders with less guns and a much higher crime rate?

Like someone else said, its the nut behind it!
After some of the opinions on here i'm glad a couple of u dont have guns, i'll feel much safer travelling oz!
FollowupID: 596980

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:31

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:31
By the way i also own 18 fishing rods which i havent used for a year or 2 so i must be a fishing nut even though i have no interest lately!
FollowupID: 596983

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:24

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:24
A "nut" is a long way from a "nutter".
I've been called a nut in a few cases by those who felt that my interest was over the top, usually by those who didn't have any interest.

None of us like the Govt bossing us around, but owning 20 guns or more wouldn't affect that. They'd still do it. (unless you're talking about a license to own them...see point 1).

I don't assume anything. I asked you why you needed so many. I asked a number of questions, but also gave reasons why one shouldn't carry (notice I didn't say no guns) them for protection.

50 years ago serious crime wasn't, per capita much lower AFAIK.
Mass media (hysteria) has fuelled such perceptions. It was still happening but without instant news coverage. Much of the crime back then wasn't fuelled by drugs and took place away from the public who were by and large naieve about much of what happened outside their experiences.

There were also fewer automatic weapons capable of mass killings, in private hands in Australia back then.
AFAIK gun fatalities due to accidental discharge etc have dropped...obviously.

What are some of the reasons why the murder rate diidn't drop significantly along with the gun numbers drop?

1. The bad guys didn't like the Govt telling them what to do either.

2. People are still the most dangerous animal around, the closer the more potentially dangerous.

3. Psychos on illicit drugz

4. The demise of the mental health system?

5. The watering down of our justice system

6 Removal of the concept of respect (for anyone or anything) from society.

I would think that the question might be how much higher might the murder rate be if guns were legal and we carried them for protection?
FollowupID: 596994

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:35

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:35
BTW a * "nut" (gun, car, fishing. ) often denotes one who is a bit over enthusiastic in that area.
Many of us could be called "4wd nuts" by the general public, and I would consider that a fair call. (present company excepted of course:))
FollowupID: 596998

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:56

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:56
Come on guys, be gentle, he isn't out of primary school yet
FollowupID: 597013

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:32

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:32
To think i apologised!
U are a f@%!ng tool!!
FollowupID: 597023

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 00:27

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 00:27
Most interesting that a bloke who calls people a D!ck on this forum should cry foul when he gets called a name.

Just an observation on my part.

Next he'll have a tanty.

ROFLMAO.

FollowupID: 597035

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 02:45

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 02:45
No foul cry on my part call me what you like I couldn't care less.
You see I'm not as temperamental as your are Jim.

"Next he'll have a tanty"
Well whatever turns you on??
The fact that this comment seems to be the source of amusement to you pleases me greatly, small things obviously amuse small minds.

FollowupID: 597039

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 14:07

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 14:07
Nutta,

Love it or leave it.
FollowupID: 597096

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:50

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:50
Robak, i do love it!

John, small things do amuse small minds that why you and i keep coming back you peanut!
FollowupID: 597122

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:10

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:10
Oh!! Mr Nutta maybe you should take the time to examine who said what in this post.

You responded above to a post by JohnR (Vic) with a not so nice reply about being a tool and the fact that you had apologized earlier on to myself John (Vic) and now regretted that small point obviously based on the reply from JohnR (Vic).

Its pretty clear that your comments are directed at me for a post by someone else, otherwise why apologize in the first place??

I'm now guessing that this last post by you calling myself a peanut is a further reflection of not understanding who you are actually addressing and for what.

Whilst I don't really care what you or anyone else calls me I just thought you should actually read "Who says what" so you can at least direct your reply to the pertinent person.

Have a very nice day :-)

FollowupID: 597133

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:43

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:43
I don't own a gun, but am not against them. I'd probably use one for the rabbits and foxes on my place if I had one.

I find it a shocking idea that you would carry a gun for some dangerous situation you imagine in Australia. The beauty of our country is that we don't need to do that.

I if you are thinking about the few situations where mad blokes have attacked and killed travellers, I don't think any of the victims would have had time to get to a gun, load it and use it.

Meanwhile, the presence of a gun could mean that people get shot. A wrench or tyre lever would be more easily grabbed and used.

I have camped out all over Oz, both by myself and with my children. Sometimes difficult people have been encountered, but none that couldn't be sorted out by talking or driving away.

Animals? I simply can't imagine a situation where you could protect yourself, unless you walk around carrying your gun.

Maybe if you are stranded, you might use it to kill food.... but there are other ways.

It's a very disturbing thought that ANYONE travels or carries a gun unless they are a farmer, policeman, vet, hunter... for legitimate use. 'Just in case"..... scarey!

AnswerID: 329479

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:49

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:49
Yep!!
Spot on Royce.

Those monsters in the bush arguments provided by those that try to justify the carrying of guns for self protection really show who we should be worried about.

FollowupID: 596866

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:15

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:15
well actually , unless your an english tourist --- your pretty safe in Oz :)

Boc
FollowupID: 596914

Reply By: Flywest - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:06

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:06
Guns dont kill people.......bullets do! oops, he he he!

All gun accidents have the same cause, the loose nut behind the butt! ;o)

No one should carry steel fencing pliers in their vehicle, you might accidentally cut a live high voltage wire and electrocute yourself - pliers are killers - leave them at home.

Guns are just another tool - used properly they are little real threat to anyone.

The problems arise when people don't use them as designed / intended.

Vehicles are deadly weapons - some 6000 people a year are killed in Oz in auto accidents - yet no one would suggest travelling round Oz on foot because driving a cars is inherrantly too dangerous?

