Camper trailer...which one?

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:22
ThreadID: 63114 Views:4499 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Been looking to buy a new camper trailer but the more I look the more confusing it gets with so many brands, prices, quality and options to choose from. I have been looking at the Campers delight one in Tassie which uses the X Trail tent on a locally made trailer. It all seems like pretty good value to me but has anyone tried these and can offer any feedback? Also the Oz trail look Ok but use the cheap made in China canvas so that rules them out. Any feedback on these? Also are brakes really needed on camper trailers. I know they would be handy on steep off road hills and aslo on the bitumen if I need to stop in a hurry. Any constructive advice appreciated. Thanks.

Reply By: GerryP - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:36

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:36
Hi K & J,
How tough the build is depends on what your intended use is, but apart from that, there are two things to definitely look for - quality canvas as you have already mentioned and the other is dust sealing. It's surprising how much dust you can stir up on just an ordinary dirt road, especially a good dirt road where you can sit on a reasonably fast pace. Most of the better quality trailers have some form of adequate sealing, especially around the rear tailgate, however, most of the cheaper ones have nothing at all.

I would suggest you get at least override brakes as it does make a difference, especially if you need to stop quickly on a downhill run. Personally, I prefer electric as you can activate them independently of the vehicle.

Gerry
AnswerID: 333053

Reply By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:37

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:37
try Tambo campers in vic not too overpriced and reliable. Australian made small family business and they are very helpful just my opinion we got one the cooper and love it looked around for a couple of years and settled on this one anyway hope this helps they have a web site www.tambocampers.com.au

justin
AnswerID: 333054

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:54

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:54
and yes i do have electric brakes very handy especially when going down steep hills can take the load of the car brakes for a bit if u like but spend the money and get a good controller for your tow vehicle
FollowupID: 600931

Follow Up By: Fragle_Rock (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 23:12

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 23:12
Yes I also vouch for the Tambo Cooper. We have had ours now for 2 years, It is a great camper not to mention the after sales service we have recieved. It has gone everywhere we want.

FollowupID: 600956

Follow Up By: escapesilv - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:54

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:54
Yes another plug for the Tambo (Cooper) very happy with it, great solid no frills camper trailer, and very nice people to deal with.
I don't have brakes, and regret it.
Cheers and hope this helps.
FollowupID: 600992

Reply By: rabs - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:56

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 20:56
not sure why you would automatically rule out chinese canvas, I have a camper trailer that is an Aussie trailer made in Sydney with a chinese camper and find it fantastic, we have been caught in torrential downpours that lasted all night and didn't get any leaks. yes the canvas is thinner but the quality of the stitching is fine. we have a professional seamstress as a friend and she commented on how well it was stitched. We are very comfy in our camper and find that we have more room that some of the camper trailers that cost 4 times as much, not all of us can afford a Johnny trackabout or better and these represent fantastic value. It came with extended drawbar, sunrasia rims, drawbar toolbox, free rego, gas bottle holder, jerrycan holder, annex came with all sides to enclose if reqd. wind down stabiliser legs make it secure and stable. All in all it is a great unit and for a princley sum of $3900 on road is hard to beat. if i can get the photo off my phone ill post it up if anyone is interested

Rabs
AnswerID: 333055

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 21:08

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 21:08
I would agree with the above....canvas is not usually an issue......but the strength of the trailer can be ......depends on where you intend to take it ??

Don't expect to pay $4000 and hope it will handle all that the outback can dish out !!

FollowupID: 600933

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:17

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:17
But its no use having a camper that holds together on rough roads and then the canvas rots/falls apart.Sure it will last a few years but in the long run, it will let you down.Canvas is a big part of a tent/camper and Aussie canvas is among the best in the world.
Ill second the Tambo recomendation.Got one love it.
FollowupID: 600947

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 21:01

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 21:01
G/day J & K, Every thing Gerry has mentioned, Although i do not have a camper trailer, caravans are our thing , but they do have some similiar probs to camper trailers and one of the important ones is axle strenght!, Make sure you look at that issue carefully there has been some horrible stories out there!.

AnswerID: 333056

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 07:05

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 07:05
Kirk and Jeanette,

Have a look at this link, it may help in your decision.

Campertrailers.org

I joined this site before purchase and found it to be excellent.

Ended up buying a Tracktrailer Eagle, the predecessor of the Tvan. I have found it to be very robust, tows well and has great storage.

It's horses for courses buying one of these things and will largely depend on you budget and preferences and where you might like to take it.

Happy researching.

AnswerID: 333099

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 07:24

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 07:24
Just a little piccy of the setup.....

FollowupID: 600982

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 12:38

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 12:38
We have the same trailer, regrettably now for sale, but I am convinced there is nothing to compare for build quality, suspension & space.