AnswerID: 329491

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:26

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:26
"some 6000 people a year are killed in Oz in auto accidents "

Utter rubbish. Where on Earth did you pull that figure from ?????

FollowupID: 596881

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:34

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:34
There are, currently, about 1700 road deaths per year in Oz, about 400 fewer than there are suicides - I wish we spent 10% of the money we spend on the "Road Safety Industry" on suicide prevention.

FollowupID: 596883

Follow Up By: Flywest - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:42

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:42
Sorry Phat Phingers syndrome - I meant ~1600 (1616 in 2007)

http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/safety/publications/2008/pdf/Ann_Stats_2007.pdf

Read my posts you'll see I don't waste a lot of time on spell check.

Sometimes on this little keyboard i hit the wrong keys - can't see it makes any difference to the position I posted tho bout gun deaths versus auto accident deaths?

Thus ya just nit pickin!

FollowupID: 596885

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:49

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:49
The perceived need to carry a firearm for protection on a trip in Australia says a lot about the mental state and capability of the person concerned. Definitely not the type that should have a firearms license IMHO.

ps Yes, I am a firearms owner.

FollowupID: 596888

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:21

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:21
That go for fishing rods too??????....someone might get hooked!!!
FollowupID: 596919

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:35

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:35
Exactly the same protection that I carry in overseas countries.
FollowupID: 596921

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:46

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:46
I have a question for the people who argue that a firearm should not be carried for personal protection and, keep in mind, Australian law does not permit one to so do anyway:

what plans do people make for their own and their families protection when travelling in remote areas in regard to the possibility of coming into contact with “Bad People”?

Do they take a knife, the proverbial base ball bat etc or do they simply hope such a threatening situation will never arise or that they’ll be able to talk their way out of it if it does?

AnswerID: 329498

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:56

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:56
Great question. Where's my popcorn.
FollowupID: 596890

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:25

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:25
Drive away, simple. I would be more worried going to the pub or walking down a city street myself. What would you do if a ''Bad Person'' approached you in a bar, would you get out your knife, walk away, get a baseball bat or run home and get your gun?

It really says alot about city slickers thinking that nut cases live in the outback and not in the cities.
FollowupID: 596896

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:32

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:32
More "Bad People" in suburbia then remote Australia.

Don't see the need to carry a gun when I go to the local pub, cinema, shopping centre, train station or just walking along my local suburban beach (Do you???) and more people are murdered in suburbia than in the remote areas of Australia.

The argument is crap and there is NO justification for carrying a firearm in this country for personal protection unless you are engaged in professions such as Police Officer which expose you to higher risk sections of the community.

I have traveled with my very young children solo through very remote places in this country and never felt at risk or seen the need to carry a gun for any reason.

The argument to do so does not hold any water what so ever and shows a certain clear mentality that disturbs me more than the thought of some possible gun totting Ivan Millatt type running around.

And as I have said before, this argument does nothing to support or assist those properly licenced sporting shooters who behave in the most responsible manner.

FollowupID: 596897

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:33

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:33
>Drive away, simple.

OK, that's one vote for the "hope it will never happen and if it does I can probably run away" camp.

FollowupID: 596900

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:15

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:15
Mike, I think you will find it is legal to carry a firearm for personal protection in certain cases. eg. your job requires you to carry large sums of cash, etc.
Krakka
FollowupID: 596915

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:24

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:24
So… with John that’s two for “hope it doesn’t happen”. Bit of a low response, so far, to this question.

---

>Mike, I think you will find it is legal to carry a firearm for personal
>protection in certain cases. eg. your job requires you to carry
>large sums of cash, etc.

Thank you for the correction Krakka – you are, of course, quite correct.

Naturally this does not imply that large sums of cash are more important than people.

FollowupID: 596947

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:17
Mike, I am not in the "hope it doesn't happen" category, I was merely pointing out that it is NOT against Australian law to carry a weapon for personal protection. But there are some Very strict criteria to be met to do so, So keep that in mind. We are also very well protected while remote camping. And I have never stated tat "large sums of cash are more important than people"
Regards Krakka
FollowupID: 596973

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:20

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:20
Mike i have a question for you....What plans do you make for yours and your families protection whilst driving your vehicle in remote areas in regard to the possibility of some drugged up idiot deciding that he wants to take his own life and driving his vehicle head on into your oncoming vehicle???...Shoot him??...just a thought mate , because it could happen....

Cheers.....Borgy

FollowupID: 596976

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:30

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:30
Oh and in answer to your question, i dont really think anyone could plan for such an incident arising, every time i travel with my family the thought is there, the only thing i think you could possibly do is deal with the situation in the best way possible at the time, whatever that may be , who knows...but i seriously think if someones intentions are to harm you whilst camping or whatever , then theres not much you can really do, just hope for the best...to carry a gun for protection whilst travelling would mean having to carry a loaded weapon the whole time....May as well just stay at home..

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 596981

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:32

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:32
Four votes for "hope it will never happen".
FollowupID: 596984

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:35

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:35
where did i say that??
FollowupID: 596985

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:39

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:39
Ok, I have sat on the cheap seats for long enough, time to throw myself to the lions.

When out west I carry a machete under the driver's seat which follows me into the camper trailer at nights. My main motivation for having it is pure - to put a badly injured animal out of its misery. Also been used to cut away small branches etc.

I dont carry it on my person, however, as I suggested it is within easy reach whenever I am driving or asleep and so therefore is a means of self protection if ever I am unfortunate enough to be in a position to feel that I need to use it. I dont believe I will ever be in that position but nonetheless it is there. It would be a last resort and an action that would end a potential conflict, not escalate it. It would also have to end it in my favour.

I grew up with guns, competition shooting and hunting but now do not own any. I dont begrudge (or judge, for that matter) anyone that carries a firearm in their vehicle or tucked under their mattress but certainly there are enormous risks involved if used foolishly or needlessly. As is the case for the machete.

The chances of being in a 'situation' are very small. The chances of being in a 'situation' that the only way out was to pull a weapon is even smaller.

Many people arguing against carrying a firearm, or now a machete, probably have a shifter, baseball bat, knife or whatever at hand if they feel the need to use it which in my mind is not a lot different to a firearm. They're all potential weapons.

FollowupID: 597025

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:08

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:08
Thanks for your honesty Off-Track.

I suspect the majority of people who go remote have a weapon of sorts, although it may be as simple as a spade, an axe or a tyre lever and I doubt there are many (any?) who at some time have not decided that if under threat they will grab the spade etc. Interesting that so many of the prolific posters fought shy of this question.

FollowupID: 597052

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 11:43

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 11:43
Come on Harding...i had the decency to answer your question, now at least do the same and answer mine...if you dont feel you want to do it on here you can email me if you like borgy5@optusnet.com.au

i wont hold my breath waiting though, i feel you are much the same as your old mate DIO, actually it wouldn't suprise me at all if you are one and the same person.....

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597076

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 14:41

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 14:41
>i had the decency to answer your question

No you didn’t, you evaded it apart from:
“then theres not much you can really do, just hope for the best..”
which made you number four vote in the “stick your head in the sand and hope it doesn’t happen” brigade.

And having witnessed your bullying of others on this site I doubt you have very much decency.

>now at least do the same and answer mine

You didn’t pose a question; you uttered some inane piece about head on car accidents???

FollowupID: 597097

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:03

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:03

Never considered taking a weapon, never will. And would never stop travelling the outback (remote) because of the risk of coming across a situation that is potentially life threatening.

Why? Because in reality I would never use a weapon to intentionally kill someone and I suspect when even taken to an extreme situation many would be similar. I recall reading some statistics on the number of people who actually fire at something other than the intended target in a military situation, but it is quite high. It isn’t something that many people can do.

Now I’m sure there will be a plethora of hypothetical situations that can be advanced to test my resolve on this. My simple answer is that they are hypothetical until tested, if ever tested I’ll get back to you as to how I responded, but touch wood, I doubt it will occur.

I think the risk of being killed by a firearm increases dramatically once you have one in your possession for the purpose of protection.

As to the right of others to carry one, go right ahead, I’m not debating your rights here.
FollowupID: 597098

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:14

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:14
Hi Landy

As usual, you make some sensible points. I too have never found killing an easy thing to do and I’m thankful for that.

My point was not to try and support carriage of firearms for self protection, in my experience that would be a very rare requirement in Oz and probably lead to a lot of grief for the person who pulled the trigger irrespective of the circumstances.

What I have asked in this sub thread is what is people’s approach to the issue of danger from "Bad People"? And that seems to be a question everyone is reluctant to answer yet the vast majority of people who go bush will have wondered, at some time or other, “What if…?”. As usual in these matter the anti gun people and the “Harding Haters” :) try to take over the thread, dum it down and brow beat everyone who is not in their club but I’ll bet most people take some sort of “weapon” with them.

FollowupID: 597113

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:34

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:34

Remains a difficult question; I can’t say that I have given it a lot of thought. In reality I would always try to remove myself and family from the situation rather than find another solution. I don’t have a specific weapon, but I guess there would always be something available; the willingness to use it remains the variable.

Thankfully most people travelling Australia are like minded and want to enjoy it without either confronting, or be confronted by others.

I did find the statistic I was looking for; in various theatres of war it has been estimated that only 1 in 5 soldiers would actually fire their weapon and this has been put down to the unwillingness of one human to kill another. I suspect that statistic has improved in recent times along with the training given to ensure they do.

The FBI claim that a third of all law enforcement officers who die in the line of duty, die never doing a thing to defend themselves. Despite the fact that they carry guns and that another human being is attacking them a third still freeze up and doing nothing.

Interesting statistics, if they are accurate, in terms of this discussion.

I must restate, however, that I have no issue with people carrying them, should they choose to.

FollowupID: 597118

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:36

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:36
"And having witnessed your bullying of others on this site I doubt you have very much decency."

So does that mean your going to shoot me Mike???
FollowupID: 597119

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:48

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:48
"And having witnessed your bullying of others on this site I doubt you have very much decency."

I have told you before Harding , you are a HYPOCRITE go back and read some of your own replies to people, i think you will find you are one of the biggest bullies on this site.....

"As usual in these matter the anti gun people and the “Harding Haters” :)" Poor mikey...he needs his daily cuddle , and a tissue!
FollowupID: 597121

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:04

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:04
Hi again Landy

I can well believe those stats could be valid but (slightly off topic) there is an interesting correlation here with a very famous psychological experiment performed in the 1960s called the “The Milgram experiment”:

The Milgram experiment

It demonstrated that (ordinary) people are capable of doing quite terrible things.

In a similar vein I would recommend the book “Nam” edited by Mark Baker which is a collection of interviews with US combat veterans from the Vietnam War. Like “The Grapes of Wrath” it was one those books which “touched” me and clearly demonstrates that if you put ordinary people into extraordinary situations they are capable of doing extraordinary things. There but for the grace of God etc….