BTW they were made alongside the Tvan for quite some time before being discontinued.
FollowupID: 601009

Follow Up By: OutbackAdventure - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 17:02

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 17:02
Mark or Shaker,
we just picked the same trailer up at auction, no instructions. What's the trick to getting the side lockers open? There doesn't appear to be a handle to pull. Any other tips or tricks greatly appreciated too.
Much appreciate the help, getting a little frustrated.
Shell
FollowupID: 604818

Follow Up By: OutbackAdventure - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 17:35

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 17:35
Feeling stupid now, we managed to work it out. Looking forward to taking it out for a trip now.
Shell
FollowupID: 604825

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 08:46

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 08:46
We build a very cost competitve Camper.

It is true off road (locally made) trailer fitted with a good quality imported top, manufactured OS by a long established Australian company.

What makes our campers unique is our (built in our factory at Dandenong) full slide out kitchen and drawer unit. The kitchen features a full length laminex bench with water pump, sink, stove, drop in chopping board, drawers and cupboards underneath the bench. On the other side is a full 2 meter drawer for all your storage. Kitchen and drawer run on a full roller bearing system.

We can put you into a 7x4 off roader with tool box, QS mattress awning, 3 jerry holders, 1 gas bottle holder, drawer, kitchen for under $7000.

Any queries 03 9706 6527 BH, 0411 874406 AH or jimbest at bestoofroad dot net dot au.

AnswerID: 333106

Reply By: Kirk and Jeanette - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:27

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:27
Thanks heaps everyone for your help. The one I was looking at was 10 grand or so and it wasnt a true off road trailer. Too light, cheap suspension etc. I will use the links etc provided to do some more looking. Thanks again. Regards Kik and Jeanette.

PS Re the chinese canvas. The camper I have now is made from that and it has more leaks than a set of bag pipes but as said it is more in the stitching and the way they are put together that makes the difference. Double canvass over the bars is the most important one. I don't have that.
AnswerID: 333112

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:19

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:19
I had mine custom made in Melbourne, I specified they were to use leather stitched to each and all pressure points and the contact points.
So in 10 years it never had a hassle and was used consistently and for 6 months at a time some years.

Definitely get electronic brakes fitted, you won't realize how good they are till you put your foot on the brake, on a dirt road the trailer will not pass you down the road.

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 601299

Reply By: ian - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:49

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:49
I am also a very happy Tambo customer. Value for money I couldn't beat it. You should talk to them.
AnswerID: 333214

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:58

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:58
Gidday mate

I've got one for sale. Drop me a line at kmcfarland@casey.vic.gov.au Show room condition, and available for $13,000 (no neg at this price).

Kim
AnswerID: 333233

Reply By: joff1 - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 20:09

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 20:09
Guys,

Campers are like 4bes, after you have used em a bit you will want to mod it. If it's not up to being modded then you will want to update it.

I'm on Number 3 now and reckon number one should be a second handy out of the classifieds. Something with some k's under the wheels and not too pricey. You will soon learn what you like and don't like about it. You will also get out and start mixing it with a fine bunch of folks that are already doing it and have some really good setups. These guys are usually pretty happy to show off their particular ‘mods’ too.

By doing it this way, if/when you figure out that you shoulda got a hard floor instead of a soft (or visa versa) then it’s not a big loss to change.

Good luck with it, but, what ever you get make sure you get a strong, robust one.
AnswerID: 333235

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 18:11

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 18:11
Yeah been living in a busted arse one now for some 8 months and have a pretty good idea what we want in a new one. Talk to every one we see in caravan parks etc and have built up a good picture of what we want. Like you may need a few tries and mods before we get the ultimate camper. So many around too choose from. Like you also said the main thing I think is to get a good basic setup and go from there. Not sure on the chinese canvas tho. if in doubt give it a miss!
FollowupID: 601290

Follow Up By: joff1 - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:37

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:37
I don't reckon there is a perfect solution to this question. I say that because my new camper is an Allterrain soft floor. I bought it because I really liked the quality of the canvas. In fact, I like that part of it even more now that I have it at home and can really study it.

But, the trailer part needs some mods if I'm going to live with it 24/7 next year while we do our lap. It isn't inherently bad, actually it's as tough as bloody nails but after 15 years and 2 other campers I want certain things. So out comes the plasma, grinder, MIG and all the other stuff you need to really build what you want.

In my attempts to find that perfect beast for my needs I came up short. Not one manufacturer ticked all the boxes. Even one that said they could give me what I wanted never got back to me so in the end, as we need to do from time to time, I’ll do it myself.

Again Good luck with it and don’t buy crap canvas, even if it’s made in your home town.

By the way, Allterrain will supply canvas for any trailer (I have no affiliation - in fact they don’t like me anymore coz I ended up buying mine second hand and saved $000’s LOL)
FollowupID: 601302