Thanks for your thoughtful input.

FollowupID: 597129

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:14
>Poor mikey...he needs his daily cuddle

Everyone should have a cuddle each day Borgy – there is no finer thing.

>and a tissue!

Tears come easily to me Borgy as does joy and laughter, I don’t hide or suppress my emotions. I don’t feel any need to demonstrate what a MAN I am, I’m more than comfortable with that.

FollowupID: 597134

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:32

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:32
"Everyone should have a cuddle each day Borgy – there is no finer thing."

I agree Mikey.....I just prefer not to ask other forumites for mine..

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597137

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:39

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:39
"I don’t feel any need to demonstrate what a MAN I am, I’m more than comfortable with that."

Oh im sure your a man Mikey, thats why you feel the need to carry a loaded gun

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597138

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:51

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:51
>I agree Mikey.....I just prefer not to ask other forumites for mine..

So you and your son don't cuddle one-another then, that's a sad thing Borgy.

FollowupID: 597142

Follow Up By: cheetah - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:55

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:55
hahaha, Mike Harding you are brilliant. Are you even aware of how aware you are?
FollowupID: 597144

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:58

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:58
Wrong again Mikey....I have 4 sons, and i cuddle them as often as they want,or i want, just dont need to ask them for cuddles on this forum.....sorry Mikey , but i think you are the sad one

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597145

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:04

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:04
bleep e! run outta popcorn!
OK - re-stocked
Your serve Mike......will it be an ace??
FollowupID: 597162

Reply By: Kroozer - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:21

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:21
Crikey. the old gun debate. I dont think its necessary to own a gun for self defence. I find that pathetic. I am sure that you werent given your license under the need for self defence. For hunting or recreational use i am all for it but not for aiming at people. But there are always 2 sides to a debate so i will try and see it from the other side. I am young and i know what some young idiots are getting up to these days, so i would hate to camp near any young city punks, all pinging off there heads on ice and alcohol. And with the increase in unprovoked attacks on people these days, the one hit killings and such, makes you think about what these young pricks are thinking. If i had my family near them then yes i would like to have a gun. But i would probably just prefer to leave before anything did happen. I would rather head home and cut my trip short, rather then spend time behind bars. Who will protect your family then.

We all think its pathetic that every American has a gun under there bed or in there draw incase of self defence, so why must we follow everything they do?
And surely if you were travelling you would have the gun dismantled for safety reasons and in a locked hard case, so if anything did happen then by time you assembled the rifle and loaded it, it would be too late. Or would you just leave it loaded on the back seat between the kids so its ready to go? I think there are a lot of paranoid people out there.
AnswerID: 329504

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 02:49

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 02:49
Amazing how when people find I have pistols the first thing they say is wow that would be handy if someone breaks in.
for sartes in nearly 40 years no one has broken in (while ive been home)
but i say yea real handy. by the time i get the key, go to the safe unlock and open that prick of a door then get the ammo load em up (probabally in the dark) any burglar would be in for a heck of a fright if he hadnt fallen asleep waiting to get ventilated
FollowupID: 597041

Reply By: guzzi - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:24

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 15:24
Brentos,
Would you take a gun for self defense?
NO, hunting maybe, self defence no.
You see the only ones allowed a firearm for self defence in this country are the police, military and politicians who have armed police and military to protect them. You being part of the great unwashed rabble are expected to call the police for any self defence requirements. They usually arrive at least an hour late with a body bag, a camera and a clean up crew, so no self defence with a firearm for you.
Apart from being in many shades of bleep e for defending yourself with a firearm in then first place, if you survive the actual encounter you then have the safe transport and security of the firearm laws to contend with, which if you've managed to shoot someone you haven't been following. The police also take a dim view of you doing their job for them, especially in Victoria.
Read the firearm act for the states you plan visiting, they are all different despite JWH flushing nearly 1/2 a billion dollars down the toilet on our national unified gun laws and steal backs, you may need to upgrade the container you hold the firearm in, sticking it under seat isn't good enough.
AnswerID: 329506

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:46

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 16:46
As is usual for the popcorn munchers, the original question has been largely ignored or sidelined by many respondents.
The urge to name call or justify gun ownership appears to be irristible.
Lighten up guys.
(I'm surprised that someone hasn't mentioned that their first line of defence would be SWMBO. Judging by comments in previous posts, some of em must be pretty fearsome :))

AnswerID: 329517

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 17:11

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 17:11
Footy,

Thank goodness for your sense of humour.

I agree, some of us SWMBO's can be a force to reckon with!!

Viv
FollowupID: 596925

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 17:53

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 17:53
Thanks, Viv.
Ever since I tought mine to do email and use the Net, I rekkon mine is just wonderful :))
FollowupID: 596934

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 17:54

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 17:54
Oops...tought = taught
FollowupID: 596935

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:53

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:53
Hmmm ..... careful Footy. People in glass houses and all that :)))

FollowupID: 596959

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:57

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:57
Gramps, you used one too many commas to seperate your thoughts . A maximum of three is the correct form. (From the glass house:) LOL
FollowupID: 596960

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:11

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:11
LOL I almost nodded off, hence the extras :)))

FollowupID: 596971

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:57

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:57
Commas - where?
FollowupID: 597054

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:12

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:12
"some of em must be pretty fearsome"...she is!!!
FollowupID: 597058

Reply By: NeilT - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:39

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:39
Hopefully brentos, you've already got the best known weapon to mankind - i'ts called a brain and if you use it well, it'll keep you out of pretty well any trouble you need it to.

And you already have one of the worst known weapons - kills thousands nationally each year. It's called a car. But you can use it to keep you out of trouble too.

I've lived about 50/50 in the bush and the city. I know for sure I feel a LOT safer in the bush.
AnswerID: 329542

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:45

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:45
NeilT!!!

You are a Bill Henson supporter - by definition... you would _have_ to be anti gun! :)

FollowupID: 596956

Reply By: NeilT - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:52

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:52
Not sure of the connection, Mike. Boxes like that don't often work.

I've owned many guns in my lifetime. Nowadays I don't have one - just don't see the need.

Might be different if I got real hungry though....
AnswerID: 329544

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:01

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:01
My response was intended to be light hearted NeilT.
FollowupID: 596962

Follow Up By: NeilT - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:07

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:07
Same here - a few smileys I missed out on puitting in - :) :) :) :)
FollowupID: 596968

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:56

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 18:56
Gidday

What this thread need is a dose of reality.

Picture this:

Your all settled around the fire at night, when all of a sudden the bad guy walks in with a rifle or whatever.

You say to him:

‘Can you hang on a minute mate while I get the keys to unlock the rifle in the car? Then I’ll have to open up the other box to retrieve both the bolt and magazine.

Have a bit of a chat to the missus and kids while I’m away......should only take me about 5 minutes before I’m ready to protect the family’ (sic)

A rifle is a tool, much like a shovel. The only valid reason I can think of for any person to carry a weapon is hunting, sport shooting on a range and the need to put down damaged animals, or vermin.

Some of the comments on here make me shudder and give responsible shooters a bad name. The last thing we need is a bunch of ill informed fellas running around carrying guns for self protection.

The Boogy Man is'nt out there folks.

Kim
AnswerID: 329545

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:03

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:03
That boogie man...
You return with the loaded weapon, and are quickly disarmed by the intruder. Your problem, and that of your family, has now escalated several hundred notches. Now he doesn't just want to rob you, he wants to really damage you.
FollowupID: 596963

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:04

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:04
Three for hope it'll never happen.
FollowupID: 596964

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:06

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:06
PS Kim
Well said. I don't own a gun. I don't drink either. But in the past I've enjoyed both.
FollowupID: 596966

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:09

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:09
And how many for carry a gun because it just might happen , Mike ?
FollowupID: 596969

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:17
"The Boogy Man is'nt out there folks"

Mike thinks differently LOLOL Hang on, we've been here before have'nt we hahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 596974

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:36

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:36
Nearly time for the tissues and cuddles
FollowupID: 596986

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:39

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:39
I think Harding is the nutta here, obviously he carries a loaded weapon on his body at all times
FollowupID: 596987

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:44

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:44
Have you been talking to some of my female friends? :)
FollowupID: 596988

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:46

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 19:46
im amazed you have any friends
FollowupID: 596989

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:43

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 20:43
Borgy, you're too late. The hit and run merchant with no answers has struck again.

FollowupID: 597000

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:35

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:35
Footy , he'll probably come back in the next day or two and have his usual sook...

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597011

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:58

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:58
Lots of Boogie men here.

FollowupID: 597014

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:37

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:37
So footy, if u did have a gun pointing a the intruder, you'd let them take it off you?

Lucky you dont carry a weapon!
FollowupID: 597024

Follow Up By: Member - Corio - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:46

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:46
Never thought i,d say it but wheres DIO when you want him.

FollowupID: 597027

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:54

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:54
What the hell do you want iDIOt for???

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597029

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 02:23

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 02:23
Kim
May as well chuck my 2 Bobs worth in , When I think of the tragic circumstances where in USA there have many mass killings in Schools not to mention in out own country , Hoddle St and Port Arthur, If there a few other sane people armed minglling in the crown the mongrels might have only killed 2 or 3 before going down them selves , take a bank with all tellers and a few customers armed .... damned if I would try a holdup . Who remembers the German killing tourists in the Kimberlys a few years back, un-armed people had no chance.The damn Government has disarmed all the honest people ,
No I don't own a gun .

FollowupID: 597248

Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:40

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:40
At the end of the day brentos, dont exercise your right to get a weapon or you too will be a gun nut!
And defineitly dont transport it!

Question answered.

Cheers, Wayne
AnswerID: 329582

Reply By: balko - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:53

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:53
Just had 3 wild dogs chase a kangaroo across our camp (walkers crossingLitchfield NP) caught it 20mts from my 5 yr old and started mauling it i ran to the truck grabbed a machete in case they chased her and screamed at them they let go for a brief second and then went at it again they were large bull mastif looking things. Another camper drove to rangers station to get ranger he got there to late. Its made me think what if they grabbed her So my thoughts are if your licensed and want to take a gun do so and just because we don't always agree it doesn't mean we should ridicule there opinion's if what there doing is legal Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 329585

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:34

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:34
I'm not a gun owner, but there is nothing wrong with those that are, in the main.

For personal protection, short of carrying a pistol in your pocket, the chances are a rifle/shotty won't be accessible when you need it for protection.

If Australia gets to the point that I need to wear a shoulder holster whilst I sit around the campfire.....well I'll book into a nursing home.

We used to camp, years ago, with a family whom the father of which was a Cop. Each night, he would load his AK 37 with a full mag of shells and sleep with it beside his bed.

Perplexed individual indeed.

AnswerID: 329591

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 00:12

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 00:12
perplexed .... or ... all knowing ???

LOLOL

BTW ... AK37 ... that is the non automatic version of the AK 47 I'm guessing, because private ownership of AUTOMATIC firearms has never been allowed in Australia - despite the media and anti gun lobby fairy tales.

Not a dig at you Jim ... just trying to dispell a myth for anybody who happens to read this post.

FollowupID: 597034

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 01:05

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 01:05
...well not functional automatic weapons at least. Collectors were allowed to own non-functioning automatic weapons, at least in the NT. That was years ago, doubt that would be the case now.
FollowupID: 597037

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:07

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:07
Not really sure what it was, just called it AK something cos that's what I recall from a movie LOL.

All I know was that it was a semi automatic military style rifle that held a lot of shells.

FollowupID: 597056

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 10:08

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 10:08
Best Off Road................
Was probably the semiauto chinese copy they sold here for a while ... piece of junk but everybody thought it was cool to own something that looked liked a military item ... When it was working, it was a lot of fun in the middle of a mob of feral pigs ... much easier to operate than a 30/30 lever action.

The ability to have 10 to 20 rounds in a magazine is actually a good thing for shooters too ... Saves being encumbered by a box of bullets etc. The larger capacity magazine is a nice extra, bit like a compressor or hot water system on a 4wd ... nice to have but not totally nescessary.

Off Track ..............
Good point on the collectors items. Most of the states were the same. When the paranoia rules came in a few years ago, many collectors lost items of personal and historic worth.

Strange when you consider most of the collectables had large sections cut out of them or plugs welded in to the barrels ... a person would have had more chance of beating someone to death with a slice of cheese than shooting someone with a " collectable "
FollowupID: 597061

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 10:31

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 10:31
...... automatic.
FollowupID: 597068

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 00:06

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 00:06
Quite some time ago .. the majority of 4wd owners carried firearms for a variety of reasons.

Now the majority of 4wd owners appear to be against firearms.

Just goes to show the how things have changed.

I guess its because things get bought now as entertainment rather than out of nescessity.

The " I'll buy a gun because I can " attitude is what spoilt firearm ownership in australia ... I have no doubt that the same will occur with 4wds ... especially as its all ready well and truly started, with the bullbar drivel.
AnswerID: 329593

Reply By: Kroozer - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 01:12

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 01:12
Get yourself a bloody dog, will protect you and your family from all sorts of nasties. And do a bloody god job of it too. From crocs to wild dogs, to those psycho blood thirsty outback characters and even the boogie man. You dont need to load it either its self loading. Easy solution. You can even sleep easier at night cause the dog will do all the alerting and protecting. Hang on, you could even use it around the home to protect from the F@CKEN REAL PSYCHOS THAT PROBABLY LIVE IN YOUR NEIGHBOURHOOD. Pathetic, pathetic, pathetic. Does your wife need to hold your hand while you go to the toilet aswell.

I own a rifle but i would never ever let it become an object for self defence. Why would you wanna go camping if you even remotely thought that something terrible could happen, with which you would need to aim a firearm at someone. Please dont let your behaviour ruin it for the rest of us. Why not get yourself a dog, some pepper spray, even a taser of some sort but please dont teach your kids that its appropriate to have firearms for self defence.
AnswerID: 329595

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 03:44

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 03:44
Who the heck cares bout guns - they don't kill people!

I've never yet seen anyone killed with a gun - not even in war time - its the bullets that are responsible!

Ban Bullets - problem solvered! ;o)

Everyone should carry a gun - in public - its just that no one should be allowed ay bullets!

Too easey why dopeople make simple subjects so tough?

If we want to stop road deaths - do we need to ban cars or just petrol(diesel, LPG etc).?

Why do we always have to get the bull by the d!ck - when it'ssposed to be grabbed by the horns!

Get over it - guns don't kill anyone!

I've legally caried guns for personal protection and no i wasn't in the army or police - I was a payrol officer in days before direct bank debits - Iused to go to the ban every Friday and withdraw large sums of cash on behalf of the govt, to pay ther employees!

The govt issued me with a Fabrique Nationale Arms deGuerre (Browning) .32 semi auto pistol...for my ownpersonal protection.

I ALSO got a armed Policeman (.38 S & W back in those days) escort.

Back in those days - bad guys DID rob armed payrols - I think one Ronald Briggs perpetarted WA's largest ever armed robberies on a armaguard truck.....

He was subsequently caught, jailed and eventually released back into society.

Subsequently our Finest in Blue (put there to protect us) re issued him with his firearms license! :rollseyes:.

Yep hes done his crime and done his time - and now he's a legal firearm owner again!

Those who place their "trust" in ur police to rotect us are fools living in a dreamers paradise that doesnt exist!

There are bad people in this workd - it pays to realise that and act / take precautions as aresult.

It's up to each individual what precautions to take.

I've been licensed to own and carry all manner of firearms privately and for the govt for more years than many here have been outta nappies.

I'm not specifically pro or anti firearms - I'm really ambivalent - i don't see it as relevant - people kill people - thery might usea bullet to do it - so ban bullets if you want to ban something - thats easey to do but banning guns is way harder (and stoopid).

Say Guns were banned - but not bullets!

Everyone would be safe then?

What about the guy whp gets hold of a smokey designed for a spear gun - puts a non banned bullet in it - attaches it to a broomstick and waits behind a bush for his victim, then pushes the broomstick againstthe back of the victimns head and shoots him without a gun =- using just a bullet?

See = it's bullets that are the REAl problem - banning guns is no real guarantee!

Why would anyone use a smokey i hear you ask?

Geee - lets see - no barrel as such and definitely no rifling lands, hence no way to trace any weapon back to the killer via ballsitics!
Not licensed anyway - this not traceable to anyone once disposed of, even if subsequently found

The perfect murder weapon in fact! ;o)

I see so much crap posted about guns!

In our firearms act theres no mention of guns - they are called firearms, and even aloaded round of ammunition is classified as a firearm.

Ergo - IF you are found in posession of a single round of caliber of ammunition (loaded, i.e.primed powder and projectile in place) for which you don;t own a licensed firearm - you can becharged and convicted under our act of being in posession of an illegal firearm.

Example - you jump in a farmers ute - popinto town to get milk & bread an the police stop you and find a farmers loaded .22 round in the ashtray....and hes not with you - and YOU don't have a firearmns license for a .22 then guess what?

You in heap big trouble pale face!

Who here actually knows enough abut firearms and firearms laws to be able to even rationally debate the issue?

Carrying a firearm for personal protection is mentioned in the act for certain classes of firearms license holders including police and security (cash transfer) officers as well as otherspecial people like CCC investigators / protection agency staff etc.

Some of the statements made inthis thread are baseless and lacking in fact!

Do weneed personalprotection in outback Oz?

The Ivan Millat and other cases - (The Kimberleies one and the NT one involving the Lees woman & boyfriend would suggest our society sadly is fast heading that way)!

Do I carry one when outback camping? no I've never felt the need despite the fact I could if I wished!

AnswerID: 329598

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:07

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:07
Who is Ronald Briggs?
FollowupID: 597055

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:06

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:06
Flywest,

Could you summarize that in a million words or less please :)))))

FollowupID: 597130

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 04:25

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 04:25
Brentos

I am a shooter, I have guns, I eradicate vermin.

I am a responsible shooter !.
I would never think of carrying a rifle around Oz, to protect my family. No need.

Me thinks you been watching too many movies, and if you do happen to carry a firearm, and conceal it, good luck getting it out and loaded up in time, just to protect your family.

Keep your crap off this forum.

AnswerID: 329600

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:16

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:16
Brentos

Well, it is an old chestnut and as you can see brings out the best (worst) in all.

The question you actually need to ask yourself before you deliberate any further about this is “Am I actually willing to kill someone else” regardless of the situation.

Now I’m sure there will be a plethora of hypothetical situations that can be advanced to test the resolve of this question. But it all boils down to you making an instantaneous decision to pull the trigger on a firearm with the intent to kill another person. That is before we get to the question of whether you can do it successfully.

If you can get beyond that question in the affirmative than you will find you are in a significant minority, regardless of what people actually say they will do. The military have interesting statistics on the willingness of people to actually shoot with the intent to kill; you’ll find the number who actually do is not as high as you would think.

Leave it at home; you’ll enjoy yourself more without that sort of responsibility hanging over you.

AnswerID: 329670

Reply By: brentos - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:16

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:16
christ this turned into a debarcle!!thanks for some of the stupid replies f@%k off and argue somewhere else!! personally i don't even own a gun
but i do have a firearms license though.
i have 8 weapons that i carry with me at all times(hands feet knees and elbows) if i ever need to use them against people.

but,as i said what about if your in croc country or there some kind of wild animal where there may me a increased risk of an attack on humans or to put an animal out of it misery
nobody ever thinks anything is going to happen to them
just like hoons

regards brentos
AnswerID: 329671

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 16:19

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 16:19
Lived in croc country my whole life and have never had the need to use a firearm on one. Common sense will keep you out of trouble mate. But it all depends what your doing i suppose. I have no problem with carrying a firearm for these reasons, but it would have to remain loaded and ready at all times for it to have any real purpose.
FollowupID: 597106

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:30

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:30
Hey Brentos,

Just having a read through the responses should answer your initial question ... lol

Basically a firearm is like a fire extinguisher ... if its not easily accessible and charged for use ... its worthless.

Current legislation, gun paranoia and the lack of respect for other peoples property ( ie theft ) make it impossible for a responsible owner to have a firearm available for use in despatching an injured animal etc quickly.

Just keep a 1/2 drive socket bar alongside your drivers seat - use it as nescessary.

FollowupID: 597116

Follow Up By: NeilT - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:47

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:47
So bentos - you seem to have already made up your miind.

Why waste everyone's time asking and then trying to justify yourself.

You're not listening to your uncertainty - look at it and it'll tell you a lot...

FollowupID: 597141

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:24

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:24
In answer to your question,
I personally do not think one needs to be armed with a firearm to travel this country of ours.
SWMBO and I have done block 3 times plus have crossed every desert we have without incident.
Yes sometimes I want to shoot some noisy persons but on the whole people are very friendly. The further one gets from so called civilization the better the people are.
So leave the gat at home and enjoy what this country has to offer.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 329688

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:45
Mention firearms here and you'll get EXACTLY the same ill-informed, hysterical, self righteous babble you get from the anti 4WD lobby. You lot belly ache relentlessly about those idiots.......we'll take a stroll through the hall of mirrors boys and have a loooooong hard look at yourselves.

Try substituting the word 'guns' for '4x4' - or even 'bullbars' for that matter. It's a seemless fit. Go on.

Some of you blokes should have a look at the original question, and then read some of your replies. You come across as an A1 bunch of sanctimonious tossers with a mindless mob mentality.

I've humanely despatched numerous injured animals in the past, and provided food for both myself and plenty of others too (when ACTUALLY travelling off-road). This is a good enough reason in my book. To me a good rifle is just another standard part of your kit. Practically every station owner carries a rifle in his 4x4 that I've met - does that make them 'gun nuts' or '4x4 menaces' as well?

How times have changed.

AnswerID: 329751

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:59

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:59
LOL suggest you read the original post, especially this bit:

"would i take a gun with me for protection for my family cause you never know who or what is out there,be it animals or humans, to ruin your life."

Now tell us exactly how your response answers that.

FollowupID: 597208

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:33

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:33
Gramps, nup, no response from me....I'm not biting tonight.

However......as a parting shot before some much needed kip...

why not start a new thread on 'How to cryovac those lovely 500g gourmet kangaroo meat packs I get from Woolworths so I can eat bush tucker in the outback' or 'How many watts does my inverter need to be to run both my hairdryer and Elna Press at the same time in the T-Van?'
FollowupID: 597222

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:51

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:51
Hahahahahaha you are a twisted soul

FollowupID: 597230

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 08:08

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 08:08
Good morning Gramps.

As I write this the birds are chirping (as is my trusty trouser trumpet), the little one's still peacefully alseep in her cot, and in the pre-dawn light the day looks like it'll be an absolute cracker.

Twisted.......yes.

Bitter......nup.

Must go, I'm off again to 'bring the system down from within';-)

FollowupID: 597256

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 08:20

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 08:20
Thanks v8diesel, because next it is going to be bullbars, 4wds, killing fish or fishing, it wont end. Its bad enough in qld now with bligh and the nanny state!
FollowupID: 597257

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 08:46

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 08:46
I must say I read a few, but not all of the posts and I didn't get a sense that people are saying ban guns...in fact none of the posts I read said that.

Many suggesting don't take one on a trip if you are going to use it for protection from the bad guys and that was part of the question being asked.

But, like you, we should all be tolerant of others, especially when as a group we often come under 'fire' 9n the pursuit of our past time..four wheel driving.

FollowupID: 597262

Follow Up By: balko - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:17

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:17
Well said v8
FollowupID: 597384

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:12

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 21:12

"Alicia Sorohon leaped on to the head of the 4.2m crocodile after it snatched 34-year-old Andrew Kerr from a tent where he was sleeping with his wife and infant son at Bathurst Bay, in the remote far north of Cape York Peninsula.

The huge saltwater croc snapped Kerr's arm and leg before turning on the woman clinging desperately to its back, breaking her arm also and inflicting other wounds to her body.

The struggle ended when Sorohon's son, Jason, shot the crocodile."

Mmmmm na, No reason to take one.

AnswerID: 329923

Follow Up By: NeilT - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 23:52

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 23:52
Well of course one idiotic act can sometimes be solved by another. Pitching a tent in croc territory definitely qualifies.

FollowupID: 597397

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 06:06

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 06:06
I think you’re being a little quick to judge NeilT:

Link to report of attack

Other reports site the family as having camped regularly in that area since 1981.

Also the campers actions were not considered idiotic enough to prevent the Australian Government awarding the lady the Star of Courage.

FollowupID: 597410

Follow Up By: NeilT - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 06:27

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 06:27
Mike,

So what - you can earn yourself a bravery medal by being stupid enough to camp on the ground in croc territory and then having to use a gun to save yourself. I've seen their tracks 100's of yards from water- it's a no-brainer to camp elsewhere (or in my Troopy).

So you're saying it's OK to have to use a gun to make up for your inability to think?
FollowupID: 597411

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:39

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:39
sorry but camping barely 20 m from the waters edge doesnt seem so bright to me
FollowupID: 597415

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:45

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:45
Actually it was the lady who tackled the croc with her bare hands who was awarded the medal - I think she deserves a little respect.

FollowupID: 597420

Follow Up By: NeilT - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:30

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:30
A croc was killed - people nearly died - all because someone didn't use their brain.

What's to respect?

FollowupID: 597430

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:30

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:30
I have the utmost respect for the bravery of this woman.

It may have been rank stupidity to put one's self in such a situation in the first place, but the act of stupidity and the act of bravery are two separate issues.

She ought, rightly, be awarded hero status.

We all do silly things at times. How we deal with them and extricate ourselves from danger is the measure of the quality of the person.

FollowupID: 597440

Follow Up By: Nutta - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:46

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:46
By the looks of it then people better stay away from the water altogether, be it camping, fishing, swimming etc.

So then the water up north is totally out of bounds to humans!

The other day i read a 4 or 5 metre croc was spotted at harvey bay, everyone outta the water!

I'd hope the authorities would remove crocs from the area otherwise theres gunna be some trouble when they hit the gold coast! Thats going to be in the next few years if global warming brings them down here.

If theres crocs on the coast i've either gotto keep the kids home or put in a pool, i might even take my shotty to the beach, YEEEhaaa!
FollowupID: 597498

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:59

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:59
Neil,
you say..."So you're saying it's OK to have to use a gun to make up for your inability to think?"

Under the circuumstances....Absolutely yes! And any person who would wouldnt shoot a croc to save the life of another human being ( especialy their own kid) I would call spinless and disturbed!!!

Davoe,
Where and when this happened I think is irrelevent. People do stupid things all the time but some accidents cant be avoided, I think this is one of them ( its part of the territory). For this reason, I choose to have a gun.
Just me
FollowupID: 597570

Follow Up By: NeilT - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:10

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:10
Hairy,

If someone has an inability to think that needs compensating for with a gun then they shouldn't venture into remote areas.
FollowupID: 597571

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 19:44

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 19:44
These people were'nt being stupid. Its part of life in the real world. Accidents and unforcene curcumstances do happen!
Being prepared isnt stupid.
FollowupID: 597718